petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Dick Van Patten's Natural Balance Venison & Green Pea Formula for Cats

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Dick Van Patten's Natural Balance Venison & Green Pea Formula for Cats

Complete and balanced nutrition for all breeds and life stages with unique single protein and carbohydrate sources. Venison and green pea formula with added taurine. Highly digestible diet with no grains, dairy, soy, or eggs.
Average Customer Rating:
5 / 5
5
 / 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
5 stars
17
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 out of 17(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Dick Van Patten's Natural Balance Venison & Green Pea Formula for Cats
Review 1 for Dick Van Patten's Natural Balance Venison & Green Pea Formula for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great option for cats with allergies

PostedAugust 12, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Echo Park, CA
I foster a young female cat who began to experience open sores that turned into scabs on her body that would not go away. She went on cortisone, antibiotics, prednisone, and Hills z/d diet which she did not care for (not even the canned food). I stumbled across Natural Balance Venison and Green Pea Allergy Formula while on the internet searching for options for my cat. I fed it to all three of my cats (2 do not suffer from any allergies) and to my great delight, all three cats enjoy the food and their coats are silkier and beautiful. If you have a cat that suffers from food allergies, please try this product because it saved my beautiful cat from suffering from itchy skin and open sores and from having to take antibiotics, cortisone, and prednisone (as well as future lab work that the vet wanted to rule out allergens if she didn't improve). My cat now does not suffer from any of the symptoms she had before.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dick Van Patten's Natural Balance Venison & Green Pea Formula for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome product!

PostedFebruary 17, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Manhattan 'burbs
I do foster/rescue work for my local animal shelter. Several cats that I've cared for suffer from food allergies, and previously my vet had been recommending IVD brand, which requires a vet's prescription and is very expensive ($28 for 8lb bag). Recently I brought her the ingredients list from both the IVD bag and the Natural Balance bag. She compared the two and said they were nearly identical and could be used interchangeably. When I told her the Natural Balance was available over-the-counter, she was shocked. She was not aware such a product yet existed without a prescription, and now she recommends it to other rescue groups that see food allergy symptoms in their cats.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dick Van Patten's Natural Balance Venison & Green Pea Formula for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Answer to my kitty's skin allergies

PostedMarch 1, 2007
Customer Avatar
from Boston, MA
For a few years, on and off, my cat would scratch between his shoulder blades and around his ears, but until the fur came off and his skin was bleeding. The vets would give me ointments and suggested it was behavioral. When I moved to a new state, the vet here suggested it was a food allergy, but I was skeptical. Plus she recommended a brand I could only ever order from the vet, and it came at $30 a bag! After some online research I found this brand, and there hasn't been a bloody splotch on my white cat since. He doesn't like the flavor of the canned variety, but he'll eat the dry. And my other cat, who has no allergies, eats it too. I recommended it to my sister when her young cat had stomach problems, and he's grown better under the new diet. It might be worth a try for your cat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dick Van Patten's Natural Balance Venison & Green Pea Formula for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

wonderful product

PostedMarch 1, 2007
Customer Avatar
from San Marcos, Tx
I own a bengal cat, for the past few years I was feeding her Iams and then switched to eukanuba. I have always been told that those products are the best food for your pets. One day I noticed she was smelling like spoiled milk. Took her to the vet, the vet told me its an allergy problem and it might be fixed with science diet( Wrong!) It gave her horrible pealing on her nose and she had a bad dandriff problem. So I switched her back to eukanuba hoping her problems will go away. Her nose would heal up then it would go back to pealing again. I was searching for better food when this pet store owner told me about natural balance. I looked at all the natural foods it was made with and decided to give it a try. In less than a week my husband and I started to notice a positive change in her. Her nose stopped pealing, her coat is shiney, she is more active and she started playing with her cat toys again. This is one wonderful product and I highly recommend this to anyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dick Van Patten's Natural Balance Venison & Green Pea Formula for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This Product was a life saver.

PostedFebruary 2, 2007
Customer Avatar
from Waukesha, WI
For about 5 or more years, I did not know what was wrong with my cat. He'd be extremely itchy (to the point I was uncomfortable watching him itch, it killed me.) and have sores mainly under his neck. Sometimes his eyes would swell shut to. I would take him to the vet time and time again. They would give him shots and medication and send us on our merry way. I eventually got fed up and asked what was wrong with my cat so they did a simple blood test declaring he had allergies and they were probably food allergies. They offered for me to buy prescription food that would break my budget. I decided to do my own search online and that's when I discovered Natural Balance. I haven't had him to the vet in over a year when before it was at least once a month or more. He's finally comfortable in his own body!!! I have another cat and he likes the product as well. Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dick Van Patten's Natural Balance Venison & Green Pea Formula for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A favorite in our house!

PostedJanuary 16, 2007
Customer Avatar
from Patchogue, NY
I picked up a sample of this about a year ago. Ever since I gave this to my cats, they would rather not eat than not get this food! It must taste good and I feel good about giving them organic food...
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dick Van Patten's Natural Balance Venison & Green Pea Formula for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Food out There

PostedDecember 21, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Woodbridge. New Jersey
I have tried every super premium food out there, and my cat kept throwing up until our vet diagnosed her with a severe food allergy. This was the only food she could eat, that wouldn't get her sick and that she liked. It literally saved my cat's life.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dick Van Patten's Natural Balance Venison & Green Pea Formula for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

stomach allergies

PostedNovember 9, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Pittsburgh, PA
My cat Lady Gray has had stomach allergies since she was 6 months old. We switched from food to food until we found Natural Balance venison and green pea. She has done sooo much better. She gained excessive weight and just wasn't feeling 100% on everything we tried before. Now she is feeling better and is like a different cat. Her brother Rumbles who doesn't have the problem eats it as well and he is fine with it. We have feed them both the canned and the dry and they both are doing well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dick Van Patten's Natural Balance Venison & Green Pea Formula for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best food ever!

PostedSeptember 26, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Florida
I have a finicky 13 yr old cat with allergies - not just to food but to lots of other environmental things (she's even allergic to people!) Regardless, I love her dearly and the sight of her hairless belly and legs due to her constantly chewing her fur was heartbreaking (not to mention the ear twitching, scratching, etc). After years of shots and pills, and of trying to get her to eat z/d or some other vet prescribed food, I finally saw this online and decided to try it.
What a difference! She LOVES the taste of the dry and the wet, and suddenly she's stopped chewing off her fur and has a lovely black belly and legs again! No other changes have been made in her environment and she hasn't taken drugs in months - this food is completely the reason why she looks and feels so good.
Oh, and her fur is sleek and soft, and she actually seems to be shedding less. Great, great, GREAT product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dick Van Patten's Natural Balance Venison & Green Pea Formula for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best

PostedSeptember 25, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Frankfort, Illinois
I have tried all three of the Kitty foods by Dick Van Patton.
I highly recommend it for the quality and my kitties love it.
It's the Best!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dick Van Patten's Natural Balance Venison & Green Pea Formula for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedJuly 17, 2006
Customer Avatar
My cat Sam had nasty diarrhea for YEARS! I had tried multiple types/flavors of food, including Wellness, and nothing helped her. Her coat became greasy; her shedding was horrible and she had bad dandruff. Finally I tried the Vension and Green Pea Natural Balance formula and within 3 weeks saw DRAMATIC changes in her coat, diarrhea and activity level! I am so pleased with this product! If you have a cat with tummy problems this is definetely worth a try and much cheaper than expensive blood tests at the vet or exploratory surgery which was going to be the next step for us.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dick Van Patten's Natural Balance Venison & Green Pea Formula for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Choice for Sensitive Stomachs!

PostedMarch 25, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Fort Worth, TX
I have fed this food to my cat for a few months now, and not only does she love the taste, it does not upset her sensitive stomach. I do not like feeding my cat food that contains animal byproducts-- especially chicken-- and this is the only one I have found that is made without them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dick Van Patten's Natural Balance Venison & Green Pea Formula for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for finicky cats on hypoallergenic diets.

PostedMarch 25, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Glendale, CA
My cat is extremely picky about what she eats. Imagine my horror when she developed a food allergy. After several taste tests I found only one flavor (repeat flavor, not brand!) of canned food and one flavor of dry, both which had to be purchased through a veterinarian (expensive). Its always a delight to discover another product that she enjoys. Shes likes it so much she's turning her nose up to the canned food now!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dick Van Patten's Natural Balance Venison & Green Pea Formula for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Food

PostedMarch 4, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Colorado
My cats had smelly stools when they ate felidae and had a senisitive stomach with other foods. Now I hardly notice the litter box and they have never gotten sick from eating it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dick Van Patten's Natural Balance Venison & Green Pea Formula for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

THANK YOU NATURAL BALANCE!!!

PostedFebruary 22, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Arizona
One of the kittens I adopted from a rescue group suffered from mouth sores, horrible skin infections and itching. The cat spent the first year of his life on antibiotics and steroids. We tried numerous foods which did not help. We disliked the prescription brands made for allergies because of price, palatability and their by-product content. Thanks to Natural Balance Venison, he lives a normal happy life and no longer needs medications. I am thrilled with this product!! (So is Kahuna!!!)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dick Van Patten's Natural Balance Venison & Green Pea Formula for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome food!

PostedJanuary 5, 2006
Customer Avatar
from MN
You can't beat this quality!! And it has a great taste- very appealing to all cats!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dick Van Patten's Natural Balance Venison & Green Pea Formula for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Helped us keep our cat!

PostedNovember 11, 2005
Customer Avatar
from North Carolina
We adopted an adult cat that had a stomach problem. We took him to doctors who performed tests and put him on steroids (which we had problems with as well), but nothing helped.
Six month ago we decided to put him on a cat food without any fillers (hoping it was just a wheat allergy or something). He hasn't had a stomach problem since being on Natural Balance. His fur has gotten shiny and full, he's put on weight and he's a much happier cat. I am EXTREMELY grateful to Natural Balance for this product and highly recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.