petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox

Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox

Enclosed litter box with a clever top-entry cat litter box design that cats loveEliminates tracking for a more tidy litter box areaVirtually dog-proof, design helps to discourage pooches from playing in your kitty litterReduces cat litter box odor
Average Customer Rating:
4.58 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(255 Reviews) 255
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 255 reviews
5 stars
204
4 stars
27
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 star
13
236 out of 255(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 77 Answers
Customer Reviews for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Review 1 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
syman11
from SF Bay Area
I have two litter kickers in my family and I was constantly having to vacuum or sweep up the litter box area. For years I had a hard time finding a box that could control this issue. With this box, if they kick furiously the litter has no where to go. There is a small amount of tracking around the box, but now I only sweep or vacuum every few weeks or so.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Litterbox!

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Crazycatgal713
from Houston, Tx
I have been struggling with the litter box situation in our house for at least a year. We don't have an ideal spot for the boxes and litter ends up covering the bathroom floor. I found myself sweeping up litter every evening. The Clever Cat box was a great solution. It has almost eliminated my litter on the floor problem. The only complaint I have is that the Jumbo Clever Cat liners do not fit the box as well as I would have hoped. They limit the space in the box for the cats to move around in. I will be reviewing the liners as well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Litter Box

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
ARBG
from Nashville
This litter box has been fantastic. With limited places to keep the box in the house, I was looking for something that would cut down on the mess and smell. It has done both. I barely have to sweep up any litter, and it has definitely helped with the kitty box smell.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Genius

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
StarLordess
from Riverside, CA
I have to admit I was skeptical when I first took the Clever Cat out of the box because let's face it , it really just is a Sterilite tote with a hole cut out of the lid. I was also not entirely convinced that my cat would take to it. I followed the instructions to train her with one tweak, and it's kinda nasty but it worked. I filled the Clever Cat with litter from my cats old box, making sure there were a few, ahem, nuggets in there so my cat would sniff them out and know this is where the Dookie goes now. I left the lid off for a day per the instructions. After I was sure my cat had used the Clever Cat at least once for number one and number two , I put the lid on. Within a day my cat was completely Clever Cat trained! And just for the record she ain't the sharpest tool in the shed. I purchased the Clever Cat for two reasons, to keep my chihuahua from fishing snacks out of the litter box (I'm mean really who does that?) and to eliminate some of the litter mess that was constantly being tracked from the box. This product solved both my problems and I'm very satisfied.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

top entry box

PostedAugust 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
wasabu
from new york
takes a bit to get used to. liner kept
falling down so I don't use it
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best litter box ever.

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
northernkitties
from Sioux Falls SD
I have 3 cats, and they chose this top-entry litter box over the regular front-entry type as soon as I brought it home. I now have two, and that works well. We've been using the crystal litter for 8 years now, and it's a great combination -- no smell at all, and very little litter tracking with this litter box and its lid that catches stray litter. Also, these boxes are simple to clean, because the lid comes right off and you are able to easily scoop and stir the litter (stirring is a MUST for crystal litter or it won't work well). Added benefit -- my dog can't get into this litter box!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Litter Box

PostedJuly 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Stykens
from Montana
This box actually does almost completely eliminate litter on the floor! My 9lb cat uses it no problem. My 12lb cat is to big though she can barely turn around in it so she never liked it, we still have to use a regular box for her. I wish they made it just 1-2 inches bigger all around. Highly recommend this though, keeps the dog out and keeps the litter off the floor!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love this!

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
5kidscallmemom
from Michigan
I have a female cat who consistently sprayed out of the entry of 3 different litter boxes. I spent over $100 trying different types. I am so pleased to have found this box....problem solved!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great litter box

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
SusieShopper23
from Tulsa, OK
This is a great litter box for a household with cats and dogs. The new kittens used the box quickly and easily and the big dogs cannot get into it. I first saw a similar design but the $180 price tag made it impractical. The Clevercat litter box at $40 had the same smart design at a price I could afford.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
DK425
from Butler, NJ
Good product. The amount of litter around the litter box after the cats use them is significantly less than before, which is great. Saves me a lot of cleaning time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nothing is Purrrfect or full-proof

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Beal
from California
With that being said, this litter box is close to it! Even in following the detailed(common sense) directions, the kittens(2) jump into the box and after doing their business, they hop right out totally by-passing the lid. The lid is a good deal of the appeal of this box. The kittens like the privacy. I've come to accept that cleaning up litter on the floor or carpet is a part of having cats. The liners are strong and thick enough to resist puncture or tearing. The height and lid do cut down on the smell. Additional colors would be nice.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Clever Invention

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
cathartic
Our 2 cats started using it with the top off yesterday, and today theyre using it with the top on. They have adjusted to the top entry nicely.
Ive noticed less litter tracking and some litter granules collecting on the top so that seems to be working.
Also very pleased with ease of scooping.
Thanks for inventing something that works. I searched and searched and knew there had to be something simple that would work effectively.
Agree about the liners being too small. I got around this by taping the liner to the outside of the box. Hope they will make bigger liners in the future. How did they miss that?
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lifesaver!

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mke2dogs
This litter box was a real lifesaver. I got it because our dog was eating out of the litter box. Got the box and the cat caught on right away. Problem solved! I am just kicking myself for not getting this box sooner.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Reduced Tracking By 90%

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
LuckyRed1
from VA
CleverCat Top Entry Litter Box reduced litter tracking by about 90% in our household. (Smell has reduced as well.) I was pleasantly surprised by how well it works. It took the cats a day or two to be comfortable using it but now they don't even hesitate jumping in. Initially, I filled it partially with litter from their existing litter box to attract them to go inside. :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Clevercat Top Entry litterbox

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
dailovesailing
from ny
Smaller at base, works great, elderly cat does well
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I love the hole in the top

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
BunnyMomma1
from Omaha, NE
It is great for cats that don't squat. The urine stays in the box.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Keeps Most Litter Under Control

PostedJune 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Meowww337
from Jacksonville, FL
At first, my cat and kitten avoided the new litter box. I put them in with the lid off and pet them to ease the transition. Now they use it perfectly! I try to clean around the area daily, but there is still some litter tracked around the litter box. Maybe this is due to the type of litter I am using (and yes, I put the opening facing the wall), but I was hoping the lid would trap a little more. The box comes with a few liners, which is an added bonus. The smell has been significantly reduced. I would recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

0/4 cats use this box

PostedMay 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kirty
from Tampa, FL
My cats won't use this litter box and I've had it for a month. It's expensive and I wish I could return it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

wonderful litter box

PostedApril 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
5dogs10cats
from IL
Wish I had this ten years ago! It is a great product that cuts down on litter tracking and keeps dogs out of it. It's made my life so much easier!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

answers all our wishes

PostedApril 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
3kittyfam
from California
I hesitated to purchase Clevercat box after reading a review about a cat that wouldn't use it, but decided to give it a try because our newest cat really kicks the litter everywhere. Our three cats have very distinct personalities, preferences and habits. All three took to the enclosed box right away, so it has been a perfect solution for everyone! The litter-catching textured lid is a nice touch, and the top removes and replaces easily for cleaning. A great product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>