petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Marineland Eclipse Hex 5 Fully Integrated Aquarium Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Marineland Eclipse Hex 5 Fully Integrated Aquarium Kit

Fun and innovative hex-surround design for full visibilitySilent operation and optimum performance in a compact Marineland desktop aquarium3-stage filtration keeps water clean and clearSmall fish tank with 5 gallon capacity includes all the features of a larger aquarium in a space-saving designTakes Rite-Size Filter Cartridge Z
Average Customer Rating:
4.37 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(119 Reviews) 118
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 119 reviews
5 stars
74
4 stars
29
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
5
106 out of 119(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Marineland Eclipse Hex 5 Fully Integrated Aquarium Kit
Review 41 for Marineland Eclipse Hex 5 Fully Integrated Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HEX 5 Aquarium Kit

PostedJanuary 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
SouthernBell
GREAT...Easy to set up. Looks nice. My Beta is now living the high life. He is one happy fish...cant stop swimming (he was in one of those Beta Vases for over a year).
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Marineland Eclipse Hex 5 Fully Integrated Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WOW!!!

PostedJanuary 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Molli13
from South Dakota
This aquarium is perfect!!! Just the right size for a starter tank for my son. It is so quiet and I love that everything is in the hood, more room for fish and decor on the bottom. We have 9 smaller fish, a frog, a snail and a couple ghost shrimp in our tank. It is the perfect size for them. We have not experienced any issues with it and would recommend it to anyone that is looking for a new home for smaller fish. It also is at a great price. Found one in the city we live in and the pet store wanted $70.00 for it so it was great to see the price PETCO offered it for online. Thanks PETCO!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Marineland Eclipse Hex 5 Fully Integrated Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Help

PostedJanuary 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
margs
from Auburn, NY
Apparently this tank is for Betta's only. It was beautiful and easy to set up and as long as I had no fish or only one Tetra all was fine. Since I introduced a few more fish all no bigger than a Tetra I simply cannot keep the tank clean. I've tried everything. I've spoken to both pet stores in my city and nothing has helped. My filter only seems to work half the time and when it is working it must not be sufficient enough to keep the tank clean. Aquariums are meant to be a source of calm beauty but mine has become nothing but a source of frustration.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Marineland Eclipse Hex 5 Fully Integrated Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good. Beautiful

PostedJanuary 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
legend053
Good. Easy to set up and work very well till now.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Marineland Eclipse Hex 5 Fully Integrated Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJanuary 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Staccato
PERFECT for a single betta or a community of smaller fish.
It was easy to put together and easy to maintain. It's light-weight and just fun to look at.
I absolutely love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Marineland Eclipse Hex 5 Fully Integrated Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect 5 gallon

PostedDecember 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
seaweed
very nice looking, but mostly perfect size for Beta as they really shouldn't have anything smaller. easy to put together,actually everything came pretty much set up. The biowheel is pure genius and I think only this brand has it. The PRICE was great here!! I looked everywhere for the best price for this particular aquarium.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Marineland Eclipse Hex 5 Fully Integrated Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great buy

PostedDecember 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Roxie4ever
from Long Beach, CA
My fish Roxie loves this tank. The assembly is easy and it comes with clear instructions. The size is perfect for a single betta though it may be large for any other fish. Overall it was worth the money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Marineland Eclipse Hex 5 Fully Integrated Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Second Hex

PostedDecember 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
lizbethskittles
from Bronx,NY
I love the design & so does my betta fish Blu "Skittles".....Now my second betta Martini "Marty" can also enjoy the extra space to swim around. (Right now he's in a Eclipse 3 gallon tank.)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Marineland Eclipse Hex 5 Fully Integrated Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best small tank

PostedJune 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
thark
from FDL, WI
i had purchased this tank for a female betta and am very happy with it. I realize the currrent is not as important with a female betta but i think this tank would be great for a male bettta also. very quiet, water stays clear (i keep up with regular maintainance) and you can nicely hide a heater in the back. the only thing is i would not put anything besides a betta in it because there is not enough side to side swimming room, but over all GREAT! betta tank
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Marineland Eclipse Hex 5 Fully Integrated Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Marineland Eclipse Hex 5 Fully Integrated

PostedApril 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
EightyEight
from Los Angeles, CA
The impellers break in these after about 6 months. I contacted Marineland and they said the impeller should be cleaned w/vinegar.... this is not in instructions. Impeller's about $7 each. Impeller not available at PetCo. so better keep spare impellers handy!
This is a beginners tank, easy instructions.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 51 for Marineland Eclipse Hex 5 Fully Integrated Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Filter fried...

PostedJanuary 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Len79
from Richland, WA
I got two Black Moors for a christmas present, and this being the first time I have ever had fish as pets, I went out and bout this so-called "starter" tank. The set-up was quick and easy, the directions were a breeze to understand, and the tank looks great. Sadly, it appears that the filter on my tank has already burnt out after less then a week. This bums me out because its going to be 100 times the hastle to tear the whole thing down and return it.
Have any others had issues with the filter/pump system burning out?
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 52 for Marineland Eclipse Hex 5 Fully Integrated Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tank, Very Quiet Filter, Easy Maintanence

PostedJanuary 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
UCFgirl
Well it's been exactly one month since I purchased this tank for my betta fish, Culligan. It's my first aquarium and so I have been doing a lot of research regarding cleaning, etc. I have to say this is a hassle-free tank. I do a 25% water change every week and I have changed out the filter cartridge once (1x per month). The cartridge is easy to find and not too expensive.
The current created by the filter is low enough for a betta fish and did I mention its so QUIET? I have this in my bedroom. The only sound I hear is of the water flowing back into the tank and it sounds like a small babbling brook- like the kind of sound people buy zen fountains for. It's very nice, I would recommend this tank. The water stays crystal clear.
My betta fish is so happy, he is always exploring the silk plants I placed in there. He also loves to swim right under where the water flows back in from the filter and sort of "body surf" the current. Its fun to watch. I definitely recommend keeping a betta in here because its too small to keep most other fish.
But remember, if you are planning to house a betta fish or other tropical fish in here, you need to purchase an aquarium heater.
You can check out the photo and video I attached of the tank. It looks a little different now because I replaced all the plastic plants w/silk ones.
I would recommend this to a friend!
(click to see the video)
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 53 for Marineland Eclipse Hex 5 Fully Integrated Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This tank looks great

PostedDecember 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
IloveJesus
This tank looks great, especially when it is lit up at night in a dark room. If the filter breaks down, I will just get a Whisper intank filter instead. I love those filters. I have guppies in my tank and they are the right size for it. I wouldn't put more than 7-8 guppies in this tank though and I wouldn't put bigger fish either.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 54 for Marineland Eclipse Hex 5 Fully Integrated Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Starter Tank

PostedDecember 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
Elf1
This was my 1st tank. It is a great size for a small home or starter tank. I have 4 dwarf betas, 2 guppies, and a small chinese cat (2" adult size), and 2 dalmation mollies. Thats a lot of fish for this size tank so I clean more often, but I have fun watching all of them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 55 for Marineland Eclipse Hex 5 Fully Integrated Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awsome little aquarium

PostedJuly 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jadey
I keep this in my Grandmother's room, she has alzheimers, and it took a long time to find an aquarium she liked. I've had several types of smaller aquariums, but this one tops the list, it's easy to take care of, interesting in it's deisgn, has that nifty built in filter, and a bright flourescent light. This is our second one, the first was scrubbed to death, it is acrylic, so keep that in mind before cleaning the inside or outside, and don't use a scratchy scrubber pad, it may not scrath the glass of your larger or glass aquariums, but it will scratch this. the water level needs to stay pretty high, or the filter will run dry, but that's true with all top mount filters I have tried, this one seems a little more resistant to running dry though. Perfect for a balanced system of 4-7 small fish and plenty of plants!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 56 for Marineland Eclipse Hex 5 Fully Integrated Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Looking

PostedJune 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
catwithcanary
from San Antonio, TX
The octogaon shape is really good for a space that's not right against a wall since it looks great from most directions. Mine is on the pass through from my kithcen to livingroom. Also because it's taller rather than wider its good for places that need a tank with a small footprint. The black hood is neutral so it goes with everything and the light bulb is easy to find and inexpensive to replace (a struggle I have with another tank). The filter is good and it is easy to maintain so it would make a good starter for a juvenile. I like it enough that I'm buying another one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 57 for Marineland Eclipse Hex 5 Fully Integrated Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

All around great buy

PostedJune 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Regalis
I bought this aquarium on sale for $20 off the orginal $50 dollar price. It is a great deal! It comes with everything needed for the tank except fish, substrate, plants,possibly a mini heater, and of course, water. It is acrylic and I did notice some tiny scratches on the tank possibly caused by myself. Never the less, the only way they are visable is if my face is within 5 inches of the tank. I am currently using this tank for my betta and 5 neon tetras and they look quite content in it. I also like the hexagonal shape. It is in a spot where multiple views can be seen very well from. It is a little awkward to move the light (half the hood) off when putting anything other than food in the tank. as the power cords and splash guard need to be moved.
Great aquarium kit for beginers, as it comes with an entire pamphlet full of advise. this was also my first buy off petco.com (I go to the stores) and the shipment was quick, organized and effective. great site. great company. Higly recommended purchase for bettas and other small fish.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 58 for Marineland Eclipse Hex 5 Fully Integrated Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great Value

PostedJune 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
randy11
from Sayreville, NJ
This is a product that was easy to setup, easy to maintain and is great to look at. I would recommend this product to anyone starting out and would like a smaller tank that holds a few fish to admire daily.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 59 for Marineland Eclipse Hex 5 Fully Integrated Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Aquarium!

PostedJune 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Verlassene
from Kennesaw, GA
I got this on sale at the store, and it was an awesome deal! Set up was easy, and it runs almost silently as long as you have the correct water level. I have read some people comment that eclipse filters are noisy, and they are if the water is more than 2" low because the impeller isn't fully submersed. The appropriate water level is even or slightly below the bottom edge of the hood, and this will allow for the best water circulation also. The hood has a hole that fits my aquarium heater perfectly and allows fairly easy access to the temperature control knob, plus another opening for additional air tubing. The front half of the cover comes off for convenient cleaning, and seems to be a bigger work space than the eclipse 12, which I also have.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 60 for Marineland Eclipse Hex 5 Fully Integrated Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for Bettas or Tetras

PostedJune 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
ultraviolet
This small tank is perfect for the desktop - it fits perfectly where a computer monitor would go (I use a laptop so the cubby in my desk meant for a monitor is better served by a fish tank!) Mine houses a Betta and an African Dwarf frog (with live plants), and gives them both plenty of room to swim and is beautifully lit. I would never put a fish in anything smaller than 5 gallons - it's cruel even if they can "survive" in less. The size of this tank coupled with the bio-wheel filtration makes a once-weekly 25% water change gravel-vacuuming sufficient for keeping them healthy and happy, and the hood covers the entire top to keep them from jumping out. There are two additional small holes in the back of the hood should you want to later add an air pump for bubbles or a small submersible heater, but so far I have not needed to purchase either. A small school of Tetras would love this little tank too, just DON'T let a salesperson tell you that it would be sufficient for a goldfish!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>