petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Four Paws Ultimate Touch Instant Mat & Tangle Remover

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Four Paws Ultimate Touch Instant Mat & Tangle Remover

Four Paws Ultimate Touch Instant Mat & Tangle Remover
Average Customer Rating:
4.829 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 41 reviews
5 stars
38
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
39 out of 41(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Four Paws Ultimate Touch Instant Mat & Tangle Remover
Review 1 for Four Paws Ultimate Touch Instant Mat & Tangle Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

handy for cats with thick fur

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
jaydee
from Rochester NY
I had one years ago but gave it away to someone who adopted a longhaired cat. When I went to replace it, couldn't find it. So when I saw it here I quickly ordered two. It's a quick, safe way to clean out the thick, caked fur on the haunches if it's handled gently.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Four Paws Ultimate Touch Instant Mat & Tangle Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mat & Tangle Remover

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carpshouse
from Bolton Landing NY
This is the best design ever and so much easier on the pets.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Four Paws Ultimate Touch Instant Mat & Tangle Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Grooming Tool does a great job

PostedNovember 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
tigardcatlover
from Tigard, OR
I've been looking for a grooming tool that will comb out, not cut off, the mats in my cats coat. Based on the reviews, I decided to give this one a try. It does a very good job - it takes patience and gentle combing on the fur mat but it does the job. I have a big, long haired tabby that had 5 or 6 bad mats in his coat and this comb worked on every one of them. My cat is not a cat that likes to be brushed but he endured a few sessions with this comb while I worked on the fur mats. I would highly recommend this tool!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Four Paws Ultimate Touch Instant Mat & Tangle Remover
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

mats are gone

PostedOctober 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
loverpets
from bakersfield ca
I bought this brush for my Son and his wife's dog he is a long hair terrior of some type he was severly matted and they couldn't even shave him because the matts were so close to his skin. after a couple of days of working with him using the brush as directed he is mat free and a happy dog. I plan on buying them the comb and other products in this line to keep him that way. It took time and patience but this product worked.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Four Paws Ultimate Touch Instant Mat & Tangle Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedApril 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
FluffheadsMom
from New York, NY
My long haired cat will sometimes develop small mats, and this tangle remover gets them right out! He hates it but they're out within a minute. My cat being upset for one minute is much better than leaving them be until they get so bad that he'd need to be shaved, which would be like torture! I would definitely recommend this product if your cat has minor knots that other brushes haven't been able to get out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Four Paws Ultimate Touch Instant Mat & Tangle Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Shih Tzu hair made easy!!!

PostedMarch 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
ShihTzu3412
from VA
I bought this as a gift for my nephew (Shih Tzu). And it glides right through and gets out any knots and mats. I always hated brushing him because I knew I was about hurt our poor pup. But now I have NO fear. Even he noticed and has calmed when he sees a brush. Thank you!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Four Paws Ultimate Touch Instant Mat & Tangle Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No Knots!!!

PostedFebruary 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
longhairdog
from San Diego
My dog is a Maltese in a "show cut" and if she has a knot out it comes---follow directions and remove knot before it gets to bad.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Four Paws Ultimate Touch Instant Mat & Tangle Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

All it is cracked up to be...and more!!

PostedFebruary 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
MeTwo
from Indiana
I have a Russian Blue who developed a couple of mats and he just wouldn't be the type to tolerate being buzz cut with an electric grooming shaver or having a groomer go through his coat. He is a lovely cat, but just won't be messed with. I saw this brush and the reviews and figured it couldn't hurt to try this.
The first day, I didn't even try to use this on his mats. I lightly brushed the fur where there were no mats, and he just purred. The next day, I slowly started ten minutes on the one mat--figured it would be at least a week to work out both, even though both were not that bad. Within ten minutes, that first mat was out! Still purring. Good sign.
Second day, same thing. About ten minutes. Never flinched, he enjoyed the experience.
Found out that Russian Blues have that luxurious undercoat, and they can develop mats rather quickly. I lightly brush him and get the loose fluff out in a daily 10 minute ritual to keep him mat free, and he loves it.
Yes, I would recommend this. Just go slow and easy if you have a pet who doesn't like to be handled all that much.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Four Paws Ultimate Touch Instant Mat & Tangle Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Cat Brush!

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
luv3pets
from Kalispell, Montana
Our cat has long hair and this brush gets every mat out. Miracle working brush for keeping long haired cats coat purrrfect!!! A must have brush for long haired cat owners.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Four Paws Ultimate Touch Instant Mat & Tangle Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy and Safe for the toughest critters!

PostedDecember 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
ExoticPaws
from Bexley OH
I am a animal trainer by trade and have to work with many types of animals and situations. My arctic fox had some winter coat issues as it has an extremely dense coat. This product gets out mats gently and with extreme ease without pulling. It also does not carch the skin as many others do, or take more than one hand. If you are dealing with fidgeting or older animals this is a must since you need a hand free to steady them. Great tool!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Four Paws Ultimate Touch Instant Mat & Tangle Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent brush for matted hair!

PostedDecember 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bigcupcakes
from New York, NY
This brush is good for both dogs and cats. I was skeptical because my cats mats were THICK and he had many (long story). I used the brush as instructed and they mats just came right off. My cat even liked it so much he started purring because he knew I was cleaning him up. Its very gentle.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Four Paws Ultimate Touch Instant Mat & Tangle Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple Tool. Great Results!

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
cheryl310
from baltimore, md
My cat Kiki is elderly and mats terribly around his hips and underarms. I found great results using this mat and tangle remover. I hold onto the mat of hair and pull this tool through it. Kiki cat doesn't seem to mind and in a matter of minutes the matt is out. No more need to cut them out with scissors and taking of the chance of cutting my cat!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Four Paws Ultimate Touch Instant Mat & Tangle Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great mat remover

PostedJanuary 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
JR1212
from Bloomington, IN
I was amazed at how great this mat remover works. I have a corgi who sits when I brush her. She was developing mats on her rear end. I have been trying to pull them apart and pull out the loose hairs with little luck and much annoyance on her part. This mat remover took out all the mats in huge clumps in less than 5 minutes and it didn't bother her one bit. I wish I had found it sooner.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Four Paws Ultimate Touch Instant Mat & Tangle Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Oh my gosh great tool

PostedJune 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
memray1127
from Kings Park, NY
I have had cats for over 20 years and never had a matting problem... didn't know anything about dematting. Went online to find info and found out about this tool - bought it and yes it took a few days, but all the disgusting mats on my cats back are gone. I am so happy! He is a gentle cat anyway and did not mind me working on his back, but he loved the way the tool worked. I am so happy! I would absolutely, definitely recommend this to anyone. I had inquired about shaving him to get rid of mats - I was quoted about $80. Well for the $10. this tool cost me I really was a winner!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
15of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Four Paws Ultimate Touch Instant Mat & Tangle Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tool !

PostedApril 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
yourstruly
from chicago
This is the perfect tool for Sophie, my two year old loooong hair cat. It's not the tool for the tight liittle mats under his front legs, but it is fantastic for those larger mats and gets to them befor they become major problems. Sort of works like a "shredder" too. Nice rounded tips. Cat and I love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Four Paws Ultimate Touch Instant Mat & Tangle Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great! Seems less painful!

PostedJanuary 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
SaintDaneMommy
I have a 9 month old long haired Saint Benard puppy who HATES being brushed! Even with daily brushing/wrestling contests, he was frequently getting mats on his ears because his fur is so fluffy and crimped (adorable!). I use this detangler comb preventively on his ears every morning while he is eating now. It seems to bother him a lot less than a bigger brush and he gets fewer mats now. It really does work well getting the few mats out now, I just work on them very gently. I also use the Pet Promise Baby Fresh Natural Conditioning Spritz as a detangler spray on his ears about once weekly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Four Paws Ultimate Touch Instant Mat & Tangle Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best!!!!

PostedSeptember 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Scrubbrush
from Sunnyvale, CA
My long-furred, senior, temperamental, high-strung, don't-mess-with-me-or-I'll-bite Maine Coon mix had several stubborn mats that her regular mat comb just couldn't get out without causing her considerable anguish. She doesn't mind this comb at all! In fact, she seems to enjoy being combed with it, mats or not (and she usually hates being brushed or combed). I use it with the Pet Promise Baby Fresh Natural Conditioning Spritz to help the mats come out easier. Her coat is in better shape than it's been in years! The comb enables me to get the mat out in one or two pass-throughs, as opposed to five-ten swipes with her other mat comb. A must-buy if you have a long-coated love!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Four Paws Ultimate Touch Instant Mat & Tangle Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This works

PostedJune 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Feedee
from Alaska
I used this comb, along with the Avoderm grooming spray for cats and dogs, on my Siberian. She had several small mats on her back, at the base of her tail. Trying to remove them with a comb was painful to her and frustrating to me. But the spray, along with this clever comb, did the trick and removed them quickly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Four Paws Ultimate Touch Instant Mat & Tangle Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow

PostedFebruary 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
emberAZ
This implement is the best I've used so far. My elder cat is nearly 20 and he's very clumped up. He was never clumpy as a young cat and younger adult but since he's gotten older he's not been taking such good care of his fur and it gets clumpy. We have a long way to go but the clumps are fewer and he "feels' better when I touch him.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Four Paws Ultimate Touch Instant Mat & Tangle Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It Works!

PostedFebruary 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
MKM11
from NY, NY
Basic tool perfectly complements the slicker brush I use to brush my goldendoodle.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>