petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Midwest Black E-Coat Exercise Pens

Midwest Black E-Coat Exercise Pens

Dog exercise pen provides safe containment for a variety of pets indoors or outsidePortable dog pen is easy to carry and folds flat for convenient storageDog pens set up in minutes without toolsFeatures eight 24" wide panels that can be configured to accommodate your space
Average Customer Rating:
4.718 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(85 Reviews) 85
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 85 reviews
5 stars
67
4 stars
14
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
81 out of 85(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 36 Answers
Customer Reviews for Midwest Black E-Coat Exercise Pens
Review 1 for Midwest Black E-Coat Exercise Pens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Bearmom
from Utah
I received this in a very timely manor. It is great to keep my dog which just had TPLO surgery. I was very impressed with the quality of the product. I like that I can make it any size to fit it into my living room. Thank you for putting out such a great item at an affordable price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Midwest Black E-Coat Exercise Pens
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great for the Price, but have used better.

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Abutterworth
from Houston, Texas
The black finish is great compared to other pens used and for the Sale Price of $49.99 it was worth it, but I bought 2 and returned 1. The height of the pen is just too high for the reason that I am using (and I am very tall) , you can't reach over, It's great for bigger dogs, but I use it for puppies and can't reach them. Also, It doesn't have a door to enter the pen. It didn't seem like a big deal at first but realizing how much I use it to clean it, feed them, let them in and out etc.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Midwest Black E-Coat Exercise Pens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A must have for Buns

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
OregonDragonfly
from Oregon
I bought this pen for my daughters dwarf bun. It is wonderful. Easy to set up and take down and give s the bun plenty of run around room. Highly suggest to any small critter owner.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Midwest Black E-Coat Exercise Pens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pen works great

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
cupcake123
from Chicago, IL
I purchased this pen to create a containment area for my shih tzu puppy. I like that this fence can change shape. It's easily foldable and portable. The construction is sturdy and the fence can stand indoors on its own. It has never fallen down. I am really happy with this product and will continue to purchase more as my puppy grows larger to create a larger play area for her.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Midwest Black E-Coat Exercise Pens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

classic look

PostedJune 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
nayk
from middletown,new york
It is very eye appealing in the yard and excellent construction.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Midwest Black E-Coat Exercise Pens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect

PostedJune 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Vincennes
from Vincennes, IN
The exercise pen is great! Good quality, easy to set up and versatile. I will be using it for my dog inside and outside to create a safe place at home and while traveling. Wish I had purchased one years ago. Petco shipping was fast!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Midwest Black E-Coat Exercise Pens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Midwest black E-coat exercise pens

PostedJune 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
ScottsdaleMike
from Scottsdale Arizona
I bought two of these. You can link them together to cover more space. Good for keeping dogs in or out of a space. Terrific product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Midwest Black E-Coat Exercise Pens
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Lifesaver

PostedJune 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
N2Labs
from Charleston, SC
The 4foot Midwest Exercise Pen has been a huge help with my lab puppy (9wks). I used a piece of linoleum on the floor under it so it wouldn't scratch the floor. It also attaches to our large Midwest crate (w/partition) so she has a cozy, safe, roomy environment in our kitchen. I have an older lab so it allows them to interact but keeps the puppy safe as she can tend to be bothersome to the older one at this stage. The only negative is that this pen doesn't have a door in one of the panels (thus 4 stars instead of 5), so you have to hook the end panels together with clips (which is fine, but would have been much more convenient with a door and latch). A door would also allow easier access so you don't have to lean over whole thing to pet or place something in area. Also, the whole thing does move around when the puppy jumps on it or pushes against it - but only inside. I place the older dog's large kennel against one panel to keep it from moving too much. Am sure it won't be a problem once the puppy is a little larger and has more training. I have a 2nd Midwest pen that I use on our porch and carry outside if I am doing yard work. Although it comes with ground pins, it stays put in the grass. Again, it will move around on the porch if pup pushes against it - but will not tip over. You can also unhook it and just use as a partition to block off an opening and confine pup to a certain space. All in all it is a great product and has worked really well for us and our needs and we would strongly recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Midwest Black E-Coat Exercise Pens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Midwest kennel

PostedJune 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Malady
from Spokane, wa
This is a great play pen for our yorkie. We bought 2 and put them together. They are easy to put together and give her plenty of room to run around. We take it camping so she doesn't have to be on a leash when we are outside. I would highly recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Midwest Black E-Coat Exercise Pens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love New Exercise Pen

PostedMay 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
LuvToDance
from Bartlett, TN
I just got a new Maltese puppy and this pen is perfect to put outside and for him to get some exercise in. It keeps him safe from predators. I put a beach umbrella over the top and hang some water with ice for him and he is set for about an hour. I love this and so does my Kody. The price is excellent too!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Midwest Black E-Coat Exercise Pens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome product!! Highly recommend!!

PostedMay 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Chihuahuamom100
from Ohio
I purchased this product for my two 8 month old chihuahuas. This pen is very sturdy and works great for my pups. It allows plenty of room for them to get their daily exercise. It has also been very helpful during the potty training process. Although there is no door on this pen, I have not had any issues without a door. I highly recommend this product to anyone with small breed dogs! This product comes already put together, which was very convenient! Awesome product! Well worth the money!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Midwest Black E-Coat Exercise Pens
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Midwest Black E-Coat Exercise Pens

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sher60OES
from Pleasant Hill, MO
I will make use of the pens I've ordered but more than likely will not order this selection again. They don't seem as strong and gauge of wire not mentioned so I can compare to previous pens. The clips bend very easy and won't be lasting very long. The gold ones I've ordered seem better made and stronger.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Midwest Black E-Coat Exercise Pens
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice ex pen

PostedMarch 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
bwohio
from Ohio
I purchased this for my mastiff who is on exercise restrictions for an injury. It is sturdy & high enough to contain her.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Midwest Black E-Coat Exercise Pens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Asian
from Henderson, NV
Purchased to use for two puppies, works great to keep them in a certain area.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Midwest Black E-Coat Exercise Pens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Glad to have it ! But...

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
kiwibird14
from Manchester, NH
I wish I had one of these when I adopted my shih-tzu at 7months old!! Now with the new puppy I am happy to have this little containment unit. It makes a safe place for puppy to play when I can't have eyes on her and so that she can't get into trouble, chew on electric wires, get stuck under the couch - you know, puppy stuff. This unit is easy to set up, just take it out of the box and it's ready to go! The only thing I wish it came with was a top or cover - The puppy already learned how to climb out!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Midwest Black E-Coat Exercise Pens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very sturdy expens

PostedOctober 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
dogfostermom1
from Pittsboro, NC
We have lots of dogs.....our own and foster dogs and use expens in our fenced in yards to separate the dogs when they get stuffed bones. The expens are sturdy and easy to set up and provide separation when we need it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Midwest Black E-Coat Exercise Pens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An easy, yet durable product

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tailpipe
from Houston, TX
My lab underwent TPLO and is in post-op recovery. My lab was not a fan of being crated 24/7 so I purchased this product and it has been our life saver. I would not recommend this product unless you get approval first from you vet/surgeon as they recommend complete crate restriction. However, as great as the iCrate is (see my review) my lab was not a happy fan. I've attached this very durable, attractive exercise pen to his crate which was an easy set-up since the 8 panels are already connected to each other and you just fold open the pen and shape it how you want. Keep in mind my lab is older and is laid-back so he is happy to just lay inside the pen area without trying to escape. I'm not sure how this would work for hyper or escape artist dogs. This product comes with 4 safety clasps to secure pen area to crate. Keep in mind this product does not have a door, just unlatch clasps at crate area, which works great (just like a door). Now my lab uses both his crate and exercise pen and doesn't feel confined. Remember to get approval from you vet/surgeon first.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Midwest Black E-Coat Exercise Pens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This pen does a great job for my size puppy

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Liberty54229
from Jacksonville, FL
I purchased this pen to keep my puppy in a confined area in my family room until she's housebroken. Our puppy is a Yorkie, only 3 lbs., so this pen works fine. I'm not sure it would work as well for larger breed puppies, because it's fairly easy to push the panels if they aren't anchored. It would be nice if Midwest offered some sort of floor covering option to go with the pen. The area where I have it set up is partially carpeted and partially wood floors. I ended up purchasing some marine-grade vinyl fabric to put under the pen to protect the carpet/flooring, from both the metal pen itself and from potential potty accidents.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Midwest Black E-Coat Exercise Pens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good to use everywhere.

PostedSeptember 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
bluebaby
Read many reviews online and bought the height 30, as I'm afraid my puppy will climb out. Glad made the right choice. The quality is good!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Midwest Black E-Coat Exercise Pens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sturdier than I thought.

PostedApril 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
LT57
from Santa Fe,NM
I ordered two of these so I could link them together. They are sturdy, portable and easy to use. Exactly what I wanted. I would recommend these.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>