petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox

Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox

Enclosed litter box with a clever top-entry cat litter box design that cats loveEliminates tracking for a more tidy litter box areaVirtually dog-proof, design helps to discourage pooches from playing in your kitty litterReduces cat litter box odor
Average Customer Rating:
4.587 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(264 Reviews) 264
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 264 reviews
5 stars
212
4 stars
27
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 star
13
244 out of 264(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 78 Answers
Customer Reviews for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Review 1 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this litterbox!

PostedNovember 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Richmond, VA
I was worried that my 8 yr old feline would not adapt to this new box, but she has, with no problem! It has taken care of the two things I had hoped it would. My two dogs can no longer get into the box for a "snack" and the litter that was always scattered on the floor is no more! Clean floor, healthier dogs and happy cat=happy pet owner!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great litter box

PostedOctober 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from South Point OH
My cat daughter, Lacie, doesn't squat in regular litter boxes. This one is a life saver. Although the lid is made to help keep the tracked litter in one place, my kids jump out in a different direction and still get litter from their hands & feet everywhere. But it's not anything my Black & Decker can't keep up with!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for cats who are diggers

PostedOctober 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Chandler, AZ
We originally bought one 7+ years ago to keep our hound out of our cat's business. That cat is now 14. Even though our dog has passed, we love these litter boxes. A few months ago, we adopted a stray 6-7 week old kitten. At first, a small litter box was fine; but, now she emulates our older cat who believes in thoroughly turning over the cat crystals in the litter box. These boxes do a great job of keeping 99+% of the 8# of crystals in the box. The lids also trap some of the crystals. The escapee crystals are minimal; maybe, a teaspoon a day is swept up between the two boxes which is really low because the kitten gave our cat coccidia; they are both taking album; they are both drinking a lot; and, they are both urinating a lot.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very helpful product!

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from PA
I dread cleaning litter boxes and I have tried plenty of different kind, Clevercat top entry litterbox is definietly the easiest to clean. My kittens took to it very well, they always seem anxious to use it (especially while i'm trying to clean it out!) It cuts down on the litter outside of the box because it seems to all fall back in the box or gets stuck on the lid and you can just dump that back in the box. I would recomment this product to every cat owner.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Less smell, less sand

PostedOctober 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from SF
I personally really like this product. This item reduced sand problems on the carpet and smell of the waste. One problem is since it's covers above, the dust of the sand goes on cat's body. My one cat is very sensitive with litter box but he seems satisfied. Since it is big, two cats can use it without any problems but need to put lots of litter.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good for our messy cat

PostedSeptember 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Seattle, WA
Both our cats fling litter around when burying (once I came home to half the litter in a pile on the floor) and it is impossible for them to do that with this litter box. Success!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Probably Good for Some

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, IL
I bought this litterbox for my two foster cats. My Pittie mix wanted to use the litterbox as a snacking machine, so I thought this would work perfectly. It would work perfectly if the cats would use it. They refuse to use it with or without the lid.
Initially, I set it next to my other litterbox, lid off. They seemed to start to use it. After a week, I put the lid on, and one of them used it once. I took away the old litterbox and one of them went on the floor next to it. I took the lid back off and both of them refuse to use it at all.
I had high hopes, but it was not for my two foster cats. It was a waste of my money, but may be a wonderful litterbox for others. My friend's cat uses it without problem. I'll keep looking.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox

PostedSeptember 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Stillwater. OK
Excellent design and quality. Don't know anything better so far. Cats are happy, there is no mess around, dogs can't reach the litter, compact size, and many-many more. I just love it!!! Thank you Petco!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's good!

PostedAugust 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
from IL
Much less litter on the floor! Doggy is no longer snacking. WIN WIN
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from SF Bay Area
I have two litter kickers in my family and I was constantly having to vacuum or sweep up the litter box area. For years I had a hard time finding a box that could control this issue. With this box, if they kick furiously the litter has no where to go. There is a small amount of tracking around the box, but now I only sweep or vacuum every few weeks or so.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Litterbox!

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Houston, Tx
I have been struggling with the litter box situation in our house for at least a year. We don't have an ideal spot for the boxes and litter ends up covering the bathroom floor. I found myself sweeping up litter every evening. The Clever Cat box was a great solution. It has almost eliminated my litter on the floor problem. The only complaint I have is that the Jumbo Clever Cat liners do not fit the box as well as I would have hoped. They limit the space in the box for the cats to move around in. I will be reviewing the liners as well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Litter Box

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Nashville
This litter box has been fantastic. With limited places to keep the box in the house, I was looking for something that would cut down on the mess and smell. It has done both. I barely have to sweep up any litter, and it has definitely helped with the kitty box smell.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Genius

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Riverside, CA
I have to admit I was skeptical when I first took the Clever Cat out of the box because let's face it , it really just is a Sterilite tote with a hole cut out of the lid. I was also not entirely convinced that my cat would take to it. I followed the instructions to train her with one tweak, and it's kinda nasty but it worked. I filled the Clever Cat with litter from my cats old box, making sure there were a few, ahem, nuggets in there so my cat would sniff them out and know this is where the Dookie goes now. I left the lid off for a day per the instructions. After I was sure my cat had used the Clever Cat at least once for number one and number two , I put the lid on. Within a day my cat was completely Clever Cat trained! And just for the record she ain't the sharpest tool in the shed. I purchased the Clever Cat for two reasons, to keep my chihuahua from fishing snacks out of the litter box (I'm mean really who does that?) and to eliminate some of the litter mess that was constantly being tracked from the box. This product solved both my problems and I'm very satisfied.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

top entry box

PostedAugust 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from new york
takes a bit to get used to. liner kept
falling down so I don't use it
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best litter box ever.

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Sioux Falls SD
I have 3 cats, and they chose this top-entry litter box over the regular front-entry type as soon as I brought it home. I now have two, and that works well. We've been using the crystal litter for 8 years now, and it's a great combination -- no smell at all, and very little litter tracking with this litter box and its lid that catches stray litter. Also, these boxes are simple to clean, because the lid comes right off and you are able to easily scoop and stir the litter (stirring is a MUST for crystal litter or it won't work well). Added benefit -- my dog can't get into this litter box!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Litter Box

PostedJuly 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Montana
This box actually does almost completely eliminate litter on the floor! My 9lb cat uses it no problem. My 12lb cat is to big though she can barely turn around in it so she never liked it, we still have to use a regular box for her. I wish they made it just 1-2 inches bigger all around. Highly recommend this though, keeps the dog out and keeps the litter off the floor!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love this!

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Michigan
I have a female cat who consistently sprayed out of the entry of 3 different litter boxes. I spent over $100 trying different types. I am so pleased to have found this box....problem solved!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great litter box

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Tulsa, OK
This is a great litter box for a household with cats and dogs. The new kittens used the box quickly and easily and the big dogs cannot get into it. I first saw a similar design but the $180 price tag made it impractical. The Clevercat litter box at $40 had the same smart design at a price I could afford.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Butler, NJ
Good product. The amount of litter around the litter box after the cats use them is significantly less than before, which is great. Saves me a lot of cleaning time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nothing is Purrrfect or full-proof

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from California
With that being said, this litter box is close to it! Even in following the detailed(common sense) directions, the kittens(2) jump into the box and after doing their business, they hop right out totally by-passing the lid. The lid is a good deal of the appeal of this box. The kittens like the privacy. I've come to accept that cleaning up litter on the floor or carpet is a part of having cats. The liners are strong and thick enough to resist puncture or tearing. The height and lid do cut down on the smell. Additional colors would be nice.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>