petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petmate Dogloo KD Pro

Petmate Dogloo KD Pro

Petmate Dogloo KD Pro Large igloo dog houseRecommended Breeds: German Shepherd, Labrador retriever, pointer
Average Customer Rating:
1.765 / 5
1.8
 / 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
12
3 out of 17(18%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Petmate Dogloo KD Pro
Review 1 for Petmate Dogloo KD Pro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poorly designed

PostedNovember 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Virginia
Grew up with DogLoo products at my grandparents kennels that lasted many years so was expecting the same quality. Not so with this product. Box had been retaped several times when I got it. Tabs that hold it together were broken and there was no way to set it up without some piece falling off. If you have dogs that like to chew they would have the tabs off in seconds and then all you would have is an expensive chew toy. Took it back to my local store and they threw in dumpster and said I was the third person to return one in the last month.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petmate Dogloo KD Pro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Dog Houses

PostedOctober 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from KY
One house came in with some damage and they gave me credit that was fine. The other house came in missing four push caps that help secure the top. They said that they would replace them which it has been a week and haven't received them yet. I got the houses faster then that. Two dogs still don't have a house to get out of the rain.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petmate Dogloo KD Pro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not what I expected

PostedOctober 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Arizona
I run a shelter and this dog house was not at all what I expected. It was very flimsy and the "hardware" was not in the box, so we had to buy our own!! Do not recommend for a large dog!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petmate Dogloo KD Pro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do NOT Buy - a waste of money

PostedJanuary 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Senoia, GA
I purchased this dog house several years ago. The snaps that connected the pieces quickly broke. And the dog house has leaked terribly. The base fills with water and the bedding gets soaked and molds. In addition to not being water proof, it is drafty since the pieces do not stay together well. I have tried caulking the seams, but that didn't work since the snaps had broken. Shortly after I purchased this dog house I had to get a different style dog house because this igloo house leaked so badly. I kept this igloo around as a spare in case I had an visiting dog that needed shelter. Well the visiting dog wouldn't go in it. I was very, very disappointed in this product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+25points
25of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petmate Dogloo KD Pro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do NOT BUY

PostedJanuary 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
We have the original Dogloo, it has given excellent service for years. This model is presumably considered 'improved' by the maker but it is anything but an improvement.
Constructed out of very lightweight plastic, it takes off in anything over a light breeze. Dog was horrified.
It leaks from every single seam and the vent, the base holds the water. Dog might as well be outside in the rain for the amount of shelter offered.
Do yourself a favor, buy the old style one piece roof with a base Dogloo. Don't waste your money on this model. If there was a minus scale in stars this would get minus 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+58points
58of 58voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petmate Dogloo KD Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

exellent purchase

PostedNovember 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
from El Centro, California
Love it it's so cute and easy to asemble. and the price was lest online and free shiping it is great know I will be able to get more things for my dogs Thank You PETCO.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-14points
2of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petmate Dogloo KD Pro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not worth it

PostedApril 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
first, it was not the easiest to put together..pieces diidn't snap together well and it was obvious it would not be water/wind proof. i ended up buying clear duct tape and taping along the the 'seams' . that did help but next time i will buy the one piece igloo.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petmate Dogloo KD Pro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

For Indoor Use Only

PostedDecember 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Georgia
I bought three (3) of the Dogloo KD # 25951 doghouses for my Shetland Sheepdogs less than 3 months ago. Every time it rains all three fill up with water. The air
vent in the top leaks, and all the seams leak. This is such a pain. I spend more time washing their beds and tipping the Dogloos over to empty the water than I do with my dogs!! I'm so frustrated that I spent so much money on what I thought was the best outdoor doghouse for my dogs. Their bedding has frozen to the bottom in one rainy night. GRRRRR!. Maybe they were intended for "Indoor Use Only"
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petmate Dogloo KD Pro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad Product

PostedOctober 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Bloomington, IN
I purchased this house for my Lab, overall size is good, however the house leaks everywhere. It is not made like the other dogloo's. The vent at the top and all the seams we have had to hot glue in order to keep our dog dry. This is a very expensive piece of JUNK. If i would have known how horrible it is i would have not spent the money on it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petmate Dogloo KD Pro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Garbage

PostedSeptember 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Do not buy this house! My dog destroyed it in less than two months. It is not put together well and if your dog puts thier paws on top of it the thing will collapse. One big waste of money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petmate Dogloo KD Pro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

i can't believe i wasted my money!

PostedMay 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Rome, Ga
we bought this doghouse. what a waste of money! it will not stay together! DO NOT buy this dog house! get the one that is 2 pieces (floor and dome)! we have a few of those and they work GREAT!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petmate Dogloo KD Pro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Junk

PostedOctober 30, 2007
Customer Avatar
I bought this for my dog and in less than a week it was in shreds. I was advised by the company they do not warranty this product for a dog jumping on it. They advised me it is not the nature of a dog to jump on their house. WHAT! Paid $74 for this was in shreds in less than a week would not purchase this
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petmate Dogloo KD Pro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dogloo II useless now

PostedOctober 10, 2006
Customer Avatar
from central CA coast
the dogloo has been inside a caged area - housing a mature dog and not subjected to any rough handling or abuse. we live in moderate climate. we were very happy with it until the base plate developed multiple severe cracks. we are afraid our dog will get her toes lodged in one. unable to locate relacement part....
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petmate Dogloo KD Pro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Definite thumbs down

PostedAugust 19, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Alaska
I bought two of these and it was a huge waste of my money! I wouldnt recommend this product to anyone. It comes in three large pieces that are not water tight. It falls apart easily and the two plastic pegs in the front were easily broken by my dog. It is difficult to put together. One side snaps in and then easily snaps out when you try to get the opposite side to lock into place. Major waste of money!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petmate Dogloo KD Pro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Disappointed!!!!!!

PostedFebruary 28, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
I purchased this dog house for my seven month-old male boxer. I thought this would be great retreat from him on hot or rainy days. First of all it comes in three large pieces that are suppose to snap together... they do not. I snapped the first and second tier together, then I tried the third tier and then other side comes apart. On top of that, he takes it apart on himself....
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petmate Dogloo KD Pro
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not sealed well

PostedJanuary 13, 2006
Customer Avatar
from (No location)
The new snap together does not seal like the old style dogloo, which makes it less insalated. It also was so light wight that a good wind blew it over.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petmate Dogloo KD Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dog Igloo

PostedDecember 13, 2005
Customer Avatar
from Yokosuka, Ja
This Igloo is great for large dogs. My German Shepherd (The Gigi Dop) loves it. The best is the elevated plate that will benefit her on the long run.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.