petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kaytee Timothy Complete Rabbit Food

Kaytee Timothy Complete Rabbit Food

Kaytee Timothy Complete is made with long strands of timothy hayKaytee rabbit food provides rabbits with a high fiber daily diet to support digestive healthAdded vitamins and minerals to help maintain overall health
Average Customer Rating:
4.111 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(54 Reviews) 54
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 54 reviews
5 stars
36
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
8
42 out of 54(78%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Kaytee Timothy Complete Rabbit Food
Review 1 for Kaytee Timothy Complete Rabbit Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Healthy

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Meeks4bunnies
from Herkimer, NY
Jasmine enjoys this food. She like it with the treats mixed in it too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kaytee Timothy Complete Rabbit Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rabbit pellets

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Bunny1433
from Wilmington NC
Very good price and arrived timely! Product is excellent.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kaytee Timothy Complete Rabbit Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good product

PostedJuly 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
wogski
from Saint Petersburg, FL
I have given my rabbit different food pellets over the 5 years but this has been the best one for her.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kaytee Timothy Complete Rabbit Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

We trust Kaytee

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
LuvaBunny
from Gretna LA
After careful research on-line about what rabbits eat and should not eat, we chose Kaytee Timothy Complete. No artificial ingredients, nutritious food, and no seeds or corn to clog up the digestive tract. Our full-sized, beautiful albino bunny--orphaned a few months ago--is doing great. We give him all the extra Timothy Hay he wants, also, and a few fresh veggies for variety.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kaytee Timothy Complete Rabbit Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pellets

PostedJuly 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
BunnyLoverSF
from SF,CA
I've tried other pellets, but my bunnies seem to prefer these. The bunnies are currently ~6 & 8 years old and they continue to thrive with these pellets as part of their daily staple.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kaytee Timothy Complete Rabbit Food
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Hay in food is a waste

PostedJune 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
love2bunnies
from Detroit, MI
I have 2 rabbits that I have always fed the Kaytee Timothy Complete Rabbit Food. They always finished everything in their bowls twice a day. Now, they leave the hay bits that have been added to the food. I have to empty their bowls before feeding each time. What a waste. They eat their fresh hay everyday. Please leave the hay,or whatever it is, out of the food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kaytee Timothy Complete Rabbit Food
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Bun does not like new formula

PostedMay 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
smoresmom
from Peabody, MA
Hi, my bun, as many other bun parents have written, doesn't like the bits of hay and gets annoyed by them. She also shed in a very blotchy pattern as another parent said about his bun. I agree that the old formula was better. Please bring it back. Maybe you could add both formulas. Thanks for listening.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kaytee Timothy Complete Rabbit Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

something wrong with this food

PostedMarch 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
bunnies2love
from NC
There is something like bunny "crack" in this food. I've had rabbits for well over 10 years. I used to feed Blue Seal, but I don't have access to it anymore. I started feeding this food, and I don't like how the rabbits are responding to it. They gobble up all that I give them. The next day they are going crazy to get more when they see me coming with the food. It's like they aren't getting any satisfaction or feeling of fullness from the food. They also gobble up all their timothy hay. It is definitely different behavior than I've seen before. I'm finding another food for them - I don't like this strange reaction to the food.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
4of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kaytee Timothy Complete Rabbit Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What's with the hay bits?

PostedFebruary 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
cstarch111
from Norton, OH
My rabbit loves the pellets, I've used this brand for years. The 'New' hay bits are a waste and annoyance. He gets fresh, lush hand fulls of hay daily. The stuff they put in the product is what is at the bottom of the hay bag (and he wants nothing to do with) and I use in his litter box or compost.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kaytee Timothy Complete Rabbit Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Rabbit Loves this product

PostedJanuary 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
BettysMom
from New York
My rabbit loves this product, she is always eager to gobble it up; Kaytee makes high quality products and it's a brand I really trust!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kaytee Timothy Complete Rabbit Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Good Product Gone Bad

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
MotherBunny
from South Carolina
The Original Timothy Complete Rabbit Food was great! My bunnies loved it and there was never any left in their bowls. With this "new" product they always leave some in their bowls, in fact way too much. Adding the little bits of "hay" only takes up room in the bag, and makes the customer pay more. My bunnies never eat it. I will also be looking for another brand of good Rabbit Food. Kaytee should have left well enough alone!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kaytee Timothy Complete Rabbit Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

no improvement with new formula

PostedJanuary 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
BunniesMom
I have always purchased Timothy Hay in addition to pellets. My rabbits will not eat the little pieces of hay that are mixed with the pellets and I have to give them more from the pellets because the hay bits take up space. This is turning out to cost much more than the previous formula, which my rabbits loved. Please bring back the old formula!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kaytee Timothy Complete Rabbit Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Kaytee Timothy Comlete Rabbit Food

PostedDecember 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Saorsie5
from Patchogue, NY
My Rabbit seems to now be consuming twice as much food as the original formulation with no apparent benefits. In fact her coat is now shedding in a splotchy pattern.
I have always fed my rabbits the original Kaytee Timothy Complete Rabbit food and they have lived a long and healthy life. They are outdoor bunnies and their life span is generally 11 years or more.
Not seeing the new benefits.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kaytee Timothy Complete Rabbit Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

New Formula Worse

PostedOctober 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
ChipChipSimmySime
from North Carolina
My rabbits have eaten the previous formula (did not contain alfalfa) for 3 years and loved it. My rabbits will not eat this new formula. The new formula has pieces of hay, which they pick out (pieces are too small). It also contains alfalfa now, which is not recommended for adult rabbits. Very disappointed.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kaytee Timothy Complete Rabbit Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

For my rabbit

PostedMarch 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
imkadealwithit
from Missouri
My rabbit absolutely loves this food and hasn't had any problems switching from his previous feed to this.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Kaytee Timothy Complete Rabbit Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GOOD FOOD

PostedJanuary 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
DUKEANDCUPCAKE
Our rabbit loves the pellets. This is a special treat for her and she misses it when we run out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Kaytee Timothy Complete Rabbit Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Choice for Overweight or Picky Eaters

PostedDecember 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
RagnarokFarms
The ingredient listed (exthoxyquin (a preservative) is *NO LONGER IN THIS FOOD*
Kaytee has replaced this controversial preservative with mixed tocopherols, making this a safe and healthy choice for your bunny/rabbit.
I own Angora rabbits. The protein level on this food is too low for daily use (for Angora's wool production), but I do use it if a rabbit becomes overweight from a false pregnancy. If I owned another breed of rabbit this would be my main choice as alfalfa based pellets can contain too much protein and other minerals for adult rabbits. In general Bunnies (under 1 year of age) should be fed alfalfa based pellets and Rabbits (over 1 year) should be fed timothy based pellets. You can find this information in many rabbit books and online. I also feed timothy hay and fresh greens with the pellets for a healthy diet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Kaytee Timothy Complete Rabbit Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Seems fine

PostedSeptember 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
BunnyMinion
This is my go-to rabbit food. I haven't seen a lot of companies that make Timothy Hay-based food, and I'm glad Kaytee has chosen to fill the niche.
I avoid alfalfa pellets for my rabbits because they are over a year old and may be more likely to become obese on alfalfa pellets.
My rabbits love their pellets. I have had no problems with these pellets.
There is some pellet dust at the bottom of the bag, but I don't think it's excessive. It's nice that the bag is resealable, but I think the opening is a little small for me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Kaytee Timothy Complete Rabbit Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not a Healthy product

PostedAugust 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
jonathan7
from Vassalboro, ME
Contains Ethoxyquin, sometimes also spelt exthoxyquin. This is a harmful preservative chemical. Search it on any search engine and you'll see all kinds of articles. Caused a bunch of controversy in the 90's with dog food and many makers started taking out of their products. The Kaytee Pro-Health formula is a much better product and does not contain Ethoxyquin, it instead contains Tocopherols, which is healthier and more safe
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Kaytee Timothy Complete Rabbit Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Choice for Adult Bunnies!

PostedAugust 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
FunnyBunny
from Los Angeles, CA
Timothy Complete is the perfect choice for adult bunnies over a year old. To make the switch, you can try mixing these pellets with whatever your bun is currently eating—“Supreme” or “Fiesta” mixes (a.k.a. junk food pellets) or alfalfa pellets—to gradually transition them to a healthy Timothy Complete diet. Both of my bunnies made the switch in a few weeks and are happy, healthy eaters! :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>