petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petmate Jumbo Pearl Hooded Litter Pan

Petmate Jumbo Pearl Hooded Litter Pan

Jumbo covered cat litter box with stylish pearl-colored hoodHigh-back pan to contain litter scatter & spray in rear area of panFeatures a hood to keep liner in place for mess-free clean up and easy maintenanceHood also provides cats with more privacy
Average Customer Rating:
4.056 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(54 Reviews) 54
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 54 reviews
5 stars
34
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
7
40 out of 54(74%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petmate Jumbo Pearl Hooded Litter Pan
Review 1 for Petmate Jumbo Pearl Hooded Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Review

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Carabella
from Bronx, NY
This litter box is awesome! Couldn't be happier with how much fresher and not as much mess as with a regular pan was. Thank you
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petmate Jumbo Pearl Hooded Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Indoor Outhouse

PostedJune 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Benelicious
from Niles, MI
This roomy litter box does well at containing the odor of both of my cats. It is well priced.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petmate Jumbo Pearl Hooded Litter Pan
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Looking for better

PostedJune 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Katydidnt
from Hagerstown, MD
I was looking for a litter box that was larger than what I had; this one was. I liked the fact that it was deeper in the back and had a lighter-colored top. But the top to the box WOULD NOT LATCH! That was frustrating when I attempted to move it. My cats tended to bring a lot of litter out of the box with them. Their last box had a shelf and grate at the entrance/exit doorway. I would look for that again in the next litter box I choose.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petmate Jumbo Pearl Hooded Litter Pan
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

The product was unusable, handle was broken.

PostedJune 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Catkady
from Salt Lake City,UT
The handle can't be used because it broke off and this is a very heavy box to carry, full of litter with no handle to pick it up. One of the side snaps does not fasten either. Hood will not even stay on. This it the way it was right out if the box. Very poor produce.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petmate Jumbo Pearl Hooded Litter Pan
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Litter Pan was not what I expected it to be

PostedMay 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
feralmama10
from Little Rock, AR
When I received the Petmate Jumbo Pear Hooded Litter Pan, I was happy with the size of it. However, I was disappointed to receive a pink one because I prefer to have the blue one. I really don't understand why you can't select your color. My main complaint though is that the latches to camp the hood to the tray are very flimsy and don't hold, The latches on my old pan that I have used for about 20 years have broken off. One of my cats likes to claw at the bad until it is inside of the pan, so I needed a litter pan that had secure latches to hold the bag in place securely. I plan to return this particular littler pan.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petmate Jumbo Pearl Hooded Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works well!

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
LisaInCA
from Carmel, IN
My cat would routinely urinate over the walls of his prior litter box, and I would constantly be cleaning up urine off of the walls and the floor. Well, no more! Since I've had this covered box, I have not had to clean up any more spills. I still need to wipe down the inside of the hood, but it beats cleaning off the walls or the floor.
For us, the covered box didn't really cut down on the litter being tracked over the floors, but that was not ever my main concern.
I wish the box were a bit bigger, but the jumbo is the biggest covered box they make.
I think the odor filter works pretty well- I don't notice much of a smell from the box anymore.
I like that the plastic wipes down and washes well.
If you have a cat that occasionally misses the box, this covered box is a must!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petmate Jumbo Pearl Hooded Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best large litter box - hooded

PostedSeptember 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
FalconLover
from Englewood CO
Finally! I found the right litterbox for my two cats. It is large enough even with the hood, but the part I like best is the material used to make it. It's very smooth and slick, so the litter, when dirty or wet, does NOT stick to the pan, but slides right out. Excellent product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petmate Jumbo Pearl Hooded Litter Pan
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works like a litter box

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
scyerline
from San Fransisco, CA
I bought the jumbo sized litterbox in-store, but when I brought it home, I didn't realize it did not come with the flapping door... Which it didn't matter to me as much as I wasn't planning to use the door anyway.
The litter box is fine though, it is nice and spacious for my 14 week old kitten and putting on the hood is very simple. Just make sure it's in the right place and push it down. To take it off is much simpler by pulling the flaps out. It took 25lbs of cat litter to fill it up by 3 inches. What I like about the litterbox is that it is extremely deep and it has a tall hood. There is a lip around the litter pan so if your cat aims high, it would be able to catch the urine and bring it back into the litter box than leak out the seams. The litter box is kind of has a flimsy feeling, so don't carry the full litter box by the handle only and risk having the litter pan fall from it spilling everywhere on your floor. Remember it probably has 25lbs of cat litter in it.... But as long as you carry it from the bottom, it'll be fine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petmate Jumbo Pearl Hooded Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what we needed.

PostedFebruary 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
abigspottedkitty
from Missouri
My Bengal boys love to make a mess of their litter and will attempt to dig to China as they do their business. This litterbox was the perfect solution. I love the high back and the covered lid ensures that they get the privacy they desire. And it's big enough to accomadate their large size. No more scattered litter!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petmate Jumbo Pearl Hooded Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Biggest Litter Box for the best Price!

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gexzilla5
from Butler,Pa
We went through tons of litter boxes, but as soon as we saw this one and how big it was we had to get it.
We have 4 cats and they are all plumped and fat, lol.
And my brother's cat she's huge, she is Maine Coon sized. And she could never fit in any litter box we had, and there would be accidents out side it. Also, my mom's cat was terrified to go in the other litter box.
Luckily, this one was big enough, so the huge cat can fit inside and so my mom's cat isn't scared to go inside. Jumbo size really makes a difference.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petmate Jumbo Pearl Hooded Litter Pan
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good size

PostedMarch 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
DonitaH
from PA
The size is perfect. My older litter box was a bit cramped, so I'm happy with the overall size of this one. The thing that prevents me from giving it 5 stars is that the plastic is not as sturdy as the older box. The box is in a location by a stairwell where I could temporarily put something on top of it, such as a laundry basket, to free my hands to open the door. But with the new one, I'm afraid a full laundry basket might dent the lid. Also, I would have preferred being able to choose the color. I received the pink box, but I would have preferred the blue one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petmate Jumbo Pearl Hooded Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

PostedJanuary 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
so far we love these. In reading before reviews I knew to be careful with the handles and it works wonderfully. Our cats love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petmate Jumbo Pearl Hooded Litter Pan
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

try,try again

PostedNovember 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
kittylane
from PA
I ordered 2 of the translucent hooded litter boxes earlier this summer to try. I liked being able to see if the box was occupied and what kind of shape it was in as far as cleaning it out. I ordered 3 more of the same thing and after 4, repeat 4, tries of sending the same incorrect item I quit trying. To rate what I did receive is not the greatest. As I stated I like the see thru top but it is cut different than the bottom
and leaves a "ledge" at the front which collects soiled litter and creates quite a mess. I would prefer a litter box that is a little longer for my bigger cats but sometimes you just have to sacrifice something. As with everything in life there is good and bad so I guess you just have to take a chance and judge for yourself. GOOD LUCK!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petmate Jumbo Pearl Hooded Litter Pan
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedOctober 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kasiakatz
from Upstate New York
I will say that I really like the pink or blue colors. The bottom is nice and sturdy but the top could be made with thicker plastic. I also wished the the bottom was the same height all the way around. I think my cats tend to kick more litter out the front because of the lower height in the front. The covers seem to snap on easily. The online sale price was a much better buy than in the store.
Overall these are nice looking covered litter boxes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petmate Jumbo Pearl Hooded Litter Pan
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

wrong item shipped

PostedSeptember 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
terzey959
from Philadelphia.,PA
i was shipped the wrong box , the one i received was green on bottom & the cover (top)was not translucent, it was like a pearl ,I was disappointed & took it back to the store & the store did not have this box either. It looks like it would have been a good box
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petmate Jumbo Pearl Hooded Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's Great!

PostedAugust 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lindseyrenee
A real life saver from my previous liter boxes... I have three cats and use to have three liter boxes ,but with this wonderful box I only need one. I use scoopable liter and scoop it once a day.... the filter help with the urine smells and the giant size gives my especially large cat plenty of room to manuver. Plus the great see through lid, they arent scared to go in, and it helps block anything from going out of the pan. I recommend it to anyone, especially if you have a large cat!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petmate Jumbo Pearl Hooded Litter Pan
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

They use it; Decreased Odor

PostedJuly 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
1KBL
from NY, NY
I bought two. Petco picked the color (pink) and it just turned out that I have two female cats. The young one loved it right away- it's private without obscuring her view. There is enough room for her to turn around to find the perfect spot. I love that she can dig to her heart's content without throwing litter all over the room. Now litter stays in the pan or lands on the mat just outside the pan's entrance.
Cat two is an old lady and it took her time to get used to a hooded pan. The first time, she 'went' too close to the entrance and so the next time she left a 'package' in front of the pan instead of walking over her own urine (she doesn't cover anymore).
I notice a difference in the degree of odor wafting from her pan but that hasn't decreased our required scoop frequency. I also don't notice any effect of the carbon filters included with this hooded pan.
All-in-all this was a good purchase. The one thing people should be aware of is that this is a really large pan so one needs to make room for it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petmate Jumbo Pearl Hooded Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

litter box

PostedApril 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
geminigirl
I like the litter box however i thought it came with a little door to block the litter from getting kicked out! It has the little hooks for one and I thought it came with one. It is ok other than that
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petmate Jumbo Pearl Hooded Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for the price!

PostedApril 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
AllAboutMuffin
from Monrovia, California
Our cat loves this litter pan. Nice and big and both her and I appreciate the translucent hood. She likes it cause she doesn't feel closed in and I like it cause I can see when she has done her business and clean it right away.
The side tabs can be a bit tricky to get the hood and bottom pan to attach but other than that once you get used to it it's a cinch. Not for the impatient :) Other than that the price is fabulous and our cat loves its spaciousness. We're all one happy kitty family.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petmate Jumbo Pearl Hooded Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I Love & Tee Cee Loves It!!

PostedMarch 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
dvgvintage
My baby outgrew her old litter box, which was a surprise to me. However, being a new furmommie, I had to find her one that was longer and roomier and in Pink because she's my 'lil Diva!!
This one is perfect for her!! From the first night that I brought it home for her (I picked it up in the store), she took to it a lot better that what I thought. I placed a small amount of litter in it and she used it. Her and I were able to make the transition within a few days.
I was a little leery of the closures, but they work just fine - real easy!! I just love it and highly recommend it for a larger cat/kitten!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>