petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Marineland Eclipse Corner 5 Aquarium Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Marineland Eclipse Corner 5 Aquarium Kit

Complete small fish tank kit includes a wedge-shaped acrylic tank, 3-stage filtration and compact fluorescent hood5 gallon capacity ideal for a corner desktop fish tank setupCompact design makes maintenance fast and easyContoured hood consolidates filtration and lighting - no unnecessary or noisy pumps or hoses
Average Customer Rating:
4.72 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 25 reviews
5 stars
18
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
25 out of 25(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Marineland Eclipse Corner 5 Aquarium Kit
Review 1 for Marineland Eclipse Corner 5 Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!!

PostedFebruary 17, 2006
Customer Avatar
tiah
from MS
I bought two small goldfish and I needed a good filtration system but I also have a limited amount of space in my room to place a tank so I settled on this tank and I must say I am very happy. It's light weight and strong and soo much better than glass. I know goldfish need a bigger tank and don't worry once they outgrow the 5 gal. they will go into the biggest marineland tank I can find. I must say that the filtration system on this tank works great for a single or two small goldfish. I thought the little light wouldn't be enough but it's prefrectly fine. A++ on this one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
-4points
22of 48voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Marineland Eclipse Corner 5 Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

5 corner

PostedSeptember 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
terbearky
from Bowling Green, ky
I had already had boughten one, I think 6 months ago. And like the design and kit so I bought another one. Easy to set up. I was able to use an air bubble with it. Has slot on other side where I was able to put in tube. Looks great
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Marineland Eclipse Corner 5 Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Design!

PostedMay 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
CougarCountry
from Utah
I bought this tank to replace a 2 gallon hex that I have had for years. I keep my tank in my kitchen and thought the corner design would work well. It arrived yesterday and I love it! The design is perfect! The shape of the tank allows it to fit back into the corner freeing up my counter while giving me maximum viewing area. The bio wheel is whisper quiet and set up in minutes. My only complaint is that I really wish there was a separate lid for feeding. Lifting the entire light system and hood seems rediculous, but I am making it work. I would definately recommend this tank to anyone who wants to maximize space. The bow front looks awesome and is a vast improvement to my old Hex tank!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+7points
11of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Marineland Eclipse Corner 5 Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good...but not great

PostedApril 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
aries4475
from Santa Rosa, CA
I've had a Marineland acrylic aquarium for two or three years now. I actually have the hexagon tank but they're all basically the same. I've used other brands in the past but this one has lasted a lot longer than the others. The filter pump is still working well and I haven't had to replace the lightbulb yet. The only complaints I have are small ones. I wish the light was just a tad bit brighter but keeping the tank clean really does make a difference with that. My biggest complaint is that it is impossible to clean the walls of the aquarium without damaging the acrylic. The best I've been able to do is wipe them down with a washrag but it doesn't really do much good. There is ALWAYS algae on the sides of the tank. I've had to resort to using snails and a pleco to take care of the algae and I'm sure they are probably causing their own damage to the acrylic. All in all, considering it's almost impossible to find a small glass tank, I'd have to say this is one of the best 5-gallon tanks available for the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Marineland Eclipse Corner 5 Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I consider myself highly knowledgeable

PostedDecember 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
laneiam
from Pottstown Pa
I have had up to 270 gallon salt water tanks and as small at 2 gal.
When you are limited for space this is a great little system. It's exactly what you should expect from Marineland. The lid does not drip water when opens. The entire lid opens. The florescent 7 watt light lets you keep the light on longer.
the best part for me at least is that it is not a wedge as the word corner makes it sound like. I do not know why they call it corner since it has a flat back. It is narrower in the back then the bow front but that makes it seem like a much bigger tank and with the height, well I went from Marinelands last eclipse 5 gal. to Marinelands new eclipse 5 gal. and I swear it appears to be a bigger than a 5 gallon tank. Perfect little beauty. I hope the pictures help.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+13points
15of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Marineland Eclipse Corner 5 Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely beautiful

PostedJuly 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
LATeach
from Colorado
This is the most beautiful tank ever! Set-up was easy, although the directions don't tell you that the filter pad doesn't drop in - it kind of requires cramming in...VERY tight! But everyone who sees the tank loves it. I put it in a dim corner of the kitchen and it adds so much life and color to that spot. Happy fish! Happy me!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Marineland Eclipse Corner 5 Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Buy!

PostedJune 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
bluesy2
This is our second Marineland aquarium. It's a great product, reasonably priced and reliable. Otis (the Betta) and the 2 snails love it. The only design flaw, which has been stated before, the need to lift the entire lid in order to feed the fish.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Marineland Eclipse Corner 5 Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent tank

PostedJanuary 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
When I got to college, I decided that I wanted to have a fish tank, but I wanted something that would work well in my small dorm room without taking up too much space. Overall, I'm very happy with the Corner 5 tank--the filter is very quiet as to not keep me or my roommate up, the filter cartridges are inexpensive and easy to replace, and the tank is easy to maintain, even for a beginner like myself. It would be nice if I didn't have to lift the lid to feed the fish, but it's not a big deal and just mildly inconvenient. The tank is also very easy to take apart and reassemble when you're doing a thorough cleaning. Right now, my tank is housing three neon tetras, two African dwarf frogs, and one glofish, and they all seem to be quite happy. I'd definitely recommend this tank!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Marineland Eclipse Corner 5 Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice tank

PostedMarch 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
jaco
from San Mateo, CA
This tank is a nice looking tank and my betta, Hudson, loves his new home. I bought it as a back up to my Marineland Eclipse Hex 5 tank. My only complaint is that you have to lift the entire lid to feed your fish and the light shines right in your eyes when you do. I would like to see this same tank with a small feeding lid just like the Hex comes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Marineland Eclipse Corner 5 Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

eclipse corner 5

PostedFebruary 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
moodybluesfan1
from Odenton, MD
This fits nicely in a corner as it was designed to. I may get one for the corner of my desk. It runs quietly. The filter is simple to change. The one point that could be improved on is the lighting. The front of the aquarium is nicely lit but the back is pretty dark.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Marineland Eclipse Corner 5 Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pleased with purchase

PostedNovember 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
jim0419
from Cape Coral Florida
Very pleased with this tank. Easy to set up. My only complaint is the tank seems to scratch very easily.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Marineland Eclipse Corner 5 Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fish Tank

PostedOctober 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
wild
It is a very good little tank. The only thing I don't like is when you open the lid with the light on, the light blinds you and condensation builds up on the lid a little and then runs down the side of teh tank onto your furniture. I put a towel under mine and it helps and I try to keep the towel from getting wet. I really like the tank other than that and so do my fish!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Marineland Eclipse Corner 5 Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great corner aquarium, but what's with the pump?

PostedOctober 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bostapug
from Fremont, CA
After searching for weeks for a small corner aquarium, my choice was the Eclipse or a very expensive custom built aquarium. The Eclipse was the better choice and fits in its corner perfectly. The only problem was in setting up the pump mechanism - the magnetic rotator arm did not fit well into the housing unit and vibrated VERY loudly. I had to re-assemble it four times, adjusting the magnetic drum each time until the vibrations were at a somewhat acceptible level. Now that the pump has been in place for a couple of weeks, it has settled down, but I had to add a bubble rod to get enough circulation in the tank to keep it clean and clear. The design is nice and clean overall - the only changes I would ask for in future models is a much stronger pump and a fish-food hatch so I don't have to hoist the entire lid and juggle with tubes and wires each day.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Marineland Eclipse Corner 5 Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

pretty good product

PostedSeptember 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
2catsandafish
As far as 'looks' go, it's an attractive aquarium. I only have 2 issues so far.
The first is minor; the get-started guide and the samples were missing. No big deal.
The real problem I'm having is that the tank gets very warm. It's staying in the 80-84 range; even first thing in the morning, when the light has been off for hours. And it's the fluorescent lamp not the incandescent. (My betta was use to temps in the 76-80 range. Now he spends most of the day sitting on the bottom of the tank.) I've tried leaving the lid open for a while and it cools off a degree or two. Maybe I'll have my hubby drill a few vent-holes in the lid.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Marineland Eclipse Corner 5 Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rico loves it!!

PostedApril 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
pali6
from Jacksonville, FL
Our betta, Rico, loves his new home. I set it up rather quickly, as it is very simple. It is so quiet you can barely hear it. The current is not too strong for him. And it is beautiful when you put in a background, some gravel, plants and ornaments, especially when you turn on the light. He lives by himself and he has so much room. I put him in and all he's been doing is swimming, swimming, and swimming! I put some food in with him but he is too excited to eat!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Marineland Eclipse Corner 5 Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT BUY!

PostedMarch 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
GuppyMan
The Marineland Eclipse Corner 5 aquarium is an absolute gem for beginner's of fish enthusiasts. I've had my aquarium now for 4 months and I enjoy coming home to it, and my fish, every single day. The filter media is easy to change out, the filter also does a GREAT job keeping the water and gravel clean, and the curved aquarium adds a touch of class to my living area. I also added an airstone for added flair which helps keep the water circulating even better. I would HIGHLY recommend this aquarium to both beginner's and those who have kept fish in the past. GREAT BUY....GREAT FUN!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Marineland Eclipse Corner 5 Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good lil Tank

PostedDecember 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
tibbz
We bought this tank as a nursery tank for our Sevrum and EBJD fry, and is great! a few live plants and rocks and it makes the perfect little quiet tank.
Easy to clean to, just to about a 1/10 water change every few days and the filter takes are of the rest
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Marineland Eclipse Corner 5 Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love this tank!

PostedAugust 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
PetcoLover444
This is such a great tank! Currently i am keeping 3 platies and 2 guppies in this tank. They have all been doing so well i have just noticed some little baby fish! The filter is not noisy at all. Overall this is a great tank!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
-6points
0of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Marineland Eclipse Corner 5 Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

WOW!

PostedJuly 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
JTich
This could be the best fish tank i ever bought clean is very easy. BUT the light went out in about 3 week to 4 weeks and the filter is OK not the greatest but works. one suggestion is tht you buy an aglae eating fish so you dont have to clean it as much because it gets dirty preaty easy
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Marineland Eclipse Corner 5 Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Kit

PostedJanuary 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
Meralex510510510510
To begin with,
this is the greatest invention ever. I bought this product and iIwanted to see like how it was because I was looking for a aqarium that actually worked so I bought this one. I was so suprised I was telling everyone how good this is and calling everyone I was so happy that I actually found a aquarium that's like amazing. It has the lighting under the hood and also the filtaration. It also fits all of my fish. Now i can finally stop looking for aquariums because i have this one that works so well. "And the filtaration is amazing let me tell you". Thank you so much and i give you an A++++++++ oon this one great job petco your awesome and your employes are so nice to by the way!!!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>