petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox

Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox

Enclosed litter box with a clever top-entry cat litter box design that cats loveEliminates tracking for a more tidy litter box areaVirtually dog-proof, design helps to discourage pooches from playing in your kitty litterReduces cat litter box odor
Average Customer Rating:
4.578 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(249 Reviews) 249
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 249 reviews
5 stars
200
4 stars
25
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 star
13
230 out of 249(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 76 Answers
Customer Reviews for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Review 1 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Litter Box

PostedJuly 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Stykens
from Montana
This box actually does almost completely eliminate litter on the floor! My 9lb cat uses it no problem. My 12lb cat is to big though she can barely turn around in it so she never liked it, we still have to use a regular box for her. I wish they made it just 1-2 inches bigger all around. Highly recommend this though, keeps the dog out and keeps the litter off the floor!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love this!

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
5kidscallmemom
from Michigan
I have a female cat who consistently sprayed out of the entry of 3 different litter boxes. I spent over $100 trying different types. I am so pleased to have found this box....problem solved!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great litter box

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
SusieShopper23
from Tulsa, OK
This is a great litter box for a household with cats and dogs. The new kittens used the box quickly and easily and the big dogs cannot get into it. I first saw a similar design but the $180 price tag made it impractical. The Clevercat litter box at $40 had the same smart design at a price I could afford.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
DK425
from Butler, NJ
Good product. The amount of litter around the litter box after the cats use them is significantly less than before, which is great. Saves me a lot of cleaning time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nothing is Purrrfect or full-proof

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Beal
from California
With that being said, this litter box is close to it! Even in following the detailed(common sense) directions, the kittens(2) jump into the box and after doing their business, they hop right out totally by-passing the lid. The lid is a good deal of the appeal of this box. The kittens like the privacy. I've come to accept that cleaning up litter on the floor or carpet is a part of having cats. The liners are strong and thick enough to resist puncture or tearing. The height and lid do cut down on the smell. Additional colors would be nice.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Clever Invention

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
cathartic
Our 2 cats started using it with the top off yesterday, and today theyre using it with the top on. They have adjusted to the top entry nicely.
Ive noticed less litter tracking and some litter granules collecting on the top so that seems to be working.
Also very pleased with ease of scooping.
Thanks for inventing something that works. I searched and searched and knew there had to be something simple that would work effectively.
Agree about the liners being too small. I got around this by taping the liner to the outside of the box. Hope they will make bigger liners in the future. How did they miss that?
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lifesaver!

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mke2dogs
This litter box was a real lifesaver. I got it because our dog was eating out of the litter box. Got the box and the cat caught on right away. Problem solved! I am just kicking myself for not getting this box sooner.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Reduced Tracking By 90%

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
LuckyRed1
from VA
CleverCat Top Entry Litter Box reduced litter tracking by about 90% in our household. (Smell has reduced as well.) I was pleasantly surprised by how well it works. It took the cats a day or two to be comfortable using it but now they don't even hesitate jumping in. Initially, I filled it partially with litter from their existing litter box to attract them to go inside. :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Clevercat Top Entry litterbox

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
dailovesailing
from ny
Smaller at base, works great, elderly cat does well
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I love the hole in the top

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
BunnyMomma1
from Omaha, NE
It is great for cats that don't squat. The urine stays in the box.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Keeps Most Litter Under Control

PostedJune 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Meowww337
from Jacksonville, FL
At first, my cat and kitten avoided the new litter box. I put them in with the lid off and pet them to ease the transition. Now they use it perfectly! I try to clean around the area daily, but there is still some litter tracked around the litter box. Maybe this is due to the type of litter I am using (and yes, I put the opening facing the wall), but I was hoping the lid would trap a little more. The box comes with a few liners, which is an added bonus. The smell has been significantly reduced. I would recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

0/4 cats use this box

PostedMay 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kirty
from Tampa, FL
My cats won't use this litter box and I've had it for a month. It's expensive and I wish I could return it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

wonderful litter box

PostedApril 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
5dogs10cats
from IL
Wish I had this ten years ago! It is a great product that cuts down on litter tracking and keeps dogs out of it. It's made my life so much easier!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

answers all our wishes

PostedApril 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
3kittyfam
from California
I hesitated to purchase Clevercat box after reading a review about a cat that wouldn't use it, but decided to give it a try because our newest cat really kicks the litter everywhere. Our three cats have very distinct personalities, preferences and habits. All three took to the enclosed box right away, so it has been a perfect solution for everyone! The litter-catching textured lid is a nice touch, and the top removes and replaces easily for cleaning. A great product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Can prevent dogs from munching on Kitty Krunchies!

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Maie
from California
I have had one of these litter boxes in the bathroom off of my bedroom for a couple of years. It keeps all but the most determined dogs from "scooping" the kitty litter for you! I recently bought a second one after tiring of blocking the downstairs bathroom door with chid gates. In fact, my vet suggested one of these for the out of doors to keep my highly allergic dog from "cat poo hunting" in the bushes! I have Golden Retrievers and they are big enough to stick their heads in the opening and can almost reach the Kitty Krunchies inside!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Design

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
4mycatsalways
from Versailles, KY
I have had trouble for years with my cats "leaking" over the side even with the deepest boxes. When I saw this one I knew my troubles were over. No leaks. I love this box. I bought three.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Cat would not use

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
CJBoston
from Boston, MA
The box seems well made and the directions are well written for getting the cat used to it. We followed them exactly, but our older, fat(ish) cat would not take to it. He did fit in the box and used it occasionally, but also took to peeing all over the house, something he never did before.... On the plus side, our black lab could not get into the box. So if your cat is more adaptable than ours, it will work for keeping labs from eating cat, um, stuff (so gross!). We're going to try the Booda box.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tried the others this one works.

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
MaxsGuardian
from GA
Buying expensive self cleaning litter boxes was not an option because they are just too expensive so I can't compare this against say the litter genie.
For the manual style of cleaning a litter box this is the best I have used. I have the other (great by reviews) manual style litter box called Omega Paw Roll 'n Clean and although it made sifting litter faster and easier it failed in two areas: litter would fall out of the crack near the pullout tray entrance when tipping it over and you had to take the thing outside and hose every part including the top of it down about once a month, and water splashing up in your face from the unique cracks in a nasty litter box is no fun.
So back to the Clever cat Top Entry Litter box: This is not just a tub with hole in the top, it was uniquely engineered to be a litter box.
The only con about this box:
* you still have to use the scooper.
But the pros far outweigh the con:
* You use a liner made for the box, similar to the material of a trash bag, so no more hosing the litter box down, just pull the liner off, tie up, and throw away when the litter loses its effectiveness and becomes too old to scoop.
* Our dog doesn't go looking for treats in the litter box anymore.
* The cat scatters litter far less since the top catches litter off our cat's paws. Coupled with a mat under the box and there is no litter scatter beyond the mat.
* And the size including height is just right.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant !

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Tuxedoman
from Canada
I have waited, before writing this review, to make certain that what I say is accurate.
We have 4 cats and 2 dogs … all rescues or strays. Because we feed good quality, high protein cat food to the cats, one of our dogs loves to get into the litter box. Also, one of our cats loves to digs to China and flings litter all over the place.
Two problems that were extremely hard to solve … until we purchased these litter boxes. They are nothing short of brilliant!!! I would love it if they made these boxes larger in length, to accommodate multi cat homes. I would be the first purchaser . Another bonus, of course, is that there is zero odour in the room that these litter boxes are in. ( this is partly because of the box and partly because of the litter we use.) I think that the secret to this litter box, if one is having a challenge getting their cat to use it, is to leave the lid off of the box for a few weeks. Once a cat is using it and their smells are in the litter, they will happily use it.
I hope that this review has helped anyone who is think about purchasing one. We LOVE it and so do our cats !!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No more overspray!

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
daedae51
from Escondido, CA.
I've been using this box for a week now and haven't had to clean up any overspray outside box, very happy kitty mommy!
The only complaint is the lid is a bit tricky to open. Sort of a suction action, need 3 hands, lol.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>