petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zilla Slimline Desert 50 UVB T8 Fluorescent Fixture

Zilla Slimline Desert 50 UVB T8 Fluorescent Fixture

Fixture and bulbs in one convenient packageUVB light output promotes proper calcium absorption for reptile bone healthSimulates natural daylight and fulfills photo-biological requirements of reptilesCompact & lightweightPre-assembled
Average Customer Rating:
4.273 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
9 out of 11(82%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for Zilla Slimline Desert 50 UVB T8 Fluorescent Fixture
Review 1 for Zilla Slimline Desert 50 UVB T8 Fluorescent Fixture
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great!

PostedSeptember 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from IL
I bought two different UVB lights for my reptile cages. This one is probably my favorite.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Zilla Slimline Desert 50 UVB T8 Fluorescent Fixture
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Little light

PostedMarch 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Pocatello, Idaho
I got this for my Leopard Geckos, even though they are nocturnal. I have noticed for a few months now that my geckos come out in the evening and bask a little bit before the light gos off. So I figured why not get this light as well and give them a little UVB as well. They have show better color and are a lot more active. This fixture also lights the terrarium well and evenly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Zilla Slimline Desert 50 UVB T8 Fluorescent Fixture
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

.

PostedJanuary 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
from OC
Light works great, just have to remove the plastic cover. If you have trouble with getting it to turn on, make sure the bulb is in place. Making it rotate so its in the slots correctly takes a little bit of pushing pressure, dont worry, these bulbs are stronger than you think. Just dont man handle it, use some finesse.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Zilla Slimline Desert 50 UVB T8 Fluorescent Fixture
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

horrible!!!!!!!!

PostedJune 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
from memphis,tn
i bought this item and it didnt even turn on!!!!!!!!!!!! i even took it to an electrician accross the street. im returning it tomorrow and asking if they'll plug it in b4 i buy it again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-11points
2of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Zilla Slimline Desert 50 UVB T8 Fluorescent Fixture
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does the job

PostedApril 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Connecticut
Nice light casing and convenient on and off switch. Bought it for my Bearded Dragon to replace on that stopped working and I like this one much better. Seems sturdy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Zilla Slimline Desert 50 UVB T8 Fluorescent Fixture
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good!

PostedNovember 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
When I got the light it wouldn't turn on, so I took it apart and some of the plastic parts inside were broken and the lamp wasn't secure. After I got the lamp secure I put it together and I worked fine. Now that its working I like it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Zilla Slimline Desert 50 UVB T8 Fluorescent Fixture
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

OK but trouble

PostedJuly 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Dallas, TX
I have had to exchange the lamp three times already. Each time the lamp has only lasted about 3 to 6 weeks then it starts to flicker and flicker and flicker and either keeps flickering or eventually burns the bulb out. Other than that it is one of the best lamp kits I have found.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Zilla Slimline Desert 50 UVB T8 Fluorescent Fixture
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice find...

PostedMay 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
from IL
I think this product works great. It came with the fixture and the bulb that seems to work pretty well and it wasn't too expensive. If you just use this fixture with the bulb it works great. It's great for my leopard gecko because it needs some light but not a massive amount. It helps create the desert feel that my gecko needs to make sure it stays healthy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Zilla Slimline Desert 50 UVB T8 Fluorescent Fixture
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely great!

PostedMay 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Kansas
We bought this for our sons Leopard Gecko Puppysnake and have to say that its one of the best UVB fixtures we've ever used up that point. Unlike other UVB bulbs, you replace the light less often which means less money wasted on bogus fixtures that dont live up to their promises plus its medically beneficial to Puppysnake also. I feel good knowing that this bulb is helping keep his little bones strong and healthy not to menion helping ensure the happy friendship between him and our son wont get cut short by bone disease.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Zilla Slimline Desert 50 UVB T8 Fluorescent Fixture
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedJanuary 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
This light is one of the best UVB fixtures around. Unlike UVB bulbs you can replace the light less often.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Zilla Slimline Desert 50 UVB T8 Fluorescent Fixture
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

'

PostedDecember 9, 2007
Customer Avatar
IT WORKS GREAT !!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.