petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Ergo Systems Auto Pet Feeder

Ergo Systems Auto Pet Feeder

The Auto Pet Feeder is designed to feed all size pets at pre-determined times of the day and preset quantity of food
Average Customer Rating:
3.359 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(64 Reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 64 reviews
5 stars
25
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
6
1 star
17
40 out of 64(62%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ergo Systems Auto Pet Feeder
Review 1 for Ergo Systems Auto Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Excellent Feeder when timer works

PostedOctober 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Texas
We had this feeder for about 8 years before the inside mechanism quit working. We were so happy with the first one we decided to replace it with the same model. The new one came with a broken timer. Thankfully the old timer still works. The timer is a totally separate piece made by a different company, so if the timer ever breaks, we can replace it without replacing the whole dog feeder. I'm giving a rating of 2 stars because it was shipped with a broken timer. Other than that disappointment, the feeder would get 5 stars! Here's a tip... if you're buying this unit to feed your pet while you're out of town, you don't have to buy it based on your dog's size. Buy one based on how much your dog will eat while you're out of town. We bought the small size because it holds enough food for a week for our dog. The smaller size costs less and takes up less storage space.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Ergo Systems Auto Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

TRY A DIFFERENT PET FEEDER

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Boca Raton, FL
I tried to get this pet feeder to work for a week. The programming instructions are not well written and almost seem like someone used google translate to put them together. They are not organized or geared towards the consumer who has never used this product. The long thick metal cord might work in a garage or barn, but in a home it is an eye sore. The technical support was not up to professional quality and only made matters more frustrating. Possibly my pet feeder was damaged in shipping, it never worked even once. Save yourself the trouble and try a more professionally made product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Ergo Systems Auto Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product has flaws

PostedFebruary 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Pa.
I purchased this more expensive feeder, because it looked like my cat couldn't get her paws up in it to get more food out. I was wrong!! Also, when it is touched more food drops out. Money wasted! I should have just stayed with the cheaper feeder I already had. This feeder would be great, if your cat isn't smart enough to learn how to get the extra food out all day long.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Ergo Systems Auto Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Worked great until it broke!

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Orange County CA
I had this feeder 5 mos before it stopped dispensing food. I took it apart and noticed the auger wasn't turning. I contacted the company and they sent me out a new base. We'll see how this one holds up. There is a one year warranty.
Up until then, it worked perfectly. It dispenses up to 8 feedings a day which was exactly what I needed for my cat who overeats and then throws up the food. I have it set for the 8 times dispensing a few morsels of cat food each time (in the morning) which is his trouble time. More as the day goes on. . It works by how many seconds or minutes you set it to drop the food.
This really is a great concept when it works. I don't know that I would be comfortable relying on it for a vacation though because the first one stopped working with no warning.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Ergo Systems Auto Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

High Quality Product

PostedOctober 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Southaven, MS
This feeder is well worth the price and is very reliable since it does not use batteries that wear out.
It takes time to get the programming right but once you time the meal delivery time to get the right amount and schedule the feeding days, it takes over.
No worries.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Ergo Systems Auto Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedSeptember 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
from CT
I've had this product for 2 weeks, and its been great. It was recommended to me by a friend who has had one for 5+ years now. The guide does a pretty good job of explaining how to set it up, and its pretty easy to adjust too! The feeding portions aren't intuitive (depends on the size of the kibble, etc). Would recommend letting the feeder run until achieving desired amount of food, and then programming according to that time. I also did not find this to be loud at all. My puppy knows that the subtle sounds means its time to eat!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Ergo Systems Auto Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ergo Systems Auto Pet Feeder

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Colorado
I have had this feeder about 2 months now and love it. I had a battery operated feeder before and it never notified me when the batteries died, which they did every 2 weeks. I was unaware that the timer is not on the feeder itself; it looks like a timer you plug your lamps into, but more complicated. The timer is not impossible you just have to pay attention to the instructions and make a few errors before you get it. Once you have your times entered in and everything is plugged in be sure to stand by the feeder for the first feeding to make sure everything goes as planned. This feeder feeds by time and not by amount of food, so you will have some trial and error adjusting how many seconds or minutes food is dispensed.
I have 2 cats and the medium size is perfect.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Ergo Systems Auto Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Auto Pet Feeder, medium

PostedMay 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
from North Carolina
I bought the medium size feeder for my cat at vet's recommendation. I chose the medium feeder because the pellet size of his kibble is large, and the medium feeder wound up being the correct choice due to the kibble size. This is a good product but is really complicated to set up. My recommendation is to take the feeder out of the box and then just call the support line in India so they can talk you through the setup. Just make sure that you know how the daily amount of food before you call (one cup, half cup, etc.). As tech support in India goes, my representative was very good and it only took a couple minutes wait to get a person on the line.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Ergo Systems Auto Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

3rd times a charm

PostedMarch 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
from San Diego, CA
I bought my first generation autopetfeeder 10 years ago, as we travel for work and our cat got up to 30 lbs with never ending feeders! After 2 years, the cat ended up breaking the feeder by putting his arm all the way up into the chute so many times (I have attached picture). I then purchased my second generation autopetfeeder which looks very similar to the new one, but without the little funnel. After about a 2 years with that one, Buster broke it again. The third gen feeder that you see here, is finally Buster proof! We've had for many years now and he's unable to get his paw up into the shoot as its so close to the bowl. He gets kibbles 3 times a day, in addition to his wet food. He is now down to 15 lbs! The product works great, even in power outages. It was easy to decide on the about of time for the food to dispense. You just press the on button, see how many second pass until you get the amount of food you want, and that's what you program for. Also, the food never goes stale with the tight seal.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Ergo Systems Auto Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what we needed

PostedMarch 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Hubertus Wi
After reading other revues I decided that the good out weighed the bad.
I ordered the Ergo feeder.Shipping was super fast.
It was here in 3 working days. There was very little to assemble.Actually all you have to do is slide the dish on. The timer is very versitle therefore it my take some time to set. I set it for 30 seconds 6 times a day for our cat. starting at 5 am and the last at 8 pm. We had to do something because when we left for a few days she would just pig out on the food we left. we needed to control her weight. I would recommend this feeder
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Ergo Systems Auto Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't waste your money

PostedFebruary 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
from So. NH
We searched for months to try to find a decent reliable automatic pet feeder, and settled on this one. When it arrived, there was no exterior packaging, just the thin cardboard box that you would find on a retail brick and motar shelf. Needless to say, the box was full of holes. Still we had hope, since the unit did not seem to be damaged inside.
After spending what seemed like an eternity reading the programming manual for the timer, we had it figured out. I do have to agree with the other reviews that this timer is way harder than it needs to be to program. Still, we had hope.
Before relying on this machine to feed our pet, we thought we would try a test run, by plugging it straight into the wall, without the timer. Since the timer only controls the on and off times, the unit should run continuosly when plugged straight into the outlet. No dice. Just a faint humming sound, no movement, no turning auger. We looked over everything carefully and kept trying, but it was obvious that the gearbox or drive system was faulty. Hope extinguished.
Returned to store.
Even though we never got this to work, we had other observations:
-The auger does not fit even remotely close inside the chute, leaving plenty of room for food to slip by.
-There is no door or blockage device to stop a determined cat from sticking their paw right up the chute, and fishing out food all day long!
-There is no accurate way to measure the food since the output is controlled by the on and off times
In Summary: Box arrived damaged, Unit was non functional straight out of box (and not due to shipping), poor overall design, but at least the store gave us a refund. Deserves zero stars.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
4of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Ergo Systems Auto Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Broken out of the box

PostedFebruary 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Texas
First it takes a week to arrive after ordering. Then it was defective out of the box. I sent picture proof which PETco sent to ERGO so they would send out a replacement. It is now two and a half weeks since I placed my order and ERGO has done nothing to respond and/or send a replacement product. My overall reccomendation - Stay away from Ergo products.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Ergo Systems Auto Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sweet!

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Portland, Oregon
Using this contraption when I'm outta town for a couple of weeks at a time. Before, I had to place 4 or 5 bowls full of food to ensure my cat wouldn't go hungry but cats like dogs are gluttons and will eat till they pop. My cat was getting so fat he couldn't fit through his cat door! Problem solved with the Ergo Auto feeder! I'm monitoring the process now with a wireless camera that's trained on the 'feeding station' just to make sure that things go smoothly while I'm away. A cool upgrade for this feeder would be to make all it's functions WiFi controlled. Shouldn't be too hard since it's all digital anyway.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Ergo Systems Auto Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

WORST.PRODUCT.EVER

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Grandview, MO
Received it had trouble getting it to work. Called the 1-800 number 3 times......although I followed the instructions perfectly it still wouldnt work. It ground the food up and didnt feed the cat. Returned for a refund....VERY disapointed! :(
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Ergo Systems Auto Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product

PostedFebruary 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Central, NJ
Machine works fine. Doesn't jam or get stuck. Very quiet. Only noise you hear is food pellets dropping into plastic tray. Only negative is that the screw on top of the feed container is really cheap and gets stuck. Wish they had spent an extra 50 cents for better quality. Timer is easy to use. I give my furball two meals and one snack per day.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Ergo Systems Auto Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Beyond Disappointed

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
from West Palm Beach, FL
My cat is a maniac and begs incessantly for food, waking me up and clawing my bedding. I tried one of those flying saucer looking feeders when I went on vacation one time and she managed to break into it and eat all the food on the first day, so I needed something that was tamper proof. I did a lot of research and this feeder looked like it would be perfect. Petco had it for a great price and free shipping so i was excited to order it. When it came the outside of the box was damaged and the packing slip was slid inside the top of the box. When I opened the box, the contents looked odd and after further inspection, there were remnants of pet food and part of the mechanism was broken. I couldn't believe my eyes. Then I noticed that the packing list showed that it was ordered on 1/3 but shipped on 12/28, so I have no idea how that could be. The one bright spot was my return experience. I brought it to my local Petco and they were very nice and apologetic and took care of my return within minutes. This experience will not keep me from being a Petco customer; it made it clear that I need to continue to be one.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Ergo Systems Auto Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

no comment

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
from ann arbor, mi
cannot comment as it was never received. cannot comment as it was never received.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Ergo Systems Auto Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Better than most

PostedDecember 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Albuquerque NM
The Ergofeeder has the big advantage of not being battery operated, and having higher quality parts. The timer is difficult to program, not intuitive, but can be done. So far it has functioned well for my retriever, when I am going to be gone for an overnight.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Ergo Systems Auto Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Smart cats win

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Four cats that beg for food and one that would eat everything if they were free fed is why I got this (and the ability to leave them alone overnight w/o a pet sitter). The timer is a little confusing to set up, but it works. It only took one of my cats two days to figure out how to slam into the feeder to make more food drop. My solution- I removed the food dish attachment and bungee corded the thing onto a ladder about three feet off the ground so the cats can't even touch it. Now the food just drops to the floor, but they're such pigs it's all gone pretty quickly. It would be nice if the manufacturer can fix the issue of pets being able to figure out how to make more food drop since I've seen that mentioned in other reviews, but I would recommend this (and buy another one if it breaks) since it solves the majority of my cat issues.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Ergo Systems Auto Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

The idea is great, but the product needs work.

PostedNovember 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Orwigsburg, PA
We bought this feeder for a pudgy yellow lab. I loved the way the machine worked and fed Goldie at 3 pre-set times. However, Goldie learned, in short order that she could pull the feed chute up and continue to pick at kibble in the auger. We returned the unit, because we were afraid that Goldie would rip the whole thing apart while we were not here, and eat all the food in it. This unit still needs more work.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
-1point
7of 15voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>