petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters

Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters

Heavy-duty external aquarium filter delivers powerful mechanical, chemical and biological filtrationExtra-large capacity stackable fish tank filter media containersThree-year warranty against defectUser-friendly design with push-button self-primerIncludes filter media
Average Customer Rating:
4.038 / 5
4
 / 
5
(132 Reviews) 132
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 132 reviews
5 stars
76
4 stars
25
3 stars
9
2 stars
4
1 star
18
107 out of 132(81%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 25 Answers
Customer Reviews for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters
Review 61 for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this filter works great

PostedApril 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
from tn
it only takes about 15 minutes to set up,very easy to do,very quiet running,my tank was very cloudy for weeks,no matter whay i did ,could not clear it,put this filter on it and within 5 days it looks beautiful,its great
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 62 for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Outstanding Filter!

PostedMarch 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Simi Valley, Ca
I replaced a broken Fluval 205 with the Cascade 500 and one of the valves leaked after setup(NOT A GOOD START)I returned it and since it was the last 500 I upgraded to the 700 and received a small discount.
I am very happy with it. As for the numerous mentions of priming problems I would like to say you can press the primer all day and nothing will happen, HOWEVER, if you vigorously pump the primer 8-10x you will never have problems. It is much quieter than the Fluval, better looking and I have not spilled a drop of water when removing hoses during cleaning!! I am using the spray bar option and like how it spreads filtered water across the tank.
I would have gave 5 Stars if the first one didn't leak.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 63 for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great filter for the price

PostedMarch 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
i got the 1000 for my 55 gallon saltwater tank and it works great and my water is clear and clean. I had issues getting it primed and going but has worked great since I got it going. It's a great filter and you can't beat the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 64 for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

1st Time Canister Filter Owner

PostedMarch 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Metuchen, NJ
I have a 29 gallon tank and own 4 ranchus. These goldfishes produce a lot waste and easily turn your tank into a swam. I used two AqaClear hanging filters for 30 and 50 gallon tanks but they weren't quite doing the job right. It did not produce enough air flows in the water and left behind enough ammonia and nitrates to cause my fishes with all sort of diseases. I finally decided to give a canister filter a try, and I brought the 700 model. The setup is fairly easy and straightforward. I did not have any issues like some of the postings on this board. It works right out of the box. This filter is very quiet and yet produce excellent air flow in the water enough to stir up a lot of hidden waste under the gravels. The water looks much cleaner after a few hours of usage. This one filter does a much better job than my two back-hanging AqaClear filters. Although I haven't had this filter for that long, I hope it will last and remain its effectiveness. This is an inexpensive filter and probably a wise investment for your fishes. I will definitely recommend this product to anyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 65 for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Oh yeah

PostedMarch 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
from york,Pa
I had the 1000 for about 5 months now and never once had a problem I've had other canister filters in the past fluval,eheim ,this one keeps up with the best of them.No leaks plenty of media storage and plenty of power.I recommend this product to anyone pro or noob get it, and its more than half the price of the big name competeters.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 66 for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Bang for your buck

PostedFebruary 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Peshtigo, WI
I was in the market for a new canister filter to replace an older unit that I had running, Two days before we were gonna leave for a vacation the old decides to quit. So without much money at the time I decided to give one of these a try and am pleasantly surprised. Although I will admit that the Ehiem Pro III are better filters, but at 1/3 the price this thing performs way better than I even hoped. Only been on for about a week but water is noticeably clearer than it was with the old one. If in the future I have any issues I will update but so far setup, priming and ease of use are better than the Fluvals I have although it doesnt flow quite as much water as stated on the box. Overall this is a good filter for the aquariest on a budget.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 67 for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Working Great

PostedFebruary 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Lakewood, CO
I put this on my 55 gallon tank and the water is crystal clear. Unit is very quiet and was easy to start. We will see how the first water change goes, but so far it has been great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 68 for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!!

PostedFebruary 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Kalamazoo, MI
This filter has completely changed the way my aquarium looks! My water is crystal clear! Great product, would recommend this to any that needs a filter!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 69 for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing

PostedFebruary 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
I love this filter!! I have had two filters on my aquarium, and still had cloudy water. We hooked this filter up, and the transformation was amazing. The water is crystal clear, and the fish are so active with all the oxygen in the water from the spray from the return. I wish I hadnt waited so long to make this purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 70 for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good job

PostedJanuary 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
from New York
I have a Red Ear Slider (turtle) and he is a slob. Stones in tank were a catchall spot for lots of debris. Installed filter on 30 gallon tank and stirred the rocks up a few times a day and within two days water looks like you could drink it (not advised). Only quirk with filter is that the pickup tube extension seal allows air in and pump loses prime if you move it much. Other than that issue, which is minor, pump is a beast and filtering power is unsurpassed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 71 for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst product ever purchased

PostedJanuary 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
I had the 700 series and returned it after 2 days. I used it for my Red Eared Slider in a 55 GAL tank which is only filled 3/4 of the way. The water was extremly cloudy, smelly and there was things floating in the water. The filter essentially seemed like it wasnt working other than the flow of the water. I switched over to a Fluval plus 4 submersilbe filter and after 30 min the tank had nothing floating, the water had cleared up some and smell is nearly gone. This Cascade Canister is an AWFUL product and I DO NOT recommend it to ANYBODY with a Red Eared Slider or any other aquatic animal for that matter.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 72 for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

very satisfied

PostedJanuary 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
This is the 1st canister filter I have owned, used an under gravel filter years ago and decided to upgrade for a new tank. It's been running for a month now and so far I am pleased. Water is very clear, tank condition is cycling very nicely, and the few damsels I have in there to establish the tank seem to be happy. I have not performed a cleaning/service yet so I can not comment on that aspect, but it does run smooth & quite.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 73 for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Multi-tank Cleaning

PostedJanuary 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Bahama, North Carolina
I bought the filter to boost clean one 55-gallon and two 20-gallon tanks for fresh water fish. The filter really cleaned up the water visually and chemically. I plan to repeat the cleaning monthly to augment the standard fish filters currently on the tanks. Each tank was filtered for two days. The fish are very active now and rush to be fed. The unit is easy to set up and operate. I'm very pleased with the purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 74 for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

After 1 week running great

PostedDecember 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
I have had this product for one week. I have a turtle and fish. Water is clean and the product so far has no flaws. I did however do what some other reviewers mentioned and put water in the canister to start. So much better then pumping by hand.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 75 for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Penn Plax filter

PostedDecember 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
from kane,pa.
We had trouble finding a good filter for turtle tank. Tried this one 12 yrs ago and its still running like new. Now have them on 2- 50 gal tanks and they perform great. Only one we'll ever buy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 76 for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Filter

PostedDecember 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
I own two of these, a 1000 on my 110 gallon turtle aquarium, and the 700 on my 55 gallon guppy aquarium. This filter has more than met my expectations and is now the only filter I use.
The "can't get a prime" issue is real, and the first time I set it up I was pumping for an hour straight. The trick is to pre-fill the canister with tank water and to make sure there are absolutely no dips in the suction line. By doing both of these, I do not even have to use the primer when taking the filter apart for cleaning.
Cleaning of the filter is really simple, and turning the valve in the right order per the manual, there is no leaks, and the internal baskets make taking the filter apart and reassembly pretty quick and easy.
The filter cleans really well. The physical filter media captures nearly all of the dirt and the biological medium works as it should. I had the 700 on mu 110 gallons turtle tank before upgrading, and despite being too small with very messy turtles, the water stayed completely clear and ammonia or nitrite stayed at 0. The filter designs are the same between the two sizes, the bigger filter is physically bigger with more of the same filter media installed.
On my guppy tank, the 700 has replaced the UGF and a 2nd side mounted canister filter, and I get better filtration with a lot less complications.
The only negatives is an occasional water noise coming from the filter, but it is usually completely silent, the tubing and accessories are not the greatest but are functional, and the price is higher than some of the competition, but these are minor problems overall. I will be purchasing another one of these filters for my next tank
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 77 for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedDecember 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Easy to setup. Quiet. Will never go back to wet/dry filter and the noise again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 78 for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

this filter is bad

PostedNovember 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Huntingdon Vy, PA
I bought this filter last year and it worked great for one year and then the motor started behaving erratic. it works for 30mins then it stops, i cleaned the hose everything and assembled it and again it works for 30mins and then it STOPS. Never again buying any penn plax item. I bought eheim canister filter and it has been two yrs and it is still going strong in my second tank.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 79 for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Filter

PostedNovember 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Honolulu, Hawaii
Ordered the Penn Plax 700 Petco shipped it next day and received a couple of days later. Easy to setup just follow the enclosed directions and its a snap! Whisper quite and the filter cleans the water crystal clear...
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 80 for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedNovember 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
from New York
Affordable unit, easy to assemble, very productive, after 6 hrs water became clear. Media should be less expensive, but you can make it by yourself.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 next>>