petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Ole Bird Kabob Toy

Ole Bird Kabob Toy

Satisfies your bird's natural chewing and preening instinctsEarth friendly, made of all natural sisal rope and yucca stalkRelieves stress, boredom and feather pluckingEasy to install, simply hang in your bird's cage by the sisal loop
Average Customer Rating:
4.438 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
15 out of 16(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Ole Bird Kabob Toy
Review 1 for Ole Bird Kabob Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Parrot Chew Toy

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from San Diego, CA
Both my African Grey parrots favor shredding toys and this is their favorite. I poke holes in the hollowed-out part of the toy and insert whole almonds. I usually leave this hanging in their cage when I go out for more than a few hours. When I return it is completely destroyed, and I know my parrots have had a great time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Ole Bird Kabob Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Entertainment at its best!

PostedApril 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
After I was buying bunches of toys for my parakeets and a new cage, this immediately stood out! Of course, I was not mistaken. Soon after I had filled this in the cage (which is overrun by a plethora of bird toys) my birds spent all day and night plucking the hairs of this block of wood, completely addicted. They were never so interested in a toy before, and, as such, I'll buy ten or so more for the cage! Thank you for this wonderful invention!
My angels are so happy now!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Ole Bird Kabob Toy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Has potential

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
from USA
This toy entertained my birds at first. After they pecked at it for a while, they got bored. Good quality toy, kind if boring concept though. It has some potential. My birds will play with it now on occasion.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Ole Bird Kabob Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good pass time

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
from pittsburgh
I have a Green Cheek Conure, and when I first put this in his cage, he was a bit afraid of this, but not for long, now he really enjoys it, and picks at it constantly, it is a good thing to keep him busy. I am glad I bought this for him
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Ole Bird Kabob Toy
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good for chewing, not too interesting

PostedAugust 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Maine
When my sun conure has a strong chewing urge, he sometimes will use this toy. However, it's not very flashy or interesting, so a lot of the time it just hangs there in his cage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Ole Bird Kabob Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Parakeets' Favorite

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Las Vegas, NV
It took about 3 weeks for my parakeets to warm up to the first bird kabob and about 1 week to hollow it out. Now, it takes about 3 days for them to completely hollow out an entire kabob. My female especially loves it. She has even stopped biting when being handled. It is the best toy I have found for keeping her busy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Ole Bird Kabob Toy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

mixed feelings

PostedAugust 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
This item is rather large. I defiantly didn't have the room to hang this in the cage, so I placed it on the cage floor in the back corner. It must have sat there for a good month or longer before my 3 parakeets would go near it. I left it in there and finally one got brave and started chewing on it. It quickly caught on and between the 3 of them they've now hallowed out a lot of every hole on it. It ended up being great, but took a long time for them to come around.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Ole Bird Kabob Toy
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Too Big For Budgie

PostedJuly 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Not a hit with our parakeet. I didn't realize our new parakeet would be afraid of toys that are too big. I ordered the smallest size (7 inches), and he won't go near it. I can't say I blame him; it's bigger than he is.
In all fairness, though, this would likely be a great toy for a bigger bird.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Ole Bird Kabob Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best product ever!

PostedJuly 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
My two birds love them! I bought their first large kabob because my dad have been making me get it. And also it made him happy lol and also for Berry's early birthday present. My two bird were scared at first and few hours later, i caught them chewing holes in thunk! They just love it! I can't believe that they did that faster! Blue Berry was just helping my green kiwi making hollow so he could impress her. hahaha!
I will buy these in future again. :D Berry is blue budge and Kiwi is green budgie. :D Kiwi is about 2 year old. and berry is about almost 1 year old.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Ole Bird Kabob Toy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Birds love it!

PostedMay 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Bisbee, AZ
My IRNs love these! My budgies are still making up their mind, but some of them are in love, too! The only thing I have against this product is the hanger is a fairly fine twine-type substance. The birds go right after it. I anticipate having to rehang it with some sort of wire long before the chew toy itself is destroyed. The budgies, especially, love tearing up twine and such.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Ole Bird Kabob Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keeps 'Em Busy!

PostedJune 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Opelika, AL
My 2 budgies love chewing on, shredding, and tearing this apart. They've been working on one for a while, but I'll definitely be buying another to replace it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Ole Bird Kabob Toy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fun toy for a blue front, scary to a conure

PostedAugust 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
My conure is afraid of it but he has "issues". My blue front has been looking at it for the past couple of days and I know he will eventually destroy it, which is what I expect.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Ole Bird Kabob Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

wonderful

PostedJune 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
I bought this for our Macaw... and at first it really terrified him. But after a month or so and he got used to it being in his cage he started messing with it. Now he just loves this thing to pieces. He tears it and whips it around his cage. This was an awesome purchase that I would recommend and I will buy again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Ole Bird Kabob Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My birds love this thing.

PostedJune 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
It is safe to say that my parakeets become obsessed when this toy is in the cages, which is always. They have hollowed out 3 now and show no signs of slowing down. They love it! It is one thing my birds do not go without. They chew on it all the time and use it to scratch their heads now and again. It is a good one I would tell anyone to get the parakeet. My cockatiels ignore it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Ole Bird Kabob Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great!

PostedFebruary 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Daly City, CA
At first I was intimidated that this product was very big but as soon as I put this in the cage my cockatiels were playing with this in no time flat! They were both literally trying to shred it to pieces! This will definately satisfy their biting needs. Thanks Petco. :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Ole Bird Kabob Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My cockatoo LOVES this!

PostedNovember 26, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Nokesville, VA
She tears it up and has just a grand old time with it. She also seems to prefer this to some of the "log" type wooden chew toys. She hangs off the side of it, merrily ripping holes in it. A great distraction toy for her!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.