petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe Pet Screen Door

PetSafe Pet Screen Door

It's the pet door for your screen door or windowSwinging screen pet door with metal mesh screen snaps directly onto your existing screen for quick and easy installationHigh impact polypropylene frame dog doorsModel P1-ZB-11
Average Customer Rating:
3.762 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
2
15 out of 21(71%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe Pet Screen Door
Review 1 for PetSafe Pet Screen Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

works great if you follow advice of previous buyers

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from ri
should offer another version off door with pre-drilled holes and hardware to attach to screen.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Pet Screen Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fit great, looks better than I imagined

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from CA
Love the way the door looks. Our dog got it down in a day. Very pleased would recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Pet Screen Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EASY TO INSTALL

PostedMay 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
from MEXICO
I'm very satisfied with this product because my dog can go in and out easily and we keep our house free of mosquitos
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Pet Screen Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product

PostedApril 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Arkansas
My brother installed this and said it appeared a bit flimsy. I hope it lasts because it a great idea and fits my needs perfectly. Only time will tell.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Pet Screen Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to install

PostedSeptember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Wisconsin
This door is perfect. Super easy to install, and cats LOVE it. Other pet doors use the existing window/door screen, which makes the door difficult to open for some cats This one has its own screen, works great, swings easily. Really great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Pet Screen Door
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

So So....

PostedApril 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Miami Beach, FL
A great idea but frame is flimsy and came apart the same day it was put in. I now have double edge tape holding the frame together.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Pet Screen Door
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth it.

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
from AZ
I purchased this at a Petco store in Chandler. Followed all directions and immediately had problems. The little plastic lock broke off the first day. By the end of the first week, the door became loose and one of the pieces that held the door in place simply broke off.
Needless to say, by the end of the first month we had to use various techniques to even keep the swinging door in place, and by the second month the dog (who only weighs 12 lbs) came through it and took the entire thing out of the screen door.
I have now replaced the screen in the full door and am looking to purchase some other brand of doggie door which is more stable.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Pet Screen Door
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Quite an Ordeal to Install and Use

PostedMarch 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Tampa, Florida
It was just what we needed for our screened entryway to the house. However, we tried to install the door ourselves but couldn't, so we had to pay a screening professional to install it. He was able to install it, but it popped out of the screen shortly after he left when I was trying to teach my cat how to use it. Now we must have the door installed again and will need to reinforce it with metal bars. It may eventually work, but it's a lot more of an ordeal than advertised.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Pet Screen Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Surprisingly Cool!!!!

PostedAugust 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Portland, OR
I bought this door because my annoying cat will chew through the screen trying to get out of the house. After changing the screen ....again!.... I decided to google a pet door for the screen as a "what if". Low an behold -- IT DOES EXIST! The reviews had been mixed, but I have to say I love this contraption. It's super easy to install. Because others complained about it coming apart, I hot-glued some sections of the frame as I snapped it together. Why not? If it fails, you've already cut a hole in your screen anyway. Being that mine is for a cat, I don't think I'll have a problem. Not sure it would hold up to a dog since they are a bit rougher with things.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
18of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Pet Screen Door
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Nice but not durable

PostedOctober 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Lakeland, FL
We have two little dogs 6 lbs and 12 lbs and I bought this earlier this year (2010). Followed the instructions for installation and after about a week it a came apart and I had to re-screen and reinstall all over again. Shortly after it came apart again. This time I went to the hardware store and bought screws with capped nuts. I put the screws in all 4 corners and 4 center areas. It no longer comes apart. However about a week ago one of the hinges broke and the door fell of but the frame is still intact. So now I got take it apart and bring it back to Petco for an exchange. It has a lifetime warranty so I shouldn't have any issues returning it.
Overall the door works but the installation process is a bit of pain and the door is not very durable. I am going to give this one more go around before I look for alternative doors.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+20points
25of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Pet Screen Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedJune 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Templeton, PA
I purchased this door with some reservation, but honestly...it was one of the best things I've ever purchased! Easy installation and works wonderfully. My Yorkie, Roadhouse, was a bit apprehensive to use it at first but now he absolutely LOVES it. I had to tape the locking slots open because Roadhouse would nudge it on the way out the door then one side would be locked and he couldn't get back in...but that is a minor adjustment. I could probably take the tape off now since he just goes right through it now.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Pet Screen Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

soooo easy to install!

PostedMay 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
from the beautiful Jersey Shore
I am pretty much handiperson challenged! The directions on the box are awful, but the ones on petco.com were simple, easy to follow, plain English.. It didn't take me 10 minutes to put this in, and my Yorkies LOVE it! I highly recommend it!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Pet Screen Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Decision fior warm weather

PostedNovember 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Stockton, CA
THis door was easy t install on my existing screen patio door. It has held up for 10 years and this year is the first time replacing the entire door. The only drawback is it can only be used in warm weather areas because you have to leave the glass door open.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe Pet Screen Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy to install

PostedAugust 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
This product was easy to install. The directions could be made easier the pictures were not very clear. All in all my cat loves it and I do too. Would recommend this for anyone with a small pet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe Pet Screen Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedApril 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Pennsylvania
The cats and dog learned very quickly how to use this screen door......It was very easy to install too!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe Pet Screen Door
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

doogy

PostedDecember 3, 2007
Customer Avatar
likes it soft easy fast and fun
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe Pet Screen Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent,!!!!

PostedSeptember 12, 2007
Customer Avatar
The trick to this door is as follows.!!!! Re-screen your door using the thicker polyester pet screening..you can get this as tight as a drum without it tearing. It is a thicker product than the regular screening. Follow the instructions but put the screen door on your garage floor so you have a solid surface to work on. When you cut out the hole for the door put a 1"x 2" piece of wood under both sides of the door, but watch that you do not put the wood under the small locking clips. Put on the top half of the door in the correct location and do not use the mallet, Put a piece of a 1" x 2" over the top of the top piece and use a larger hammer to pound the top and the bottom pieces together. You have a solid base with the garage floor and the wood to protect the pet door from damage. The screen being slightly thicker than a regular screening will hold the two pieces together with no problem, After pounding in both sides then do the top and bottom of the door. This is the third one I have put in with no problems at all.....Try it. Good luck with your purchase...it works.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe Pet Screen Door
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

poor quality

PostedAugust 29, 2007
Customer Avatar
I thought this was the coolest thing ever since I live in Military houseing and can not put one in the door. It feel apart the first day. I have super glued, hot glued and duct taped the thing to keep it together. NOT worth the money!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe Pet Screen Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedApril 20, 2007
Customer Avatar
from MN
We bought this 3 years ago. So easy to use, and simple to install. My cat loves going out on our enclosed deck, but he wants in & out every 5 minutes. I think he thinks it's a game. I was getting tired of getting up to let him in & out, so when we saw this, we had to get it. Ozzy just loves it, a little scared at first as he kept getting his tail caught in the door, he would stop when his body got through, but not his tail, but he finally learned to take a run at it.
Unfortunately we got a new patio door this winter, and forgot to take the pet door out. I'm on my way to get another one today!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe Pet Screen Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy Cats!!

PostedMarch 13, 2007
Customer Avatar
from hemlock, ny
I purchsed a pet screen door by this manufacturer- (still the only one who makes them i believe) probably a good 5-6 or more years ago, and am still using the original one! I put it in a small window in my laundry room, which goes out by an enclosed walkway into an outdoor cat pen. The cats just love it! It stays open just about year round- every winter i cover the whole window screen, and screen door, with clear plastic attached with double-sided tape- cutting thru the plastic, around the pet door frame with a knife after attaching the plastic, to make a "storm door" out of it- so that the window can stay open in all but the worst, coldest, windiest weather. It has seen some major wear and tear from cat clawing over the years and is now plasticked itself, and I will be replacing it soon i guess. but it is still functioning after all these years, and I will buy one again! it definitely makes for happy cats!!!
i have had the cats occasionally pull it free from the window screen (you have to be careful to leave enough screen inside the pieces for it to anchor solidly to) but i have never had any touble getting it to secure again! it is very durable and i have even hit it with a metal hammer or even stepped on it to get the two halves to attach together again, and it has never even cracked! pretty durable for plastic i would say!!!
I highly recommend it for cats.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>