petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Carefresh Colors Soft Pet Bedding

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Carefresh Colors Soft Pet Bedding

Carefresh pet bedding is safe, healthy and fun for you and your petColorfast and non-toxic pet litterExtra long, extra soft fibers protect sensitive skinProvides long lasting odor controlHighly absorbent for a dry, healthy habitatLow dust - safe for you and your small petEnvironmentally friendly and sustainable - biodegradable and compostable
Average Customer Rating:
4.584 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(137 Reviews) 137
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 137 reviews
5 stars
109
4 stars
13
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 star
6
124 out of 137(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Carefresh Colors Soft Pet Bedding
Review 1 for Carefresh Colors Soft Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

PostedDecember 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
from California
Fun colors that match cages and our hamster loves nestling inside.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
15of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Carefresh Colors Soft Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The best I've found for odor control...so far

PostedOctober 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
I tried a few different types of bedding for my hamsters and this seems to be the best. It's soft, very absorbant and does a great job with odor control.
I did notice a thin layer of dust on the bottom of the cages when I cleaned them and sometimes I would see a bit of dust on the hamsters themselves. To help with this problem I started mixing the Carefresh with Kaytee Clean & Cozy. This solved most of the dust problem but still gives the odor control of the Carefesh and my hamsters love the mixture.
I have large homemade bin cages with smaller bin rooms connected to them. I spot clean daily and do a complete cleaning every 2 weeks, none of the bins ever smell.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Carefresh Colors Soft Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great fluff!

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Greenville, SC
My Black Bear Hamster loves the texture of this fluff and digs through it. It handles bathrooming fine as long as you clean the cage regularly. Some reviews have been negative but there is NO SUCH THING as a perfectly absorbent material that needs NO maintenance. Clean the cage every week and this is PERFECT and healthier for your "child" than wood shavings are.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Carefresh Colors Soft Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing product

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
this product is amazing. it does have great odor control and it is very soft for my hamsters. they love to bury themselves in it. i give this product 5 stars.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Carefresh Colors Soft Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love Carefresh!

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Ayer MA
My hamster loves this because she can tunnel and move it around easily and I love the colors and odor control!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Carefresh Colors Soft Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Lumpy and Dusty but Good Odor Control

PostedJuly 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
I used this bedding in the cages of a female Syrian hamster and a female Djungarian hamster. I had previously been using Kaytee Clean & Cozy bedding. This bedding controls odor much more effectively and for much longer than the Kaytee, and it's usually somewhat more affordable. However, the bedding doesn't really expand much, with hard clumps and the occasional sharp piece of paper. The hamsters were less comfortable and less happy nesting in this than in the Kaytee bedding. Most importantly, the Kaytee bedding is much lower dust. This not only left dust particles at the bottom of the cage, but my Syrian actually ended up wheezing and coughing. I switched back to the Kaytee bedding, which is advertised as 99.9% dust-free—and doesn't leave behind noticeable amounts of dust in the bottom of the cage. It's too bad that this isn't dust-free and softer, as it absorbs odor really well.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Carefresh Colors Soft Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Careplus bedding & supplies

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Huntsville, TX
This bedding is fabulous.. the purple color was just an added bonus. Great for our guinea pigs!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Carefresh Colors Soft Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great bedding!

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
Very soft and absorbent! It doesn't get to smelly if you spot clean several times a day. Even when my bunny moves around, thankfully, it will not scatter everywhere, in fact it sort of flattens out and stays put. The bright color allows more visual aid so that I may clean the cage without worrying I missed something, my bunny is happy with it and so am I!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Carefresh Colors Soft Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for All Animals

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Longview, TX
I used this for my teddy bear hamster and the overall quality was very nice! It was soft and my hamster (Lulu) loved to store it in her little house. Easy to clean and fresh scent throughout the week! I would definitely recommend this to a friend! Works good for puppies, too!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Carefresh Colors Soft Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Hamsters Love It

PostedSeptember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Kansas City, MO
Of all the hamsters I have had, they've all enjoyed nestling in the soft bedding and 'tunnel through' it.
It's nifty to have a product that allows you to match the colors of the cage or just simply have your favorite color.
I've used a few different kinds of bedding and found this pet bedding does the best to conceal the odor.
Overall, a great product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Carefresh Colors Soft Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not good for gerbils.

PostedAugust 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Arkansas
I bought this for my gerbils, and both had allergies because of it. I switched to regular Carefresh bedding and they were fine. Colors didn't work for me!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Carefresh Colors Soft Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Bedding

PostedMay 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
from North Adams,Ma
I use for my djungarian hamsters they love it. They bury their food in it and use in their little house to sleep in. Love the colors
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Carefresh Colors Soft Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fun Solid Colors

PostedOctober 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Coral Springs,FL
If you don't like the colors in the confetti bedding and want to change your dull or boring pet bedding, then try one different color. Sure to change the look of your pet's cage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Carefresh Colors Soft Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor

PostedOctober 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Pensacola, FL
I bought this bedding in purple to put in my dwarf hamsters cage. I will say, it looked great, but began to smell after just 3 days of being in the cage.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Carefresh Colors Soft Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is amazing!

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Missouri
I have used this product for every single one of my hamsters, and I will never stray from suggesting this product to other small animal customers. There is hardly ever any odor in the cages. When it finally does start smelling, its after like almost two weeks! This is a great product, and I would never buy anything else!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Carefresh Colors Soft Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from AR
Works well. Easy use and clean up. Does a great job with odor control also. The hamster loves it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Carefresh Colors Soft Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My hamster loves this bedding!

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Tarpon Springs, FL
This is great bedding for the hamster. My hamster likes it a lot better than the hard shredded wood pieces we use to buy. It is soft, a good color, and great for nesting. It is alot more absorbant with the odor and last longer. No more smelly hamster cages!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Carefresh Colors Soft Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Bedding

PostedJuly 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
from San Antonio, Texas
My hamster likes to sleep in the Carefresh bedding, but I don't use it for the entire cage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Carefresh Colors Soft Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This bedding is the BEST!

PostedJune 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Rhode Island, RI
My dwarf hamster has this and its the best type of bedding yet! Especially the color ones! my hamster has purple and the colors dont come off, and it definitely does NOT smell!!! It actually makes the smell go away for me! Its VERY high quality, I had no problems, and it has absolutely no odor. My hamster loves this!!! I would rate this 5 stars because it has no problems!!! Get it if your getting bedding!!! Best bedding EVER!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Carefresh Colors Soft Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome litter for the little ones!

PostedDecember 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Country living in the Mid-West
Carefresh Colors Pet Bedding is an excellent alternative to the harmful pine and cedar bedding. My very old rescued hamster *loves* his Carefresh Colors Bedding. It's soft on his tiny feet, and easy for him to move around to create hiding places. It absorbs the urine smell and is easy to clean and is dust free. The colors are beautiful! I would highly recommend it to anyone for any furkid! :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>