petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Penn Plax Aqua Plant Baby Hide-Out

Penn Plax Aqua Plant Baby Hide-Out

Give your baby fish a place to hide and grow with our Aqua Plant Baby Hide-OutIt's bursting with blades of aquarium grass that give your fry lots of nooks and crannies to hide inFloat at water level or secure in gravel
Average Customer Rating:
4.462 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
11 out of 13(85%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Penn Plax Aqua Plant Baby Hide-Out
Review 1 for Penn Plax Aqua Plant Baby Hide-Out
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great for babies

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
papaw
from Somerset Ky
This is the best for live bearing fish the babies can hide and survive .Its better than trying to do the net thing
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Penn Plax Aqua Plant Baby Hide-Out
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mike2013
from Kansas
This really has helped me keep my fry safe. I usually take the fry out of my aquarium once I find them but at least now I have a chance to find them before the adults eat them all. I'm actually contemplating on getting another set to add to my aquarium.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Penn Plax Aqua Plant Baby Hide-Out
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good for the money

PostedFebruary 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
CJfromTO
from Newbury Park
I bought these so that my fry could hide out in them away from some of my larger fish, it turns out the fry did not really like it that much. My loaches and Bichir seem to like it better, I put one in the small tank and one in the large tank the one in the small tank stays put for the most part but in the larger tank it is no match for the fish that keep digging it up, so it floats mostly. Maybe if it had a weight so that it stayed on the bottom.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Penn Plax Aqua Plant Baby Hide-Out
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keeps baby safe

PostedAugust 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
MeenalMukadam
from Denver
Keeps my platy's babies safe as long as they can swim close to the hideout. Few love hiding in the gravel. I saw that our platy mom was trying to eat a few. But she couldn't get to the babies inside the hideout. So as of now they are safe in our community tank!
I would recommend this to a friend!
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Penn Plax Aqua Plant Baby Hide-Out
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great purchase

PostedAugust 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hammieandfishy
from CA
if you have fry, you must get this product! it is abit sharp, but it kepps them safe. They were chilclids and the parents were begining to kill them, so i bought this, and i now have many different tanks for my 45 red devil cichlids, as most were eaten.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Penn Plax Aqua Plant Baby Hide-Out
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Saved our fry!

PostedJanuary 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
spudsmom
from Orlando, FL
I bought this to go along with Lee's 3-Way Breeder. I can't tell when our platies are about to give birth, so having this place allows our fry to hideout safely until we can place them in the breeder. They stay in the breeder until they are big enough to join the rest of their tankmates.
This is well worth the money, and it gives the lower part of our tank a nice look to it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Penn Plax Aqua Plant Baby Hide-Out
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful

PostedJuly 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
IOwnGuppies
from Tampa, FL
I love this product! Both triangles fit nicely in my 10 gallon aquarium. I have one floating and one planted in the gravel. Not only do they save fry, but they give a more natural look to your aquarium!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Penn Plax Aqua Plant Baby Hide-Out
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

too large for a betta tank

PostedMay 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
BlueTongueSkink
from Broomfield, CO
I bought this since it's a two-pack and so I was going to place one plant in each betta tank, however these were too large for what I wanted, so I ended up exchanging them.
Their quality is nice, the plastic is thin and feels soft, but the ends can still be pokey. They don't have a lot of surface area to cover in gravel so the best way to get them to sink is placing gravel in the middle of each "bloom". I think these would look great in a tropical aquaruim and I'm sure that bottom-feeders of other bottom-living fish would love these. Each piece (1/2) is the size of an adult hand, and is a couple inches tall only.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Penn Plax Aqua Plant Baby Hide-Out
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedNovember 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
petfan
from TN
My fish love to hide in it! And it looks so cool in the tank!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Penn Plax Aqua Plant Baby Hide-Out
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not worth the expense.

PostedOctober 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
heathera
from Alaska
The "Hide out" needs longer and thicker extensions. If aquatic plants are not readily available in your area, then this hide out is a little better than nothing.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Penn Plax Aqua Plant Baby Hide-Out
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great!!!!

PostedMay 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
bender21
This is a great product I love how it looks and it does provide hiding places for the babies.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Penn Plax Aqua Plant Baby Hide-Out
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Multi use

PostedOctober 23, 2006
Customer Avatar
Albert
from New York
This is a great product. Some of my fish like to sleep in/on/ under it. My pleco likes to cling on to the plastic base. It is also easy to clean. It will work well floating or planted. If you have baby fish roaming around in your tank you should make sure they dont get stuck in it if you pull it out. Also ideal for bubblenest building fish.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Penn Plax Aqua Plant Baby Hide-Out
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Ok product

PostedMay 14, 2006
Customer Avatar
Bob Smith
from Somewhere,Nowhere
This product is okay. If you have a livebearer this product is for you. If you're willing to pay $10 to insure your babies survival, you should but this product!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.