petco.com Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At petco.com

Customer Reviews for Hill's Science Diet Adult Hairball Control Canned Cat Food

Hill's Science Diet Adult Hairball Control Canned Cat Food

Great tasting nutrition for the lifelong health of your petVeterinarian recommended, complete and balanced food for adult cats has special, all-natural vegetable fibers that aid in bringing hairball problems under control
Average Customer Rating:
4.9 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
5 stars
18
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
20 out of 20(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hill's Science Diet Adult Hairball Control Canned Cat Food
Review 1 for Hill's Science Diet Adult Hairball Control Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

MY CATS LOVE IT WAY TOO MUCH!!!

PostedApril 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
NYCPETSR4ME
from NYC
My cats go crazy for this wet food! The downside is they constantly beg for it ALL DAY! UGH! I can't even sleep at night because they wake me up to be fed!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hill's Science Diet Adult Hairball Control Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This flavor is popular with my cats.

PostedMarch 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
jwis
from Tampa
I have been buying this food for years for my cats and it never seems to get old. It also seems to be effective at reducing the number of hairballs they get. They have very long, dense fur so this is important with them. Hill's is definitely one of the more expensive brands but I do think it is worth it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hill's Science Diet Adult Hairball Control Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It works.

PostedMarch 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
elph
from USA
A little too well for daily feeding in my cat's case. But it does work. I am grateful that there is a product that brings up hairballs for my ticked fur cat that does not require me greasing her stomach with mineral oil. And she likes the food. However, if she is on it for too many days in a row she starts barfing little bits of hair that can't be called so much a hairball as a hair marble, so I have scaled this food back for rotation instead of daily feeding. I feel much better about the ingredients in this can than I do about the ingredients in the hairball remedies I was relying on before.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hill's Science Diet Adult Hairball Control Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My cat won't touch any other canned food!

PostedNovember 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Snowball15
from Paragould, AR
I have a 16-year old extremely finicky Siamese with hairball issues. She even had to have surgery several years ago to remove massed hairballs in her gut. She is on prescription medication but needed to be eating a cat food with hairball control. I decided to try this out a few months ago and am so glad. Before trying this, I bought every expensive food on the market for hairballs. She hated them all. When I bought this, I really didn't have any expectations. She not only loved it but has eaten 6 CASES of it since! Needless to say, I will definitely keep buying this cat food and will recommend it highly. If my cat loves it (the originial Miss Finicky), then I'm sure other cats will love it too. Also, since she started eating this food, she sheds less, has far fewer hairballs and is more playful. I can't say enough good things about this food. I'm just so happy to have finally found something to help with her hairballs that she actually loves. Thank you for this great product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hill's Science Diet Adult Hairball Control Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hairball Controll

PostedOctober 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
GracieAnnieTrixie
from New York, NY
our finicky cats love the taste and we love that our girls don't suffer coughing up hairballs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hill's Science Diet Adult Hairball Control Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My cats love it.

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
gntpat
from Vashon, Washington
One long haired cat "lost his breakfast" when eating another canned food. Now, he keeps his food down and hopefully is able to get rid of his hairballs. All three cats go crazy when a can is opened. They love the aroma and love the food.
I'm glad I can get it on a subscription basis. I wont have to worry about shopping.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hill's Science Diet Adult Hairball Control Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product for hairball control

PostedOctober 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
dlinecoach53
Does an excellent job of hairball prevention. Our cat has been hairball free since using it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hill's Science Diet Adult Hairball Control Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good for cats with hairballs

PostedAugust 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
RLBM
from Damascus, MD
This is a good product for controlling hairballs. Our cats love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hill's Science Diet Adult Hairball Control Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dolly Madison Loves It!

PostedJuly 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Shelbert
from Bedminster, NJ
Dolly Madison used to eat a different brand and then the manufacturer stopped making it. Oh No! I spoke to my vet and he advised to try Hill's Science Diet, well she loves it! Enhales the whole can in one sitting. Thank you Hill's Science Diet!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hill's Science Diet Adult Hairball Control Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very effective

PostedSeptember 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
daisyl376
from Barneveld, NY
My 15 year old cat had a terrible problem with hairballs. Since I switched to Hill's Hairball control this past winter, the problem has almost disappeared. Oh yeah, the occaissional hairball turns up but not every day!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hill's Science Diet Adult Hairball Control Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJuly 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
lovemytwocats
My cats love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hill's Science Diet Adult Hairball Control Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hill's Science Diet Hairball Control Adult Cat

PostedFebruary 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
ishie
from NEW YORK, N.Y.
I have been using Hill's Science Diet Hairball Control Adult Cat Canned Food now for at about the last 3 years and it works. My 2 Cats are really feeling alot better and are much happier these days too. I am happy also.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hill's Science Diet Adult Hairball Control Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Highly recommended.

PostedFebruary 4, 2007
Customer Avatar
GreenMillie
from Silver Spring, MD
I'm really glad I discovered this food. My two cats had been having trouble with hairballs and constipation. Their vet recommended that we stop feeding them dry food and just give them canned food, mixed with a large spoonfull of canned pumpkin. It has made a remarkable difference and improvement in our lives. After two weeks of this new diet, their coats feel and look softer and glossier, they seem happier and more spunky, and we haven't had any messes on the carpet at all. We used to get them almost every day. I'm really happy with this Science Diet product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hill's Science Diet Adult Hairball Control Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Both cats love it!

PostedApril 5, 2006
Customer Avatar
Missy & Otto's mom
from St. Paul, MN
I have two cats, one who eats everything he is offered; the other a finicky eater. Hairballs have been a problem for Shady and I have used petromalt in the past. I discovered the canned product just browing through canned food to use as a supplement to dry and seafood caught my eye. Both cats really love this product and our longhaired fussy girl begs for her allotment. Her hairballs have really diminished. What I like is the food smell is quite appealing.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Hill's Science Diet Adult Hairball Control Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great, "new " has less in can

PostedDecember 25, 2005
Customer Avatar
Kitty's mom
from Cincinnati, OH
Eight years ago, a long-haired stray cat decided to move into my home. I'm sure ya'll know how they do that... Anyway, at her first vet visit, I was advised to feed her Laxatone - essentially a petroleum gel - every day for hairballs or "You'll regret it."
That didn't seem nutritionally sound to me, since the gel can prevent absorption of nutrients, so I looked about for other ways to control or minimize her voluminous fur balls. I tried sprinkling psyllium powder onto her food, as a friend suggested, but that didn't work for us. Then I discovered Hill's Science Diet Hairball Control Formula Kibble. She's thrived on the kibble for the past 7 years, with at most one or two hairball incidents per year. In her case, the fur passed through harmlessly and ended up in the litter box.

This summer her food consumption dropped, and what little she ate often came right back up still in its neat little pyramid shape. She lost weight she couldn't afford to lose, being pretty skinny to start with. After thyroid and kidney tests found nothing alarming, my vet said she was probably just experiencing digestion problems due to aging. So I switched to the canned version of Hairball Control Formula, which is easier to digest.

Her appetite is back (in retrospect, I probably should have tried switching to canned first before coughing up $$$ for tests!) and she seems to be thriving once more. It comes in two flavors, chicken and seafood, and she gobbles down both equally. But the canned version doesn't seem as effective as the dry. She now battles with a hairball about once a month. Which is more than she used to, but still FAR less than one might expect from a cat with long fur. So, we're happy.

But I did want to call attention to the fact that Hill's recently changed the formula for the canned food, and that the feeding recommendation per 10 lbs. has increased from 1 1/4 - 1 3/4 cans to 1 1/3 - 2 cans. The moisture has increased from 76% to 78%...which is obvious because it's quite soupy. The difference in feeding recommendations is equivalent to having shrunk the can by nearly 1/2 an ounce. I'm concerned that if people don't carefully read the new label, they'll just keep feeding according to the old recommendations and won't realize their cat is possibly undernourished. So I'm using this forum to let people know.

Here is the Guaranteed Analysis per can for the old and new formula as found on the cans:

OLD: Crude Protein Min. 8%; Crude Fat Min. 4.8%; Crude Fiber Max 2.7%; Moisture Max 76%; Ash Max. 2.2%; Calcium Min 0.22%; Phosphorus Min. .11%; Magnesium Max. 0.023%; Taurine Min. 0.1%
*FEEDING RECOMMENDATION: Feed 1 1/4 - 1 3/4 cans daily for a 10 lb. cat. Adjust as needed

NEW IMPROVED: Crude Protein Min. 7.5%; Crude Fat Min. 4.0%; Crude Fiber Max. 3.0%; Moisture Max. 78%; Ash Max 2.0%; Calcium Min. 0.15%; Phosphorus Min 0.1%; Magnesium Max 0.02%; Taurine Min. 0.1%.
*FEEDING RECOMMENDATION: Feed 1 1/3 - 2 cans daily for a 10 lb. cat. Adjust as needed
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.