petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hagen AquaClear Power Head Multifunctional Water Pumps

Hagen AquaClear Power Head Multifunctional Water Pumps

Fully submersible pump creates powerful currents for increased circulation in your fresh or saltwater tankEnhances water flow through undergravel filters and protein skimmersMaintenance-free, energy-efficient motor
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
15 out of 16(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Hagen AquaClear Power Head Multifunctional Water Pumps
Review 1 for Hagen AquaClear Power Head Multifunctional Water Pumps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome powerhead

PostedJanuary 3, 2007
Customer Avatar
gobygurl
from Somewhere in New England
I've read a lot of online reviews of this product and asked about it on a few chat forums and everyone has recommended this powerhead. It was the best purchase that I have made for my saltwater tank. It provides excellent water movement for my macro-algae, coral and sea pen. It was very easy to install and maintain. It is very quiet and was easy to conceal behind my live rock to provide enough flow to keep the particulate debris suspended to be cleaned by my main hang on filter.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hagen AquaClear Power Head Multifunctional Water Pumps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Make sure you get correct size if wanted for water and air flow

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Charybdis
from CO
Got power head 20 for 29g tank for water flow and air ,pump is fine but does not have enough power to create air bubbles below half tank, had to move up other than that its a great power head
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hagen AquaClear Power Head Multifunctional Water Pumps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Product works great!

PostedJuly 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Spieslikeus
from St. Charles
Easy to put together. Like that I can adjust the flow.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hagen AquaClear Power Head Multifunctional Water Pumps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

ideal

PostedJanuary 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tannu
from il
pet co products are always countable ..........and also their prices is much better then other suppliers......
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hagen AquaClear Power Head Multifunctional Water Pumps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

POWER HEAD

PostedMarch 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Vinchin
Moves water very well but reverse got stuck
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hagen AquaClear Power Head Multifunctional Water Pumps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great item

PostedNovember 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
cito
from Vallejo, Ca
I purchased two of these power heads for my under-gravel filter that's in my 30 gallon tank. It uses two power heads to power it. Both run smoothly and you can adjust the flow, which is great because I point them at my corals. Also, you can point the output wherever you want. I tried using the aeration setup, but it produced tuns of bubbles at first. I turned the valve down and it worked well. I ended up not using the aeration setup because i didn't like random micro bubbles floating around my tank. If need be, you can produce so much bubbles out of them that you literally can't see anything. I gave this product a 5 because you can set it up anyway you want and it has good flow of water and aeration. Its powerful and can be turned down. works perfectly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hagen AquaClear Power Head Multifunctional Water Pumps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Filter

PostedNovember 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Calizona
from Arizona
This is a very dependable power head. Love the online discount too!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hagen AquaClear Power Head Multifunctional Water Pumps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Purchase Ever

PostedOctober 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
bjcc
Works great and I would purchase again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hagen AquaClear Power Head Multifunctional Water Pumps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product

PostedJanuary 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Aimza
I bought a second one of these to push my turtle's mess around the tank so the filter would have an easier time to clean. The second one is louder than the first one. Not enough for me to return it but it is annoying in a very quiet room. My first one is pretty silent. However the pump does do what I bought it for and it's reasonably priced.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hagen AquaClear Power Head Multifunctional Water Pumps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice ;)

PostedFebruary 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Taba
from California
This product is good for well sized tanks it keeps my fish moving and keep my fish nice and fit it also helps me clean my tank by picking up the trash so my filter can get it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hagen AquaClear Power Head Multifunctional Water Pumps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Decent Powerhead

PostedOctober 10, 2007
Customer Avatar
Parrotthead
from New Jersey
Good powerhead for the money. Only issues are the reversability of the flow. I occasionally like to reverse the flow to move the ditritus around the sand bed. The plastic slide levers (green and red) have broken off both units in the tank...the second two weeks after I had it. Perhaps due to the salt buildup internally. Other than this annoyance, great product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hagen AquaClear Power Head Multifunctional Water Pumps
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

PostedJuly 8, 2006
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
This customer did not provide a text review.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hagen AquaClear Power Head Multifunctional Water Pumps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hagen AquaClear Powerhead Multifunctional Water Pu

PostedMay 15, 2006
Customer Avatar
Andrew
from MI
i love how good they wrok i have 5 of them
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hagen AquaClear Power Head Multifunctional Water Pumps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Small and Powerful

PostedDecember 17, 2005
Customer Avatar
Love Fish
from Miami,FL
Ive had Aquaclear Powerheads all my life I would never change. Its small and easily hidden
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Hagen AquaClear Power Head Multifunctional Water Pumps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Full of Raw Power

PostedDecember 8, 2005
Customer Avatar
fish lover
from Simi Valley,CA
This is a filter that is full of raw power. Trust me that it won't leave you down. Strong yet powerfull. Make your job way easier that a undergravel filter by it self. Also it's able to be put it in the water. trust me it won't let you down:o
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Hagen AquaClear Power Head Multifunctional Water Pumps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It keeps the tank Cleaner

PostedDecember 4, 2005
Customer Avatar
Kin
from Elk Grove, CA
I used the reverse flow, pumping water into the under gravel, bring more oxygen under the gravel, drive the waste out from the bottom, which will catch from the regular filter. Yes, you will need to clean the filter regularly, but it is better than sucking all the waste into the bottom of the tank and leave it there. I believe my fish is healthier and happier. One catch, beware of baby fish and small fish, it will suck them into the under gravel as well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.