petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Drinkwell Big Dog Fountain

Drinkwell Big Dog Fountain

Filters and aerates continuously moving waterKeeps water much fresher than standing bowl waterFeatures: an adjustable flow rate, 288 oz. capacity, self contained (no need to connect to a water line), charcoal filter
Average Customer Rating:
4.231 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 52 reviews
5 stars
32
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
5
45 out of 52(87%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer Reviews for Drinkwell Big Dog Fountain
Review 1 for Drinkwell Big Dog Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
talisa
from KS
i had first started out with the cheapest one for my cat, a different brand. then when we got our dog i needed a bigger one so i bought the original drink-well with the big dog reservoir. it still work 3 years later. my dog kept drinking the water completely out of it more and more. so i said time for the big one. he loves it and i love that that i dont have to fill as often. he was a lil sacred of it at first, but warmed up to it in a couple of hours.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Drinkwell Big Dog Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth the money, poor filtering & noisy.

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Muldoon74
from Long Island
I recently purchased this item to encourage my Staffordshire to drink more. The pump is quite noisy, and on the first day we noticed that food particles remained in the bowl. We cleaned the filter, but the flow is not strong enough even at the highest setting to draw even small particles through the filter.
Thinking that this fountain would save time changing water, we have found the opposite to be true. Our dog won't drink from it unless the water is changed daily, and this task is way more labor intensive than a regular water bowl. This will be going back to the store. It was also over $71 dollars before tax in the store.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Drinkwell Big Dog Fountain
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not worth the money.

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
CJOY
from Creighton MO
Very cheaply made, and you don't need the filters, it doesn't filter anything. But, all 3 dogs seem to like it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Drinkwell Big Dog Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Fountain!

PostedNovember 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
TheHights
from Lexington, KY
We've had this for over a year now and it works great! It's the best fountain we've ever had and it's easy to fill and clean.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Drinkwell Big Dog Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Such a neat invention

PostedApril 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
bgdgstimes2
from austin, TX
So i have a busy household, three little kids and dont always change out the dogs water so they started drinking out of the toilet. I got this, only needed one for two big dogs. one is a 65 lb and one a 100lb dog. both their heads fit and can drink at the same time. i put a "lamp timer" on the cord because i didnt want the motor running 24/7. now the dogs drink out of the water bowl more and barely at the toilet. :) It is not silent but no louder than a fish tank or dishwasher running. I already bought it for my sister for a gift and her 75lb dog loves it. Such a great invention.Plus its easy to take apart and clean. I will definitely buy this again when i need one. Plus it felt good giving my dogs a "water fountain" type of water bowl for fresher water.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Drinkwell Big Dog Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

GREAT FOR MULTIPLE DOGS

PostedMarch 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
mylissathedoglover
from san antonio, tx
I have a 65, 60, 45, & 7#dogs in my home. Point blank, it's a hassle to refill water bowls 6+ times a day. This has been great. They all drink around 2 gallons of water per day and they love the fountain. My little one was questionable at first but now she is even drinking more! My 65# lab makes a mess and this fountain has greatly cut down on the amount of water she slobbers everywhere. There will be a minimal amount of dirt in the bottom and foam on the top of the water (from the slobber) as the water flow isn't high powered. Eventually it goes away. Cleaning is about 10min max once you get the hang of it. Only 5 parts to remember. I'm getting my mother one for her home as well!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Drinkwell Big Dog Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drinkwell Big Dog

PostedJanuary 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Chabo
from California
I have 2 small dogs and 2 cats. I have had this "Big Dog" fountain for about 4 years and it is wonderful. ALL my animals use it. I LOVE that the extra container is on the back. This way it lasts about a week. I clean it regularly and I believe my animals love drinking out of the running water system.
BUT Now that I want to buy a new one ( the other is getting old ) Petco says they no longer have this item. SO disappointed. Maybe it is because it is at the 20% discounted price with free shipping.
Oh well. Good thing the old one still works.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Drinkwell Big Dog Fountain
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Big, Really Big

PostedDecember 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
GypsyPK
from Southeast, TX
I have three shelties and thought this would be a great water bowl and it is. The only negative I see so far is that it is bulky therefore cumbersome to clean. Not sure it is any better than my original water bowl and bottle that I used and cleaned once a week. Sitting on the fence with a recommendation at this time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Drinkwell Big Dog Fountain
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

It's okay

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
FloridaDogs
from Tampa, FL
Pros: Holds a lot of water, keeps it fairly fresh, not too big that our cats can't drink from it.
Cons: Loud, a bit bulky, does not circulate the water well enough to really filter it.
I would recommend for people with multiple dogs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Drinkwell Big Dog Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Less mess and fresh water

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
foreverpetlover
from Round Rock, TX
My Great Dane is a messy drinker, usually dribbling outside of the water bowls creating a slippery mess. I love this drinking system because he drinks from the fountain which minimizes the water on our floor. We need to clean it weekly but it's well worth the effort to me. The only added expense is the carbon filters which we change every 6 weeks or so.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Drinkwell Big Dog Fountain
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Too hard to keep clean

PostedJune 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
jenidor
from Washington
Overall the fountain runs well and the motor isn't too loud.
The problem with this fountain is that it's too hard to keep really clean. The biggest problem is that the motor is impossible (for me) to remove. However, it is necessary to remove it for a thorough cleaning job since there is a pipe through which water runs that is accessible only by removing the motor. If you cannot access parts, then over time water residue (gunk) builds up on the plastic surfaces. This is not healthy for your pets.
The other problem is all the tiny nooks and crannies that are accessible only with pipe cleaners. Yes, I did fall for the accessory ploy and buy the cleaning brushes, but they're inadequate for the job.
Since the fountain is plastic and impossible to keep scrupulously clean, it has a very limited life. It needs to be replaced every year or so, just to ensure that segment of your family is getting clean enough water.
I bought this fountain because of the extra reservoir you can get to add to its capacity, which helps when I'm away for a few days. I think next time I will try to find a bigger fountain that's easier to keep clean. I have a smaller stainless steel fountain that's a cinch to keep clean -- even the motor, so I know a better design is possible.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Drinkwell Big Dog Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very Large

PostedApril 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
PlanoMom
from Plano, TX
I bought this for an outdoor fountain, with two dogs my smaller Drinkwell fountain just couldn't keep up with them and evaporation. I only wish I could find a fountain that is insulated so the water doesn't get so warm.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Drinkwell Big Dog Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far so good!

PostedDecember 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
GhostriderGale
from Camas, Wa.
I've only had this product less then a week now, but so far I'd have to say it's a great product! Really holds a lot of water for several large dogs or in my case 2 medium size dogs and 1 cat too! Which all my animals love drinking from the fountain. Although the dogs were a little afraid of it at first but quickly warmed up to using it. It does have a slight humming from the motor but least to me it's nothing hard to get use to hearing. You actually hear the water coming out of the fountain more then anything else. Again nothing hard to get use to in my opinion! If you've ever been around an aquarium in your home or someone Else's home, that's about the same sound the water fountain makes. About the best comparison I can give you! I haven't cleaned it yet, but from reading the directions and taking it apart myself just to see how easy it would come apart? I'd say for the most part cleaning not going to be too difficult. Especially since most of it can be washed in my dishwasher! So far really can't say anything bad about this product and I would recommend it to anyone with large or several pets.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Drinkwell Big Dog Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great with dogs AND cats

PostedAugust 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
2dog2catman
from St. Paul, MN
I have 2 dogs and 2 cats and ALL of them use this fountain with ease. They've had water fountains before, but the H2O capacity was always too small. So the 2 gallon capacity on this model is great. I end up refilling mine every day or so, and they definitely drink more often than using a plain bowl. Be sure to wash it out every week to keep it clean as per instructions, especially if you have multiple animals like I do. Filters keep the water fairly fresh. I find that pet hair is the most common thing to get caught in the system. Motor makes a low humming noise, so place in an area (and on a water-proof mat) where it won't bother you.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Drinkwell Big Dog Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a great product!

PostedAugust 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
ladybug1988
from Garland,Tx
I ordered this product for my english mastiff. It got here really fast and works perfect. Unfortunately my dog hasn't used it yet. Maybe he will get used to it soon. I would highly recommend this fountain.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Drinkwell Big Dog Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great fountain!

PostedJuly 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
KimberlyO
from NW Minnesota
I bought this for our three small dogs and one cat. Most of the creatures have adapted to this nicely, however our 12 year old schnauzer is under the impression that the "glug glug" is out to get him. So, while we've tried pretty much everything to acclimate him to using this, we now just have a big stainless steel bowl of water sitting next to the Drinkwell for him. Attempts included not having the Drinkwell running, removing his regular water, etc. - nope he just barks his "water" bark. Oh well. The Drinkwell is easy to maintain and fill. I like that the reservoir holder is a molded part of the Drinkwell. We've had no problems at all with this. (We had the smaller model prior to this that had the optional reservoir that just attached to the back -- and we had a flooded kitchen floor a couple of times due to user error.) I'd love to see this big one available in stainless steel. I think we've had this about a year now and have had NO regrets about going with the bigger model. I like knowing that when it is so dang hot out, my pets have water available. (I would like to think that Dexter, the schnauzer, would take a drink out of this if he absolutely HAD to during the day. Who knows? Maybe he already does this when we aren't home!!)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Drinkwell Big Dog Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does What It Says It Does

PostedJune 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
FLgal
from Orange City, FL
I can't say that I am too impressed. My two dogs go through the water tank in one days’ time and with food debris coming from my dogs, I have to clean the bowl daily. The filter last me 2 weeks if I keep it rinsed off daily. The water flow sounds about the same as a fish tank when on the high setting, so I turn the flow down low at night. The motor is quiet and I do clean it weekly as directed. Over all this big bowl keeps my dogs in water all day, but I feel that the water was much cleaner with their regular bowl when I would wash the bowl and give fresh clean water every 1 - 2 hours. I would recommend this bowl if you are not home all the time to give clean water and to keep the bowl filled.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Drinkwell Big Dog Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drinkwell Big Dog Fountain

PostedJune 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
redtailgirl
from Mooresville, NC
Easy to use and very quiet. Would definitely recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Drinkwell Big Dog Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Big Dog Water Bowl

PostedApril 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
coachrandy
from Anaheim, CA.
I have used this water bowl for about 4 weeks and nothing but problems with the algae formation. I am now switching to ceramic or stainless steel. Please look twice and stay away from plastic water bowls. Good luck.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Drinkwell Big Dog Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great for big tall dogs

PostedJanuary 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
nnpdeb
wonderful this is my 3rd drinkwell purchase. Make sure you dog is tall enough to drnk out of the bowl.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>