petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for SAM Down Under Jackeroo Home

SAM Down Under Jackeroo Home

Double the living space for your favorite critterOur Penn-Plax SAM Down Under Home gives your pet two levels of fun and activity--letting you watch your pet above and down underExpandable with connectable SAM accessories, toys, and exercisers
Average Customer Rating:
3.542 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(96 Reviews) 96
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 96 reviews
5 stars
37
4 stars
18
3 stars
14
2 stars
14
1 star
13
62 out of 96(65%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
23 Questions | 35 Answers
Customer Reviews for SAM Down Under Jackeroo Home
Review 1 for SAM Down Under Jackeroo Home
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Escape artist

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
I bought this cage for my hamster, because it was all plastic and I didn't want my hamster pushing its bedding out through the wire openings of a non plastic cage. It worked great and she seemed to really love her home, but the next morning I woke to a popping sound which was the lid to the top lookout hitting the ground, only to find my hamster sitting up top trying to make an escape. I ended up having to wrap packaging tape around the sides of the lookout. Since then she has not been able to escape, but if a cage is doing it's job, you shouldn't need to tape parts in place. The water bottle is a little sketchy and food dish is really tiny, other than that she really likes her home.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SAM Down Under Jackeroo Home
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cage

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
This cage is AMAZING for teddy bear hamsters.And comes with every thing it shows.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SAM Down Under Jackeroo Home
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Adorable,everything you need

PostedSeptember 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
from My House
this set up has everything your little critter needs, including water bottle, food bowl, places to roam around and curl up and sleep, an exercise wheel and the really cool tower. This is also Nice how it is expandable thanks to it being a P.A.L.S product.. I know I can never go wrong with Petco products !
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SAM Down Under Jackeroo Home
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

It's...okay...

PostedJanuary 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
I bought this cage a few months ago when I got my two Robo Hamsters. The cage is plenty big enough for them to run and play, however there are a couple of downsides:
-the wheel is very loud. I rubbed a small amount of vegetable oil on it, and it temporarily fixed it. (but only for a couple of days).
-the wheel also spews out bedding, droppings, and food that my boys carry in there with them. Therefore, it got all over my dresser, and I would have to clean it up every day. (this I disliked most about the cage).
-to clean the cage, you have to completely take it apart.
-the colors of the plastic are fairly dark, and it makes it hard to find your critters.
It's alright cage if you don't mind these things, but I didn't like it. I bought a new one today, and I'm much happier.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
11of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SAM Down Under Jackeroo Home
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

awful cage

PostedDecember 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Alton, IL
The wheel on this cage is very noisy. Our hamster escaped out of the top ball by removing the lid. She also was able to toss the door that blocks the wheel. In addition to these things, it is difficult to clean. We have had this for a few days and I will return it today.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SAM Down Under Jackeroo Home
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

It's not horrible. But not the best

PostedSeptember 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Miami, FL
I bought this cage as an upgrade from a glass tank for my two female mice, and all in all, it's an okay cage. The wheel is super loud, So i had to Jerry rig something so it wouldn't squeak, and the bottle was pretty bad, so I, again, had to rig something up with an old water bottle. It's pretty spacious, but I had to buy something for my girls to sleep in because it came with no hidey holes. The problems are all fixable, but its annoying to have to keep making adjustments. I plan on buying a bigger and better cage in the very near future.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SAM Down Under Jackeroo Home
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for Dwarf Hamsters!

PostedSeptember 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
I love this cage and so does my male Russian dwarf hamster!
Everything about it's perfect, except for 2 minor downsides:
1) Everytime you clean your cage, you have to take it completely apart & put it back together, which is time consuming.
2) After about one "reconstruction", the orange plastic sliding petting station cover brushes against the blue plastic tube and eventually wears away the plastic. Prevent this by gently moving the blue plastic tube over to the right slightly when taking out/putting in the cover.
& 1 major downside:
THE WHEEL THE WHEEL THE WHEEL. It was silent for the first night, but by the second its EXTREMELY noisy and so squeaky you can hear it from downstairs. It's in my room so this is a major downside. Does anyone know if I can fix it with some sort of "squeak-be-gone" liquid -- ex. veggie oil, soap?
Get this cage, it's awesome!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SAM Down Under Jackeroo Home
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great!

PostedAugust 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Indiana pa
I wouldn't say use this as your cage but as a fun play cage it works great! My gerbil loves to run in the wheel. The wheel isnt that loud and she loves all the space
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for SAM Down Under Jackeroo Home
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Best Awsome!!!!!!!!!

PostedApril 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
from MiSSissipi
I have a young syrain hamster who loves to explore the tunnes its easy to clean up the tubes are easy to clean up too. it has a silent wheel for thoose of you who have the cage in your room and great saftey pleanty of air holes and big! Dont mention very good price for such a luxureose product. I rate this the best and the most durable hamster cage money can buy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
18of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for SAM Down Under Jackeroo Home
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing! <3

PostedApril 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Unknown, IL
My friend bought this for her 2 fancy mice. The wheel will get jammed or it will sqeal. That doesn't matter, just get a ball? Well, it doesn't make a mess and it keeps mice in! :) I recommend this product for fancy mice! Have fun with it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
3of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for SAM Down Under Jackeroo Home
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

hamster escape, and the worst wheel

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
my pet dwarf hamster, Spike Once escaped from the bowl thing at the top and got lost in my room. when we finally found him we put him back inside the cage and he spent the whole night running on the wheel and that wheel is SO NOISY we tried to fix it by putting some oil on it but we realized that didn't work so when i finally couldn't stand it anymore i just moved spike into the other cage i had.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
10of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for SAM Down Under Jackeroo Home
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DO NOT GET!!!

PostedFebruary 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
THE WHEEL IS TORTURE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Plus! its verrryyyy hard to get dwarf hamsters!!!!!!! there's just way to much going on in that cage....
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-7points
3of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for SAM Down Under Jackeroo Home
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I really like the new habitaMy dwarf hamsters adjusted well to it. They had been chewing on the metal-barred cage they had

PostedDecember 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Etowah,TN
I really liked this new habitat for my dwarf hamsters. I was concerned they would have trouble since it was so different from their metal cage but they loved it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for SAM Down Under Jackeroo Home
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

okish

PostedDecember 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
from toledo ohio
the cage was overalll big enough for 2 siberian dwarf hamsters, there was enough room for them to burrow as well, however, they did chew through the cage at the side door next to the tube. The weel was not as quiet as desired and kept me up all night.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for SAM Down Under Jackeroo Home
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

All Around Review

PostedNovember 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Phoenix, AZ
The water bottle included is not very efficient (no marble) so I would recommend buying a new water bottle which easily snaps in. The food bowl on the other hand is a plus but because of the very limited space I removed the whole level to give my hamster more room. The wheel is good, although my hamster grew to big for it and there are no wheels sold separately. It does eventually get squeaky but olive oil does the trick. The best yet also worst part is the removable end which is great when trying to take out your hamster but horrible because it could also bit into the "x" shaped holes. Overall it was a good cage to start off with but not for the long run.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for SAM Down Under Jackeroo Home
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for 2 male mice or 1!!!

PostedSeptember 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Charleston
I got this cage from petco for my 2 male mice. They have no conflict and absolutely love it. They are very small and the space is just enough. The wheel is amazing but you need to make sure it snaps in the bottom good for safety. Buy this cage and 2 male mice and enjoy the view!!! Also put some treats and food and the water bottle is great too just put end piece after you fill it with water.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for SAM Down Under Jackeroo Home
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Its alright...

PostedJune 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Pocatello, ID
This cage does fine with dwarf hamsters but for normal hamsters its a tight small space. The tubing seems to be too small for normal hamsters. The wheel squeeks after so long and there is no room to add toys inside.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+12points
15of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for SAM Down Under Jackeroo Home
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

HATE IT

PostedApril 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Somewhere in the world
I got this cage for my hamster, Houdini, a few years ago. She was able to chew the plastic and GET OUT OF THE CAGE!!! I have to admit, though, she was an escape artist. I switched her cage with my other hamster who also got out. I would NOT recommend this cage. :(
Instead I would suggest a metal or glass cage.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+10points
18of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for SAM Down Under Jackeroo Home
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Ok But Not For Syrian Hamsters

PostedApril 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Richmond, Texas
I had gotton this for my second hamster, but sadly she died from wetail. the cage was ok the wheel was squeeky, the water bottle leaked, and at the bottom with the certain type of litter I was using caused it to smell. And I would prefer a dwarf hamster because it may be too small for a syrian.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
+18points
23of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for SAM Down Under Jackeroo Home
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Jackeroo Cage

PostedApril 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Oregon
I thought this cage looked pretty neat at first so I bought it for my hamster who I later read was a syrian hamster. He LOVES his wheel which was quiet at first but I had to put a small ponytail on the part that holds the wheel to the cage for it to not make so much noise. The cage is definitely easy to clean and my hamster seems to like his cage enough but it would be best suited for a much smaller hamster or other type of rodent. I would only recommend it to someone with a small enough animal. I'm definitely getting another cage to connect to it though! ^_^
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
11of 14voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>