petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Perfect Pet Products Feline Leukemia Test at Home

Perfect Pet Products Feline Leukemia Test at Home

Pre-paid test at home kit for Feline LeukemiaSimply collect a small saliva or tear sample on a paper strip, place in the pre-paid envelope, and mail to the testing labTest is performed within 24 hours with the results sent to you via e-mail, fax, or mail
Average Customer Rating:
3.25 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
5 out of 8(62%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Perfect Pet Products Feline Leukemia Test at Home
Review 1 for Perfect Pet Products Feline Leukemia Test at Home
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

PLEASE DON'T RELY ON THIS TEST

PostedJune 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
kitlov
from pennsylvania
I sent in 2 tests -- one for a cat i knew had felv (as a control to test the accuracy of the test) and another i wanted to test. Both tests came back negative. The first cat i sent in has had 3 positive test results at the vet's office - 2 posiive snap tests and a positive IFA test. He has FeLV without a doubt, yet his test through this company came back negative. The other test also came back negative, but i obviously can't trust that result. Please don't rely on this test. It looks like the only accurate way is to take them to the vet and pay the extra fee. You're just wasting your money with this test!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Perfect Pet Products Feline Leukemia Test at Home
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Types of FELV Tests - FYI

PostedDecember 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Hazel63
from Northeast
This test only diagnoses FELV in its later stages. Please consider this if you are testing because you want to protect other cats in the household. A false sense of security is a very dangerous thing when it comes to FELV.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Perfect Pet Products Feline Leukemia Test at Home
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

accurate test

PostedApril 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
jgkittylover
from NM
No, this is not the same test as we use at the clinic, BUT it is an accurate test, and it is much easier on the feline... NO BLOOD drawn; and much easier on the owner... no fees for the clinic visit.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Perfect Pet Products Feline Leukemia Test at Home
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

OK Product

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
rlpa
from Helena, MT
This home test seems to be ok, but I don't have any results yet (I just mailed it in 6 days ago).
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Perfect Pet Products Feline Leukemia Test at Home
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Feline Leukemia Test was most helpful

PostedOctober 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
petrescuer101
from Michigan
I purchased 1 of the FeLV test kits to use on 1 of my 5 cats. I loved it so much I purchased 4 more kits.
I of my cats tested positive (which was a stray)and I did take her to the vet. I was able to keep her isolated away from the other cats and they all were fine. I found this to be very conveinent and so helpful.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Perfect Pet Products Feline Leukemia Test at Home
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

At home Feline Leukemia Test

PostedSeptember 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bobhasnotail
from New Hampshire
Finally! At last we can easily test our own animals and have the benefit of a vet. at a lab to read the results. No more cat wrangling, needles in the arms, being charged just to walk into the vet.'s; being made to pay for a vet. visit when all you want is one test.
I did the saliva test on my stray cat, who is still very feral, although in the house, and this company called me right up, in a week. Love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Perfect Pet Products Feline Leukemia Test at Home
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Purchase Ever

PostedMay 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Illiwick
from Michigan
Perfect Pet Products is owned and run by veterinarians. They offer these test kits to help people like myself who have multiple cats and cannot get them in the car to take to the vet easily. This was another tool to help my cost and very convient. I love my cats dearly and they do see a veterinarian and I would not have used it if I had not done the reasearch to be sure that it was produced by a major company. The tear test can reveal if the cat has leukemia. So thank you very much PPP!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Perfect Pet Products Feline Leukemia Test at Home
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This is NOT the same test your vet uses

PostedJanuary 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
ketchumdoc
I am a practicing veterinarian....this is not the same test we use and this test is significantly less accurate than the blood test we use.
Please see your vet and get a valid test.
thank you - Ketchumdoc
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
14of 28voted this as helpful.