petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters

Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters

Heavy-duty external aquarium filter delivers powerful mechanical, chemical and biological filtrationExtra-large capacity stackable fish tank filter media containersThree-year warranty against defectUser-friendly design with push-button self-primerIncludes filter media
Average Customer Rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(124 Reviews) 124
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 124 reviews
5 stars
70
4 stars
24
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 star
18
100 out of 124(81%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 25 Answers
Customer Reviews for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters
Review 1 for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Trouble Priming then it humms!!

PostedMay 16, 2006
Customer Avatar
A wet finger
from Chicago
After installing the tubing on the tank and suction lines, I found allowing a powerhead within the tank to blow into the open end of the suction line, removing the screen obviously, it primes almost instantly!! I have a 125gal and own two cascade 1000s for it. Literally scrubs the water!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+23points
33of 43voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wrong choice

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
tobaccojoe
from Syracuse, NY
Thought It would be a great deal and seemed simple enough to operate. It was nothing less than poorly engineered trash. I threw it away in exasperation after the fourth time it leaked. Flow valves will pop off, so you have to be careful adjusting the flow. If they come off the water squirts out. You need a divining rod and a map to reassemble it after filter change. Plastic body chips or cracks at a whisper.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great deal

PostedAugust 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
dobiesmom210
from GI, NE
This product iS awesome! Cleaning my turtle tank 1/2 as often. Got a REALLY good price online. Even better than the store!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great filter not so great media

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Wes1999
from Tennessee
It was very east to set up and I like the black that's in the tank so it doesn't stand out to much. I didn't really like the media that came with it so I added my own filter media
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

this product has great features

PostedJune 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
jaeleeee
from kennesaw, GA
Easy to use, working great, and very quiet. Good for big tank
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Penn Plax Cascade filters

PostedMay 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
HLeve
from Texas
Great filters. I have two cascade filters, a 750 and 1000. Both work great with little noise and no leaks. You do have to be vigilant in re assembly after cleaning to make sure gaskets are in alignment before clamping down the power head but a great filter. Really like the spray bar assembly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Filter for fish tank

PostedApril 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
marolenmimi
from Idyllwild, CA
I will know more when my power bill comes. Right now so far so good.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Average canister for a decent price if you don't mind about the noise

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Angelfishrule
from California
The only good feature about this filter is the spray bar. Other than that it is an average filter making loud noise. I am thinking of return this filter, but I'm in the middle of cycling my tank. If anyone know of a good filter that don't make too loud of. A noise, please respond.
Tx,
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Great company, poor product.

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Haylie
from Waterloo, IA
We purchased this product two years ago. It was highly recommended by the store associate and we were happy with it....for a short while. In the past two years we have had to contact the Penn Plax because the filter stopped working. They where nice enough to send us out a new filter...THREE TIMES. One time the filter just stopped working out of now where, another time it stopped working due to a power outage (something Penn Plax said was common), and the most recent....and last time for us, it stopped working while we were attempting to clean it the tank and filter.
Penn Plax was a wonderful company to deal with but I would suggest looking for another filter. Dealing with trying to get another filter takes a few days. I would rather spend good money and not have to find out someone has excellent customer service :)
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do NOT Purchase one of these.

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
AllanAR
from AR
I have used this on my reef tank for the past year. When it works, it is great. My tank houses sps, lps, soft coral, and an anemone. The problem is when you do maintenance on the filter. It is so hard to get the canister to reseal, and it will leak water. I literally just spent 2 hours trying to get the top to reseal. So much water leaked out, that I now have to mix 5 more gallons of water to add to the tank (after already doing my water change). When I build a new tank, I WILL NOT use this brand. I will probably not use a canister filter at all, and just go with a a sump. This is too much of a headache, and it gets pretty costly when you have to buy the filter floss and carbon every couple of months.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product exceeds expectations

PostedSeptember 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
SaltwaterGuy2
from Buford, GA
Prior to this I had two power filters designed for 70 gal tanks in my 55 gallon saltwater reef tank but water was not crystal clear. The canister was easy to assemble and did not leak. I tried the Marineland canister filter but it dripped at the shutoff valve thus was returned. After discussion with my local Petco store I purchased this product. This filter is also very quiet despite a few other reviews to the contrary.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Good

PostedSeptember 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shadow05
from Utah
I have purchased two of the canister filters in two different sizes. The motors burned out on both within a year. The filtration is extremely sub standard. Customer service from Penn Plax was no existant. I would not recommend this product at all. There are better filters out there.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So Far So Good

PostedAugust 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Fish132
from Upstate New York
Just installed the 700 in a 45gal tank. Easy set up. Nice routine. The Marineland had failed terribly and killed 5 large show Goldfish.Easy installation but I wonder if I need to bring the air pump online. Any feedback from you folks?
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best filter I've ever owned.

PostedMarch 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dans85
from Colorado
Bought the 1000 model yesterday for my 40g planted as an upgrade over my HOB, and within minutes, I noticed a difference. Having only used HOB filters in the past, this was a HUGE upgrade from all of the ones that I have ever used. I highly recommend this to anyone that is in the market for an inexpensive canister.
Setup was a breeze, no leaks, and It's whisper quiet. What more could you ask for??
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible, awful.

PostedMarch 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jetaimekala
from Palatine, IL
I got the penn plax cascade 1000 in store for 125.00 and it is garbage. I have a 55g tank with a RES turtle and this thing could not clear the water or remove any smell. I hooked up the spray bar that it comes with, this is even more garbage, the flow seemed alright but not adequate for what I needed to see since this is turtle tank, so I need to see serious flow of water coming out and it just didn't have it... this is after 3 days then I finally removed the spray bar and just did the regular spout it comes with since this filter does give you option to use spray bar or spout. I thought the spout would possibly push more water out even if just a bit, it did not help at all and tank looked just as dirty this is after 24 hrs. I then thought ok there is not enough media and the certain media that did come with it is garbage. I removed the filter bio floss it came with and bought my own and stuffed that in place of the original floss, I then bought the penn plax/cascade bio-rings and put that in with the filter media as well to see if would help, still did not. I had this filter for over a week and it could not clear the water or remove the smell, it left my water dark like my turtles had just defecated and had a buffet of food, it smelled like a stinky pond and still had things floating in it from what the previous filter I had could not clean. I returned this to store disgusted and dissatisfied, I mean when I opened the filter to change out the media it was barely even dirty in the water, clearly this filter is not built to do its job and lacks good flow and proper filtration. I ended up getting the API nexx Aquarium FILTER and it is doing quite well, clearing my tank within 3 days, something the penn plax just could not do. Do not buy this, I think if you have another filter to help this one out and have just a regular fish tank it may do all right but otherwise I would not get it. I have like I said a RES turtle and they are about 100 times more messy than fish so I need a filter that really filters and not some little trickling water waste of my time and money. I hate this filter, in my opinion I would not buy it and cannot recommend it. Just don't do it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-14points
2of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesnt not filter!

PostedMarch 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
jczyznikiewicz
from Chicago, IL
I setup my saltwater tank again and purchased this filter because the price was decent and it had good reviews. So when I set it up my tank thewater was cloudy like normal. no big deal. 2 weeks go by and still no change... so now I am kinda mad. so for the heck of it i hook up my old hang on back power filter and viola next day crystal clear water!! Had the 700 on a 55 gal tank. will be returning asap. dont buy this spend a few extra bucks and get a good one. dont be cheap like me and learn the hard way :|
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great filter at an affordable price

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Fishman888
from Stanwood, WA
This filter works very good. It keeps my tank very clean. It is very easy to clean and to replace the filter cartridges. It is very quiet. This filter is great! I highly recommend it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well performing and quiet

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Niesia
I've had this filter for over six months now and it is performing very well. The nicest feature is the soft, pliable hoses, sturdy/good quality intake/outflow (that's what you see in the tank) and easy, well marked connections of fittings. Set up was extremely easy, since all parts were marked in/out it was very easy to set up, hardly no instructions necessary. The only complaint is that it took a day for all air to totally escape the filter, hence the air noise. With 50 micron water polishing pad it keeps my tank water crystal clear. Monthly maintenance is a snap. I would use this canister filter on my bigger tank if the producer was making bigger filters.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cascade Canister filter

PostedOctober 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rmikey
from Ct
Excellent filter! Have the cascade 700, very easy to set up. Directions are easy to understand. Started right away when all connected. Cleared my tank in no time. I I was picking between this and the fulval 306. Picked this filter for the price as I did not see any other difference.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good budget canister

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
DMD123
from Tacoma
This is a good budget canister. The only real complaint would be the lack of filter media. These canisters have a ton of space and they dont really give you anything to fill them with. But for the price I think they beat out a lot of other filters out there.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>