petco.com Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At petco.com

Customer Reviews for Iams ProActive Health Indoor Weight & Hairball Care Adult Cat Food

Iams ProActive Health Indoor Weight & Hairball Care Adult Cat Food

Specially formulated for the unique needs of indoor cats10% less fat than Iams Original formulasFormulated to gradually return your cat to a healthier weightGentle fiber blend to help reduce hairballs and promote healthy digestion
Average Customer Rating:
4.609 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(220 Reviews) 220
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 220 reviews
5 stars
165
4 stars
40
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
7
54 out of 61(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Iams ProActive Health Indoor Weight & Hairball Care Adult Cat Food
Review 1 for Iams ProActive Health Indoor Weight & Hairball Care Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Iams Cat Food

PostedNovember 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Brooklyn, Wisconsin
Great product! Price on the internet is the same it is in the store. And I love the no shipping fee!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Iams ProActive Health Indoor Weight & Hairball Care Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product.

PostedNovember 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
I own two indoor spayed/neutered cats in a large one-bedroom apartment in NYC. The oldest cat (female) is about 15 months and the youngest is 6 months. Our older cat Gilda had put on some weight and was getting sluggish and lazy and having some hairball problems. We found this food at Petco and decided to give it a try. Both cats immediately ate the food with no rejection. We keep a small bowl full of the Iams dry food for each cat and combine with wet food feedings two times a day. Neither cat acts hungry, but are able to munch on their "cereal" throughout they day as they like. In about three weeks we could already see a difference in our older female. Two months in she is now back to her healthy weight and has become more active and playful. She has not had any hairball problems. Our younger male cat also continues to grow and is very healthy. Both cats coats also are noticeably improved and very shiny and smooth. I would highly recommend this food for cat owners who are in a similar situation to us living in a smaller space with their altered cats.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Iams ProActive Health Indoor Weight & Hairball Care Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I didn't eat this but...

PostedSeptember 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from St. Louis
...my cat Petunia loves this food. I have seen a decrease in hairball production, plus her coat is shiny and soft. Excellent Value for the money also.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Iams ProActive Health Indoor Weight & Hairball Care Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good food

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
i have talked to several vets and they all say that iams is a good brand of food. and the prices aren't exorbitant.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Iams ProActive Health Indoor Weight & Hairball Care Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Iams ProActive Health Indoor Weight and Hairball adult cat food

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Kansas City Metro
We have three cats of various ages. With this product they have great coats, the vet says they are in tremendous shape, and yes, no hairballs. We've tried other products but, Hairball City! If this product goes off the market we're not sure what we'd do instead.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Iams ProActive Health Indoor Weight & Hairball Care Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cat food

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Kansas
I've been feeding this to my cat ever since she had kittens & got fixed. She likes the food & we have no hairball issues or any problems for that matter. She is a 7 year old domestic short hair that we have had for 6 years =)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Iams ProActive Health Indoor Weight & Hairball Care Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Yes.

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Coral Springs, FL
This is all I feed my three cats. They love it and no hair balls!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Iams ProActive Health Indoor Weight & Hairball Care Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Cat's Meow!

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Westminster, CO
Over the years I have tried many brands of dry cat food and Iams Proactive seems to have the best staying power. The two cats love it and will not eat any other brand. It really does help with their weight and especially for the hairballs. They aren't spittin up hairballs so much with this cat food. It is great and if my cats are happy then so am I.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Iams ProActive Health Indoor Weight & Hairball Care Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gabby likes it, she likes it!

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
from NYC,NY
My vet recommended Iams for my adult kitty that I adopted from Animal Control here in NYC. She is long hair and will hopefully help with the hair ball issue.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Iams ProActive Health Indoor Weight & Hairball Care Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST cat food

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Pittsburgh
I have 4 cats and have feed them Iams weight control food for 15 years. This is a great cat food and they all love it. The store personel are always so helpful too. I typically order the food online in 20 pound bags that are delivered free to my front door. Could not be any better!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Iams ProActive Health Indoor Weight & Hairball Care Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

worthy

PostedNovember 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Pasadena, CA
i have 4 cats, they like it :)
price is cheap, and most time has promotion price, very worthy!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Iams ProActive Health Indoor Weight & Hairball Care Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

With the new "Improved Taste" my cats now hate it!

PostedJuly 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Wisconsin
For a couple years now my cats have eaten IAMS Proactive Health Indoor Weight and Hairball Control pet food and really seemed to enjoy it. And it helped with their weight and hairballs. Unfortunately since IAMS changed the formula, with the bags now marked "improved Taste", neither of my cats will touch the stuff. They just sniff it and walk away...and come begging me for food. This isn't the way I want them to stay trim. I guess it's time to move on and find a new food. I hate it when companies screw up a good thing!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Iams ProActive Health Indoor Weight & Hairball Care Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Iams

PostedMay 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
from NC
I was afraid my kitties would not eat this since it is weight control, but they love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Iams ProActive Health Indoor Weight & Hairball Care Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Cat's Love

PostedApril 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Garland, TX
No matter what I try to give my cat Maddie to eat, she ALWAYS wants her Iam's. I have even recently given her canned food but she wants her choice! I love that she loves it and it loves her back.
ALSO, this was my first time shopping PETCO.com and I am so happy I gave them a try. Selection, prices and shipping were great and the delivery was fast! I was actually shocked!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Iams ProActive Health Indoor Weight & Hairball Care Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keeping my cat "regular"

PostedNovember 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
My older cat has problems with hair getting stuck in the digestive tract, causing constipation. I decided to try mixing in the Iams hairball/weight control food in with his other food, and it seems to be helping. (He can also use the weight control benefit!) He has put on weight while on the food, but I think it's because he was getting too many treats. Maybe he'd be even tubbier if I didn't have him on the Iams!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Iams ProActive Health Indoor Weight & Hairball Care Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The perfect food for all 4 of our cats

PostedMay 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Hampden, ME
We have 4 indoor cats, ages 1, 3, 4, and 6. Iams has always been the one brand that all 4 of our cats do well on. Our 3-year-old black Maine Coon used to have problems with hair balls since she has such a long, thick coat, but this food has really helped to minimize that problem a great deal. Now, she almost never coughs up hairballs anymore. All of our cats have great energy levels, healthy weights, normal stools, and soft and shiny coats on Iams. We won't be changing foods anytime soon!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Iams ProActive Health Indoor Weight & Hairball Care Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My cats enjoy it

PostedJanuary 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
from San Bruno, CA
This is what it says. It is good food that my vet does not compain about. I have a fat short hair cat that it looks like it lost a few pounds. Not alot, but a few. I also have a long hair cat that I often see her swallow clumps of fur while she is grooming herself. I have not had any hairballs from her since I started feeding them this food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Iams ProActive Health Indoor Weight & Hairball Care Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great food, need bigger bags!

PostedOctober 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
My cats love this food! They are both big guys (13 and 15lbs normal weight) and it is hard to keep them from over eating. We have had quite a lot of luck with this food. They also love it, going crazy when my husband or I head into the laundry room to feed them. Our younger (and bigger) of the two also has a medium coat and sensitive stomach. With this food the only way it bothers him is if we manage to let him over eat. Only problem I have is, they are big cats, and they go through the 8lb bag every three or four weeks. I have seen 20lb bags at other stores, and I wish Petco would carry that size too!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Iams ProActive Health Indoor Weight & Hairball Care Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hairball Help

PostedAugust 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Odess, TX
This really is a great choice for your indoor cat. Mine was constantly throwing up hairballs but after I put her on this it has subsided a lot. She is also overweight and haven't seen much change in that but hopefully will start seeing that soon. She looks forward to being fed now because she seems to really like the food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Iams ProActive Health Indoor Weight & Hairball Care Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedMay 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
from nc
It's not easy to find food for my cats that is healthy and appealing to them. I have found it in this product, and it comes with a bonus. The litter box has almost no odor at all, which is beneficial with apartment living. Also, there are virtually no hairballs. I am more than willing to pay a bit more for a brand that serves my animals well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>