petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Midwest Small Pet Playpens

Midwest Small Pet Playpens

Small Pet Playpens allow for increased freedom of movement while still keeping your pet safe and secureMidwest small animal playpens are available in a variety of sizes
Average Customer Rating:
4.368 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(68 Reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 68 reviews
5 stars
44
4 stars
14
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
4
61 out of 68(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Midwest Small Pet Playpens
Review 1 for Midwest Small Pet Playpens
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Best on the market

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
HoosierDaddy
from Indiana
Sturdiest brand available. More expensive but worth the difference. Only negative is Midwest's customer service. It's terrible.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Midwest Small Pet Playpens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect and sturdy

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
mandy60
from Az.
this product is exactly what is needed for a puppy and into adult since it is so sturdy. I bought this for a mini schnauser who currently is 9 weeks old and will use this when she has reached her weight of 12 - 14 pounds. Will definitely keep her safe and sturdy to not fall over or her jump out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Midwest Small Pet Playpens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for Syrian Hamsters

PostedJanuary 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
NuttyPetLover
Got this for my 7 week old Syrian hamster. It's working out great! Bar spacing is perfect for the larger syrian hamsters.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Midwest Small Pet Playpens
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This product is good for bunnies

PostedDecember 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
TheZooHome200
from Des Moines, IA
I got the small pen for my son's Rabbit and the bunny liked it, he did jump it, but will buy second one to add to for hieght. Give room for bunny to roam. Great for blocking off areas you don't want the rabbit to get into.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Midwest Small Pet Playpens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for room to play, if you buy two.

PostedNovember 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Amber83
from Mason City, IA
I bought this for my two guinea pigs. I purchased two because I was concerned with the amount of area it would give them to play. Im glad I did. When you hook the two togther, it gives them plenty of room to run. At $15 each, its very affordable.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Midwest Small Pet Playpens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

works perfect

PostedJuly 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shaunadoggie
from California
my guinea pig loves to just run in circles inide this and tease my dogs. it works perfect for her and it easy to fold up and put away.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
14of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Midwest Small Pet Playpens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best thing I have ever got

PostedJanuary 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
hamster9
I really like this because they can not climb it and it is great for dwarf hamsters.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
7of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Midwest Small Pet Playpens
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great playpen, but definitely not a cage

PostedDecember 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Arethriel
from Chicago, IL
I got a playpen for my 2 bunnies and they love it! This definitely isn't sturdy enough to leave unsupervised.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
17of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Midwest Small Pet Playpens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Good Hamster Playpen

PostedAugust 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
jojojojesammy
I have Two of these playpens for my three Long Haired Hamsters.They still have cages but one of the hamster doesnot want to leave his playpen,so he sleeps in a hut we put in it.Since hamsters are climbers I had to make a top lid on the playpens or else they will get out.I used clear plexiglass and drilled some air hole in it just to help circulate the air.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-4points
5of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Midwest Small Pet Playpens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedJuly 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
jerseyguineapigs
from NJ
Best thing I've bought so far for my 2 pigs. They love the freedom and extra play space. I love that it folds flat & is so portable and was so very reasonably priced. You can also buy additional panels to enlarge the play area. We've set it up in the living room, kitchen and in the yard. This really is one of the best things I've gotten for the pigs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Midwest Small Pet Playpens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sturdy and Easy to Use

PostedJuly 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
HarleyAndHamlet
I bought two of the shorter playpens and joined them together so the play area is large enough for my 7 year old to sit in and build tunnels and such while he plays with the guinea pigs. The piggies cannot climb out or push the cage over. I've used them outside for a frolic in the grass as well as inside. The colors are nice and the pens fold up easily for storage. They are quite heavy and sturdy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Midwest Small Pet Playpens
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

ok depending on your needs.

PostedFebruary 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
SpoiledBunnyLover
This product is really heavy, and with all the sections hinged together it is not the most ideal product. If you use it in a circle as the picture shows it is great really sturdy and would make a great purchase. However if you plan on using it to section off a corner of the house (i. e. like your entertainment unit) then this is not the way to go. Because it is hinged you cannot remove extra pieces. Additionally because you are locked into 8 large sections it will not conform to the shape you need, and will either need to give up a lot of extra floor space or find another product which will give you the barrier and flexibility you need. I decided for me it would be best to go with something much lighter which will conform to any area needed.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Midwest Small Pet Playpens
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

UNSAFE FOR HAMSTERS!

PostedJanuary 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
SmallPetLover
Don't buy this product for any hamster- they can easily shimmy up the little bars and escape. I have three, two teddy bears and a robo, and they each figured out how to escape within a few seconds.
Other people I know of who tried this product with hamsters have had the same result, they're just too nimble for this playpen.
This product is nicer for gerbils, guinea pigs and rabbits, or other small pets that aren't agile climbers. Be careful when buying anything for hamsters though, because they're little escape artists.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Midwest Small Pet Playpens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very sturdy playpen

PostedJanuary 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
RatHeart
from Los Angeles, CA
I got this for my two adult rats to play in, and I am quite pleased with it so far. The wire is very heavy and sturdy. It's literally a few seconds to set up, just take out of the box and unfold.
The only down side is the wires are spaced rather far for very small animals, so if you have small rats, or mice, they would probably be able to escape quite easily. But if you have large rats, rabbits, chinchillas, etc, it is a great and easily expandable playpen.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Midwest Small Pet Playpens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Almost perfect

PostedJanuary 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
PainterSarah
I got the 15" high. For informational sake, this kit come with 6 panels. Not 8 like other sets do. The inside area is nice, but it could be a bit bigger. I'd say just buy a second one to expand and only use some of the panels at a time, since the expansion set is just as much money for only 3 panels.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Midwest Small Pet Playpens
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

PostedDecember 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
buster99
Not as large as what we wanted. Rascal's cage is almost the same size so it does not provide enough exercise room. I am probably going to purchase another one and hook the two together for more space.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Midwest Small Pet Playpens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedDecember 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Buddytherabbit
I got it for my rabbit and he loves it very much. He get more time to play with his toys. excellent item for an awesome price. Would def. recomend it to a friend
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Midwest Small Pet Playpens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bigger Cage ~ more toys!!

PostedOctober 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sonnybrook
We love this new cage for our hamster, as it was hard to fit all her toys, her wheel, her hide-outs, and her chewing treats in her 1st cage. We are going to make this playpen her permanent home--If you need something underneath it to protect your floor--a large plastic, shallow tote will work for that. And if you want a top, which you would if it is to be their home--just go to the hardware store and buy a piece of similar wire--take the measurements with you and there you have it. A new, larger home for you beloved pet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Midwest Small Pet Playpens
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

works great

PostedSeptember 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
rag
Great size for the price . I use it for guinea pigs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Midwest Small Pet Playpens
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

small pet playpen

PostedSeptember 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
AC
I bought this pen for 2 guinea pigs. It is perfect for letting them out to stretch their legs. I also bought the 3 piece add on to give them some extra room and they love it. the pen itself is easy to put up and take down
it folds flat and quick. the only reason it did not get 5 paws is I thought it was slightly overpriced
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>