petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Oceanic Natural Sea Salt Mix

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Oceanic Natural Sea Salt Mix

Stir up a vibrant, crystal-clear saltwater environment for your marine life with our Oceanic Natural Sea Salt MixThis all-natural aquarium salt formula is completely soluble and dissolves almost instantly No nitrates, phosphates, or ammonia for reduced algae growthContains KH stabilizers for natural bufferingProvides optimal growth of fish and invertebrates with high concentrations of calcium and magnesiumFrom a trusted brand of salt water aquariums and salt water aquarium supplies - Oceanic
Average Customer Rating:
4.812 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
5 stars
13
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 out of 16(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Oceanic Natural Sea Salt Mix
Review 1 for Oceanic Natural Sea Salt Mix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Salt

PostedMay 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Phoenix, AZ
I like this salt because it mixes to a high Calcium and Magnesium level. When I test it, it gives me about 450 Ca and 1150 mg - both great levels to be at if you have a reef tank. Corals need this level of Calcium and Magnesium to grow and thrive. This mixes up clear and is not clumpy. I like this salt a lot!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Oceanic Natural Sea Salt Mix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Crystal Clear

PostedJune 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
from North Augusta SC
I love this product but then I have tried nothing else. I disolves quickly, The water is crystal clear and my chemistry is 100% correct after I do my 10% water change weekly. The coral and fish thrive and price comparisons I cannot beat Petco's sale price even with the delivery charge.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Oceanic Natural Sea Salt Mix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I my opinion-Better than “Instant Ocean”

PostedDecember 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Mechanicsburg, PA
The mix dissolves extremely fast. The water is crystal clear. My corals seem to thrive on it. No complaints!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Oceanic Natural Sea Salt Mix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Oceanic Sea Salt

PostedSeptember 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Old Bridge, NJ
Great Product
Great Price, especially with Petco's Free Shipping
No harmful toxins in the salt. Fish go about like nothing has change after your monthly water change. Have always used this sea salt from day one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Oceanic Natural Sea Salt Mix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

OCEANIC SALT MIX

PostedAugust 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
from florida
Been involved in marine aquariums since 1972 and this is the best you can use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Oceanic Natural Sea Salt Mix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

not synthetic like others

PostedJuly 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
from clveland ohio
I got a great price and free shippping on my favorite sea salt! This bucket is $83.99 elsewhere & weighs a ton. I use this brand because it is derived from the ocean not made in a lab like the others. It goes a long way as well & makes perfect alkalinity unlike the instant ocean which is super high.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Oceanic Natural Sea Salt Mix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good salt

PostedJune 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
No residue, dissolves very easy. Good Ca and Alk levels. Best salt I have used so far. Corals and tank have been doing great with this salt.
If you switch salts, do it very gradually over an extended period of time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Oceanic Natural Sea Salt Mix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

High Calcium

PostedMay 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Yukon, OK
This salt has the highest calcium when mixed vs any other salt for the price. In a small tank the water changes alone would be sufficient to keep corals happy at the correct supplement levels.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Oceanic Natural Sea Salt Mix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Oceanic Salt mix

PostedJanuary 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Jacksonville, FL
Great product. Couldn't beat the prcing anywhere on the net!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Oceanic Natural Sea Salt Mix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great salt

PostedNovember 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Love oceanic salt. Still comes in the 200g bucket, unlike the IO salt that switched to the 160g bucket. Mixes quick and clear. Higher Calcium then IO. Also seems to keep the PH more stable.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Oceanic Natural Sea Salt Mix
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Stuff

PostedJune 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Really have liked this salt mix, it dissolves very quickly and would definitely recommend it over other brands
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Oceanic Natural Sea Salt Mix
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Oceanic Natural Sea Salt Mix

PostedMarch 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Schererville, IN
Good salt at a good price. Mixes easy and comes in different size containers.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Oceanic Natural Sea Salt Mix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best!

PostedApril 3, 2007
Customer Avatar
from Temple/Waco, TX
This is the only salt I will add to my tank. Iv used other brands but this is the best I have used by far! If you use this salt along with Reverse Osmosis (RO) water you will have a beautiful results!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Oceanic Natural Sea Salt Mix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJune 17, 2006
Customer Avatar
This customer did not provide a text review.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Oceanic Natural Sea Salt Mix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedApril 30, 2006
Customer Avatar
from new mexico
I would buy this product again. It dissolved easily, made the water crystal clear and has lasted longer than the other brand I was using before.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Oceanic Natural Sea Salt Mix
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Oceanic mixes very well

PostedFebruary 14, 2006
Customer Avatar
from So CA
Oceanic salt mixes very well and quickly. It does not leave residue or scum behind like other salt mixes. It is very high in Calcium, but low in Alkalinity. Alk needs to be raised before use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.