petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Contech CatStop

Contech CatStop

Keep cats out of your garden, yard, or almost anywhere you don't want them to beUltrasonic deterrent with built-in motion sensor detects an animal entering the protected area and emits a piercing, high decibel alarm which startles the cat and frightens it awayOperates for up to six months on a single 9-volt battery (not included)
Average Customer Rating:
3.7 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
7 out of 10(70%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Contech CatStop
Review 1 for Contech CatStop
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

SEEMS TO WORK FINE

PostedNovember 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
BDF4
from PHOENIX, AZ
I HAD PROBLEMS WITH CATS USING GRANITE YARD FOR TOILET. THESE DEVICES SEEM TO HAVE STOPPED THE PROBLEM. MY ONLY COMPLAINT IS THERE IS NO SIMPLE SWITCH TO TURN THEM OFF WHEN A "GUEST" PET VISITS. I HAVE TO PULL THEM UP AND PUT THEM AWAY UNTIL THE PET LEAVES. A GOOD EXTERNAL ON/OFF SWITCH WOULD BE A GREAT IMPROVEMENT.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-5points
5of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Contech CatStop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This works great

PostedJuly 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Molly94568
from San Francisco Bay Area
We were having problems with cats stinking up our front yard. Since we started using these, we do not have a cat problem. The catstop works great and now the cats do not even try to come in the front yard, Our dogs keep them our of the backyard.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
11of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Contech CatStop
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Worked well....at first

PostedMay 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
PreOre
from Texas
I'll start by saying that we love cats and have one of our own. However, it's one of our neighbor's cats that's the problem. He is outside all the time, he is large and leaves large messes. It's so incredibly irritating to be mowing the lawn or doing any other kind of yard work and to have to encounter his monster poops. We looked into this product, and despite the mixed reviews online, we decided to try it.
It worked extremely well at first. A red LED light comes on the unit when it's triggered. We could see the light and we could also hear a faint clicking sound at the same time. It runs through 9 volt batteries pretty quickly, which we wouldn't mind, if it still worked effectively. The light no longer comes on and it seems that the cat is no longer bothered by it, because we're encountering his "presents" again.
A closer look at the instructions reads "some white cats, older cats and exotic breeds are, by nature, hard of hearing in the upper hearing range and may not be affected." Perhaps that's the situation in our case. It's a pricey option, and we were hoping we had found the answer, but in the end, it didn't work for us.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+40points
45of 50voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Contech CatStop
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

very dissapointed

PostedJanuary 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
CJewett
I was hoping this would solve the problem I am having with neighborhood cats and neighbors angry about their garden and front walk being used as a toilet for all the cats. However this product; Contech CatStop, has proven not to work at all. At first I thought perhaps I was positioning it incorrectly for its effectiveness but I have moved it several times and still has had no effect on the problem we are having. I am truly disappointed that I spent money on this product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
14of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Contech CatStop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

so far so good

PostedSeptember 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
bingoma
from Portland, Oregon
The Contech CatStop I purchased seems to be working so far. Wondering if the cats will cat on and ignore it later on?
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Contech CatStop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Highly Recommend!

PostedFebruary 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
dequis
from Iowa
We purchased the CatStop to get our outside cats to stop getting on the hoods of our cars. After it arrived, my husband played with it inside and we thought it did't work at first because our Bengal didn't even flinch when it was going off. But, our other cat was no where to be found. We took it outside and the first time it went off, the two outside cats ran under one of the cars in a panic almost. We mounted it on the wall and we have not had paw prints on the car for over 2 weeks now! I would recommend this to anyone....as long as you aren't trying to use it on a Bengal! lol
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Contech CatStop
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

contech catstop

PostedSeptember 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
alrev
We have a large yard with chainlink fence, however, cats can go over and under, we have 8 of these in our yard and they work great. We have some inconsiderate neighbors who do not take care of their cats and just keep breeding more. We have only had a couple of messes in our yard since we got these and we relocate one of a mess is found to cover that area and there are no more. I don't know how long they will last and they are a little pricy, but they do the job.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Contech CatStop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Garden - No More Litter Box

PostedAugust 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
ggarris
Several neighbors have cats and have discovered my greenhouse to use as their litter box. We tried several "home remedies" and none really worked. We read someone's online review and thought we would try the CatStop and after two weeks the cats have stayed out of the greenhouse. This is something we can use in all weather - good and bad. It's not just seasonal or prohibitive because of freezing weather. The only drawback is our pet miniature schnauzer won't go into the greenhouse with me now. That's tolerable for now.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Contech CatStop
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Catstop does NOT work

PostedJune 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
CatsonLawn
I bought this Catstop product after trying everything to get cats off my lawn. But this product does not work at all. Even when I was aiming at the cat within feet, the cat did not even blink. I built a fence after all the stuffs I tried.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Contech CatStop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FANTASTIC product that works!

PostedJanuary 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
MauiCatLover
from Hawaii
I live on a cat sanctuary property and a lot of our rescued cats are free roaming. We use these to keep the cats from leaving the property and going to the road or to cat hating neighbors. I was a little worried it would be a waste of money but they are working! I haven't seen a cat on the driveway or by the gate since we put several of them up. I recommend this product not only to keep cats away from your property but to keep them from leaving...especially if you cannot afford the Purrfect Fence like us.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.