petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Aquatic Gardens Hanging Betta Bowl

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Aquatic Gardens Hanging Betta Bowl

SafeDecorativePicture perfect viewingEasy to hangEasy to clean
Average Customer Rating:
4.196 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(46 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 46 reviews
5 stars
32
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
6
38 out of 46(83%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Aquatic Gardens Hanging Betta Bowl
Review 1 for Aquatic Gardens Hanging Betta Bowl
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing idea

PostedMay 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Fairbanks, Alaska
Keeps the cats away from the fish, and doesn't require a horizontal surface. Instant moving art for my wall. Love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Aquatic Gardens Hanging Betta Bowl
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Idea ever

PostedFebruary 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Befor I purchased this fish bowl my fish werent actually that active cuz i had a little small tank now its like if you got some new fish...lol but for real this tank is awsome. i like it my boyfriend likes it n my family likes it. wat else can i ask for.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Aquatic Gardens Hanging Betta Bowl
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great idea but leaks after a few months

PostedDecember 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
We love these tanks. Have 3 of them on our bedroom wall, its my 'moving art'. But after a few months all 3 started to leak. We put sealant on the seam and that held for a few more months but now one has started leaking again. I'm hoping Petco will replace for me. We'll see.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Aquatic Gardens Hanging Betta Bowl
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Design

PostedAugust 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
This bowl is awesome, I got mine yesterday and I can't wait to go get a fish for my bowl. The only thing I wish I could do is get a small enough filter to go in the bowl. I think that would make this bowl the best because if it had a filter it would provide a good flow of water and cut down on the cleaning but overall a very good bowl!! I can't wait to get my fish.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Aquatic Gardens Hanging Betta Bowl
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome idea

PostedMarch 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
I started with one, and now I have 3! I love these tanks! All my Bettas are very happy and healthy :) Does not require a filter or heater, and not as hard to clean as you would think! I have had some Bettas live quite long in this awesome, cat-safe home!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Aquatic Gardens Hanging Betta Bowl
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good for Artemia, bad for Betta

PostedMarch 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
If you want to set up an artemia colony (aka "sea monkeys"), this is a fun place to put and display them. If you want to house a betta, this tank is absolutely no good. Do even a little research, and you'll soon discover that bettas need more space, filtratrion (or absolutely DAILY water changes), and heat (uinless the room is at aconstant 76-78 degrees Fahrenheit). Plus, if you get at least a 5 gallon tank (doesn't take up much space) you can put a lot of nice plants and a snail or some shrimp in with Mr. Betta.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Aquatic Gardens Hanging Betta Bowl
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awsome

PostedJanuary 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
from michigan
all my freinds want one. keeps fish safe from cats. fish is happy. easy to clean and also shows him well.
good buy
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Aquatic Gardens Hanging Betta Bowl
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Much, much too small

PostedDecember 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
This bowl is way too small and very poorly designed. Even if you cleaned it every day, which trust me, is a pain to do- there is no way to put in a filter or heater, which Bettas DO need. And Bettas must be able to access open air to breathe- they do not get oxygen just from the water like other fish. You need a gallon of water for each inch of fish, so for a Betta you need at least a two gallon tank, with proper filtration and heat.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Aquatic Gardens Hanging Betta Bowl
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

THESE BOWLS RULE!!!!

PostedDecember 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Brockton, MA
I bought two of these bowls in February along with my two bettas, Willie and Lilly:) I decided to hang the bowls on the wall on each side of my LCD tv. I have to say that any new visitor to my home always is shocked and asks, "Are those real?" Yep. Their next response is, that is the coolest thing I have ever seen. They can be a little ackward to clean and on one I think I am noticing a little space at the bottom where the plastic is welded together, but, no water is leaking. If by some chance it does start leaking I will buy another to replace it!!! I would highly recommend these. Absolute conversation piece.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Aquatic Gardens Hanging Betta Bowl
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

it is huge!!!

PostedDecember 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
from PA
omg! this "bowl" is huge!!my fish must be very happy right now~~ to those that think it is not nice to put a fish into this bowl...i got one thing to say to you..... order it and you will know how big it really is~~
it hold up to 2.8 liters of water~!perfect for dorm room ..where you don't have a nice furniture to put a 5-10 gallon tank on...
the only "bad" thing was..... i need to order more rocks and plants now......don't want it to look too empty.....-_-||
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Aquatic Gardens Hanging Betta Bowl
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Cool, Stylish, Attractive, and Simple

PostedNovember 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
from The IE, California
I keep on seeing this bowl all over the internet and finally gave in and bought one for my White veil tail Betta, Tyfus. It is much bigger then it looks online! I love how attractive it is but also so simple as well! Simple things can be beautiful! I love this bowl so much and plan on buying another one for my little girl! My new female betta Novak!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Aquatic Gardens Hanging Betta Bowl
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

OKOK

PostedNovember 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Great bowl! Though........Kinda hard to clean.
And REALLLLLLLLY hard to cach the little guy because of the angles.
Pretty And A Space Saver.
I Think I would recommend this to a friend.
BUT BE PREPARED!!!!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Aquatic Gardens Hanging Betta Bowl
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A HOME DECOR DELIGHT!

PostedNovember 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Eureka, CA
Anyone who took the time to read up on Bettas, would know that Bettas are accustomed to living in small puddles, and thrive in these areas. They do NOT need a large tank to live in and do well. Granted, tests show that your Betta may live longer in a larger tank (3-5 gal.), however, my Bettas have all happily made bubble nests in these wall-hangers and have exceeded their average life span of 2 years. They are a delight and a conversation topic for anyone who sees them! The only negative comment I have is that they are a pain to clean if you screw them into the wall. I suggest using a strong picture hanger that stays in one place.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Aquatic Gardens Hanging Betta Bowl
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't Wast Your Money!

PostedOctober 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Morgantown, WV
This bowl is much to small. Bettas should be housed in tanks with at least 1.5 gallons. Your fish is likely to catch a disease in a cramped bowl. You can't set up a heat source either. Bettas need to be kept at temps. of around 78 degrees F. This bowl is no better than the tiny plastic cup your betta was in when your purchased it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Aquatic Gardens Hanging Betta Bowl
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Whoever invented this is a GENIUS!

PostedOctober 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Seattle, WA
My friends come over and snoop around my new apartment and when they come across this Betta fish bowl their mouths drop and then they say: "oh wow! it's a fish on the wall!" and i respond: "yah, isn't that brilliant?".
SO easy to clean and maintain....
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Aquatic Gardens Hanging Betta Bowl
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Home for Bettas!

PostedOctober 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
At first I wasn't so sure about this product, but I decided to try it out since it was in stock at the Petco I visited and in real life it was much bigger than what it looked like online. I brought two home for my new male bettas (one for each) with the thought that if they didn't like them, I would take the bowls back and get something else. I put the fish in and they zoomed around quite happily. It seemed like they had plenty of room, but I still wasn't sure until the next day, when I woke up and both of them had made a huge bubblenest! I can now say that they are quite content with their new homes, and it's fun for me too since I can see them at eye level and can interact more with them. I really do not think these bowls are cruel if you regularly change the water, keep the room warm, and monitor your fish for any signs of stress or unhappiness. The bowls are easy to clean and very space-saving! I recommend these to anyone who is considering buying one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Aquatic Gardens Hanging Betta Bowl
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hanging Betta Bowl ABSOLUTLEY ROCKS!!!!

PostedOctober 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
from New Hampshire
This hanging betta bowl is so cool.. It is easy to clean, extremely decorative,fun,creative and unique. Bettas love it, and all my friends want one after they see it. I have one right above my new pink desk. I absolutley guarentee this to any betta lover, NO Any person. I am so glad petco made this product. No more glass fish bowls, no more having to worry about banging into them and nocking them over, or the space needed to keep one in the house. You don't have to worry about other pets, my betta is now safe from my dogs and cats, and young children can be around it too. It is super easy to clean and there is plenty of room for your little betta friend.. This IS A MUST BUY PRODUCT....
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Aquatic Gardens Hanging Betta Bowl
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HOOKED

PostedSeptember 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
I LOVED IT. COLORFUL. DECORATIVE. CATPROOF.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Aquatic Gardens Hanging Betta Bowl
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't even go there...

PostedSeptember 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
This has to be the WORSE bowl ever put out on the market for Bettas. Why would anyone want to put such a gorgeous fish in such a tiny fish tank? This isn't even considered a fish tank...it's a cup!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Aquatic Gardens Hanging Betta Bowl
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

way to small!!

PostedSeptember 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
this is very small for a betta do not get this go out and buy a real tank i mean give the bettas a break!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>