petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox

Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox

Enclosed litter box with a clever top-entry cat litter box design that cats loveEliminates tracking for a more tidy litter box areaVirtually dog-proof, design helps to discourage pooches from playing in your kitty litterReduces cat litter box odor
Average Customer Rating:
4.576 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(278 Reviews) 278
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 278 reviews
5 stars
223
4 stars
27
3 stars
7
2 stars
7
1 star
14
256 out of 278(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 83 Answers
Customer Reviews for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Review 1 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best litterbox

PostedApril 15, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Boca Raton, FL
Both of my cats use their boxes (adult & kitten). The lid does catch the litter upon exiting the boxes. They both started using the boxes immediately. My one cat is large 16 lbs and has no problem getting in the box. Forget the liners they are thin and do not fit the box.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedMarch 22, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Kodiak, AK
I love this litter box. Ive seen it used at my friends house and love how much cleaner the cats feet are. No litter kicked out either. Unforunately, I ordered one and have been unable to get our cat to use it. In her defense she is 17 and I should have gotten this when she was younger. She's not too big on change at this point. She decided to go potty outside under the porch until I put her other box back. I am keeping it because I know we will always have cats. I would definitely recommend this!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dogproof and Toddlerproof

PostedMarch 22, 2015
Customer Avatar
from McKinney, TX
This litterbox‘s simple design keeps my dog and my year old granddaughter out of the litter. The cats learned how to jump in the top opening with no problems. Before this purchase, I had the old litterbox up on a bathroom counter so the dog couldn't get info it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ingenius!!!

PostedMarch 11, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Boynton Beach FL
I just got a 4 month old kitten and started her with a typical litter box. There was litter everywhere! I read about this Clevercat and honestly thought way too expensive so I tried to make my own. Fail! I finally caved and bought this box. My cat started using it the SAME day and there is virtually 0 litter tracking if used along with a mat in front. The best thing about this box is that it may look big but it's really not and the plastic is very sturdy, much sturdier than a typical storage container. The cover also is very durable hard plastic and has these ridges that capture litter from your cats paws when it jumps out of the box. Its a bit expensive but it's really not just a storage box with a hole in it. The material and design are unique.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No More Mess!!

PostedMarch 2, 2015
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
I have always been very annoyed with litter tracking and have tried almost every method to try and stop it from happening, such as various types of mats and barriers but it never occurred to me use a top entry litter box. I was skeptical at first because my cat is about 9 years old, and about 20lbs, so I figured he'd either have no interest or he'd have a hard time getting in and out. I was pleasantly surprised. He took to it right away and has absolutely no problem getting in and out. The lid is nice and sturdy, so no worries about it caving in when he's on top of it. It doesn't eliminate tracking completely but it's so much better than it used to be. The lid has little grooves in it to catch whatever he brings out with him and all that ends up on the floor is maybe a couple of litter granules. Since the opening is meant to be placed towards the wall, you barely even notice the litter that does make its way out. Another big problem was my german shepherd getting into the litter and eating it, and she can no longer do that. So, basically I love this product and wish I found it way sooner. I'd highly recommend it to anyone with a cat. On a side note, for anyone who thinks that almost $40 is a little much to spend on something your cat poops in, and are handy, there are a lot of DIYs online on how to make one yourself out of those big storage bins. That's basically what this product is, but the construction is really sturdy, and I was just too lazy to cut a hole in anything.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Cat Box

PostedMarch 1, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Wichita, Kansas
My male yellow tabby cat tends to stand at the edge of the catbox to urinate, and it runs over the edge and onto the floor. This cat box has very tall sides and there is no lower opening, so once he's in it, the urine does not go outside the box. None of my cats liked going down the hole in the top so I took the tops off. I have two pans like this and am buying a third because we just added a third cat. I recommend these pans . I don't use the liners -- I found they just won't stay in place without the lid. When cleaning the entire box, I scrub it out with an all purpose household cleaning and paper towels, which I later put in a plastic grocery sack and then throw out with the debris in the litter. I use clumping litter.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Florida
Works wonderfully at keeping dogs out of the litter box and the cats find it playful.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Clevercat Litterbox is not only Clever but Great!

PostedJanuary 21, 2015
Customer Avatar
from honolulu
This litter box definitely keeps outside litter to a bare minimum. My cats took to it right away and I love that I don't have to walk on so much litter any more.
I only wish it came in a much bigger size for my 'larger' cats.
I foster so I have 25+ cats every single day and they love this litter box.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Entirely too small

PostedDecember 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New Jersey
This box eliminates litter dust perfectly, but it is entirely too small. I have a short hair grey German cat and she doesn't fit comfortably at all. Now she is peeing all over the place because she hates it. I wouldn't recommend this box unless they have a larger size. And if they do please let me know!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not Good For Senior, Motor or Vision Disabled Cats

PostedDecember 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Germantown Maryland
My cat does not like this litter pan, because he feels trapped inside, then he got older and didn't like the climb
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The greatest litter box on Earth!

PostedDecember 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Honolulu, HI
Ordered my 2nd box recently as an additional box. Had the 1st box for about 5 years now. Great product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Bummer

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from North Carolina
My cat figured out how to use it right away and has no problems with it, which is awesome. My 45lb dog figured out how to get inside it right away, which is not awesome. I came home from work the first day it was in the house with the box drug out into the hallway, litter everywhere and the lid off. I like the design of it, but it is not dog proof in my house. My dog isn't overly smart but he is determined and 8 hours was more than enough time for him to figure out how to break into it. I won't be able to keep it in the bathroom and will have to keep it on top of my dryer which I was trying to avoid. I'll definitely keep looking for a dog proof litter box.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best top entry litter box I own

PostedNovember 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from North Carolina
With 16 cats, I have many litter boxes (17). This litter box is the easiest to keep clean and clean out. There is no litter on the floor around the box. There is no urine on the wall or floor from the couple of elevator butt cats I have. I am going to replace the rest of my front entry boxes with this box. LOVE it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple concept that really works

PostedNovember 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from DelrayBeach, FL
Like others with male cats who position themselves in such a way as to shoot their urine out the entrance hole of typical litter boxes, I have found this box to be the answer to my prayers. The design is almost too simple to rave about, but then again sometimes simple is better. Both my big boy and my more petite female took to the box immediatley (with the top off for the first day as recommended) and once the cover was in place they had no problem adjusting to jumping through it. The hole is large enough for a cat to position itself in such a way that their head can peak through and yet small enough to provide enough landing space on top of the box in order to jump in and out. The box itself is very sturdy and the top is designed in such a way as to grab and catch some of the litter from your cat's paws. Some people complain about the high price, but this box is worth every penny. No more stray litter and most importantly no more frustration dealing with inadvertent urine streaming outside the box. Love, love, love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this litterbox!

PostedNovember 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Richmond, VA
I was worried that my 8 yr old feline would not adapt to this new box, but she has, with no problem! It has taken care of the two things I had hoped it would. My two dogs can no longer get into the box for a "snack" and the litter that was always scattered on the floor is no more! Clean floor, healthier dogs and happy cat=happy pet owner!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great litter box

PostedOctober 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from South Point OH
My cat daughter, Lacie, doesn't squat in regular litter boxes. This one is a life saver. Although the lid is made to help keep the tracked litter in one place, my kids jump out in a different direction and still get litter from their hands & feet everywhere. But it's not anything my Black & Decker can't keep up with!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for cats who are diggers

PostedOctober 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Chandler, AZ
We originally bought one 7+ years ago to keep our hound out of our cat's business. That cat is now 14. Even though our dog has passed, we love these litter boxes. A few months ago, we adopted a stray 6-7 week old kitten. At first, a small litter box was fine; but, now she emulates our older cat who believes in thoroughly turning over the cat crystals in the litter box. These boxes do a great job of keeping 99+% of the 8# of crystals in the box. The lids also trap some of the crystals. The escapee crystals are minimal; maybe, a teaspoon a day is swept up between the two boxes which is really low because the kitten gave our cat coccidia; they are both taking album; they are both drinking a lot; and, they are both urinating a lot.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very helpful product!

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from PA
I dread cleaning litter boxes and I have tried plenty of different kind, Clevercat top entry litterbox is definietly the easiest to clean. My kittens took to it very well, they always seem anxious to use it (especially while i'm trying to clean it out!) It cuts down on the litter outside of the box because it seems to all fall back in the box or gets stuck on the lid and you can just dump that back in the box. I would recomment this product to every cat owner.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Less smell, less sand

PostedOctober 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from SF
I personally really like this product. This item reduced sand problems on the carpet and smell of the waste. One problem is since it's covers above, the dust of the sand goes on cat's body. My one cat is very sensitive with litter box but he seems satisfied. Since it is big, two cats can use it without any problems but need to put lots of litter.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Clevercat Top Entry Litterbox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good for our messy cat

PostedSeptember 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Seattle, WA
Both our cats fling litter around when burying (once I came home to half the litter in a pile on the floor) and it is impossible for them to do that with this litter box. Success!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>