petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Midwest Black E-Coat Exercise Pens

Midwest Black E-Coat Exercise Pens

Dog exercise pen provides safe containment for a variety of pets indoors or outsidePortable dog pen is easy to carry and folds flat for convenient storageDog pens set up in minutes without toolsFeatures eight 24" wide panels that can be configured to accommodate your space
Average Customer Rating:
4.716 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(74 Reviews) 74
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 74 reviews
5 stars
58
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
71 out of 74(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer Reviews for Midwest Black E-Coat Exercise Pens
Review 1 for Midwest Black E-Coat Exercise Pens
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Midwest Black E-Coat Exercise Pens

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sher60OES
from Pleasant Hill, MO
I will make use of the pens I've ordered but more than likely will not order this selection again. They don't seem as strong and gauge of wire not mentioned so I can compare to previous pens. The clips bend very easy and won't be lasting very long. The gold ones I've ordered seem better made and stronger.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Midwest Black E-Coat Exercise Pens
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice ex pen

PostedMarch 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
bwohio
from Ohio
I purchased this for my mastiff who is on exercise restrictions for an injury. It is sturdy & high enough to contain her.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Midwest Black E-Coat Exercise Pens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Asian
from Henderson, NV
Purchased to use for two puppies, works great to keep them in a certain area.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Midwest Black E-Coat Exercise Pens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Glad to have it ! But...

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
kiwibird14
from Manchester, NH
I wish I had one of these when I adopted my shih-tzu at 7months old!! Now with the new puppy I am happy to have this little containment unit. It makes a safe place for puppy to play when I can't have eyes on her and so that she can't get into trouble, chew on electric wires, get stuck under the couch - you know, puppy stuff. This unit is easy to set up, just take it out of the box and it's ready to go! The only thing I wish it came with was a top or cover - The puppy already learned how to climb out!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Midwest Black E-Coat Exercise Pens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very sturdy expens

PostedOctober 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
dogfostermom1
from Pittsboro, NC
We have lots of dogs.....our own and foster dogs and use expens in our fenced in yards to separate the dogs when they get stuffed bones. The expens are sturdy and easy to set up and provide separation when we need it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Midwest Black E-Coat Exercise Pens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An easy, yet durable product

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tailpipe
from Houston, TX
My lab underwent TPLO and is in post-op recovery. My lab was not a fan of being crated 24/7 so I purchased this product and it has been our life saver. I would not recommend this product unless you get approval first from you vet/surgeon as they recommend complete crate restriction. However, as great as the iCrate is (see my review) my lab was not a happy fan. I've attached this very durable, attractive exercise pen to his crate which was an easy set-up since the 8 panels are already connected to each other and you just fold open the pen and shape it how you want. Keep in mind my lab is older and is laid-back so he is happy to just lay inside the pen area without trying to escape. I'm not sure how this would work for hyper or escape artist dogs. This product comes with 4 safety clasps to secure pen area to crate. Keep in mind this product does not have a door, just unlatch clasps at crate area, which works great (just like a door). Now my lab uses both his crate and exercise pen and doesn't feel confined. Remember to get approval from you vet/surgeon first.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Midwest Black E-Coat Exercise Pens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This pen does a great job for my size puppy

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Liberty54229
from Jacksonville, FL
I purchased this pen to keep my puppy in a confined area in my family room until she's housebroken. Our puppy is a Yorkie, only 3 lbs., so this pen works fine. I'm not sure it would work as well for larger breed puppies, because it's fairly easy to push the panels if they aren't anchored. It would be nice if Midwest offered some sort of floor covering option to go with the pen. The area where I have it set up is partially carpeted and partially wood floors. I ended up purchasing some marine-grade vinyl fabric to put under the pen to protect the carpet/flooring, from both the metal pen itself and from potential potty accidents.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Midwest Black E-Coat Exercise Pens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good to use everywhere.

PostedSeptember 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
bluebaby
Read many reviews online and bought the height 30, as I'm afraid my puppy will climb out. Glad made the right choice. The quality is good!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Midwest Black E-Coat Exercise Pens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sturdier than I thought.

PostedApril 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
LT57
from Santa Fe,NM
I ordered two of these so I could link them together. They are sturdy, portable and easy to use. Exactly what I wanted. I would recommend these.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Midwest Black E-Coat Exercise Pens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product works great.

PostedMarch 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
rwperez
from Henderson, NV
I have used all of these exercise pens and they work great. They are sturdy, easy to link together, and I haven't had any issues with them so far. Great buy at a great price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Midwest Black E-Coat Exercise Pens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well worth the 80.00 spent

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
jengo
from Georgia
My Boxer/pit bull mix tore her ACL last month and this required her to have surgery.. Unfortunatly it also required her to be confined to a crate for 12 weeks so that her knee can heal, no running, no jumping etc.. yeah, thats a lot of fun :).. I have never crated my dog so this presented a delima for me. I looked at crates online and just couldent justify spending $200 plus on a crate that would be big enough to confine my dog comfortable for 8-10 hours at a time while I'm at work not to mention the fact that she might not take to the crate at all since she is 5 years old. After reading on some dog forums I saw that people were using x pens to confine their dogs while they were away. So I ordered the largest pen that petco had and when I got it I was pleasently surprised on how big it was. It was easy to assemble and I really liked how I could make it into any shape that I wanted.. So I shaped the pen into a large square, set it against the wall and it was plenty big.. I was able to put her food and water in the pen and she is able to lay comforatbly in there and move around some as well.. I'm really really pleased with this product.. Another added bonus is that its portable so you can move it quickly to other rooms and it comes with footers that you can attach the pen to the ground if you wish to move it outside..though I wouldnt leave my dog unattended outside in this pen for a long period of time..
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Midwest Black E-Coat Exercise Pens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best on the Market... HIGHLY Recommend!!!

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
LovinMyYorkie
from Clifton, NJ
I never EVER write reviews but because this pen was soooooo GREAT and EXTREMELY Cheap I HAD TO!!! I promise you will NOT be disappointed!!! This pen comes already assembled and its sooo easy to set up and take down that a child can do it... I have a Yorkie and she loves to be inside her pen then in her cage... Its also pretty big and can fit her bed, food, wee wee pad and lots of run to run around but you can also make the pen smaller for smaller spaces in the room... ALL IN ALL I HIGHLY RECOMMEND This Gate!!! I am going to buy a second one for my in-laws house... THANK YOU MIDWEST!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Midwest Black E-Coat Exercise Pens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Product does the job

PostedDecember 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
meilingsmom
from PA
Easy to set up and does the job. My Shih Tzu puppy needs room to run and play and my yard is not fenced in, so this was a great solution. The price was great too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Midwest Black E-Coat Exercise Pens
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great idea

PostedOctober 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Miggy
This was a great purchase for my Yorkie puppy. He is having a hard time with being away from the family, so this is a great way to transition him when we are gone. Can put a bowl of water, a bed, and some toys in there to keep him busy. Great idea!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Midwest Black E-Coat Exercise Pens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great item

PostedOctober 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from sisters, oregon
very easy to set up. take out of the box and it's ready. I liked the coating for safety, its smooth. It looks nice. easy to fold and take with you.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Midwest Black E-Coat Exercise Pens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

pens

PostedOctober 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
starrwolf3
from gladstone,or
these work great for so many uses. l take them camping and just use them everyday to keep my dogs out of places they cant go.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Midwest Black E-Coat Exercise Pens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for small tortoises!

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
scifimom
from Seal Beach, CA
I'd tried every type of barrier I could think of to keep my little Russian tortoise from climbing the ivy on our backyard walls and escaping, but nothing worked more than a few days. She has a pen for night time, but really needs the nutrition from the mixed weeds and grasses in our "lawn." This pen was easy to assemble, not super heavy, and I can move it around and reconfigure it so the tortoise can eat a healthy diet during the day.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Midwest Black E-Coat Exercise Pens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

fence / pen

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
bluenellie
this was a good purchase -and on sale! the size is great -and very strong for small doggies.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Midwest Black E-Coat Exercise Pens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
momoahus
from FL
its awesome size and quality, the other one, my dog can jump out so easily. this is is more hard and qquality.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Midwest Black E-Coat Exercise Pens
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy, not sure about long term outdoor use

PostedJune 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
760sandra
from Carlsbad, CA
This pen has no gate, which is OK for me because I bought it to combine with another pen that does have a gate. It's easy to lift, fold or configure into different shapes. The black e-coat does scratch off easily (eg. with applying the D-ring clips that hold the ends of the pen together, both the rings and the pen are scratched immediately) so I'm not sure how rustproof this would be if left outside. We have been using it outdoors for rabbit then putting it away in garage to avoid dew/sprinklers. This and the gold Mid-West pens are light, so if we make a u-shape on the patio with the ends against the house, rabbit can shift one end and escape. Either set up with the ends joined together in a circumference or put it on dirt/grass and use the stakes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>