petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters

Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters

Heavy-duty external aquarium filter delivers powerful mechanical, chemical and biological filtrationExtra-large capacity stackable fish tank filter media containersThree-year warranty against defectUser-friendly design with push-button self-primerIncludes filter media
Average Customer Rating:
4.016 / 5
4
 / 
5
(122 Reviews) 122
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 122 reviews
5 stars
69
4 stars
24
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 star
17
99 out of 122(81%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 25 Answers
Customer Reviews for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters
Review 61 for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst product ever purchased

PostedJanuary 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Josh39
I had the 700 series and returned it after 2 days. I used it for my Red Eared Slider in a 55 GAL tank which is only filled 3/4 of the way. The water was extremly cloudy, smelly and there was things floating in the water. The filter essentially seemed like it wasnt working other than the flow of the water. I switched over to a Fluval plus 4 submersilbe filter and after 30 min the tank had nothing floating, the water had cleared up some and smell is nearly gone. This Cascade Canister is an AWFUL product and I DO NOT recommend it to ANYBODY with a Red Eared Slider or any other aquatic animal for that matter.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 62 for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

very satisfied

PostedJanuary 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
cashmoney
This is the 1st canister filter I have owned, used an under gravel filter years ago and decided to upgrade for a new tank. It's been running for a month now and so far I am pleased. Water is very clear, tank condition is cycling very nicely, and the few damsels I have in there to establish the tank seem to be happy. I have not performed a cleaning/service yet so I can not comment on that aspect, but it does run smooth & quite.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 63 for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Multi-tank Cleaning

PostedJanuary 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
AppleJack3
from Bahama, North Carolina
I bought the filter to boost clean one 55-gallon and two 20-gallon tanks for fresh water fish. The filter really cleaned up the water visually and chemically. I plan to repeat the cleaning monthly to augment the standard fish filters currently on the tanks. Each tank was filtered for two days. The fish are very active now and rush to be fed. The unit is easy to set up and operate. I'm very pleased with the purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 64 for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

After 1 week running great

PostedDecember 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
evelynk
I have had this product for one week. I have a turtle and fish. Water is clean and the product so far has no flaws. I did however do what some other reviewers mentioned and put water in the canister to start. So much better then pumping by hand.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 65 for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Penn Plax filter

PostedDecember 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ridgrunner51
from kane,pa.
We had trouble finding a good filter for turtle tank. Tried this one 12 yrs ago and its still running like new. Now have them on 2- 50 gal tanks and they perform great. Only one we'll ever buy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 66 for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Filter

PostedDecember 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Brad4321
I own two of these, a 1000 on my 110 gallon turtle aquarium, and the 700 on my 55 gallon guppy aquarium. This filter has more than met my expectations and is now the only filter I use.
The "can't get a prime" issue is real, and the first time I set it up I was pumping for an hour straight. The trick is to pre-fill the canister with tank water and to make sure there are absolutely no dips in the suction line. By doing both of these, I do not even have to use the primer when taking the filter apart for cleaning.
Cleaning of the filter is really simple, and turning the valve in the right order per the manual, there is no leaks, and the internal baskets make taking the filter apart and reassembly pretty quick and easy.
The filter cleans really well. The physical filter media captures nearly all of the dirt and the biological medium works as it should. I had the 700 on mu 110 gallons turtle tank before upgrading, and despite being too small with very messy turtles, the water stayed completely clear and ammonia or nitrite stayed at 0. The filter designs are the same between the two sizes, the bigger filter is physically bigger with more of the same filter media installed.
On my guppy tank, the 700 has replaced the UGF and a 2nd side mounted canister filter, and I get better filtration with a lot less complications.
The only negatives is an occasional water noise coming from the filter, but it is usually completely silent, the tubing and accessories are not the greatest but are functional, and the price is higher than some of the competition, but these are minor problems overall. I will be purchasing another one of these filters for my next tank
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 67 for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedDecember 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
shwayne
Easy to setup. Quiet. Will never go back to wet/dry filter and the noise again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 68 for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

this filter is bad

PostedNovember 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
aden
from Huntingdon Vy, PA
I bought this filter last year and it worked great for one year and then the motor started behaving erratic. it works for 30mins then it stops, i cleaned the hose everything and assembled it and again it works for 30mins and then it STOPS. Never again buying any penn plax item. I bought eheim canister filter and it has been two yrs and it is still going strong in my second tank.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 69 for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Filter

PostedNovember 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
hapaguy
from Honolulu, Hawaii
Ordered the Penn Plax 700 Petco shipped it next day and received a couple of days later. Easy to setup just follow the enclosed directions and its a snap! Whisper quite and the filter cleans the water crystal clear...
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 70 for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedNovember 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
justcustomer
from New York
Affordable unit, easy to assemble, very productive, after 6 hrs water became clear. Media should be less expensive, but you can make it by yourself.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 71 for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT PRODUCT

PostedOctober 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
adamp377
I am not sure where some of the negative complaints are comming from regarding this product it must be user error on their part. I purchased the cascade 700 for my beginning reef tank and I have had no issues. The filter was extremely easy to set up the primer button work flawlessly with minimal pumps I believe it only took 2 pumps before it was self sustaining and filled the filter itself. If you can follow directions and cut the tubing to the necessary lengths for your setup you should experience no issues with priming. Just last night I added some phosphate media to the filter and once again after 2 pumps the filter filled by itself. A very helpful/useful feature to this filter is to be able to close the valves completely an disconnect the hosing from the filter before having to move the filter around. I would recommending putting a towel down or around the fittings as there will be a slight spill from water left in the filter. I 100% love this filter and would recommend it to anyone that ask
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 72 for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy Set up

PostedSeptember 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
lavandermoon
I thought the set up on this filter was really easy. I too was having problems priming the tank for first use. It helps to note while installing your valves will be CLOSED which was my mistake. After filling the inlet with tank water and re-attaching it I opened both valves and viola ! It filled within seconds. I had a fluval 404 on my 100 gallon tank and this filter is not any louder than it. So all and all I would have to say this is a pretty good filter and the price is not bad either!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 73 for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well worth the money spent

PostedAugust 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
suebee67
from BRUNSWICK, ME
We have a 60 gallon hexagon tank that the water was all cloudy & looked dirty & we realized that a regular filter was not doing what we needed, and we needed a filter that went way towards the bottom of our tank, because our tank is very tall. WOW!!!!! what a difference, we set up the Cascade 700 & within 24 hrs. our tank is so clear & our tropical fish just love the spray valve, i think they think it is a spa for them, they swim right into it, we read the reviews that everyone wrote & were scared to purchase it, but knew our fish needed something, we are going to purchase another one for our 50 gallon tank that we have our goldfish in.... instead of doing what the instructions say fill the canister with water & prime it until the water runs through the hose & then plug it in & then you are off to a beautiful tank in hrs...
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 74 for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Prime Your Pump!

PostedAugust 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
DieAquaScum
The easiest way to set this filter up is to close BOTH valves, and fill the INTAKE tube with water. THEN, reconnect the plumbing into the tank. Turn the filter on and open the valves simultaneously and PRIME QUICKLY AND OFTEN!! This will get the water flowing. If you don't prime the pump enough, gravity will work against you and you will have not much more than a trickle. Once hooked up, and water is flowing, it is basically silent, and there is an evident current in our tank. Recommend??... YES!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 75 for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pen Plax 1000

PostedJune 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rcpets
Never done this but to make it easer on the next guy or girl here are so problems I had.the first canaster I received had the 1200 to1500 instructions to it tried to put it together anyway.Pump woud not take called penplax the # the box gives you and the wrong # called petco sent out new filter and come to find out I was missing a piece.Checked both boxes sure enough something missing put it together had a hard time getting it to pump.So I filled the canister with water still not priming right so I disconected the 2 hoses and filled them with the tank water (several times) after a while the pump started making diferent noises buy the way I left the pump pluged in. Finely the pump primedThis is tuesday and the tank lookes great got 3 balla sharkes and working on others pluss diferent enviroment for them hope this helps.Oh yea I have a 75 gollen fresh water tank.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 76 for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Be careful when setting this up!

PostedMay 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
yllwcar55
I have a 150 gal aquarium with turtles so I got this filter for them. Since the tank is on the floor,we had to do some adjusting of the tubes (cutting them shorter) to make sure there wasn't any "slack" so they worked ok. After reading reviews about this product on other sites as well as this one, we were becoming increasingly furious with the filter thinking it wasn't working, until we noticed(duh) the tubes were attached to the wrong valves! They are labeled "in" and "out" but it is hard to see if you don't have bright lighting, so just wanted to mention this in case any one else is as stupid as we were! once its running its amazing. To start it, we filled it up with water, primed it (10 + times) then plugged it in and voila! After vrooom-ing for a minute or two, it worked! Its very quiet if you use the skimmer attachment. Now its awesome and our turtles are happy:)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 77 for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Best Product for its price

PostedApril 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lokkstar
from Minnesota
This is an awesome product for its price. I got the 700 model and it does a super job cleaning my 20 gal tank. I couldn't be anymore happier. Just the other day I went to go buy some bio rings and stuff them into the canister. It works awesome now. I highly recommend it. I gave it three stars because Petco did a poor job at sending my product. Transaction was long ( about a week when they stated 2 days) and delivery was poor. 5 star for product & 3 star for Petco.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 78 for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Execellent Filter

PostedApril 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Roboman01
from Long Beach, CA
I moved to the Cascade 500 after my AquaClear 50 wasn't providing enough filtration for my 29 gallon aquarium. In addition, the AquaClear filter was noisy, which elicited complaints from my family, who couldn't stand the sound.
The Cascade 500 fixed all of these problems, and performed much better than I expected. It is almost completely silent, except for a low hum that is only noticeable from right in front of the filter. It provides more than enough filtration for my fully-stocked 29 gal. tank, and the fish seem to enjoy swimming in the output current.
It does not provide as much aeration as the AquaClear, but that can be remedied with the addition of an air stone.
Overall, it is a great filter, and I wish I had known about it before I started my tank.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 79 for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Its ok....

PostedMarch 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Phillipe
from Florida
Got the 500 for my 20G tank. I have 2 koi and they are very very messy, and this pup does an ok job keeping it clean. About a week after i bought the pump one of the valves snaped in two. I couldnt find a replacement part anyplace. So i emailed Pen Plax (company that made this product) they didnt ask questions, just said, "we are sorry for your trouble, send us ur address and we will send you a new one". so far its been a weak and i havent gotten the new part.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 80 for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome

PostedFebruary 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
This is the best filter i have ever seen. Works fast to clear up water and does an amazing job keeping water fresh.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 next>>