petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Innotek UltraSmart Contain 'N' Train In-Ground Pet Fencing & Remote Training System

Innotek UltraSmart Contain 'N' Train In-Ground Pet Fencing & Remote Training System

Electronic dog fence keeps dogs safely within your chosen boundariesReceiver collar is sleek, lightweight and comfortableUnderground dog fence harmlessly corrects dogs when they try to cross boundaryHandheld remote allows pet parents to correct for other undesirable behaviorsEnough wire to cover 1/2 acre of property – can be expanded with additional wire (sold separately)Model IUC-5100
Average Customer Rating:
3.539 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
4
9 out of 13(69%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Innotek UltraSmart Contain 'N' Train In-Ground Pet Fencing & Remote Training System
Review 1 for Innotek UltraSmart Contain 'N' Train In-Ground Pet Fencing & Remote Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Innotek UltraSmart Products are a Disappointment

PostedOctober 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
JPennell38
from Arlington, Wa
Petco's return policy is great no issues with them. I will continue to do business with Petco. They are a great company to work with. Innotek on the other hand, their customer service is horrible gives you the run around and does not want to help. Innotek Ultra smart Contain 'N' Train In-Ground Pet Fencing is a horrible product. It does not work correctly and is very weak. My puppy went and sat on the line and chewed a stick. Innotek said it was the fact that my dog is not trained right. Would not take blame for their product and wanted nothing to do with fixing the issue. Returned it to Petco and bought another model. This time by Pet Safe and it works great, dog runs around yard now and goes nowhere near the edges or tries to leave. I would never recommend any one to buy an Innotek product even if it works at start and dies later on you will get horrible service trying to figure out what is wrong with it. Because Innotek believes it is your dog not their product. One more thing they told me I needed to shave my dogs neck in order to use their product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
10of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Innotek UltraSmart Contain 'N' Train In-Ground Pet Fencing & Remote Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Invisible fence

PostedSeptember 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
4Eli
from Canandaigua ny
Fantastic product, easy to install, quick/easy training
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Innotek UltraSmart Contain 'N' Train In-Ground Pet Fencing & Remote Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great system!

PostedApril 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
GalacticaActual
from Zeigler,IL
This system is easy to use, set up and install. My two heathen dogs are now kept clear of the flower garden that they once trashed. Thank you PetCo!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
4of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Innotek UltraSmart Contain 'N' Train In-Ground Pet Fencing & Remote Training System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great system, easily trained

PostedFebruary 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
JoJo11
from pittsburgh, PA
we have had this system for almost 2 yrs now and have been very happy with it. Our border collie/lab mix puppy was very easily trained, following the video instructions. My only complaint, and it's minor, is the collar. I just had to call and order new parts for the collar. Not the transmitter, but the actual collar. The buckle broke on the collar. A downside to the collar is that it is made of plastic/rubber. Because you are not to leave the collar on 24/7, we are constantly taking it on and off. I noticed a lot of the other collars are made of nylon and have a quick release buckle. This would make things much more convenient. Overall a great system.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Innotek UltraSmart Contain 'N' Train In-Ground Pet Fencing & Remote Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Purchase

PostedSeptember 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
RedDog51
from Rochester, NY
We ordered and received quickly. Put in the electric fence last Saturday in 2 hours using a trencher and an attachment. Hooking up electrically was easy also. Our dog adjusted to the system in less than 2 days. Our boxer is cautious about the white flags but is enjoying the freedom of the whole yard and not needing to be on a chain. I have used the remote for jumping and digging holes - which is working great. I am now able to take her to work with me as she isn't digging up the yard.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Innotek UltraSmart Contain 'N' Train In-Ground Pet Fencing & Remote Training System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good DIY System

PostedMarch 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
BuddysDad
from Kenosha, WI
Purchased the system two years ago and have been very happy with it as it was FAR less expensive than a professional installed system.
Like any DIY project you need to follow the instructions and heed the warnings about getting too close to power lines that can mess with the signal AND the collar needs to be tight enough that the studs touch the dog's skin.
The training remote is also very handy
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Innotek UltraSmart Contain 'N' Train In-Ground Pet Fencing & Remote Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best fence solution, good company

PostedJanuary 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
PamNewJersey
from Sussex Co., New Jersey
We have this product installed on our back yard for the past two years and a half. It works wounderful, I have three dogs, all ages, two yellow labs and one bloodhound. The labs are very hiper as any labrador, and still works with them. Yes, sometimes a couple of things did not work, and after waiting for a while, the company replaced the items every time. We had a great experience with them and with this product. No complains at all.
It took about four days of training, it was just a walk for an hour or so with each one of the dogs around the fence, and the work on instaling the wire underground. that was about it. Great product!
Pam
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Innotek UltraSmart Contain 'N' Train In-Ground Pet Fencing & Remote Training System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good system, but nothing's perfect

PostedJanuary 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
jacknjoe
from ohio
I installed this system back in July '09 and realized that it does not work consistently on two sides of our containment area because our neighbors also have an underground fence. The instructions indicate to leave 6 feet from other parallel lines, which we have left about 10 feet, but it still causes that line to only work some of the time. That being said, we just made sure that we trained heavily (just like the video shows) and we have never seen the dog leave the fence in those areas. Here's our biggest problem, and it has nothing to do with the quality of the fence, we have a 3 year old sheltie that obsessively chases the school bus and sometimes other cars & trucks. And this fence cannot snap him out of that behavior! I simply CANNOT have my pup out during busing times or he breaks through and runs under the bus biting the tires! Luckily we have a compassionate bus driver who didn't kill my pup!
We are about to add another puppy, a Rottweiler, so, to be continued as to whether it will contain this powerful breed!
My advice to those who purchase this system is to DO YOUR HOMEWORK! The fence is only as good as your consistency in training! You CAN'T just dig it in, place the flags & put the collar on the dog! It takes training. Also, NEVER allow the dog to get through the fence without a leash on. My dog didn't start going after the bus until the day we came home from vacation and we put the collar on the dog, but forgot to turn the fence back on. It was then that he realized that he can sometimes get through with the collar on.
On a day to day basis, the containment works, but it is NOT 100% fool proof - it ain't no 6 ft privacy fence, so don't expect it to be! :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Innotek UltraSmart Contain 'N' Train In-Ground Pet Fencing & Remote Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

disappointed

PostedMay 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tarheelfan
Like a couple of the other reviews, this works sporadically at best. My dog has run right through twice with ease.
Very disappointed with this product. Seems like a lot of good money down the drain.
E-mailed Innotek about my problem and waiting for a response.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Innotek UltraSmart Contain 'N' Train In-Ground Pet Fencing & Remote Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Also, Does Not Work

PostedAugust 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
AB16
I agree with the other person stating that this does not work on his dog. We have had to replaced the batteries in the remote twice in two days. The tone only works intermittently. The collar is charged, it is not overcharged. We are waiting for a response from Innotek. If it doesn't work all the time what the use in having it. It's a lot of money it spend.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Innotek UltraSmart Contain 'N' Train In-Ground Pet Fencing & Remote Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Recommended for Stubborn Dogs

PostedOctober 14, 2007
Customer Avatar
raeaa
I love my "contain and train." I truly believe it has saved my dog's life. Despite our having a good fence, my dog managed to learn to get out of our yard onto our busy road. Out of desperation I found this product (following advice of some friends). It has kept him inside our yard, off of our furniture, and out of the trash.
In addition to the containment features, the training remote has allowed me to finally me to focus my dog’s attention when he is excited and prone to ignoring me. After about two corrections, my dog learned to associate the tone emitted and my command with the correction. Now he generally obeys with command only. If he becomes too excited to listen, I usually only have to use level 0 (tone only) to remind him to listen. I really like the fact the system has levels 0 through 9. Despite my dog being very large, I only had to use level 2 to train him.
Friends and family cannot believe the change in my dog's behavior. Friends who were formerly afraid of him, now remark how sweet and well behaved he is. I am glad his behavior is now under control so they can see him for the big hearted, loving dog that he is.
I have had the system for a couple of months, and I am completely sold on it. I would recommend this to anyone with a headstrong dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Innotek UltraSmart Contain 'N' Train In-Ground Pet Fencing & Remote Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does not work

PostedJune 1, 2007
Customer Avatar
ddtodd456
I got this system for my dog. He did not feel a thing the system itself work i test it. But the dog would did not feel anything. He even layed down on the wire with the collar on. I even contacted the manufactuer and this system is the best they have. so much for keeping your dog contained. I suggest you invest your money it a real old fashion wood fence. The only good thing about my purchase was that it was easy to return.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Response from petco.comPETCO.com TeamSeptember 7, 2007
Sounds like the battery was not completely charged before use. If you experience this issue please charge the unit per the manufacturer's instructions. For futher assistance contact Innotek at 1-800-364-3362.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Innotek UltraSmart Contain 'N' Train In-Ground Pet Fencing & Remote Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Innotek = Innovations that WORK!

PostedMay 18, 2006
Customer Avatar
Pet Friend
from Somewhere in a forest of New York
Like most pet owners, I find myself trying to balance the need for my sanity and my pet's freedom. I live next to protected park land where wild deer and turkeys share our forest. Our two large and curious dog are nature friendly... too much so. They just can't understand why the other animals don't want to play with them, but they will chase and chase in search of an answer if given the chance.
I want my pets to enjoy the outdoors... without terrorizing the wildlife or leaving puppy "gifts" on our neighbors' lawns. The Innotek UltraSmart Contain 'N' Train System was the solution. Not only do we get a superior electronic fencing system that incorporates collars specially designed with your pet's comfort in mind, it also comes with a remote with NINE levels of stimulation for use with up to two dogs! Each collar is waterproof and rechargeable!! With other disposable, battery-driven models, a good shake of the head would randomly loosen the battery, leaving the dog to roam freely over his barrier. No such problems with Innotek... no batteries to replace! I simply charge the collar at night and use during the day. My pets now have full access to their yard and when the deer find themselves in our yard, they can easily trot back over the line and off into the woods, leaving disappointed, but safe puppies at home. The remote has a great advantage to us as well. Not only is it a training aid, but we can use it when we go hiking or to the beach, no leashes needed. We just take the collars and the handy remote that is both small and amazingly simple to use. Its best feature is its warning tone. I don't have to zap my pups!! They quickly learned from the home fence line what a beeping collar means... a shock is coming unless they back off... so when away from home, I can send a wandering dog a friendly beep that they recognize above and beyond simply yelling "No." There's no question of what I want. They immediately get the hint and return to my side.
Once your dogs are safe and secure outside, how do you keep them out of your office or other no-no zones... with Innotek Zones, of course! These are far easier to install than the fence, looking sort of like smoke detectors, but are closer to proximity alarms that can go anywhere. You simply adjust it to be a 2-12 foot barrier then place it where you want to keep your pet away from. Just like the outdoor fencing line, when the pet gets too close, they are warned and if they continue receive a correction. You can even set them to keep one dogs out of the Zone and let another in. Its this kind of customization that makes me a fan of this manufacturer. This would be, however, an additional purchase OR you can choose to buy the Innotek Contain & Zones if you'd prefer the Zones to the training remote.
With its comfortable, maintenance-free collars, simple fence installation, and overall ease of use for the entire system, I highly recommend any and all Innotek UltraSmart products as I have found them to be high quality and perfectly suited to my needs. :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.