petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Avian Adventures Mediana Playtop Bird Cages

Avian Adventures Mediana Playtop Bird Cages

The no nuts and bolts approach to premium bird cagesOur Mediana Bird Cage, sized for conures to cockatoos, features an incredibly easy-to-assemble, knock-down designDimensions: 24"L X 34"W X 68"H
Average Customer Rating:
4.733 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 out of 15(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for Avian Adventures Mediana Playtop Bird Cages
Review 1 for Avian Adventures Mediana Playtop Bird Cages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent cage for the money

PostedMarch 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
BirdDude1
from Denver, CO
The cage arrived just a few days after we ordered it in three huge boxes. It went together really easily (and I am absolutely not good at putting stuff together) and seems really well built and spacious. There are no bolts or screws at all which I thought was fantastic! There was an issue with one of the bars on the back panel being about 1/2" too short, but after chatting with a Petco rep they sent a replacement part. This cage is gorgeous. The "ruby" color is more maroon than red, but it's really pretty. The perch that comes with the cage is a little cheesey so plan on buying another perch, but other than that you can't go wrong with this cage. For the money you're not going to do better.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Avian Adventures Mediana Playtop Bird Cages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Nice Cage!

PostedJanuary 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
ADK4Ever
from Syracuse, NY
After doing some research, we purchased these cages for our Amazon & Severe Macaw. The cages arrived quickly and in excellent condition; were easy to assemble, and are of high quality. These cages are spacious and well designed, they clean up very easily, no more padlocks needed on the doors, and the birds really love them! The removable stand alone playtop is a great feature. We also purchased the optional corner shelf for the Amazon, and he thinks its great. Ours are the gray/plantinum color and are nice looking cages. We would definitely recommend this cage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Avian Adventures Mediana Playtop Bird Cages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Happy Amazon

PostedDecember 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rocco333
The cage came neatly packaged and was very easy to assemble. Rocco got the white cage and it is a beautiful piece of furniture! Rocco is really enjoying the play top and he loves the spaciousness of the cage! Rocco says "thank you"!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Avian Adventures Mediana Playtop Bird Cages
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

very happy

PostedAugust 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
jmac077
I wanted a bigger cage with a playtop for my african grey. I was very pleased with the price and service from petco. The cage arrived in about a week and my husband had it together in 1/2 hour. My only issue is that the floor grate is spaced wide and many of my parrots toys fall through, but it is a small resolvable issue. I am extremely happy thus far with my purchase, and my grey seems pleased as well:)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Avian Adventures Mediana Playtop Bird Cages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great cage!

PostedMarch 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
inkwoman
from Ohio
This is a high quality, well built cage. Comes very well packed and easy to put together.The main perch is a little tricky to get in but once it is in, it is going nowhere. The only problem we had is that our ceilings are not as high as most and the playtop poles did not fit. My husband fixed that by grinding them down. I would recommend this cage to anyone ! My Cockatoo loves it !
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Avian Adventures Mediana Playtop Bird Cages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice

PostedMarch 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
jen84fl
I received the cage today in three large boxes (about 50 lbs each). Everything was nicely packaged and undamaged. It was easy to assemble except for one slightly misshapen slot used to connect one of the front panels. After a good bit of fighting with it my husband and I got it securely in place. My only real complaint with the cage would be the quality of the included wooden perch. It comes with notches on either end so you can decide where to situate it in the cage. The notches on one end of our perch were unevenly cut and one splintered and broke off after about 2 minutes of me trying to get the thing in place. It was VERY difficult to install the perch (I still don't have it to my liking). Now I don't know if this is because ours was not evenly notched, or it is just poorly designed, but either way I would highly recommend installing it before you have the top of the cage locked in. That way you can swing the side panels out a bit to more easily accommodate the ends of the perch (the instructions have you install it after the top and sides are locked into place). One more thing to consider: With the toy hook extenders attached to the top of the playtop this cage must be close to 7ft tall....maybe even more.
We got the white color which is actually quite nice. It is more of an eggshell and has gold color locks and casters. the bowls also have some funky little green and purple design on the outside and are stainless steel.
We got this cage for our African Grey and it is fantastic in size and durability. The doors are all very solid and sturdy. The build quality is top notch.
Excellent cage you can't go wrong...just be wary of the included perch!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Avian Adventures Mediana Playtop Bird Cages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

THE MEDIANA BIRDCAGE

PostedFebruary 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
CHICABIRD
I CANT SAY ENOUGH ABOUT PETCO...I RECIEVED THE CAGE IN 3 BIG BOXES AND WELL PACKED I MIGHT ADD SO I DECIDED TO PUT IT TOGETHER THAT NITE BUT I DISCOVERED THE STEM FOR ONE OF THE CASTERS WAS BENT ...I CALLED PETCO THAT SAME DAY ....5 DAYS LATER I RECIEVED THE BASE AND PUT IT TOGETHER...REALLY EASY ASSEMBLY....I LOVE THE WAY THE CAGE LOOKS AND I LOVE PETCO!!!!...ROSEMARY IN MESA AZ
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Avian Adventures Mediana Playtop Bird Cages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome value!

PostedJanuary 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
BirdieLvr
My African Grey needed a new cage for a while and it took me some time to decide what I wanted. This cage retails for well over what I paid, and I couldn't be happier. Free shipping (3 big boxes right to my door and I live on the 3rd floor of an apt. complex) and it arrived faster than I expected! VERY easy assembly. I wish it had built in holders for the bowls inside (like it does on the play top). I also wish the locks didn't require turning the knobs - but this feature is probably great if your bird is a little "Houdini" - mine is not as adventerous. All in all I am thrilled with my value of my purchase and equally thrilled with the service Petco provided.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Avian Adventures Mediana Playtop Bird Cages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good quality but large!

PostedDecember 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Cage came today FedEx ground in three large and heavy boxes. One box has the playtop, one the base and the last box has the sides of the main cage. It took longer to unbox and catalog the parts than it did to put it together -- assembly was a breeze.
A note on the size of this cage... it's BIG. If you have a medium-sized parrot (I have an African Grey) then this is going to be like a penthouse suite. I dare say a Blue and Gold Macaw could get quite comfy in one of these. With the playtop toy extenders on it's about 3 inches shy of a 9' ceiling.
The two perches that come with it are rather cheesy and have notches cut in the ends so there is plenty of play... not desirable. Plan on buying replacements (about $100 or so additional at your favorite parrot supply) that are secured by washers instead if you (or your bird) like the perches stable. There's so much room inside that you'll be wanting to buy some additional perches that will fit perpendicular anyways.
I purchased when it was $369 and free S/H, so all in all I feel it is a good cage at at a great price. My only wish would be that it was made in the USA and not China, but that's just personal shopping preference whenever possible.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Avian Adventures Mediana Playtop Bird Cages
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

CAGE LOCKS NOT BIRD PROOF

PostedNovember 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
bird2
Well the cage was easy to put together. The pretty gold ball locks are not bird proof . My GOFFIN PARROTT as soon as he came out of cage takes the locks off.YES he unscrews the ball and then pulls the gold bar and spring off. Doesnt matter how tight I screw ball on .He screws it off. Now he rather take the balls off then go on play top.What a disappointment to me thinking this was the best brand cage .And I did research lots of cages for this reason for bird proof lock. My bird takes these locks off like its a toy . Hope no one else has this problem like I do . I will have to buy key locks to put on cage now.Also he has already pulled the food dish out of locked in area. NOT GOOD.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Avian Adventures Mediana Playtop Bird Cages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Bird Cage

PostedNovember 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cattalina
I read every single review for this Bird cage and I was very happy with everything I heard. I am extremely pleased with the ease of set up, the play center is very tall once placed on top of the cage. The seed skirt really saves the carpet. The ruby red is definitely more of a maroon color like the other reviewer stated. I am extremely pleased.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Avian Adventures Mediana Playtop Bird Cages
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy to use

PostedSeptember 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ladyhawke
from Waskom, TX
The cage was easy to put together, and our bird likes it. The door latches are easy to use after you get use to them. I think that our Cockatoo would have trouble getting them open even if I didn't tighten them down. She has learned to open other cage locks.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Avian Adventures Mediana Playtop Bird Cages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

4 star cage.You will love it!!!!

PostedJuly 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
JoAsia
from Louisanna
Its a wonderfull cage ,easy to asemble and I love the color.It suposed to be red but its more like maroon color.It came in 3 boxes but it was very easy to asemble. I just love it!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Avian Adventures Mediana Playtop Bird Cages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Cage

PostedAugust 3, 2007
Customer Avatar
Babsnrn
I received this cage yesterday for my African Grey parrot, Lucy and I have to say first of all that I was very impressed by the ease of assembly. Secondly, the size was perfect for Lucy. I was originally concerned that it might be too small, but the amount of room for her to "stretch her wings" and hang her various toys is phenomenal. The design of this cage was definitely done by folks who know what bird owners need for their feathered family. Nothing was left out. The 3 swing out doors to make the dishes accessible is very handy if you have a pet sitter come who cannot handle your parrot.
The playtop is lots of fun for Lucy with 2 additional feeding dishes and lots of room to play and hang toys. I would also like to add that the color is very nice and the shiny finish really looks great.
This cage is definitely a keeper. I truly commend Avian Adventures for this one!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Avian Adventures Mediana Playtop Bird Cages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A "Cage" fit for a King

PostedJune 3, 2007
Customer Avatar
spdybob
This cage is magnificent. It's very accessible and maneuvorable. Special thanks to Petco for helping me decide in getting this cage. It's design is awesome. I have a triton cockatoo. Her name is Bella and she loves her new home. Her old cage came with her when we bought her from a breeder. She was only about 1 1/2 yrs. old at the time. That cage was a crumby little cage. Its wheels were falling apart and the same with the bars. The paint of the cage was chipping, and the the bars and the trays were all rusted. It was nasty. She didn't like at all either. When I bought this cage, and brought it home and put it where her old cage use to be, she ran right to it. Right to the top she went. Dancing side to side, climbing the bars on the play top hanging upside down. It also seemed to help my bird feel more comfortable and calm. She's less figity. The idea of the side spill guards are great. Less cleaning for me. It's very spacious, very clean and sleek look. I hate to say this, but I think my bird is spoiled. Of course she's fit for a king.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.