petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for API Saltwater Master Liquid Test Kit

API Saltwater Master Liquid Test Kit

Saltwater Master Liquid Test Kit: high range pH, ammonia, and nitrate for testing Saltwater and Reef AquariumsMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
8 out of 9(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for API Saltwater Master Liquid Test Kit
Review 1 for API Saltwater Master Liquid Test Kit
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

OK, but not all tests are accurate

PostedOctober 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
This API saltwater test kit has a few problems but there are some good things too.
Ammonia, Nitrite and PH tests are accurate. However, the nitrate kit is absolutely inaccurate. Even if you follow the directions completely (if you do not follow exactly even one time, the test will be messed up from then on), the kit is very inaccurate. Mine showed very high nitrates (80-160ppm) when water changes of 75% were being performed with distilled water. The kit was later proven to be incorrect using a different kit. So, it's OK, but not great.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for API Saltwater Master Liquid Test Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy to use

PostedJanuary 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Singer Island, FL
Good instructions, simple process. Make sure to read the results under neutral light, daylight is best.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for API Saltwater Master Liquid Test Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedOctober 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Ohio
This test kit is awesome. It is so accurate and easy to understand. Overall I would recommend this to everyone!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for API Saltwater Master Liquid Test Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Lab!

PostedSeptember 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Toppenish,WA
This Lab pretty much self contained and has the basic tests for your maintenance, I just found it a little difficult to differentiate the various shades of purple and violet for the high PH readings, everthing else worked fine as long as you follow instruction booklet. One final note: one of the bottles was missing a drop nib therefore making it tougher to count drops. I went out and bought a separate dropper to make up for the missing drop nib.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for API Saltwater Master Liquid Test Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Be Cautious!

PostedFebruary 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
from PA
I do like this product, but buy with caution. Make sure that you check the date on the bottles. It will be the last 4 digits of the Lot no. ex:17A0806 -- means the product was manufactured August of 2006. Most chemicals expire within 3 years of this date, sooner if not kept under the right teperatures. Does work well! Nitrate readings are a little hard to be specific on though.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for API Saltwater Master Liquid Test Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

a must have for marine tanks!

PostedJanuary 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
This kit is really something that ALL people who have a marine aquarium should own. It gives you readings on the ammonia, nitrite and nitrate values in your tank, as well as the pH.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for API Saltwater Master Liquid Test Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good start but needs more for a reef

PostedMay 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Great start, but its missing
Iodine
Calcium
DH/KH
Prosphate
And any other test you can think of. I had to buy all those seperate when I started my reef aquarium.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for API Saltwater Master Liquid Test Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Much more accurate than strips

PostedFebruary 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
I've tried the strip tests in the past and have found them to be highly inaccurate. Stick with a liquid test kit such as this one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for API Saltwater Master Liquid Test Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very effective

PostedMay 21, 2007
Customer Avatar
I've tried test strips (because they're cheaper) but was so sick of their inaccuracy, that I finally decided to put up the money for the liquid test kit. Unlike the strips, it is VERY easy to read the numbers accuraely.
I would recommend these 100% of the time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.