petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for CritterTrail- Snap-on Comfort Wheel

CritterTrail- Snap-on Comfort Wheel

CritterTrail- Snap-on Comfort Wheel
Average Customer Rating:
2.92 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 25 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
6
12 out of 25(48%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for CritterTrail- Snap-on Comfort Wheel
Review 1 for CritterTrail- Snap-on Comfort Wheel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good wheel, hard to clean.

PostedApril 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Washington
This wheel worked pretty good. It hooked on to the side of my critter trail cage well, just by twisting it on. It does not need any tubes to attach on, which makes it a little easier. It is quieter than most wheels, and allows your hamster(s) to go fast. It's a big wheel, which was perfect for my two Robos to run on at the same time.It could easily fit a Syrian hamster as well. You can see your fluffy pet clearly from inside the blue plastic wheel. The tray at the bottom, would keep food and bedding from falling though the cracks and on to the floor. The wheel spun well and really good to use as a second wheel if two of your hamsters are fighting over the one wheel. This wheel also allowed you to been able to clearly see your hamster(s) through the blue plastic.
Now, for the bad things. The thing that kept me from giving it 5 stars is it is extremely hard to clean. It was really hard to unattached the wheel, and than reattach it back on. It was hard to take apart to clean. I sprayed and scrubbed it out in the sink, and was hard to dry, so I had to use a blow dryer. I have to clean it out on average three times every day, because my hamsters would urine in it and run. They would also use it to sleep on and than you can't get your cute fluff ball out till he would wake up.
Overall, I would say this cage was good. I would recommend it to any hamster or other small rodent owners. It's big with plenty of room.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for CritterTrail- Snap-on Comfort Wheel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible

PostedApril 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Waukesha
I got this for my two mice and they would run in it and it was very loud. They also peed in it and it was really hard to clean it out so it would start to smell.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for CritterTrail- Snap-on Comfort Wheel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very Loud

PostedJuly 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Virnignia
This wheel came with the cage we bought and I was thrilled because I thought it would be great because it is outside the cage. The other cages we have have the weels inside and they are good and run smoothly when I oil them about once a week. This wheel is very hard to attach, and even harder to detach or even dissamble to apply oil. My young Winter White avoids running in it as much as posslible, because the noise is too stressful for him. Not even mentioning that it is already annoyingly loud for human ears. I also don't like that it spreads the hamster droppings and urine all over the shelf. Result: The wheel has to go!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for CritterTrail- Snap-on Comfort Wheel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I wanted.

PostedOctober 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Cincinnati, OH
Our family has had one hamster for over a year now. He is now a large hamster. His home came with a snap on wheel, but I took off the cover and placed it in the cage reversed. I also puchased a quiet wheel for his adjoining cage. He really didn't seem all that enthused with those wheels anymore. I thought it was because he was older. Well, I put on the new Snap-On Wheel and the first night he used it for a long time. Yes, it is noisy, but it is his favorite wheel. I now hear him in it every night (when I'm up late watching tv) exercising and it makes me happy. It is attached to the Crttertrail cage that has the large plastic see through front. I feel it is my responsibility as a pet owner to keep my pets healthy and happy. I keep our beloved hamster in the living room in quiet corner away from drafty windows and the noise of the TV. That way he doesn't wake anyone of us up in the middle of the night. As hamsters are active late at night, it makes no sense to stick them in a bedroom and expect them to be quiet. Of all the wheels I have purchased for our hamster, this is my favorite because it makes our little, precious, furry family member very happy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for CritterTrail- Snap-on Comfort Wheel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very quiet and much larger than the wheel that came with the cage!

PostedApril 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Brooklyn, MD
I bought this wheel to free up space in the cage for a hutch. He really enjoys it and ran for about an hour. I think he likes it better because its much bigger than the one that was in the cage. Also, since it is enclosed, he doesn't fly out when he goes fast. That way he can run much faster than before.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for CritterTrail- Snap-on Comfort Wheel
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Just Ok

PostedJune 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Ohio
i have a crittertrail pink and my hamster peanut would not touch the wheel and i didnt want him to get fat so i got this and attached it to a burrowing cage accessory which is attached to his cage and he wont get out of it. the waste collecter at the bottom works wonders on my dresser but the only problem is that it rattles really bad. im listening to him right now. its nothing you can fix with oil its just the plastic and his paws. im keeping because he loves it so much but i probably wouldnt reccomend it
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for CritterTrail- Snap-on Comfort Wheel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great

PostedMay 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
I like it because it easy snaps on and off. You can take it apart for easy cleaning. It is easy to put back together. Only problem is the poo is dispursed out the side even while tray is in place.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for CritterTrail- Snap-on Comfort Wheel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not the best

PostedMarch 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
The wheel started off good. However, when I tried to remove it from the cage to clean it, it didn't come off. Instead it broke off part of the cage. Then the middle part of the wheel broke off when I tried to take the wheel apart to take my dwarf hamster out. Sad day.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for CritterTrail- Snap-on Comfort Wheel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible

PostedDecember 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
This product is not a "Snap-On" at all. First the axis broke after removing it from the package and squeezing the prongs together. The prong snapped right off. When installing onto the side panel of a CritterTrail One cage, it snapped one of the tabs right off. Not only do I have a broken wheel, I have a broken side panel. Maybe the "Snap-On" means that it snaps off instead...
The other tubes/funnels by SupetPet for the CritterTrail snaps well together with the plastic rings.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for CritterTrail- Snap-on Comfort Wheel
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

PostedNovember 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
from TN
This wheel is badly disigned, the wheel poped off one night and my gerbil escaped. But, if it's put on properly it will work.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for CritterTrail- Snap-on Comfort Wheel
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Bad wheel too roomy for dwarf hamsters

PostedOctober 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
When I got the crittertrail expansion kit three i didnt know what to do with the wheel so I just put it on the cage.She loved it two days later when I checked on her she was alseep I saw the wheel she must of thought it was a bathroom because she went to the bathroom in it!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for CritterTrail- Snap-on Comfort Wheel
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Mixed opinions

PostedMay 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
My robo hamster loves this wheel. I've had this cage for about 3 weeks and the axle broke! Now the wheel is wobbly. The plastic wheel is VERY difficult to remove and seems to require great force. I'm going to try and fix the axle, but I'm afraid I'll have to buy a whole new wheel....but how long is that going to last?
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for CritterTrail- Snap-on Comfort Wheel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect with a little fix.

PostedMay 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
When you get the wheel it should be silent (mine was). But after around a week to 2 weeks the noise will become unbearable. The plastic starts to scratch itself with these horrible squeaks. The easy fix: vegi oil/ olive oil just a little bit onto the prong that goes into the wheel and you have restful nights once again. Just to keep it up add a little bit every cleaning.
To remove it from the cage the first time you feel like you would break it but it pops off (off my cage anyway). The first time you take the wheel off the pronged back you feel like it's impossible, the plastic hasn't been flexed yet so it's really stiff. The first few times you'll probably struggle but after that it should come off fairly easily (easier still if you have been using the oil). I've had mine for about 8 months no pieces are broken and with the oil it's the best wheel ever!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for CritterTrail- Snap-on Comfort Wheel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great thing

PostedApril 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
My teddy bear hamster,Mort LOVES this.he can take a nap in it and he likes to exersize in it.I would Recomend this to anyone who wants their small animal to have a great life.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for CritterTrail- Snap-on Comfort Wheel
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

PostedMarch 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
I can't stand this wheel. It came with my cage and I hate it. It's very difficult to clean and when my mice are running in it poo goes flying out of the side of the wheel which leaves mouse poo all over my desk... It makes enough noise to keep me up at night too.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for CritterTrail- Snap-on Comfort Wheel
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

OK....

PostedMarch 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
This product was a good product butt it is loud at night. My Hamsters are kept in my room and they are obsessed with it!!!!! I have to putt a piece of gimp over it and stop it so then they try to run and it makes a funny noise. Butt they love it and that is importand
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for CritterTrail- Snap-on Comfort Wheel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible Product

PostedJanuary 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Do NOT buy this product! The wheel is extremely difficult to remove for cleaning. It took two people to remove it - one to squeeze the prongs of the wheel's "axle" together, and one to pull the wheel off. After using this product for 40 days, the wheel's axle broke while trying to remove wheel for cleaning. Once you attach this product to the cage (mine was a Critter Trail One), it is impossible to remove. If the wheel axle breaks, you will not be able to remove the product from the side of the cage, and you will have to replace the entire side of the cage.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for CritterTrail- Snap-on Comfort Wheel
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Nahhh...

PostedNovember 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
My robo hamster doesn't understand the wheel is for running. It came included in a cage I bought and after having my hamster for about 4 days, I realized the sticky stuff under the wheel was a bunch of urine that had leaked out from the "urine guard". Disgusting! It's fine I guess if your hamster uses it and you have somewhere messier for your cage, but I recommend a wheel that goes inside the cage just because hamsters seem to like to go to the bathroom in large round plastic things.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for CritterTrail- Snap-on Comfort Wheel
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Hard to open

PostedAugust 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
from TX
This was good for my two mice bcause they had a second wheel. Though it isn't worht it because it is so hard to open and clean. So I would just get an inside wheel instead.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for CritterTrail- Snap-on Comfort Wheel
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

I could not get it open...

PostedMarch 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
When I got this wheel in the CritterTrail Expansion Kit 3, it seemed very good. It hooked right on to my hamster's, Roho, cage. Her feet could not get stuck and it is very quiet, but when it was time to clean out her cage, I could not get it open and it is filled with droppings. So now I have to use her old, squeaky wheel, and I would not suggest this product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>