petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petstages Orka Chew Toy for Dogs

Petstages Orka Chew Toy for Dogs

Satisfy your dog's desire to chew with this unique line of long-lasting toysThis veterinarian approved toy is made of durable, non-toxic material that's ideal for power chewers
Average Customer Rating:
3 / 5
3
 / 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 37 reviews
5 stars
17
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
16
18 out of 37(49%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petstages Orka Chew Toy for Dogs
Review 1 for Petstages Orka Chew Toy for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Stick to Kong

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
MayPep
from Tx
My 6 month old 11 pound Chi/Beagle/Jack Russell mix chewed pieces out of this within minutes of having it. Found rubber pieces all over the floor. Saving them and planning on a refund. Stick to Kong...she hasn't ripped that apart yet.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petstages Orka Chew Toy for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't waste your money

PostedAugust 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Fran614
from RI
This product is supposed to be great for power chewers. My 30 lb terrier mix had it chewed in pieces within 30 minutes. I'll stick with kong.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petstages Orka Chew Toy for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible Toy

PostedOctober 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
MeandDash
from Nashville, TN
My 3 month old puppy (Cavalier Spaniel) ingested the tassles within 1 minute of me giving it to her. I returned the toy for a refund. I saw the whole tassles in her feces later that day.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petstages Orka Chew Toy for Dogs
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

it's okay

PostedMarch 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Scoobie
I got the toy for my 4 month old puppy. She loved it at first, however soon after chewed through the plastic part that I found small pieces around the apartment. Just threw it out, it lasted about 2 weeks, maximum.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petstages Orka Chew Toy for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Quick toy turnaround

PostedDecember 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jessenia
My puggle loves it but he chewed right threw fabric part in less than an hour...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petstages Orka Chew Toy for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Easily chewed apart

PostedDecember 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
beachybob
My portuguese water dog chewed off half the plastic part of the toy in 30 minutes.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petstages Orka Chew Toy for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of money for larger dogs

PostedAugust 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Weimdaddy
from Baltimore, Md
Don't waste your money on this product if you have a large animal who likes to chew.
I purchased this product as it promised it was for "power chewers" who were anywhere between puppies and seniors.
It lasted maybe 10 minutes with my weimaraner.
I feel that the product was strongly misrepresented in the packaging. The packaging shows a larger dog chewing on the toy, and states that it will last a long time and was designed for "power chewers".
I will stick with the black KONG product for my guy. Don't waste your time and money with this toy.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petstages Orka Chew Toy for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not durable

PostedJune 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
MangotheDachshund
from Cutler Bay,FL
I bought this toy for my 7 month old miniature Dachshund...it took him about 15 min to take a piece out of the edge. It is sold as a chewing toy for dogs all ages and all sizes...but it didn't last 15 min and my dog weights about 12 Lbs!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petstages Orka Chew Toy for Dogs
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Interesting but not long lasting

PostedMay 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
SZGinCA
from CA
We bought the gripper (blue rubber center with raised rings and 3 fabric pieces portruding from each end). Our 4 month old GSD puppy tore 1 of the fabric ends and starting pulling out the stuffing within an hour of us giving it to her. It did interest her and it's a good concept, but not very durable.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petstages Orka Chew Toy for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

A 10 minute toy

PostedMarch 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Bluzy
My Australian Cattle Dog - aka Blue Heeler - is hard on toys. This one lasted maybe 10 minutes before one of the ends broke off.
These are NOT for agressive play dogs. Too bad, but these toys are manufactured in pieces and glued together. I think they'd be great if they were molded as one piece.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petstages Orka Chew Toy for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

chewed apart in minutes

PostedFebruary 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
gigilee
this supposed tough chew toy did not last very long with my lab/pitbull mix. Within 30 minutes he had pulled pieces of the plastic off completely and I had to take it away from him. This brand was recommended by staff and friends and was not worth the rather high price. I also bought a similar product which was similarly damaged by a pit bull/hound mix puppy that was only 4-5 months old at the time.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petstages Orka Chew Toy for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Orka Jack Rocks!

PostedFebruary 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
VVD32
from Florida
My big dog loves this toy!! You can put treats or kibbles in the holes, he loves to chew on it (and has not punctured it or ripped it yet, very strong rubber toy). It is a great toy for the pool and when thrown or kicked it bounces all around in chaotic patterns and my dog loves to throw it & chase it around. Great product for big dogs, especially chewers, very durable.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petstages Orka Chew Toy for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very fun.. while it lasted

PostedJanuary 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
lotsofpets426
This toy stayed in tact for about a week and a half and during that time all of my dogs had fun with it. We played fetch with it and it rolled & bounced a lot so it made it fun for them to go after it. Due to it's shape it also changed directions a lot which they liked trying to keep after it.
But, after that time passed they started taking chunks out of the pieces that stick out.
Not good for heavy (or maybe even moderate) chewers. Would definitely be a fun toy to play fetch with and then put away so they couldn't keep chewing it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petstages Orka Chew Toy for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stands up to power chewer

PostedJanuary 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
angleyez
from upstate new york
My power chewer has been unable to destroy the Orka's I have given her. The ropes and other things inside do not last so long, she destroys those right away, but the Orka stands up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petstages Orka Chew Toy for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Destroyed

PostedJanuary 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
grayghost
from AZ
The cloth chews were torn apart within 5 minutes by my weimaraner. The rubber portion lasted another 5 minutes before I took it away. May be good for mild chewers, probably not even for moderate chewers. The other toys by this company were made of the same material when inspected at the store. I will be avoiding all of them.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petstages Orka Chew Toy for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

my dog loves this thing

PostedNovember 27, 2007
Customer Avatar
kchapp
I have a boston and he loves to chew and destroy. although he has ripped all the ribbons out of the rubber part he still carries them around everywhere. He absolutely loves this toy even though he has torn it to pieces. I will only by Petstages toys for him from now on.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petstages Orka Chew Toy for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Please save your money

PostedOctober 8, 2007
Customer Avatar
greatdanemom
I bought it in the store and am sorry I didn't read reviews on it prior to purchasing it. My 6 month old dane puppy chewed chunks out of this toy in 30 minutes
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petstages Orka Chew Toy for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

PostedSeptember 4, 2007
Customer Avatar
Sutphen
I bought this for my 6 month old Lab. it took him approx 20 minutes to completely destroy it. I do not recommend for any type of large breed chewer!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petstages Orka Chew Toy for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

lots of fun

PostedSeptember 1, 2007
Customer Avatar
punkylove2001
My puppy loves this toy. It goes everywhere with her!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petstages Orka Chew Toy for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Destroyed in under 5 minutes

PostedJune 26, 2007
Customer Avatar
mcchaus
If you have a dog that likes to chew, do not buy this toy. We bought this for our one year old lab to keep him busy during the day since he likes to methodically disassemble things. It appeared to be perfect... tough rubber with high resilience nylon ribbons inside... perfect for him to tug to his heart's content. However, within 5 minutes of introducing the toy to him he had ripped the stuffing out of all three ribbons, and destroyed the rubber casing on the outside. He was very satisfied... I on the other hand do not share his glee. I'm sure this would be a great toy for a dog that is a mild to moderate chewer, but if your pet is anything more than that, avoid this toy and look for something more durable.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>