petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox

Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox

Enclosed litter box with a clever top-entry cat litter box design that cats loveEliminates tracking for a more tidy litter box areaVirtually dog-proof, design helps to discourage pooches from playing in your kitty litterReduces cat litter box odor
Average Customer Rating:
4.599 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(237 Reviews) 237
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 237 reviews
5 stars
195
4 stars
19
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 star
12
219 out of 237(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 73 Answers
Customer Reviews for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Review 1 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

wonderful litter box

PostedApril 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
5dogs10cats
from IL
Wish I had this ten years ago! It is a great product that cuts down on litter tracking and keeps dogs out of it. It's made my life so much easier!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

answers all our wishes

PostedApril 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
3kittyfam
from California
I hesitated to purchase Clevercat box after reading a review about a cat that wouldn't use it, but decided to give it a try because our newest cat really kicks the litter everywhere. Our three cats have very distinct personalities, preferences and habits. All three took to the enclosed box right away, so it has been a perfect solution for everyone! The litter-catching textured lid is a nice touch, and the top removes and replaces easily for cleaning. A great product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Can prevent dogs from munching on Kitty Krunchies!

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Maie
from California
I have had one of these litter boxes in the bathroom off of my bedroom for a couple of years. It keeps all but the most determined dogs from "scooping" the kitty litter for you! I recently bought a second one after tiring of blocking the downstairs bathroom door with chid gates. In fact, my vet suggested one of these for the out of doors to keep my highly allergic dog from "cat poo hunting" in the bushes! I have Golden Retrievers and they are big enough to stick their heads in the opening and can almost reach the Kitty Krunchies inside!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Design

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
4mycatsalways
from Versailles, KY
I have had trouble for years with my cats "leaking" over the side even with the deepest boxes. When I saw this one I knew my troubles were over. No leaks. I love this box. I bought three.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Cat would not use

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
CJBoston
from Boston, MA
The box seems well made and the directions are well written for getting the cat used to it. We followed them exactly, but our older, fat(ish) cat would not take to it. He did fit in the box and used it occasionally, but also took to peeing all over the house, something he never did before.... On the plus side, our black lab could not get into the box. So if your cat is more adaptable than ours, it will work for keeping labs from eating cat, um, stuff (so gross!). We're going to try the Booda box.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tried the others this one works.

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
MaxsGuardian
from GA
Buying expensive self cleaning litter boxes was not an option because they are just too expensive so I can't compare this against say the litter genie.
For the manual style of cleaning a litter box this is the best I have used. I have the other (great by reviews) manual style litter box called Omega Paw Roll 'n Clean and although it made sifting litter faster and easier it failed in two areas: litter would fall out of the crack near the pullout tray entrance when tipping it over and you had to take the thing outside and hose every part including the top of it down about once a month, and water splashing up in your face from the unique cracks in a nasty litter box is no fun.
So back to the Clever cat Top Entry Litter box: This is not just a tub with hole in the top, it was uniquely engineered to be a litter box.
The only con about this box:
* you still have to use the scooper.
But the pros far outweigh the con:
* You use a liner made for the box, similar to the material of a trash bag, so no more hosing the litter box down, just pull the liner off, tie up, and throw away when the litter loses its effectiveness and becomes too old to scoop.
* Our dog doesn't go looking for treats in the litter box anymore.
* The cat scatters litter far less since the top catches litter off our cat's paws. Coupled with a mat under the box and there is no litter scatter beyond the mat.
* And the size including height is just right.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant !

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Tuxedoman
from Canada
I have waited, before writing this review, to make certain that what I say is accurate.
We have 4 cats and 2 dogs … all rescues or strays. Because we feed good quality, high protein cat food to the cats, one of our dogs loves to get into the litter box. Also, one of our cats loves to digs to China and flings litter all over the place.
Two problems that were extremely hard to solve … until we purchased these litter boxes. They are nothing short of brilliant!!! I would love it if they made these boxes larger in length, to accommodate multi cat homes. I would be the first purchaser . Another bonus, of course, is that there is zero odour in the room that these litter boxes are in. ( this is partly because of the box and partly because of the litter we use.) I think that the secret to this litter box, if one is having a challenge getting their cat to use it, is to leave the lid off of the box for a few weeks. Once a cat is using it and their smells are in the litter, they will happily use it.
I hope that this review has helped anyone who is think about purchasing one. We LOVE it and so do our cats !!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No more overspray!

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
daedae51
from Escondido, CA.
I've been using this box for a week now and haven't had to clean up any overspray outside box, very happy kitty mommy!
The only complaint is the lid is a bit tricky to open. Sort of a suction action, need 3 hands, lol.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
KatyJack14
Have two kittens, 12 weeks old. Both took to the new box immediately. There is minimal litter scattered around it and none around the house! I love this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST LITTER BOX EVER!

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
allnamesaretaken
from Milwaukee, WI
Seriously, the guy who invented this is a genius. I wish I would have thought of it! One of my three cats is a big boy, and no matter how high-backed my litter boxes were, he always managed to urinate outside of them. PROBLEM SOLVED with the Clever Cat! I've not had a problem with his "aim" since then, and my two other cats happily use this as well. I have a total of three Clever Cat litter boxes, and keep the lid on two of them and leave one with the lid off, and they use them all interchangeably. Wish I would have had these long ago, so I wouldn't have had to spend so much time cleaning up! GREAT product and I highly recommend it! Does not seem to be a problem for older cats either; my boys are 12 - 14 and they all use the Clever Cat easily.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic invention!

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
StephFallon
from Houston, TX
It's simple but genius. This litter box contains most litter and saves me from sweeping up after my cats on a regular basis. I was a bit leery in regard to whether my cats would use this type of box (top-entry) but they quickly figured it out and had no issues learning a new concept. I'm a fan so much so I even bought a second one. Plan to recommend to everyone I know with a cat!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excelent product

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
goget
from Fullerton, CA
I have used this litterbox for years with my cat and it has worked out great for both of us. There is way less litter tracked thru my house it stays in the box where it's needs to be. I think it's one of the smartest things anyone's ever thought of in a long time. Thank you, you made my clean up job easier.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These are the best

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
BrettDogAcres
from Hilham, TN
These litter boxes are great. They keep the litter from being tossed out of the box, the design on the lid helps clean the cat's paws of pieces of litter. I will say that I am unable to use the liners. My cats shred them to the point that they fall in and cover the litter. But the boxes are great and I don't mind not having a liner.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great solution!

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Haelle
from Florida
This is a great solution for a dog who likes to get into the cat box! My cat used the litter box without the lid the first day...used it with the lid on day two! My dog cannot get in it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
tee37
from phoenix, az
bottom line, I was constantly chasing my dog around after he'd steal stool from the cat's old litter box and drag it around the floor eating it. no more. done. finito. he can't get in this box (and he Tries), and the cat started using it no problem. The dog IS small to medium sized by the way. The only thing that is a teeny drawback is that since the cat Is diving in headfirst every day, I do feel compelled to scoop almost every day or two now as opposed to what I could get away with with door or regular top boxes. But that's just me. Still love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best litter pan ever

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
jcp207
from Davisburg, MI
I have had one of these for years so this is a second one. I have a small dog that likes to bother what's in the litter pan so this pan is perfect for that. The area around the pan stays litter free. I love everything about this purchase. An older cat may have some trouble getting in and out of the pan.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love, love , love this product

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
smg1
from rising sun, md
I'd given over the bathroom to my cat because I couldn't stand the loose litter all over the floor. I"d clean, it would last only minutes. Bought CleverCat litter box, she figured it out right away. It catches all the litter, no stepping on loose particles or sweeping twice a day. Don't wait another minute - go get one! And pair it with the litter genie. Makes cleaning the litter box is almost fun!! http://www.petco.com/product/118466/Litter-Genie-Plus-Cat-Litter-Disposal-System-in-Silver.aspx?CoreCat=LookAhead
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A substantial upgrade to my cat ownership.

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
TheatreCat
from Pittsburgh, PA
One of the least favorite parts of my morning since I became a cat owner has been walking into the bathroom in the morning to find tracked litter outside the litter box. It usually isn't much, but it's enough to spread quickly if I don't sweep or vacuum it up, and it's just unpleasant.
Clevercat has made that almost entirely a thing of the past. This system designs exactly as advertised for me - my cat seems quite happy using the box, and tracked litter falls off his feet and gets trapped in the grooved lid as he exits. All I have to do is shake the lid back into the box when I empty it. An occasional stray bit of litter makes it to the floor, but 90% of the mess is magically gone.
As a bonus, I do occasionally have a dog visit with a friend, and he's unable to stick his snout in there looking for "treats".
100% satisfied, recommend without hesitation. It's a little pricey, but IMO totally worth it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keeps the dogs out!

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
kjd469
from Kansas City, MO
We needed a litter box to keep our small dogs from snacking on the contents (eww!). I looked at pricier 'designer" top-entry boxes, but couldn't justify the high price-tag. Found the Clever Cat top-entry box and decided to give it a try. So happy with it! Problem has been solved, and our two cats have no problems using it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No More Scattered Litter

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
MissPurrfect
from Florida
I have two cats and one of them throws litter all over the place and it got tracked onto my hardwood floors. I was ready to pull my hair out or kill the cat (not really) until I got this litterbox. She went right in it and I think it is so funny to see her head sticking out the top. No more scattered litter.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>