petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kaytee Complete Chinchilla Kit

Kaytee Complete Chinchilla Kit

Surround your chinchilla with all the comforts of homeKit includes a roomy wire cage, food, bedding, and a water bottleCage includes a food dish, wooden ledge, and rampsSimple snap-together set-up requires no tools
Average Customer Rating:
3.78 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 50 reviews
5 stars
17
4 stars
18
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
5
36 out of 50(72%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for Kaytee Complete Chinchilla Kit
Review 1 for Kaytee Complete Chinchilla Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Satisfied Chinchilla Owner

PostedApril 5, 2006
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from CT
I have had this cage for a year now, and my chinchilla never destroyed anything in it. I did buy some wooden ledges, and I had no use for the ladders since ramps aren't necessary for chinchillas (they can jump to the highest point in the cage w/o them). I would just suggest making sure you have plenty of chew toys for them, especially apple wood branches.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+20points
24of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kaytee Complete Chinchilla Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

3 years

PostedAugust 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Taylo
from Connecticut
I've had this cage for 3 years now and its held up pretty well although i'm probably going to have to get a new one. I had/still have my chin Willy and i used to have another chin named Meatball. They shared this cage and they always had plenty of space. I put in a hideaway, a wheel, a hay feeder and a stone and it has enough room for 1 chinchilla to live comfortably. (I put in these things after Meatball died) I would not recommend the bedding that comes with this. My chins started eating it. And the wooden thing broke. However I would recommend the food. My chinchilla has always been a picky eater and will never eat the pellets, so its nice to have some variety. The plastic food bowl is ok. I knew it would never last because my chins kept chewing on it. I finally got a ceramic bowl and its doing fine. The lower ramp also broke but my chin has no problem getting down. It actually gives him more exercise. In the pic you can see the cage and Willy is sleeping behind the wheel. Overall its a good product but not for long term use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kaytee Complete Chinchilla Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not a good starter kit what so ever

PostedFebruary 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Chicago, IL
I saw this starter kit and got super excited because it was a great deal. But not knowing that later the food, bedding, food dish, and water bottle were all duds.
The food: This food should NOT be given to chins because they need to only have pellets with a mixture of timothy hay. The assortment of treats is a bad choice because your chin will become a picky eater and only pick out treats and not the pellets then resulting in a lack of nutrition.
The bedding for a chinchilla should be a wood shaving base not pellet. Its harder to clean and my chin started to eat it. :\
The food dish is plastic and chins go straight eating plastic especially when its where their food is located.
The water bottle leaked and my chin didnt even drink from it. Just was a mess.
The cage is a nice size for a baby chin but id still advise getting a taller one when they get older so they can have more exercise.
But the Pro is that the perch is nice and can be reused in other cages.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
8of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kaytee Complete Chinchilla Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Starter

PostedJanuary 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
ChinniLover
from Arkansas
I just recently got my chinchilla for Christmas and this cage has been fabulous. My chinchilla loves to jump around on it. So far he has not tried to chew on any of it. With the cage you will also need to get them something to hide in, wooden chew toys, hay, and chinchilla pellets. The food that comes with the cage has way to many treats for an everyday diet. I like to mix a little bit of that food with the pellets. This cage was by far one of the best deals for a starter kit. Eventually I would recommend to get a bigger cage if your chinchilla spends a lot of time in his/her cage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kaytee Complete Chinchilla Kit
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

chinas cage

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
roboluver488
from wa
i bougut this for her sh is relly fat beacause of the food and she chew the ramps and the bottum shelfs waist of money
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kaytee Complete Chinchilla Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great buy

PostedAugust 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lizzy123
from Princeton, WI
I've had this cage for a few weeks, so far so good. However the water bottle leaks all the time no matter what I do so I'll have to buy a new one. Also the food that comes with it has way too many treats in it so you'll have to buy better food for your chinchilla. On the plus side you'll have treats for a very long time. Overall still worth it for the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kaytee Complete Chinchilla Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Starter Cage

PostedDecember 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
momto5girls
I purchased this kit as a Christmas present for one of my girls. She recieved this and her new chinchilla Chip Chip a week early. Cage was very easy to put together! Some of the wire was slightly bent from shipping but easily fixable. Big enough for Chip Chip's chill mat, house, ledge and a toy but, it doesn't leave him much room to run around. It is fine while he is still tiny but I will be upgrading to a larger cage when he gets a bigger.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kaytee Complete Chinchilla Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Cage for the price!

PostedOctober 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
LolaBean13
from Alfred, NY
A great cage however it was not chew proof..our chin chewed the clamp on the ramp right off! However she loves her cage and its easy to clean with the upper and lower door.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kaytee Complete Chinchilla Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wonderful Cage

PostedJune 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kafeibabe
from Pittsburgh, PA
My chinchilla, Elric, has been living in this cage for about two weeks now. My only complaint is the way the doors are constructed. I'm a very small person, so I can't reach in either door and get to the back of the cage. I would have preferred just one larger door, but I'm making due the way they are.
The cage is sturdy and much larger than the pictures would have lead me to believe. He likes to sleep on the shelves, and he really doesn't like going down in to the bedding, I think, because it gets stuck in his fur. I plan to use another kind in the future that he might like better. We had trouble with the water bottle for awhile. It was creating a vacuum that Elric couldn't break when he drank, but we fixed this problem by hooking up the bottle at a less severe angle. He has chewed on his food dish a bit but not enough to cause any concern.
The only reason I would give this cage a 4-star rating instead of 5-stars is because cleaning is a bit difficult, particularly if I have to do it myself. The cage must be taken apart in order to clean it. Doing this with a small hamster cage is no problem, but this cage is much larger, so it can pose a problem, again, because I'm such a small person. As I said before, I would have preferred a larger door, not only so I can more easily get Elric out, but also to make cleaning the shelves easier.
Overall, my chinchilla is happy in this cage. I took the ramps out so he could just jump from shelf to shelf, which he seems to prefer. There is plenty of room for a hiding house and other toys. I would certainly recommend this cage to other chinchilla owners.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kaytee Complete Chinchilla Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedMarch 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
k999t666john
from New York
Putting the cage together was the easiest thing ever! I always have difficulties with any type of required assembly, but this one was fairly basic and with simple instructions. I am glad that no tools were required. I also love how spacious it is, my Chinchilla was tedious at first with his new cage but after an hour or so he was everywhere, he flew up those ramps like they were not even there! My Chinchilla fully enjoys it but I have minor issues with it.
The water bottle that came with it was very difficult for me to put into the cage. I know that may sound silly but it just wouldn't stay put! I bought another one (glass) in it's place and it this works perfectly fine, and stays secure in place.
Another thing was the wooden jumping ledge. It seemed really 'cheap' for it was not very secure nor safe in my opinion. As soon as my Chin leaped from it, the force caused it to remove itself from the bars each time despite the nut/bolt.
The last issue I have with it is the extra upper door. At first I thought it was going to be great but then I realized after putting all the shelving in it, that the door takes away space from putting more accessories in it. (I hope that made sense haha) I think just one door is ideal and easy.
Some adjustments that would make this cage better in my eyes would be making the bar spacing smaller, including more shelves (because there is a lot of room!), and not having the extra door.
Overall this is a great starter kit for anyone whom is planning on getting a Chinchilla.Or if you already own multiple Chins and you are looking for a nice spacious cage for their chins to play in. :) ♥
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kaytee Complete Chinchilla Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Starter Set

PostedJune 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
mandasaur08
from Arlington, Tx
I've had this cage for about 2 weeks and so far so good.
Pretty easy to set up, although the leaping ledge scared me at first. I tried to put is on the sides of the cage like the pictures but the only sturdy place i found for it was towards the front of the cage.
My Chinchilla Munchie didn't like the treats it came with.
You definitely need some more things for your chinchilla to chew on before it starts to chew on the cage.
Great overall!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kaytee Complete Chinchilla Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedFebruary 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
oliverthechinchilla
from Beaumont, TX
Hello my names oliver the chinchilla..i was bought around christmas time of 08 at petco and my owner thinks im the best pet ever =] she also bought me this cage and she thinks its easy to clean only takes around 15-20mins and i roll around in my ball while she cleans it..It came with everything i needed except hay,bath house and sand..but its been a great home and ive been a good boy and havent chewed much except the egde of the bowl alittle and my wooden ledge and theres plenty of room for me to run around and play and with a few extras like a place to hide and stuff to chew on its awesome!...I love this chinchilla home =]
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kaytee Complete Chinchilla Kit
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

May Have Problems

PostedDecember 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
LilWitzy
This cage was good for my chinchilla's at first but after a while the leaping ledge snaped and broke the wire and both of my chinchilla's escaped. The other problem we had was that they destroyed the water bottle, now we have glass bottles and ate away at the bowl. They also chewed up the plastic ledges and i've had the cage for about a year now it's still holding up but all the "fun" in the cage is now destroyed. The only part left is the plastic bottom and the wires
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kaytee Complete Chinchilla Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Overall good starter kit

PostedAugust 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
FateReaper
from Thousand Oaks, CA
This kit comes with a great assortment of items to help you get started with your pet. There seems to be 2 varieties of supplies that come with it though, so don't be surprised if you receive carefresh bedding instead of softsorbent or vice versa.
The cage itself is working well so far for my chinchilla that I've had for just about a week. She hasn't chewed through any bars or on the base, but she has nibbled a little bit on the ramps. While the base is fairly high, a jumping chinchilla will still manage to knock out some bedding.
It really is simple to set up and is quite spacious. There is easily enough room to add a hide box and even a wheel. Since the set-up is easy, it follows that the takedown and cleanup is relatively easy as well. Everything can just pop apart and be taken elsewhere to wash/wipe down.
My only downside so far with this kit is that my chinchilla enjoy the supplied treats, but that will obviously vary depending on your pet. Definitely recommended starter kit for new owners that can become a nice home with a few minor additions or modifications.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kaytee Complete Chinchilla Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Cage

PostedJuly 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
dyrdekfan1
from houston,tx
I bought this cage for my chinchilla kirby and she chewed through the wire and escaped. Sturdy cage and easy to clean but make sure you check for broken wires
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Kaytee Complete Chinchilla Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great for adult rats!

PostedMay 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
BlueTongueSkink
from Broomfield, CO
This cage is great for adult or large sized rats! The bar spacing is 1inch so it's too wide for smaller, slender rats because they could escape.
Everything in this kit works perfectly, except you'll need to buy mouse/rat food to replace the chin food.
It has a large sized base and several levels which are fantastic for frisky rats.
They love to leap-n-ledge too! They climb on it and chew it, so it serves two jobs!
Since the base is plastic there is the chance of them chewing it, but I use super pet cages for all my small animals and none of them have ever chewed through their cage. To be safe I add a lot of chew toys.
Overall this is a really awesome cage and it's great for chins, rats and maybe even ferrets!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Kaytee Complete Chinchilla Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

the is a good cage

PostedFebruary 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
matthew7672
I have recently got this cage for my birthday for new Chinchilla. at first i thought it would be to big. then i saw that my chinchilla enjoye dit and got comtfortable with it. i would highly recommened it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Kaytee Complete Chinchilla Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wonderful cage

PostedJanuary 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rainsong
from OR
The cage is wonderful. It is spacious, easy access.
There's only two issues. Because of the front two doors, it's very hard to place hammocks if your pet likes them. And the shelves hold urine and food particles in the indented portion.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Kaytee Complete Chinchilla Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great cage!

PostedJanuary 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
shortgirl411
This cage is fantastic! I have three chinchillas and loads of toys and stuff for them to do inside. There's room for ledges, wheels, igloos, and more! It's easy to clean and get the chinchillas out of.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Kaytee Complete Chinchilla Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

the most amazing kit ever

PostedJanuary 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
kenn
my brother just got a chinchilla for his birthday and he didnt know what products to get so my friend requested the my first home kit for chinchilallas and my brothers chinchilla is the happiest chinchilla you will ever see. i deffintally recommend this product if you are just getting a chinchilla and need help getting started
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>