petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Penn Plax Net Breeder

Penn Plax Net Breeder

It's the baby saverOur Penn-Plax Net Breeder lets you isolate and breed babies within your own community tankNylon mesh isolates pregnant females and protects newborn fryAdjustable high-low breeding grass
Average Customer Rating:
3.571 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
3
13 out of 21(62%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for Penn Plax Net Breeder
Review 1 for Penn Plax Net Breeder
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

It works okay, but very cheap materials

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
KitCat3
I bought this product when I had bought a pregnant molly and platy. It worked pretty well, however the materials where very cheap. I almost broke it putting it together and trying to take it back apart when I didn't need it anymore. If you need something very temporary and cheap it's okay, but otherwise I would get something build more sturdy.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Penn Plax Net Breeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

good then bad

PostedMay 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
cris3477
from california
good at the beginning when babies were born but taking it out was bad. I took it out and a fish got caught in the net, I almost killed it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
3of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Penn Plax Net Breeder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Newer one available

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
JamJams
from Arizona
I bought this Penn Plax breeder when my peppered cories started spawning after a storming. This product has gotten some negative reviews, but for me it did its job faithfully, for months until the babies were big enough to be released back into the tank. It does seem a bit cheap while putting it together and you have to be careful not to bend the back metal hangers or it won't be too secure on the tank wall. I think the thing that I hated the most was the netting that you drawstring around the frame. Because the netting was above the waterline (and wet) while being so close to my tanks light fixture it grew a lot of algae on the actual netting. I couldn't do anything about it either because of the fry inside. I dont think this is a problem on bigger tanks (this was inside a ten gallon) since the breeder wont be that close to the light but keep this in mind when you pick where to put it into the tank. I would also like readers to know that Penn Plax has already made a newer version of this product that has the net integrated into the framing, and suctions to the side of the tank making it so much easier to place as you dont have to hank it on the tank. I purchased one of the newer ones as well and it resolved all of the issues I had as well as the issues that some of the other reviewers talked about.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
17of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Penn Plax Net Breeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

saved the babies

PostedMay 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
eyedidit
from Hamburg,NY
found 2 very tiny fish in the filter when cleaning it got this net(which arrived very fast) managed to get them in it and they are now getting bigger. it is very difficult picking up fish that are less than a 1/2 inch long.......
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Penn Plax Net Breeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bonk breeder net

PostedFebruary 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Judewah
from Mesa, AZ
This breeding was useless for me, very difficult to hang on aquarium, The metal hangars kept falling out and the net would drop creating a feeding frenzy for my precious babies. Got one with net panels & suction cup on slider bars only 1 buck more.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
12of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Penn Plax Net Breeder
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

easy to brake

PostedJanuary 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
BobEE
from Cheyenne, WY
it works well but is not worth the money charged for it. mine broke within the first hour of getting it :/
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-10points
0of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Penn Plax Net Breeder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A bit pricey, but serves its purpose nicely

PostedDecember 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Zunichi
from Las Vegas, Nevada
In my local petco this was like $9, but it was really easy to set up and the plants it comes with are nice. It's worked perfectly to house my molly fry.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Penn Plax Net Breeder
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

not so bad

PostedSeptember 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
fishlover15
i got this when my fish had babies i got this and when i dropped it, it broke it is not a good item.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
0of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Penn Plax Net Breeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

not sure

PostedDecember 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
fishman96
i bought this product a month ago wen my platy was huge.i just put her in it today and she is on her way to give birth love it!!!!!!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Penn Plax Net Breeder
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not so Good!

PostedDecember 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Blablablanla
from OR
Ok to start with there was a missing part to the frame so it has only three legs. :( There should be a draw string in the netting so you could make it stay on the frame and I had to use pin things to make the net behave!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Penn Plax Net Breeder
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not the best product

PostedNovember 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
SaraM
from Springfield, MA
it was very cheaply made, but good for temporary use i guess. just wish there was something to seperate the babies and the mother.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Penn Plax Net Breeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Life saver

PostedMarch 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Staccato
from Long Beach, CA
I was looking at the walls of m tank where my CAEs were and I thought I saw a worm quickly retreat into the rocks on the bottom of the tank. I watched for about 5 minutes and to my amazement, it was a fry! The only survivor I could find! One of my platies had given birth without warning. I went to my local pet shop and they told me this net breeder would work.
It's been about 4-5 days since I got it and my fry has grown a bit and doing very well! I absolutely love this product!
The ONLY downside (because I have a hex tank) is cleaning but it's totally worth the extra work if it means my very first fry is alive and healthy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Penn Plax Net Breeder
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Last Second Purchase

PostedAugust 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Rochester, NY
I bought the Penn Plax Net Breeder only because one of my female Tiger Barbs was pregnant. I wanted to try to keep a few of the eggs from being eaten by the other Tigers, Frogs and Chinese Algae Eater.
When I got the product there was a problem with the set up. Some of the plastic tabs at the ends of the corner posts were missing. So that if you just lift it up, the ends would fall out. I think this is due to bad manufacturing. Pretty much the plastic frame is held firmly together by the over all net on the outside of the frame.
The plants that are provided with the kit are way too long and almost create a divider between he bottom half and upper half. I decided to cut them back (almost in half).
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Penn Plax Net Breeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good purchase

PostedDecember 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
rayray1234
I don't actually put my pregnant livebearers into this net before they give birth. Instead, I scoop up their fry when I see them and deposit them inside the breeder net.
I really like this net because the netting is very soft, yet keeps its shape because of the plastic skeleton. The plants also offer the fry places to hide, and seem to make them more secure in moving around in the net, rather than just always hiding under the plastic frame.
Another plus side to having this net is that it traps the small particles of food that I drop into it on the bottom, which gives the fry more time to find it and eat it. But if they don't, my catfish seem to enjoy swimming upside down underneath it and sucking up the crumbs through the net!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Penn Plax Net Breeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great to have around!

PostedMay 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
SDevs
from Pgh.,Pa.
I have multiple tanks with all different sorts of fish and often times are using these for babies.I bet I have at least 5 or 6 of these for that very reason.
They're also great when you need to separate an injured fish but aren't able to take him out of the tank for what ever the reasons.
This is just something that always is good to have around for emergencies.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Penn Plax Net Breeder
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Okay Item!

PostedMarch 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
coolguy118
from Pennsylvania, PA
It's has a cheap net. But it comes with plants. If you plan buying it in the store you pay 5.99 not 3.97.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Penn Plax Net Breeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great

PostedApril 22, 2007
Customer Avatar
lilguppy
from Syracuse, NY
I picked up one of these today for some unexpected guppies in my 55 gal and it seems to work good. I like it for the fact that I do not have to remove the fry or parents from the main tank and I don't need to set up another tank yet. It was a excellent buy for six bucks but I did add some more plant pieces to block some light and give some added shelter, the four that are included are not enough but will do in a pinch. The overall quality is good and the plants move nice. I will buy another for a backup.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Penn Plax Net Breeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good but could be better

PostedSeptember 17, 2006
Customer Avatar
newtofish
from do
it a good thing to put fri in. the only proplem is the frame is fragel.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Penn Plax Net Breeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pretty Good

PostedJune 28, 2006
Customer Avatar
pet lover
from san fransisco, CA
I bought this because my swordtail had givin birth unexpectedly. It worked well to protect the fry from the other fish and the filter. Though, it makes the tank a little harder to clean. All and all i really liked this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Penn Plax Net Breeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad Choice

PostedMay 26, 2006
Customer Avatar
Experienced Fish Breeder
from Fulton, NY
I have used this type of breeder many times before. The breeder itself does not remain properly assembled while in use, coming apart often in the tank. Mother fish often jump out, since there is no cover, and if you aren't able to observe constantly, there is high risk of the fry being eaten. The "plants" alone are not sufficient to protect them even long enough for the mother to finish giving birth. Also, you will need to remove it from the side of the tank during water changes, holding it down in the water.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>