petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for API Rena Filstar Canister Filter

API Rena Filstar Canister Filter

Easy start self-priming filters provide efficient stage filtrationLarge rubber base suppresses vibration and noiseFilter features flow control, an adjustable inlet, and a single control quick disconnect for easy maintenance
Average Customer Rating:
4.417 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(60 Reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 60 reviews
5 stars
48
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
6
52 out of 60(87%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for API Rena Filstar Canister Filter
Review 1 for API Rena Filstar Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rena Filters

PostedMay 28, 2006
Customer Avatar
IndyAnnie
from bloomington, IN
These filters by far are the best. Im using one on my freshwater 75 tank, been using it for over a year and not one problem. Im getting ready to get another for my salt tank. You dont have to think twice about this purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+10points
13of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for API Rena Filstar Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best freshwater filter I've ever had

PostedNovember 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
FishRmyPets
from Connecticut
I purchased one of these filters in march of 2009.
Its still installed on that same 55 gallon aquarium.
All I can say is thats its awesome.
I only clean it 3 times a year, can you say LOW MAINTENANCE???
Its much better than the 'green' competitor which I used to swear by....
You can't go wrong with this filter!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for API Rena Filstar Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love it!

PostedMay 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
RADDOG
from Florida
This filter was given to me as a gift from a coworker who was upgrading his system. I have it hooked up to my 40Gallon goldfish tank and I absolutely love it! I haven't had any leaking problems with mine and I really like that I can customize my media. However he didn't have the suction cups that went with it and I haven't found any that fit the tubes and spray bar yet. I am not going to call that a fault at all though it doesn't effect the function of the filter at all.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for API Rena Filstar Canister Filter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Don't do it.

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
fishyfishyman
from Northern, CA
I am on my second Rena filter, they work great....and then one day they just decide to up and leak. Leak as in leave 30 gallons of water on your floor.....like it did to me......twice. No ammount of new gaskets or vasoline, or white grease, or any other trick will fix the pump head when it starts to leak. Great filter.....when it's not LEAKING.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for API Rena Filstar Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedMay 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Groucho
from Jefferson City, MO
easy to use,quiet,works great,keeps my 56 gal. aquarium really clean,would recomend to anyone!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for API Rena Filstar Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME FILTER

PostedMay 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Spring TX
I have this filter in a 75 Gallon freshwater full of cichlids. It has never missed a beat and keeps the water very clean and clean. It is very easy yo clean and restart once cleaned unlike another filter I have in another tank. I would recommended this filter to anyone in the hobby.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for API Rena Filstar Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great filter at a great price

PostedJanuary 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
carl87gt
from Maryland Heights, MO
I bought my filter back in July of 2007 and it has been running strong for almost 5 years now. I love this filter. Easy to prime (have only had to do it the one time and never again after cleaning), never had any leaks, very quiet (I put mine on an old mouse pad to quiet it even more but it IS a very quiet filter). Well made, seals well, keeps the aquarium very clean, easy to clean and change media. I have used other filter but the XP3 has been my favorite. Don't believe me - do a search online - these filters are rated pretty everywhere.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for API Rena Filstar Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Filter

PostedJanuary 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Katori
from Rock Hill, SC
I've been running the XP2 in a 37 gallon freshwater tank for about a year now. It's quiet, very efficient, east to clean out and never needs priming. My angelfish are happy & I am too!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for API Rena Filstar Canister Filter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good Filter but had issues from begining.

PostedNovember 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Spence21
from Cincinnati, Ohio
I have the Rena filstar xp2 and I like the filter alot because it does an amazing job of filtering the water in my aquarium. The downside however is that ive experienced alot of problems with mine since the day i got it. The biggest problem is having alot of air trapped in the filter which causes the propeler to not sit in the water properly and the aquarium will be FULL of bubbles for acouple days. The filter media is kinda pricey but they dont need completely changed for acouple months.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for API Rena Filstar Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome

PostedOctober 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jaysea
Got this product a week ago. It's amazing, keeps my turtles tank water perfectly clear. Set up was quick and easy and it's super quiet. Excellent product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for API Rena Filstar Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really the best purchase ever

PostedSeptember 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
momz
from Mount Pleasant, Pa.
This pump is so quite and cleans so well that you would not even know that I have two huge aquariums in my house..they are so easy to clean I had to fight with the other brand and finnaly I have something that I can do my self..
I would recommend this to a friend!
-6points
6of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for API Rena Filstar Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedSeptember 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
JimtheBassFeeder
Set up was simple, works great, Very quiet and well built. Very happy with this purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for API Rena Filstar Canister Filter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

good review

PostedSeptember 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
pogi2
Im not Happy this canister, but Petco store online , good job on time delivery.3 star
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for API Rena Filstar Canister Filter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Top Seal Leaks Live A Sieve

PostedMay 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Archangel55
On initial setup, the top seal of the unit leaked as soon as the unit was connected to my 55 gallon tank. I followed the "Trouble Shooting" guide and still can't find a solution. Guess I'll have to find a slightly thicker O-Ring on my own or throw the whole unit away. Don't waste your money on this product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for API Rena Filstar Canister Filter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Junk

PostedMay 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Steve12
Rena/Mars Fishcare is the worst company I have ever dealt with. The customer service is a joke. If you can get someone to answer the phone or return your messages all they will do is make you jump through hoops until you are so frustrated you just give up. The whole time your fish suffer. I purchased an XP filter and it quit working after 2 weeks. You're better off spending your money on ANY OTHER FILTER
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for API Rena Filstar Canister Filter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DONT BUY A RENA

PostedMay 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
YOHI
from NY
i had the xp 2 with a 28 gallon it made my water have hi levels sins the first day i got it then after a week it stoped FILERINGand it leaked all over the place working so i called rena they could not help and the were so nasty then i got the fuval 305 in one hour my water was perfectBUY THE FUVAL IT ROCKS
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for API Rena Filstar Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for aquatic turtles!

PostedMarch 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
LoveTurtles
We aquired two aquatic turtles nearly 3 years ago. They are very dirty and require frequent water changes, sometimes more than once a week without filtration. Thus we tried an underwater filter designed for turtles and then a hang-off-the-tank power filter. Neither would work for long before they would be totally clogged. We decided to try the Rena Filstar xP2 Canister Filter despite the cost. We have never regretted spending the money. It's the best filter we've ever used and it is so easy to clean, in just minutes. It's amazing at how clean it keeps the tank.
The filter has many layers of sponge filters to collect waste product and it definitely does the job. There are also many configurations to using different media in the filter depending on your needs.... +/- charcoal or ammonia chips, +/- bio media, and foam filter pads with different pore sizes that can be combined in any way you like.
This model (the xP2) is for tanks up to 75 gallons, but we are using it on about half that amount of water because of the amount of waste that turtles produce. I can't see why the Rina Filstar wouldn't work for any aquarium up to 75 gallons though since there is much less waste.
I would definitely recommend this product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for API Rena Filstar Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to Maintain

PostedMarch 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
mcw1976
from Elmwood Park, IL
I purchased this filter about a month ago. Runs silent, water is always crystal clear. Monthly maintenance is so easy. Last filter was a HOT Magnum, cut my filter maintenance time in half (now about 10-15 min from disconnect to reconnect) Highly recommend!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for API Rena Filstar Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Leaks

PostedMarch 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
SanDiego
from San Diego
My leak came back, so I called Rena Filstar. I cut my hoses a little shorter as suggested. And no more leaks! If a problem happens call the Rena, I talked to a person right from the beginning. Petco was sending me a replcement filter that I cancelled with only a few questions. Looking back, I installed it wrong and I had to make a phone call to make it right. Thanks for the help Rena and Petco. Hard to admit.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for API Rena Filstar Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hooky

PostedJanuary 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Hooky
I purchased a 36gal corner tank a year ago with a Fluval 305.Must say it did not keep my tank water clear it kept it cloudy. Then two months later I went and brought a Cascade 700,gave it a chance and still my tank is cloudy.What I have noticed is that those filters have too many by-pass won't clean your water 100%. Than finally I went and brought a Rena XP2 and WOW!!! my tank water is clear very clear the next day I installed it.Three months later my water is still clear and very queit. The best Filter anyone can buy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>