petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe Box Chain Link Dog Runs

PetSafe Box Chain Link Dog Runs

Complete full-size chain link kennel kit for outdoor dog kennel runs features rust-resistant galvanized steel construction, a gate, all components and step-by-step instructionsEasy assembly only requires the use of common hand toolsDog runs are offered in a variety of sizesIncludes models 75745, 7126, and HBK19-11925
Average Customer Rating:
3.739 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(46 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 46 reviews
5 stars
17
4 stars
14
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 star
4
35 out of 46(76%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for PetSafe Box Chain Link Dog Runs
Review 1 for PetSafe Box Chain Link Dog Runs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

a bit disappointing

PostedNovember 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
NotSoEvilMomster
from Caldwell, ID
The description of how easy this is to put together is extremely misleading. :Putting together the frame was a piece of cake - stretching and fitting the wire and securing it to the frame was a major undertaking. Once completely done (a several day process after work each day) I found the entire enclosure to be a bit flimsy. This product would be greatly improved if the 4' sides came with the sides preattached to the frame -- my hands hurt from using the wire bars to attach each and every top and bottom diamond to the frame to ensure my puppy does not escape (again) as she did the first time.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Box Chain Link Dog Runs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Did it myself

PostedMay 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Grampa68
from Douglasville, GA
I purchased the 10X10 Chain Link Dog Run. It is going to be for my new chickens, not a dog. I have to say it wasn't too bad to put together. Took about 2.5 hrs by myself. The frame and gate were easy to put together. The difficult part was the chain link itself. It was a bit difficult to do alone. Biggest problem seemed to be that the gauge of the wire could have been heavier since the top loops kept getting bent allowing the connecting loop to get free. All in all I am satisfied with the finished product. I would not recommend it for an aggressive dog since the wire seemed a bit weak.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Box Chain Link Dog Runs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PetSafe Box Chain Link Dog Run

PostedOctober 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Agking
from Datil, NM
Excellent product and easy to assemble. No missing or damaged parts.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
7of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Box Chain Link Dog Runs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Good luck on the preassembled gate.

PostedJune 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
DWKZ
from Seattle, Wa
They seem to send out preassembled and unassembled gates at random. It's a crapshoot whether or not your gate will arrive in pieces or not.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Box Chain Link Dog Runs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

very disappointing

PostedMay 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
jackifromtrenton
from trenton, nj
i purchased the 7 x 12 x 6 dog run for my dog. waste of money. first of all, it was extremely hard to put together and i had 2 people doing it. second, this was no match for my dog. she's a 2 year old pit mix and was able to break through the wires and get out. i then flipped this kennel over so the broken wires were on top and she went ahead and broke through the wires on the botton again. i've only had this for a year. i spent too much money on it to get rid of it so now i have to find something strong to place on the bottom so she can't get it. and by the way, it does rust. if your dog is strong and determined, this is not an item you want to spend your money on unless you plan on reinforcing it like i have to do now
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+37points
52of 67voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Box Chain Link Dog Runs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sturdy fence

PostedMay 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
footdoc
from California
So far i am pleased with this fence. I would recommend watching the instruction video on the Petco website. This is definitely a two person project and at minimum two hour project. if you are using a friend you are going to owe them lunch too after putting this together. Gloves are a must. You will need more tools then advertised.. a compete socket set, hammer(for adjustments)and knee pads. It appears thoughtfully designed and should last.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Box Chain Link Dog Runs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

petsafe the box chain link dog runs

PostedApril 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
margieh
from ruston,la.
very nice, my dogs love it! the dogs can't wait to go out side and run and play in thier dog run pen! I would recomend this product to every one with dogs!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Box Chain Link Dog Runs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works for Us

PostedMarch 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
GWR21288
from Burlington, KS
Bought the 7.5 x 7.5 x 4 PetSafe Dog Kennel. It was easy to put together. While this kennel might not be good for all dogs, it works great for our schnauzer and westie.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Box Chain Link Dog Runs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product

PostedFebruary 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
tntheidrick
from Gulf Coast Mississippi
This is my second time buying this product and I think it is a good product. We had 1 dog and ended up adopting 2 more so we had to purchase another one...It is fairly easy to put together. I actually put the frame work together while my husband was at work the only thing I needed him for was to help with the fencing..This product is good but if you have a dog like I have you might want to be prepared...My pit has eaten through the fence on numerous occasions but we were able to repair the fencing with the extra fencing we had...Good product overall!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Box Chain Link Dog Runs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great run

PostedFebruary 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
kitenh
This dog run is the perfect height for our Swisy and it was very easy to put together. Look at your parts, read the directions and it practically builds itself.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Box Chain Link Dog Runs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedNovember 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
DDCC
from Clermont, FL
Easy to build. More pieces then I expected but, still, not hard to put up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Box Chain Link Dog Runs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best purchase ever

PostedNovember 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Livinic
from Upland, CA
I bought this product for my 10 month chocolate lab to be safely contained in my garage while I'm at work and it is wonderful! I have a 2-car garage and this fits nicely with enough room for me to park my car and still have additional space. It took about 4 hours to put together and I will be adding some additional ties to the bottom of the fencing to further secure her in. She loves it....it's enough room for her to play and enjoy herself. I would definitely recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Box Chain Link Dog Runs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good value, hard work

PostedSeptember 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jimw
from Foresthill, CA
The enclosure is shipped via fedex in a large flat box completely disassembled. It took about 8 hours of work by one person, (myself) to assemble it. The frame goes together fairly easily, however the hard work involves stretching the chain link fabric over the frame and fastening it to the frame. The chain link comes in a tight roll, and has an annoying tendency to tangle and partially unravel as it is being unrolled. This would go easier iif done by two persons. Once the chain link is in place, it must be stretched and then attached to the frame with many short lengths of Aluminum wire. Be prepared for doing a lot of work with a good set of needle nose pliers to get this done. It also helps to elevate the end of the enclosure two or three feet to attach the chain link to the bottom of the frame. This allows you to sit as you work and saves your back! I have assembled two of these and the results are a very sturdy enclosure at a great price if you are willing to do the work required to assemble it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe Box Chain Link Dog Runs
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not worth the hassel

PostedSeptember 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
ladiekali
this was a nightmare to put together. first of all, after putting a small dog house inside your pet doesn't have much room. the chain link is so heavy i could not move it alone. there is no way to extend it later. and it was recommended by the company to have 3 men install the chain link. and it was also told to me by the company that it was weak, fragile and flimsy. i returned the fence at a local store. i'm looking at other options.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe Box Chain Link Dog Runs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

deer fence

PostedMay 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
mkadjp
from Salt Lake City
We purchased this 7x 12x 6' high as a deer fence to protect our tomato garden. It was remarkably easy to put up, 2 adults about 3 hours. The fence is very sturdy. I don't know if 6 feet is high enough to keep deer out, but once they get in they probably can't get out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe Box Chain Link Dog Runs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

impressed

PostedMay 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
suerr
I was very impressed with the quick delivery....then with the ease of assembly, I would definitely recommend this item..
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe Box Chain Link Dog Runs
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not my best purchase

PostedMay 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
crush
This kennel is on the flimzy side. For the price of this kennel I thought the guage would be better. The kennel is already put up so I cannot return it.
Some of the fencing separated when putting it together because it is so thin.
I have a small dog so I guess it will suffice but I was dissappointed with it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe Box Chain Link Dog Runs
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice...But

PostedApril 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
triodemike
Overall Construction, very nice. Chain Links are a pain. I actually had to take the links apart and reassemble the ones for the door. The chain link fencing for the overall enclosure I unrolled in the yard to straighten out, (took about 1 hour with the help of my son). I then took a 8" SONOTUBE and rolled the chain link fencing for the overall enclosure on it stood it up to place the fencing on the perimeter of the enclosure. Watch the video on the PETCO site and read the manual completely prior to assembly. I recommend a socket set if you have one for ease of assembly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe Box Chain Link Dog Runs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

dog kennel

PostedApril 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
brianmary08
from Ludowici, GA
it is a good dog kennel but somehow my dogs keep finding a way to get out. I have only had it for about 2 weeks. It takes about 2 or 3 people to put it up but my dogs love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe Box Chain Link Dog Runs
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

not real happy

PostedApril 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
mysta2
the fence was a mess when i recieved it it did take two people to put it together however i was short 3 feet of fencing and yes i pulled and streteched as much as possible i had to go and spend more money for fencing so on the positive it is small enough for my dog will i order something like this again probably not
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>