petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Super Pet Hay Buffet

Super Pet Hay Buffet

Hay Buffet is the safest way to offer healthy hayThis sanitary hay holder features a snap-lock lid for superior safety and totally wireless constructionPerfect for rabbits, guinea pigs, and other furry friends
Average Customer Rating:
2.333 / 5
2.3
 / 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 45 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
7
1 star
21
18 out of 45(40%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Super Pet Hay Buffet
Review 1 for Super Pet Hay Buffet
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Happy

PostedDecember 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Louisville, KY
I got this for my chinchillas to use. Well, it's not very sturdy at all and then one of the lid pieces broke off and it wouldn't latch at the top. Also, because the plastic bars are so close together, my boys took the top off and started eating the hay from the top because they couldn't get to it through the bars. I had to get a different manger.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Super Pet Hay Buffet
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not too great

PostedJune 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Reedsport OR
Unfortunately, the lose a lot of the hay through the holes. The holes are too large and some of the hay is wasted
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Super Pet Hay Buffet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Guinea Pig LIKES it

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
I was looking for a way to keep my guinea pigs hay clean cuz its usually just on the floor where she goes to the bathroom. I found this in Petco and decided to try it. A t first, she had a little bit of trouble getting the hay out, so we had to help her. She's been pretty good with it and she knows now to YANK it out. She's starting to get used to it though. This morning though, I found the hay basket hanging down off of the cage and the lid was off! She ended up eating out of the top of it! That's my silly Lily!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Super Pet Hay Buffet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Keeps hay clean

PostedMay 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Ogden, IA
Is very easy to refill and keeps hay up off the bottom of cage nice and clean. Had to secure with a twist tie as guinea pig would bump from underneath and knock it down but other than that has worked great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Super Pet Hay Buffet
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible design - poorly made

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
from East Brunswick, NJ
I bought this product for my bunny. I noticed immediately that it was difficult to load but I didn't mind that as much as I didn't like that it was so difficult for my bunny to get the food from the hay feeder. The bars are so close together that it did a better job at holding hay than it did for being a good product for my bunny to grab the food from inside the hay feeder. Also, the product has a cover, but it is so flimsy that its impossible for it to stay on. I would not recommend this product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
11of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Super Pet Hay Buffet
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointing waste of $

PostedNovember 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Florida
I have yet to find a less messy way to store hay, but this is not it. The hay got everywhere and my guinea pigs pulled it right off the cage.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Super Pet Hay Buffet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Hay!

PostedOctober 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Normal, IL
My Guinea Pigs love their Hay! The hay buffet is a great way to give your small pets hay or grass because it's more convenient and less messy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Super Pet Hay Buffet
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

good product but easy to chew

PostedJune 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
from wisconsin
I would not buy this product if your animal chews everything because my guinea pig chewed at it all the time so I had to take it away. If your animal does not chew on everything it would be a fantastic choice for you
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Super Pet Hay Buffet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very handy!

PostedFebruary 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Kissimmee, FL
The hay holder is very convenient for our guinea pigs. We actually cut every other "bar" so it's easier for them to get the hay out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Super Pet Hay Buffet
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Flimsy Product

PostedNovember 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Tampa, FL
My bunny ripped this right off the cage. I returned it. It is poorly designed and very cheaply made.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
12of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Super Pet Hay Buffet
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No good for my guinea pigs

PostedMay 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Memphis, TN
The bars are so close together that I cut 2 bars, then skipped 1 bar, then cut 2, then skipped 1 (that is: left every 3rd bar) to leave gaps wide enough for the hay to be pulled through. Still, my piggies, when given a chance, ate from other feeders first and left this one for last. Also, I removed the top (lid) and left it off since the hay plumed out the top of the feeder anyway and the lid was just in the way. Not a good design at all, and overpriced. I just can't recommend this one.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Super Pet Hay Buffet
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not useful for a guinea pig

PostedMarch 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
from San Diego, CA
I bought this because I wanted to keep my guinea pig's hay clean and easy to access. I have tried to use this in so many ways, but I just have found it no good. The bars are too close together and thick so my pig could barely get any of the hay out. I tried hooking it lower to the side of the cage, but my pig would not it down while walking around the cage, scaring her terribly. Very dissappointing product - the first thing I haven't liked from PETCO.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Super Pet Hay Buffet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Best I've Found

PostedMarch 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Anchorage, AK
I have tried a few different hay buffets and I keep coming back to this one. The bars are close together, so once you load the hay in you have to pull it through the bars to make it accessible. Yes, the hooks do slip as they eat, but as long as you tie the twist tie onto the bars the buffet should never actually fall. Forget about the lid, I just throw it away since my guinea pigs and bunny like to stand on their hind legs and eat from the top too. My only complaint is that you will need to replace it occasionally because when you pull the hay through the bars (especially tough hays like Timothy) you will inevitably break a bar, and of course it will get chewed on.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Super Pet Hay Buffet
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No Good

PostedOctober 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
my guinea pigs can't get the grass out the bars are too close I cut ever other bar and still kind of hard to get grass out...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Super Pet Hay Buffet
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

just ok

PostedSeptember 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
I liked that the bin hooked INSIDE the cage to avoid spillage onto the floor, but it unhooked too easily from the side of the cage as our rabbit tugged and chewed.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Super Pet Hay Buffet
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do not recommend

PostedAugust 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
I do not recommed this product. Every time the rabbit grabs a piece of grass, it falls off of the cage wire. The hooks are not long enough to keep the buffet from falling off.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Super Pet Hay Buffet
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth the money at all...

PostedApril 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
This went in the trash...
The bars were too small for my mini rex rabbits to get the hay out of, the lid kept coming off, and it wouldn't stay on the cage bars. Also, I could see rabbits chewing holes in this. I recommend getting a metal hay rack.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Super Pet Hay Buffet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very helpful

PostedMarch 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Yes I would recommed this product it is super because your rabbit or small animal can have reach to nice clean hay or alfalfa
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Super Pet Hay Buffet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Hay Buffet

PostedMarch 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
from SanTan Valley, AZ
I put this buffet in my guinea pigs cage and he just LOVED it! It keeps his cage so much cleaner and mess free! He is able to pull the hay out of the bars, or from the top. This is so much better than any bowl or any other container for timothy hay. Love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Super Pet Hay Buffet
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not durable

PostedJanuary 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
from illinois
The first time I used this it broke!! Very disppointed. I would never purchase another or recommend this to anyone unless you don't mind throwing money away.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>