petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Heater

Zoo Med Hermit Crab Heater

Warm your hermit crab's home to just the right temperature with our Zoo Med Hermit Crab HeaterThis mini-sized under tank heater is designed to help maintain the proper temperature and humidity levels in small hermit crab enclosures
Average Customer Rating:
3.546 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
4
14 out of 22(64%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Heater
Review 1 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Heater
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works and pretty cheap

PostedOctober 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
FavysMom
from PA
The price is good for this little heater. It works well at maintaining the temperature in my crab's aquarium. The part of the sticky backing closest to the power cable doesn't stay stuck to the aquarium though, so that's' why I gave it 4 'paws' instead of 5.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Heater
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not Too Good

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Wyvern
from Saugus, CA
I'm going to get hermit crabs soon so I bought this from my local Petco store. I stuck it on the back of my 10 gallon tank and it barely heats it up. Only the part of the glass that it is touching is slightly warm. Is it supposed to warm it to 72 degrees only? The substrate is still around or below 70 degrees. I put a jacket around the back of the tank. Maybe it'll help contain the heat? O.o
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
8of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Heater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this heater is very dependable,long lasting,

PostedOctober 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
mike57
from san diego
i had my last heater for the hermies,it lasted over 5 years and i stll have it,,great product
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Heater
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad Product

PostedJuly 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
GamerGirl1990
from TN
I purchased this heater to heat my crabs tank and you can barley feel the heat through the glass .What a waste of $20.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
4of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Heater
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

May be defective

PostedApril 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lucky7065
from Indiana, PA
I have had this heater for my hermit crabs for 3 months now. After not very long, it started making a random 'zzt' sound likes there's something wrong with it. It does the trick, it heats the tank by a few degrees, but this noise concerns me. I think I'm buying a new one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Heater
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not so much

PostedJanuary 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
StephyB
from Tulsa, Ok
The adhesive didn't stick well, I'm guessing that was due to the fact that the manufacturer put it in a box that was just a tad bit too small! Since it was a little bent inside the box some of the adhesive backing wasn't attached when I took it out of the packaging. I used it for a small "crabitat" and it made zero difference in temperature. Boo.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Heater
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Alright I guess

PostedNovember 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
QueenotSmileys
from Long Beach, CA
I bought this to help heat my Madagascar Hissing Cockroach cage, and it does all right except that the adhesive doesn't hold too well. Had to use electrical tape to hold it on, and now it looks kinda bad. Serves its purpose though, I guess.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Heater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Buy

PostedSeptember 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
BethanneNC
from Kernersville, NC
I got this today for my 2.5 gallon hermit crab habitat. I decided to get it because Lillian & Melvin were lethargic in their wire cage and didn't move around like the manual said they should...given the heat and humidity were correct in their enclosure.
I put it underneath the heated aquarium (as specified) this morning and at 3:00 p.m. today I put in the temperature/humidity gauge and it is now 4:30 and the heat in the tank is 79 and the humidity is 75, which is perfect! Already Melvin & Lillian are moving around and being more active.
I would definitely recommend this product for a friend but I can see how it may not heat a 5 gallon or more adequately.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Heater
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Nope, too small for my tank.

PostedMay 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Animals96
from California, CA
Uh, well, this heats only 5 gallon tanks and under. You need at least a 10 gallon tank for hermit crabs. Do Not Buy This! If you have under a 10 gallon tank, your hermit crabs won't get the full healthiness that they need!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Heater
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

ummm............

PostedApril 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Adil
does not heat 20 gallon tank
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Heater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It really works!

PostedJanuary 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
HamsterMaybe
from Estherville, IA
I got this for my Hermit Crab, Hermella, and she LOVED it! She always slept in my room. Hermella, you will be missed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Heater
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

pretty good

PostedNovember 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
thefeastismine
I am currently using this heater on a five gallon acrylic tank. The heater keeps the temperature in the tank at 71 and I use a 15 watt lamp to supplement that which gets the temperature to about 76 during the day. I was expecting it to heat the tank more than that though.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Heater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

VERY GOOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

PostedJune 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
petlover21
from california
I kept this heater on my 3 gallon hermit crab tank and it heated it wonderfully!!! If you use it on a tank bigger than 5 gallons it does not heat it enough.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Heater
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Buy it

PostedMay 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
gomarky
from Arizona chandler
I love iti had to constantly spray until i got it now i can use my spare time for other stuff then come back every 5 minutes look in zoo med starter kit for coupons there worth it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Heater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent choice for acrylic tanks

PostedNovember 29, 2007
Customer Avatar
one2many
I have a 3 gal lided/floresent lighted acrylic tank w/ 5" of EcoEarth. The directions state to apply UTH to the side of tank for acrylic tanks (NEVER under) toward bottom of tank wall. Works like a charm. Salt water moistened EE w/ heater (enough EE is in tank to cover heater on side wall) keeps 3 gal tank at low 70's temp w/o light to high 70's low 80's w/ light and 70-80% humidity. Hermies love to tunnel and play in deep EE and have temp varience from front to back of tank w/ UTH on back wall.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Heater
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

it is okay but....

PostedOctober 11, 2007
Customer Avatar
vballcolonels
Its okay,but it is heating my crabitat way to fast.befor I got my hermie,I turned it on to get the crabitat the right temp. but it heated up way to fast!It got up to 90 degress,so i turned it off and now everything is perfect.I really like the slimness cause I thought it was going to buldge everywhere.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Heater
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

bad bad bad

PostedSeptember 24, 2007
Customer Avatar
lovetheselittleguys
This heater will not heat my hermit crab incloser. Everytime i spray them they have to sit against the side of the cage just to keep warm. To top it all off this thing is peeling off the cage. I know its not soposed to do that. this thing does not work. DONT BY IT.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Heater
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not Warm

PostedJuly 8, 2007
Customer Avatar
crazy
This product is nice but is not really warming my hermit crab encloser. I am a new owner and i dont have a thermometer yet..... So mabey it is working, But it dosent feel like it. I am sure that it is tho....
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Heater
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great for hermie lovers

PostedJune 30, 2007
Customer Avatar
petcofan11
my hermit crab loves this product as much as i do i think that the only problem is that if you put it in the middle of the bottom of the tank it only gives heat to that area so try to put it on the place that your h.m goes the mot but overal i love it(and so does elvis!!)
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Heater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJanuary 17, 2007
Customer Avatar
Itsme
from Ontario
I use this for my hermit crabs, do NOT put it on the bottom, rather the side because it might burn burrying crabs, overall great heat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>