petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Four Paws Wood Frame Wire Mesh Gates

Four Paws Wood Frame Wire Mesh Gates

Keep pets where you want with this adjustable width gatePressure-mounted pet gates fit securely in room openings and hallwaysWooden dog gate frame features attractive finish that looks great in your homeHeavy duty wire mesh provides visibility and long-lasting securityNo assembly required – pressure-mount does not require hardware or tools
Average Customer Rating:
4.222 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 36 reviews
5 stars
24
4 stars
3
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
3
29 out of 36(81%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for Four Paws Wood Frame Wire Mesh Gates
Review 1 for Four Paws Wood Frame Wire Mesh Gates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

gate

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
from crystal lake il
I needed gate with height for night time seperation of 2 cats that just can not get along..works great and gives my older cat peace of mind not to have to look over her shoulder all the time
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Four Paws Wood Frame Wire Mesh Gates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Puppy gates

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Oviedo, FL
Very good. Needed a higher gate as puppy could jump the other one we had and then would start to chew on things she wasn't supposed to.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Four Paws Wood Frame Wire Mesh Gates
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not strong enough

PostedMarch 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Long Island, NY
I bought this gate to try to keep my two dogs locked in the mudroom during the day instead of their crates. I came home from work, on the first day of using it, the my dogs standing there welcoming me into the house. They went right through the wire cage part of this gate. The gate was still standing there, but it had certainly NOT fulfilled it's purpose. Nice waste of $60!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Four Paws Wood Frame Wire Mesh Gates
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Looked Good, Didn't Perform

PostedFebruary 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Parker, CO
We acquired a rescue boxer of 5-6 years of age, and were looking for a way to confine her to a small room when we stepped out for a couple of hours. The first time we tried she knocked the gate over, probably because I didn't have it set tight enough. The second time I was careful to have it very tight, and she tore the wire mesh loose enough to get out. Probably would work okay if your dog isn't as determined to get out as ours was.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Four Paws Wood Frame Wire Mesh Gates
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not what it used to be

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Indiananpolis, IN
We owned one of these before, and needed a replacement. We live in an old house, and the doorway we need to place the gate in is uneven. On the old version of the gate, the rubber stoppers along the side were adjustable, making it possible to fine tune its fit in the different corners of the door. But the newer version isn't as adjustable, so our dog was able to pull back on a lower corner, and not only get out of the kitchen we'd like to confine him to at times, but he also broke the gate the first time we used it.
We do like the height of the gate, it's taller than any we could find in stores. So, it might be good if you have perfectly square doorways, and your dog isn't too nervous when left alone and confined in one room.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Four Paws Wood Frame Wire Mesh Gates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Gate!

PostedMay 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Texas
This gate is simple to use, tall enough to keep our kitties from jumping over and easy to put up and take down. It is really a great design and comes assembled and ready to use. We just occasionally needed to block off a doorway, and this gate is so quick and easy to put up and take down. I heartily recommend this!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Four Paws Wood Frame Wire Mesh Gates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

nice and tall

PostedApril 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
from south jersey
i bought this gate to keep my 85lb pit bull out of my kitchen when i have guests. he just sits and doesnt even try to jump it. i place it up higher. he is too big to squeeze under it. thinking about buying another one for my deck entrance. would def recommend this gate. only thing is i have 3 cats that have to jump over it when its in use...
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Four Paws Wood Frame Wire Mesh Gates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect gate to keep the cats out!

PostedApril 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Ann Arbor, MI
I live in an apartment and every night, my cats will go up to my bedroom door and start scratching the door or carpet, making a lot of noise and waking me up at all hours of the night. I tried keeping them locked in the 2nd bedroom, but then they just cry (really loudly) because they're both confined in this tiny room. I wanted to give them the freedom of running around in the living room and kitchen, but I didn't want them up against my door. This pet gate was the perfect thing for that.
I bought two, because cats can jump really high. I measured the height from my carpet to the ceiling and two of these gates were perfect when stacked on top of each other. It's a resistance bar, so no holes, no drilling needed. The gate wires are covered in rubber so it's safe. The gate is made of wood, so it won't rust. It's very sturdy and it keeps both of my cats out or knocking it down.
Hint: When buying two gates, make sure they're stacked right on top of the other...otherwise, your cats will find a way to squeeze through in between.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Four Paws Wood Frame Wire Mesh Gates
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

useable gate

PostedJanuary 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
As others have mentioned, when they want to, our ragdolls are able to climb over the top. But knowing that, it still has its uses. It is a good solid gate. I find fault with the locking bar, it is the only reason I rated this gate a 3. The top bar has notches every half inch, the bottom bar has a clip with a small rod that fits in the notches. Kind of basic and if your door is the right size, then you are all set. I would like it to have been constructed so as to fit irregular width doors better. Maybe a telescoping locking bar or such.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Four Paws Wood Frame Wire Mesh Gates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Gate

PostedDecember 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Leesburg, VA
This gate works wonderfully well. We have multiple cats, and needed a way to separate two of them into their separate queendoms. The gates provide peace in the territories, yet let fresh air into the house, when we open the windows We stacked two gates on top of each other to fill a doorway - works beautifully.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Four Paws Wood Frame Wire Mesh Gates
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

not tall enough

PostedNovember 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Four Paws Wood Frame Wire Mesh Gates was not tall enough to keep my cat in the room. I ordered a second one to keep my cat in her room. It would be nice if they made a taller one for cats that like to jump and climb.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Four Paws Wood Frame Wire Mesh Gates
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Door

PostedAugust 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
This was a good quality door, but you will need a second one if you are using in for cats because they will jump over it. Other than that, I had no problems with it and it fit perfectly in my doorway.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Four Paws Wood Frame Wire Mesh Gates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Gate for climbers and jumpers

PostedJuly 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Wisconsin
I had 3 other gates before this one and my hound dog found his way over them, or just knocked them down. I refer to this as 'MegaGate' and my pup won't mess with MegaGate! Its very good quality! very sturdy, and great that my pup can still see through it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Four Paws Wood Frame Wire Mesh Gates
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Average

PostedJuly 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
The gate seemed of average quality. I measured my doorway, which was 29", or thereabouts, but the gate was actually too big. I definitely liked the height it had, as I have a Jack Russell who sure can jump! However, I am actually taking the gate back because I decided to crate my dogs instead.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Four Paws Wood Frame Wire Mesh Gates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent for our needs!

PostedJuly 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
from metro nyc, nj
unfortunately this gate isn't tall enough to use on its own for our needs... so we use it in conjunction with a "the first years gate" that we leave up all the time to gate our 50 lb lab/staffie mix in the kitchen in a flash when needed (such as when a food delivery guy comes or we are cleaning something up using a toxic household chemical). this four paws gate is what we use above the other gate when we leave the house for long periods of time during the day. it's excellent, and i wish it came in the height/width combination we needed so we could just it it alone. the pressure latch feature is soooo convenient for non-permanent mounting, and it's really strong and sturdy. unfortunately within a week of initially getting the gate, the wood ended up breaking off at our desired width setting on the first one we got (rendering it useless), but we quickly replaced it with the exact same one and haven't had an issue since. we've been using the replacement for over 2 months now. i would highly recommend this product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Four Paws Wood Frame Wire Mesh Gates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I wanted...

PostedJune 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
I recently purchased two wood frame wire mesh gates to keep my new puppy from wandering into areas that are off limits. She is still teething and assumes that anything is fair game so she tends to be very destructive unless I am watching her every move. I have terraces off my apartment where she loves to play but that could prove dangerous for her unless she is supervised. These gates have given me such peace of mind that I bought two more. They are reasonably priced, easy to open and close, attractive, well made and sturdy. Now I can keep doors open because with the gates, both my possessions and my puppy are free from harm.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Four Paws Wood Frame Wire Mesh Gates
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Pet Gate

PostedJune 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
I purchased two of these gates to use while dog is recovering from orthopedic surgery. One arrived in good condition, the other arrived with rubber bumper detached. Currently awaiting resolution for this defect so would delay further recommendation until resolved.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Four Paws Wood Frame Wire Mesh Gates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Strong mesh gates

PostedMay 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
We bought two of these gates, and planned to stack one on top of the other to block the doorway of a bathroom where a feral cat we are working to socialize is living. I got the idea of stacking from another reviewer, and it is a great idea, since cats climb and jump. Unexpected problem is that our normal size doorway is narrower than the gate's smallest width position, so we needed to gerry-rig the gates hanging from brackets. So, my word of advice is the MEASURE first to be sure that these gates will work in the space where you intend to use them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Four Paws Wood Frame Wire Mesh Gates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Introducing Cats

PostedFebruary 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Astoria, NY
We use these gates on our doorways when we want to let the cats see and socialize with each other. It keeps them apart, but they get the benefit of other feline company. And we don't get any fights. Sturdy and very flexible to fit any doorway. You do need multiple gates to completely cover the doorway, as cats LOVE to climb and could easily get over a single gate.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Four Paws Wood Frame Wire Mesh Gates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Gate for My Needs

PostedJanuary 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Orange, CA
This was the most versatile gate I found that fits in such small to large openings. It is light and easy to move, which is what I was looking for. It gets put up and taken down on a daily basis, as I only put it up to keep my dog in the kitchen when I run errands. I have a toy schnauzer, so it didn't need to be heavy duty or take a lot of wear. I ordered two, as I am also pregnant and going to use the other gate to block off the hallway to the stairs. It is the only gate I found that was pressure mounted and fit in my doorways up to the 48" hallways in my house. It is easy enough for my 7 year old to use...this is a huge help with the dog and in the future with the baby. It was a great buy for the money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>