petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Avian Adventures Protege Bird Cage & Stand

Avian Adventures Protege Bird Cage & Stand

The no nuts and bolts approach to premium bird cagesOur Protégé Bird Cage & Stand, sized for finches to conures features an incredibly easy-to-assemble, knock-down designDimensions: 22"L X 24"W X 51"H
Average Customer Rating:
4.571 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
5 stars
17
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
19 out of 21(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Avian Adventures Protege Bird Cage & Stand
Review 1 for Avian Adventures Protege Bird Cage & Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great cage

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from jacksonville, fl
Perfect for my green cheek conure he loves the pull out play stand. Very easy to put together.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Avian Adventures Protege Bird Cage & Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Avian Protege Cage

PostedJuly 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Long Island, NY
Excellent, well made cage. Purchased it in white for our Pineapple conure.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Avian Adventures Protege Bird Cage & Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this cage is great

PostedMay 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
from winter park, florida
i bought this along with three other avian adventure cages from petco...one of the large ones for my macaw...the protege for my love birds...and the mediana for my conure...i could not be happier with the quality of cages....petco's prices and the service....it is refrshing in this day and age where the customer feels as though they got a reasonable price on a great product...i recommend the cages and petco to anyone interested in getting great products...great service and great value
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Avian Adventures Protege Bird Cage & Stand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice second cage

PostedFebruary 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Illinois
Got this cage to serve as a second cage....easier to move about the house/yard. Putting it together was simple until putting the top on.....I had to have my husband do it as I didn't have the strength. Overall good cage for a good price!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Avian Adventures Protege Bird Cage & Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good cage

PostedDecember 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nice, roomy cage for our cockatiel. Well built. Allows room to add another cockatiel. We got the white cage and it looks much better than the grey/platinum picture on the web. Instructions aren't good because there are no pictures identifying the parts but it was fairly easy to put together.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Avian Adventures Protege Bird Cage & Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Cockatiel Cage

PostedDecember 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pros
- Roomiest cage in price range with 1/2" bar spacing
- Decent construction goes together without tools
- Large front door & roof opening give good access to cage
- Slide out grate & tray work well
- Solid, rigid stand holds on to cage and rolls well
Cons
- Assembly instructions poor
- Playpen not a very useful feature (cumbersome)
After much research, we are very happy with this cage. It's best features are a good design, easy access, and lots of room compared to other cages with this bar spacing. We did not understand that the playpen was the entire bottom of the cage. It is not clear that this will be much of a feature for us, but it is modular so you can decide how to use perch, cups, toy hook, either in the cage or out of the cage. Though it is much larger than our previous cage, it is easier to move from room to room and easier to keep clean. BTW, the PETCO Cream and Brown Designer Bird Cage Cover fits this cage nicely.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Avian Adventures Protege Bird Cage & Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding

PostedNovember 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
I bought this bird cage for my new Finch and he loves it he Is enjoying the room a lot his favorite part is the perch on the roof i can never get him back in his cage at night. LIke the others said the hardest part is the assembly
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Avian Adventures Protege Bird Cage & Stand
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

PostedDecember 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
I don't like the cage.I had paraletts in it and the door almost made my bird pull his leg of because it got stuck on the door latch. Might be good for big birds but not for smaller
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Avian Adventures Protege Bird Cage & Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good cage, bad door lock

PostedOctober 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Mocksville, NC
This is a great cage except the locks. my cockatiel figured out how get the front door unlocked and open on the second day. If you have this cage, I would recommend using the smallest size binder clips(those black ones with the shiny silver handle) and just clip those on the bottom part of the front door lock and flip that up and attach it to one of the horizontal wires on the cage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Avian Adventures Protege Bird Cage & Stand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fantastic Cage

PostedJuly 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Ankeny, Iowa
I love this cage! There are few things that aren't perfect though. It needs a better door latch as my bird figured out how to open within a week. The cage skirt (from another source but made specifically for this cage) balances precariously and sits to low so it does not empty back to cage floor. I clean it using a shopvac but just bumping it causes it to fall off. The placement for the feeder bowls is a little tight making the water spill almost every time I put it in. Putting this together was difficult. I used a rubber mallet but still had difficulties. Once together though, it looks great. But, I do not look forward to disassembling or reassembling when I move! All that said, I still love this cage, it is beautiful and very spacious for my two cockatiels. The one thing that I was concerned about before buying was if the attachments for the pull-out play stand were removable or stationary. It turns out they are removable for each individual part. This makes it easy to decide for myself what parts I want to use. Exactly what I was looking for.
Even with these few trouble spots, I would still recommend this cage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Avian Adventures Protege Bird Cage & Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great cage

PostedJune 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Steinhatchee, FL
It was real easy to put together. I had it together in less than an hour and I am a blonde. LOL
I would recommend this cage to anyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Avian Adventures Protege Bird Cage & Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Protege review

PostedApril 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Nashua, NH
The cage arrived in good condition and was fairly easy to assemble. We did need to use household tools to clear out a metal slub in one the the "tubes" used for assembly.
Our conure seems very happy with the cage. He's even learned how to hang upside down (his favorite position) from the sloping cage top.
The cage's doors have latches that are intended to keep the bird from opening the door. After 2 weeks, though, our conure has figured out how to open the food and water cup doors! He's a clever little devil. Time to buy some cage locks!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Avian Adventures Protege Bird Cage & Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great cage for the money

PostedMarch 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
I like this cage. We recently got a 3-month-old Sun Conure, and this cage is more than adequate for it. I like the fact that there are seperate little doors for the food/water containers making it easy to remove them. The grate at the bottom is good too. The assembly was a little awkward, but not difficult if you have a helper. Getting the top on and slid into place was a little troublesome, but almost any assemble-it-yourself product will have some aspect that is a tad awkward. But it wasn't that bad and it doesn't prevent me from giving this product 5 stars. It's a good cage for the money--and our bird seems happy in it too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Avian Adventures Protege Bird Cage & Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy assembly

PostedMarch 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
This is a very good cage and I had little problems putting it together. I have parkinson's disease and was able to put it together. I had some trouble with the top but my husband was able to hit the ends and get it aligned and finished. I would recommend this cage for any size bird. My conure was a little dubious at first but is adjusting to the extra room.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Avian Adventures Protege Bird Cage & Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Purchase Ever for my bird!

PostedFebruary 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Parker, AZ
This is a great cage for my cockatiel! Easy to clean and plenty of room for her to stretch her wings. The open top keeps dropping inside the cage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Avian Adventures Protege Bird Cage & Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Avian Adventures Protégé Bird Cage & Stand

PostedOctober 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
very nice cage, lots of room, very easy to put together, cool features like removeable playpen, 5 large feeding dishes, I just with there were more perches, at least 3 that went across the cage, but I can fix that. would recommend to a friend, price was not bad and shipping was fast.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Avian Adventures Protege Bird Cage & Stand
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great potential, awful assembly!

PostedAugust 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Northern California
The directions that come with the cage to assemble it are difficult to understand at best. I am an intelligent do-it-yourselfer and should have no problem putting this "Incredibly easy-to-assemble knock-down design" together. The pieces did not easily fit together - I literally had to get a hammer out to make them fit together. I had a difficult time getting hold of the vendor to discuss replacing a part that arrived damaged. However, if the parts fit well and the assembly was as easy as advertised, I would really like this cage!! Too bad a great design was ruined by an impossible assembly and out of reach vendor!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Avian Adventures Protege Bird Cage & Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Cage

PostedAugust 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
I just bought this cage in store for $44.99! There is a sale going on till 8/16 for all petco cockatiel cages for $44.99! My Pionus loves it! Nice and roomy, would love to have another for my Senegal. My Grey likes to hang out on it, but I wouldn't go any larger than a Pionus.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Avian Adventures Protege Bird Cage & Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great bird cage

PostedAugust 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
I bought this cage as a second home for my cockatiel, to keep in my apartment at school. It is significantly larger than the cage I have for him at home that he has been comfortably living in for 7 years. He certainly doesn't need a cage this big but I really like that the top opens, and the extra space allows me to put more toys and boxes in for him. The entire bottom slides out to double as a playpen but it is a bit large and heavy, and since my bird is so small, I never use that feature. Besides, he loves hanging out on the perch across the top -- he likes the height. The cage is very sturdy (and thus heavy) but is really well built. The wheels that attach to the stand make moving it a breeze. I was able to purcahse this cage on sale, with free shipping, and think it was a great buy. I would recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Avian Adventures Protege Bird Cage & Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT cage!

PostedFebruary 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
I bought this cage for my Green cheek conure and this cage is amazing! It was a bit of a chore to put together, but well worth the work! It is SOOOO easy to clean. There is lots of room for my bird and the top opens for him to sit on top. Best of all, it is SOOO durable! It is high grade bars and is not flimsy (cage or stand) as other cages can be! HIGHLY recommended!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>