petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Pencil Chew Toys for Hamsters

Petco Pencil Chew Toys for Hamsters

Encourages natural chewing behaviorsHelps keep teeth trim and healthyColorful and long-lasting
Average Customer Rating:
2.889 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
8
9 out of 18(50%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Pencil Chew Toys for Hamsters
Review 1 for Petco Pencil Chew Toys for Hamsters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No attention paid

PostedAugust 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Mountain View California
I got this product weeks ago and I had noticed that my Campbells Russian Dwarf Hamster Cheekies had not paid any attention . The only time Cheekies had ever paid attention to it was when I first got it but then immediately left it alone. I checked the chews weeks later and saw no sign that Cheekies had been cheong on it and I got to say that I am really disappointed with this product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Pencil Chew Toys for Hamsters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No animals showed interest

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
These are pretty big sized, they look like toys that should be advertised for guinea pigs or rabbits.
Even my animals who chew everything would only touch the wooden tip of it. The slick sides DISCOURAGE chewing.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Pencil Chew Toys for Hamsters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Barely any interest

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
None of my rodents showed any interest in these. The tops where the bare wood is were the only parts nibbled on.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Pencil Chew Toys for Hamsters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Our Gerbils won't chew on them!

PostedApril 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Oklahoma
Not sure why, but our Gerbils, who chew pretty much anything and everything, will not chew on these, they just bury them!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Pencil Chew Toys for Hamsters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible

PostedAugust 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Wilmington, NC
I gave this to my three rats, Spongebob, Patrick, and Gary, and the only rat who paid any attention to the pencil chews was spongebob, but all he did was take it into the igloo. One "paw" for POOR. No chewing involved, just stashing it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-8points
3of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Pencil Chew Toys for Hamsters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pet's Favorite Toy

PostedMay 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Raleigh, NC
I was skeptical of whether the pencil chews would work since I'd had a failed toy before. But, my hamster Nutmeg is in love with these pencils. She has to have it in her house at all times! At night, I can hear her in her house gnawing away at the toy. It is a great source of entertainment for both her and us to watch her go. Definitely worth the money for the amount and size of the pencils.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Pencil Chew Toys for Hamsters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible

PostedMarch 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
My dwarf roborovski hamster totally ignores this. I put it in her cage on all levels and at first she sniffed it then she never went near it ever again. I rubbed her favorite yogurt treat all over it and at first she licked it and chewed it for like a minute than she returned to ignoring it. I would not recommend this product to anyone. My friend has it too and her hamster is the same, he ignores it too.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Pencil Chew Toys for Hamsters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DON'T GET IT

PostedAugust 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
from California
My mice haven't even noticed the pencils are there. You should not get this product for mice. They may be cute but my mice won't touch them. They would rather chew on the bars and there health bar.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Pencil Chew Toys for Hamsters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Purchase in a long time!

PostedJuly 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
I was getting worried because my guinea pig and hamsters teeth were so big and they wouldn't chew on anything! I gave them logs which they didn't touch.
I was looking online and saw these. I though they would be good for my guinea pig so i ordered them!
When i got them I gave them to my guinea pig, clare and she couldn't let them go! She was chewing and chewing!
I gave them to my dwarf hamsters, fred and dylan, to see if they like them. I didn't see them chew on them but there are chew marks!
Whoohhoo!
It comes in a pack of four and it is very long lasting!
You should get this product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Pencil Chew Toys for Hamsters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good

PostedMarch 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
I liked this product I think it's a great idea for hamsters gerbils rats mice all small mamals my hamster used the pencill chews and I also gave them to my friend for her hamster her hamster loved them
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Pencil Chew Toys for Hamsters
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Cute!!!

PostedApril 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
These are pretty cute! My dwarves never touched them,though. These go especially great with the little school bus cage thingy.
I gave 2 stars because I liked them more than my pets!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Pencil Chew Toys for Hamsters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great chews

PostedMarch 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
I coupled these with the large rabbit kind for my gerbils. It really curtails my main chewer's chewing habit and keeps him from literally crawling the walls in boredom.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Pencil Chew Toys for Hamsters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

its ok

PostedMarch 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
its ok but my hampster ginger dosent bother with it sometimes, also it is really cute
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Pencil Chew Toys for Hamsters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

could'ent live without them!

PostedFebruary 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
i lOVE these so does my chinchilla chili! he picks them up in his mouth and carries them around like a dog! its so cute.and there a great price $1.99!they also last along time!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Pencil Chew Toys for Hamsters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

You have to get these chews

PostedSeptember 9, 2007
Customer Avatar
my hamster name cookie she loves these chews when i went to the store my hamster was still chewing on the chews YOU HAVE TO GET THESE CHEWS
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Pencil Chew Toys for Hamsters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

amazing

PostedAugust 12, 2007
Customer Avatar
when Charoltte ran out of her flat chew sticks and i went to get more this is all the had so i tried them she loves these any loving hamster owner should have these they are a must for hamsters who like to chew, chew, chew!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Pencil Chew Toys for Hamsters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

so great

PostedJuly 10, 2007
Customer Avatar
I gave it to louie (my hamster) and he would not let go for HOURS! I had to get something, he would bite his cage and keep me up all night! I would recomend this to anyone with a hamster that bites his/her cage or has sharp teeth!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Pencil Chew Toys for Hamsters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not good

PostedJune 7, 2007
Customer Avatar
don't buy these chews! my hamster,honey, has nothing to do with them. she will totally ignore them like they're not there! she burries them under her bedding. i don't find them until i clean her cage.i don't reccomend them.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.