petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Marineland Stealth Visi-Therm Submersible Aquarium Heaters

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Marineland Stealth Visi-Therm Submersible Aquarium Heaters

Completely submersible aquarium heater is calibrated for superior accuracy in your freshwater or marine aquariumClear, easy to set temperature dialOverheat protection shuts heater down when removed from water
Average Customer Rating:
4.2 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(55 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 55 reviews
5 stars
31
4 stars
14
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
4
45 out of 55(82%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Marineland Stealth Visi-Therm Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Review 1 for Marineland Stealth Visi-Therm Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good buy!

PostedFebruary 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
from las vegas,nv
i got this on sale on line at petco.com...much cheaper than buying it in the store. i like marineland products. i have 2 of these...both are set at 78 degrees but water goes up only till 74 still within range for my glofishes. i bought the one good for max of 30 gallons ( i have a 30 gal tank). i think i should have bought one good for max of 40 gal maybe the water temp will be exactly as it is set.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Marineland Stealth Visi-Therm Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

:D

PostedJanuary 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Manhattan, KS
My house is 60 deg. This is set to 80. The tank is 78.
Works great by me!
I really do like the light/dial combo, and seeing the temp this is supposed to be at.
The only thing I'm not fond of, is that I probably could have gotten away with a 25 watt heater, but I hadn't found one anywhere on this site.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Marineland Stealth Visi-Therm Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A good buy

PostedJanuary 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Oklahoma City, OK
I had purchased one of these over a year ago, before they added the lights. It quit working after a week. However there really aren't many options for heaters on the market right now so I decided to give it another shot. I've had a 150-watt (available in-store but not online) running in my 55 gallon tank for about a month now, and a 50-watt in an 8-gallon BiOrb for 2 weeks.
Positives: The lights are a huge improvement - red when the heater is running, green when it has reached the proper temperature. The black casing blends in really well with the black background. The suctions cups are strong so I haven't had to re-stick it at all since I first bought it even though my fish are always poking at it.
Negatives: The thermostat only measures the water immediately surrounding the heater, so it ends up being a few degrees off. Ambient temp in the room is 68 and the heater is set to 76 but it kicks off when the tank temperature is only 74 according to all three thermometers. On the plus side the heater keeps it at 74 degrees without turning on very often.
Time will tell about longevity, but this heater has already outlasted its predecessor of the same model. All in all I've been happy with it, and when on sale you really can't beat the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Marineland Stealth Visi-Therm Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best heater ever!

PostedDecember 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
I use Marineland heaters in all my tanks and love them. Confused about the negative reviews, but may be more about failure to read product directions and consumer education. Choose heater with proper wattage for your tank size. Also, heaters only raise tank temperature about 10-15 degrees F over ambient temp, so if your house is in low 60's you may not get to 80. Auto shut off is a design feature to save you life, not your heater....Don't leave heater plugged in out of water, it will probably break. Always allow heater 15 minutes to equalibrate to water temperature prior to turning on or removing from tank.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Marineland Stealth Visi-Therm Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works well but doesn't get to set temperature

PostedNovember 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Raleigh, NC
I purchased this heater from Petco.com and the one I received was very slim and fit nicely into and takes up such a small amount of space it's ridiculous. Another plus is that it had a light on the top that turns green when the heater reaches set temp (supposedly....more on that later) and red when the heater is on. The temp dial is also in actual temperature readings which makes it really easy to set. I like that there's no guessing involved.
The negative is that the heater doesn't reach the temp I set. I have a betta in a large tank and I set the heater to 80 degrees. I keep the house at around 65-68 and this heater has never gotten the aquarium water to 80 degrees. Both my thermometers read 76-77 and the heater is green as if the temp has been reached.
Since that temp is still much more comfortable for my betta than 68 I'll keep the heater but it's disappointing that it's not heating up like it should. If you buy this make sure you have a thermometer so you can monitor the temp in the tank. Don't take the heater's word for it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Marineland Stealth Visi-Therm Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great

PostedAugust 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Northern CA
Temperature settings are accurate and has worked good for me. I've owned mine for over a year with no problems.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Marineland Stealth Visi-Therm Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Confused

PostedJune 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
I have to admit I am a little confused by some of the negative reviews of this heater.
If you want it to feed the fish, change the water, and make breakfast for you it will not do that either. It will however heat the water up like it is supposed to and is very accurate.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Marineland Stealth Visi-Therm Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

wont buy again

PostedApril 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
This heater has no indicator light so you never know if its on or not, however the so called auto shut off feature didnt work last weekend when i drained the tank and forgot to turn it off......the side of the heater bubbled and now its compromised and i have to throw it away. Needless to say marine land will be hearing about this.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Marineland Stealth Visi-Therm Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Barely Heats

PostedJanuary 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
If you think a heater that measures the temperature accurately is too good to be true, you're right. This heater must measure the water temperature within a millimeter of the heater because despite turning it up to the top setting, it turned off when the water in my tank was 74 degrees, not somewhere in the 80s.
On top of that, the heater's safety feature, where it supposedly turns off when not in water, did not work. This caused the heater to crack and now I need another heater. I will not be purchasing this one. This is sad, as the earlier version of this brand's heater has worked for me in the past, though only for about 18 months per heater, which should have tipped me off.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Marineland Stealth Visi-Therm Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

PostedDecember 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Does not keep water at proper temp
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Marineland Stealth Visi-Therm Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I've had better...

PostedDecember 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
So I purchased this heater for my 20 gallon tank that I'm starting to set up. It does heat the tank but what I cannot stand is that it has no indicator light letting you know if its on or off and you can't take it out to make sure its working because it shutsdown when not in water so if you do purchase this heater be prepared to by a thermometer to go with it to keep track of the temp but other than that its a good heater
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Marineland Stealth Visi-Therm Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

PostedNovember 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
very easy to setup and use
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Marineland Stealth Visi-Therm Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value for the quality!

PostedAugust 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
from DFW, TX
So far thje best I've owned with very reasonable price. It has safty feature that turns off when being taken from water or the water level is too low.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Marineland Stealth Visi-Therm Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good

PostedJuly 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
I have had this heater for over a year in my 40 gallon FOWLER ( fish only with live rock) and it has done a good job. Although the suction cups have fallen off the heater contiues to work. The only flaws are there is no way to tell if it is on or off, and it dose not have a way of shutting it off other than unplugging it. Other than that is is a good heater.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Marineland Stealth Visi-Therm Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater

PostedApril 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Washington
I have the 25 watt heater and it keeps my 5 gallon tank at the same temperature throughout the day! It works great! I would recommend this heater to anyone. On the box, the 25 watt heater says it's for up to 8 gallons.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Marineland Stealth Visi-Therm Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good heater, I am buying a second one...

PostedMarch 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
from des moines, iowa
i have had this 100 watt model in a 20 gallon tank for about two weeks and am very happy. it appears to keep a constant temperature and blends in well with my tank. I don't really care if it has a distracting light, I can see the heat waves in the water when it is heating. The suction cups were tough to attach and took about 10 minutes of work, so that could be improved or assembled before shipped for convenience. I am buying a second one (50 watt) for a 10 gallon tank. The last heater I had ran constantly at any selected temp, so it killed several fish. This one has been wonderful and can be set and forget. I like the red/black color combination. It would be nice if heaters could be made with a battery backup alarm if power was lost or temp could not be maintained for some reason. My little fish liked to swim along side of this to warm up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Marineland Stealth Visi-Therm Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible

PostedJanuary 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Kansas
This is one of the worst heaters I have. On the box it said that it could support tanks up to 15 gallons so I thought It would have no problem supporting my 10 gallon tank. First of the heater has no sort of light or anything to tell you its on or heating. The heater is not accurate! I need my tank to be at 80 degrees and to do this I have to set the heater at 83 and at night the tank drops atleast 3-4 degrees even though it says its accurate to +1 F. I have returned it once and got the same results with a new one. I would return it again but the only petco near me is small and they only stock this brand and the petco brand which Im not sure about.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Marineland Stealth Visi-Therm Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

won't buy again

PostedNovember 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Boston, ma
This heater didn't even last a year & because it doesn't have an indicator light you can't see if it is on. Warranty is a pain. Send back with a receipt & pay for all shipping. Isn't worth it. Bought another from aqueon & after about a year its not reliable. 1 phone call & they are sending me another. Also had another heater from All-glass aquarium, same company as aqueon, same story new heater. Either I'm hard on heaters or they are not reliable. I will only be dealing with Aqueon products. Great Customer Service
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Marineland Stealth Visi-Therm Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

keeps a good temp.

PostedOctober 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
I've had it about 2 weeks and it keeps the temperature the same, compared to other heaters i've had in the past, this one is the best!
two thumbs up!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Marineland Stealth Visi-Therm Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great!!!

PostedAugust 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Hoffman Estates, IL
i have had this heater for about a month and it works great! i had a heater before this and the temperture was wack and it was bad! This one stays at 80 degrees and never goes lower and only gets higher when its hot im our house! the temp dial is a good feature. the only thing i had trouble with was gettting the suction cups on! but i still would recoomend this! BEWARE: DO NOT GO CHEAP ON HEATERS!!! Trust me! so for the price its worth it!
p.s sorry, the picture isnt that good, but it shows u the top!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>