petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petmate Jumbo Pearl Hooded Litter Pan

Petmate Jumbo Pearl Hooded Litter Pan

Jumbo covered cat litter box with stylish pearl-colored hoodHigh-back pan to contain litter scatter & spray in rear area of panFeatures a hood to keep liner in place for mess-free clean up and easy maintenanceHood also provides cats with more privacy
Average Customer Rating:
4.143 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(49 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 49 reviews
5 stars
32
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
6
38 out of 49(78%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petmate Jumbo Pearl Hooded Litter Pan
Review 1 for Petmate Jumbo Pearl Hooded Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works well!

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
LisaInCA
from Carmel, IN
My cat would routinely urinate over the walls of his prior litter box, and I would constantly be cleaning up urine off of the walls and the floor. Well, no more! Since I've had this covered box, I have not had to clean up any more spills. I still need to wipe down the inside of the hood, but it beats cleaning off the walls or the floor.
For us, the covered box didn't really cut down on the litter being tracked over the floors, but that was not ever my main concern.
I wish the box were a bit bigger, but the jumbo is the biggest covered box they make.
I think the odor filter works pretty well- I don't notice much of a smell from the box anymore.
I like that the plastic wipes down and washes well.
If you have a cat that occasionally misses the box, this covered box is a must!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petmate Jumbo Pearl Hooded Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best large litter box - hooded

PostedSeptember 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
FalconLover
from Englewood CO
Finally! I found the right litterbox for my two cats. It is large enough even with the hood, but the part I like best is the material used to make it. It's very smooth and slick, so the litter, when dirty or wet, does NOT stick to the pan, but slides right out. Excellent product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petmate Jumbo Pearl Hooded Litter Pan
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works like a litter box

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
scyerline
from San Fransisco, CA
I bought the jumbo sized litterbox in-store, but when I brought it home, I didn't realize it did not come with the flapping door... Which it didn't matter to me as much as I wasn't planning to use the door anyway.
The litter box is fine though, it is nice and spacious for my 14 week old kitten and putting on the hood is very simple. Just make sure it's in the right place and push it down. To take it off is much simpler by pulling the flaps out. It took 25lbs of cat litter to fill it up by 3 inches. What I like about the litterbox is that it is extremely deep and it has a tall hood. There is a lip around the litter pan so if your cat aims high, it would be able to catch the urine and bring it back into the litter box than leak out the seams. The litter box is kind of has a flimsy feeling, so don't carry the full litter box by the handle only and risk having the litter pan fall from it spilling everywhere on your floor. Remember it probably has 25lbs of cat litter in it.... But as long as you carry it from the bottom, it'll be fine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petmate Jumbo Pearl Hooded Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what we needed.

PostedFebruary 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
abigspottedkitty
from Missouri
My Bengal boys love to make a mess of their litter and will attempt to dig to China as they do their business. This litterbox was the perfect solution. I love the high back and the covered lid ensures that they get the privacy they desire. And it's big enough to accomadate their large size. No more scattered litter!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petmate Jumbo Pearl Hooded Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Biggest Litter Box for the best Price!

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gexzilla5
from Butler,Pa
We went through tons of litter boxes, but as soon as we saw this one and how big it was we had to get it.
We have 4 cats and they are all plumped and fat, lol.
And my brother's cat she's huge, she is Maine Coon sized. And she could never fit in any litter box we had, and there would be accidents out side it. Also, my mom's cat was terrified to go in the other litter box.
Luckily, this one was big enough, so the huge cat can fit inside and so my mom's cat isn't scared to go inside. Jumbo size really makes a difference.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petmate Jumbo Pearl Hooded Litter Pan
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good size

PostedMarch 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
DonitaH
from PA
The size is perfect. My older litter box was a bit cramped, so I'm happy with the overall size of this one. The thing that prevents me from giving it 5 stars is that the plastic is not as sturdy as the older box. The box is in a location by a stairwell where I could temporarily put something on top of it, such as a laundry basket, to free my hands to open the door. But with the new one, I'm afraid a full laundry basket might dent the lid. Also, I would have preferred being able to choose the color. I received the pink box, but I would have preferred the blue one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petmate Jumbo Pearl Hooded Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

PostedJanuary 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
so far we love these. In reading before reviews I knew to be careful with the handles and it works wonderfully. Our cats love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petmate Jumbo Pearl Hooded Litter Pan
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

try,try again

PostedNovember 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
kittylane
from PA
I ordered 2 of the translucent hooded litter boxes earlier this summer to try. I liked being able to see if the box was occupied and what kind of shape it was in as far as cleaning it out. I ordered 3 more of the same thing and after 4, repeat 4, tries of sending the same incorrect item I quit trying. To rate what I did receive is not the greatest. As I stated I like the see thru top but it is cut different than the bottom
and leaves a "ledge" at the front which collects soiled litter and creates quite a mess. I would prefer a litter box that is a little longer for my bigger cats but sometimes you just have to sacrifice something. As with everything in life there is good and bad so I guess you just have to take a chance and judge for yourself. GOOD LUCK!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petmate Jumbo Pearl Hooded Litter Pan
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedOctober 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kasiakatz
from Upstate New York
I will say that I really like the pink or blue colors. The bottom is nice and sturdy but the top could be made with thicker plastic. I also wished the the bottom was the same height all the way around. I think my cats tend to kick more litter out the front because of the lower height in the front. The covers seem to snap on easily. The online sale price was a much better buy than in the store.
Overall these are nice looking covered litter boxes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petmate Jumbo Pearl Hooded Litter Pan
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

wrong item shipped

PostedSeptember 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
terzey959
from Philadelphia.,PA
i was shipped the wrong box , the one i received was green on bottom & the cover (top)was not translucent, it was like a pearl ,I was disappointed & took it back to the store & the store did not have this box either. It looks like it would have been a good box
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petmate Jumbo Pearl Hooded Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's Great!

PostedAugust 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lindseyrenee
A real life saver from my previous liter boxes... I have three cats and use to have three liter boxes ,but with this wonderful box I only need one. I use scoopable liter and scoop it once a day.... the filter help with the urine smells and the giant size gives my especially large cat plenty of room to manuver. Plus the great see through lid, they arent scared to go in, and it helps block anything from going out of the pan. I recommend it to anyone, especially if you have a large cat!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petmate Jumbo Pearl Hooded Litter Pan
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

They use it; Decreased Odor

PostedJuly 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
1KBL
from NY, NY
I bought two. Petco picked the color (pink) and it just turned out that I have two female cats. The young one loved it right away- it's private without obscuring her view. There is enough room for her to turn around to find the perfect spot. I love that she can dig to her heart's content without throwing litter all over the room. Now litter stays in the pan or lands on the mat just outside the pan's entrance.
Cat two is an old lady and it took her time to get used to a hooded pan. The first time, she 'went' too close to the entrance and so the next time she left a 'package' in front of the pan instead of walking over her own urine (she doesn't cover anymore).
I notice a difference in the degree of odor wafting from her pan but that hasn't decreased our required scoop frequency. I also don't notice any effect of the carbon filters included with this hooded pan.
All-in-all this was a good purchase. The one thing people should be aware of is that this is a really large pan so one needs to make room for it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petmate Jumbo Pearl Hooded Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

litter box

PostedApril 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
geminigirl
I like the litter box however i thought it came with a little door to block the litter from getting kicked out! It has the little hooks for one and I thought it came with one. It is ok other than that
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petmate Jumbo Pearl Hooded Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for the price!

PostedApril 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
AllAboutMuffin
from Monrovia, California
Our cat loves this litter pan. Nice and big and both her and I appreciate the translucent hood. She likes it cause she doesn't feel closed in and I like it cause I can see when she has done her business and clean it right away.
The side tabs can be a bit tricky to get the hood and bottom pan to attach but other than that once you get used to it it's a cinch. Not for the impatient :) Other than that the price is fabulous and our cat loves its spaciousness. We're all one happy kitty family.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petmate Jumbo Pearl Hooded Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I Love & Tee Cee Loves It!!

PostedMarch 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
dvgvintage
My baby outgrew her old litter box, which was a surprise to me. However, being a new furmommie, I had to find her one that was longer and roomier and in Pink because she's my 'lil Diva!!
This one is perfect for her!! From the first night that I brought it home for her (I picked it up in the store), she took to it a lot better that what I thought. I placed a small amount of litter in it and she used it. Her and I were able to make the transition within a few days.
I was a little leery of the closures, but they work just fine - real easy!! I just love it and highly recommend it for a larger cat/kitten!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petmate Jumbo Pearl Hooded Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice BOx

PostedFebruary 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
haileyb
from Skowhegan, Maine
Seems good so far. No problems with kitty going out between lid and box like the old litter box. Buddy and Maxie have not had any complaints so far.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petmate Jumbo Pearl Hooded Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Translucent Hooded Litter Pan

PostedJanuary 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
amaris08
I really like these litter pans. I bought 2. Alot more room for my kitties and the translucent lid lets in more light for them.
I scoop daily and with the large opening I don't have to take the lid off and chance breaking the tabs as some of the customers say they've had a problem with. However, when I change the litter weekly and have to take the lid off, I don't force the tabs. I just gently pull or push and they come away easily. I also don't bang the pan to get stuck on litter out. I did that with my old litter pan and it cracked. Lesson learned.
The pans are well made and I'm very happy with them. So are my kitties :) And that's what matters.
I will definately buy another of these hooded litter pans when I get another kitty in the future.
I was also impressed with how fast the item was shipped. I received the pans in 3 days.
A+ shopping experience
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petmate Jumbo Pearl Hooded Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cool of it's kind

PostedNovember 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
AmberOdie
This thing is beautiful and very pleasant to look at. A sophisticated design and easy to clean.
I have had this product for about two months. We have two friends using it.
Petco was kind enough to assemble it for me, since I read comments about the halves not fitting. They fit fine.
I also read comments about the clip areas breaking and find no way that can happen (there really are no clips. The parts are solid and part of the form), but then I have been careful not to force anything (you line up the top [hood] with the bottom [pan] and then gently press the front and back of the clip area over the bottom area). The hood goes over and you press the front and back of that area. You will hear a click and you can test by trying to lift front, or back of hood up, but it should be snug and you can lift it by the handle to place as needed. Be patient and play with a bit and try moving it gently getting use to doing it. It slides over and down in a couple of motions. I am also cautious lifting the product filled trying not to cause the handle ends to break (not saying they would), since it is an attached part.
Note: 1. We place it in the bathroom by a tub on one side and wall on another. I was rushed after cleaning litter and placed it with the opening AGAINST the tub and our guys were stuck for some hours. I usually notice the vents for the filter (I think it is unnecessary) are toward the back, but didn’t this time. So double check before leaving area.
2. If your friends decide to wipe their paws against the inside of the hood (a very annoying sound), they may be telling you they don’t want to touch the litter. In my case they were smarter than us because the litter had grain beetles in it (litter tossed and new product gotten and filter placed in freezer overnight).
3. BIG issue for me was height of entrance into pan from floor to where top of pan meets bottom of hood. Some of these things have 9” entryways and must be for coon cats. This is about 6 ½” and perfect. The company was kind enough to take one and measure it for me. Nice people answering other questions too. I did my research (and reviews like this are a fantastic part of such research) and this is a great product and I did not want to have to return it and/or select something else.
4. Some vendors ask you buy all the colors available and return the ones you don’t want. That means extra shipping and carfare to store (so call first and get color wanted from store). Also not all vendors sell them with the front entrance door flap. The company will send one to you free if you want it. How much litter can get out that this piece of plastic will keep in AND do you really want them to go through that every time they need to use this? They may NOT want it there, but I guess you find out if you make them try it (I would get them use to new product first before trying the door, or remove it if there and try it later. This way you know they WILL use it in the first place and it isn’t the door that may stop them).
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petmate Jumbo Pearl Hooded Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sooooo Big!

PostedNovember 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Daurie
from Borrego Springs, CA
I love this one! It is large and roomy and my two cats just love it. They can actually move around inside. I wish it came in another color because I don't do blue - but I do like the pan - and - more importantly - so do the kitties!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petmate Jumbo Pearl Hooded Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Jumbo Hooded Litter Pan

PostedOctober 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
nicolem
I got the pink one and I love it and so does my cat, Abby! Way better than the high wall pans!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>