petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Marineland Eclipse Hex 5 Fully Integrated Aquarium Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Marineland Eclipse Hex 5 Fully Integrated Aquarium Kit

Fun and innovative hex-surround design for full visibilitySilent operation and optimum performance in a compact Marineland desktop aquarium3-stage filtration keeps water clean and clearSmall fish tank with 5 gallon capacity includes all the features of a larger aquarium in a space-saving designTakes Rite-Size Filter Cartridge Z
Average Customer Rating:
4.37 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(119 Reviews) 118
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 119 reviews
5 stars
74
4 stars
29
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
5
106 out of 119(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Marineland Eclipse Hex 5 Fully Integrated Aquarium Kit
Review 1 for Marineland Eclipse Hex 5 Fully Integrated Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tank

PostedApril 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nanato3
from McAlester, Oklahoma
This tank is great if you want a small tank. I love it. It's a little hard to get into without taking half of the top off to clean it or put fish in. But it is a beautiful tank. I love it.
It was also a great price online
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Marineland Eclipse Hex 5 Fully Integrated Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Inexpensive Aquarium for Aquatic Frog

PostedApril 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
SJoelG
from Overland Park, KS
I was looking for a larger aquarium for my son's aquatic frog (which came from a grow-a-frog kit and started in a tiny 4x4 cube as a tadpole). This aquarium has worked great so far and the filter is easy to set up. I would recommend this tank for anyone who is looking for something inexpensive yet also stylish. Ordered online (for a better deal) and had delivered to my home quickly. Everything was packaged sufficiently.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Marineland Eclipse Hex 5 Fully Integrated Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Bettas!!!

PostedMarch 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
STSchwede
from Bismarck, ND
I originally bought an Aqueon evole2 for my Betta fish cause it looked like a good product for him. But the pump was way to strong for him and just wasn't a good match. So I got this in hopes that it would be a better fit for him.
The tank was VERY easy to set up. After we let the tank acclimate we put him in and he just LOVED it from the start. He swims all around up and down. The filter has a nice flow but isn't too powerful for him. I am VERY happy with this.
If you are looking at this for a Betta or another gentle and elegant fish this is THE product for them!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+15points
16of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Marineland Eclipse Hex 5 Fully Integrated Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Tank for Years

PostedFebruary 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
10animals
from Arizona
I have had this tank for several years now and I am happy with it, just found a light in the store that is made for it to help plants grow. Now I have a planted tank that is doing very well. The only complaint is that the plastic cover you put down first so the water doesn't splash on the ligh cracked and now there is a missing section of it. Other then that one thing its great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Marineland Eclipse Hex 5 Fully Integrated Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Little Tank

PostedJanuary 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
drgnfly
from Hyde Park, NY
So far this is a great buy. Only one thing I'd do differently ~ Be sure I had everything 'just right' before adding fish. It's difficult to get back in to change anything around without taking the entire top off. Otherwise, bigger than I thought with plenty of room and it seems to be staying very clean with easy maintenance!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Marineland Eclipse Hex 5 Fully Integrated Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for my betta!

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
smc26
from Vermont
I have had this tank for a couple weeks and I love it! I keep a male betta in the tank (alone, of course) and he is as happy as can be! The filter is super quiet, and relatively low flow. I love the hex shape, it allows a great view from all sides! I would strongly recommend!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Marineland Eclipse Hex 5 Fully Integrated Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple and compact

PostedDecember 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Altimatank80
from El Paso, TX
This is my second Hex 5 tank. This has got to be one of the best tanks for the busy aquarium keeper. Space saving, all-in-one design, great filtration. Hoping to get another one soon for my office!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Marineland Eclipse Hex 5 Fully Integrated Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedDecember 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Chryslace
from Virginia
This tank is great so far. I have had it for about three weeks and it has been working great. It was fairly easy to put together. I was impressed with the filtration system.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Marineland Eclipse Hex 5 Fully Integrated Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Product arrived broken

PostedDecember 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
SadlyDisappointed
from Malakoff, TX
Item arrived broken. I returned to the store and had to pay $15 more for an aquarium half the size because they had nothing comparable and did not have the same sale/promotional items.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Marineland Eclipse Hex 5 Fully Integrated Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it, but....

PostedDecember 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kanoe
from Escondido, CA
I've raised guppies in the Hex5 for several years. Guppies are gone now and I want to use the tank for my betta, HOWEVER, the pump quit on me. The integrated features are wonderful, but just keep in mind that if you need to replace something, you have to deal directly with Marineland.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Marineland Eclipse Hex 5 Fully Integrated Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My daughter loves it!

PostedDecember 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Diannecpa
from Honolulu, HI
I bought this Hex 5 and she loves it. She's seen me take care of my tanks but this a first for her. She's in her 20's and just graduated from college. I don't know how I can top this right now. She and her boyfriend love the 5 gallons and that is a hexagon.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Marineland Eclipse Hex 5 Fully Integrated Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

so far so great!

PostedNovember 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
fishiefriend4ever
I've only had it a week or 2, but so Far I love it & my son does also. I thought the filter would be too loud to keep in my sons room while he slept &it did seem to be kinda loud in the quiet of the night the first couple of nights, during the day it is a nice quiet hum. Good news though! After the first couple of nights when the bio wheel gota little more weight to it (good bacteria) it got really quiet! It actually helps my son sleep better (which is what I was hoping for. It also adds just enough moisture in his room to keep the heaters from drying out his room!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Marineland Eclipse Hex 5 Fully Integrated Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It's fantastic!!!!

PostedOctober 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
needabetta
Just set up my tank & its just awesome. This is my first tank ever but yet I was able to put it together by myself and get everything working in minutes. Took me way longer to fill and wash the decor. It's easy to follow the instructions and runs so quietly you wouldn't know it's in the room aside for its so pretty it draws the eye. I have no complaints so far!! It did come with a single filter and everything pops into place no problem. The biowheel spins easily and I've got everything going and waiting for a day or two right now so I don't have my fish in there but I will buy him soon and hope he loves his new home as much as I do. Planning to get a male betta. I bought lots of marina betta materials to fill it up and designed sort of a little zen aquatic garden for him. I'm proudly displaying my beautiful tank in my living room even empty for now lol. (4stars cause I love it- I would give 5 but I'm only basing this off 1day of performance)
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Marineland Eclipse Hex 5 Fully Integrated Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Tank!

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
novanna
from Fort Collins, CO
Perfect tank for my betta! It fits my betta comfortably with 3 neon tetras, 2 otos, 2 shrimps, and 1 mystery snail comfortably. The filter is quiet so it doesn't bother me. Also it's a nice compact size for a 5 gallon tank. Perfect for my small apartment :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Marineland Eclipse Hex 5 Fully Integrated Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fantastic Tank!

PostedJune 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Charcoalpainter
from Pittsburgh,PA
I received this tank as a gift, and I must say, I love it! For starters, it's absolutely beautiful with it's hexagonal shape, and the florescent light bulb really makes the colors in both my fish and plants stand out. I have five neon tetras, two guppies, and a baby Bristlenose Pleco living happily in this aquarium. They are all very small, so I disregarded the "gallon per inch of fish" rule since each fish is only about a half inch long. I also have several live plants which are growing tremendously in my tank.
The only downside to this tank would be how loud the filter is. It was really loud when I first got it, and it has gotten quieter, so I think there may have been some sharper points in the filter. Also, it would be wise if every month or so, you took apart the filter and cleaned out the tube part that's in the water, especially if you have live plants, because leaves and other debris can be sucked up and become stuck and eventually stop the filter from running properly(until the leaves are cleaned out).
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Marineland Eclipse Hex 5 Fully Integrated Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Great All-In-One Aquarium

PostedMay 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
CatPhish
from Bountiful, UT
I have tried several other aquariums up to 5 gallons and the Marineland is the first one that has been a success. I have not lost one fish since I bought this tank. I first planted it with live plants and allowed the aquarium to establish itself. I then added a natural looking rock feature so there were hiding places aside from the plants (always important). We then added a beautiful blue double tail Betta. After a a week or two we added a couple of aquatic frogs. After another week or two we added an algae eater and cory fish to help keep the tank clean. I basically followed the tank instructions except I change the filter weekly when I do the 20% water change. Although it's tempting to add more fish, staying with a gallon of water per inch of fish is a good idea. I also highly recommend live plants. They really help maintain the ecosystem. Oh, and we added a small tank heater as we have a large house with high vaulted ceilings causing temperature variations.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+7points
10of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Marineland Eclipse Hex 5 Fully Integrated Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Space conscious for you and your fish

PostedAugust 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Burd
from Pottstown, PA
This tank is fantastic in just about every way. It properly accommodates a betta fish and for the most part is easy to maintain and cycle.
It may be because I inherited my tank of this kind from another person, but I give it 4 stars because the filter on mine was pretty terrible even after a heavy cleaning. I ended up replacing it with another filter meant for 5 gal tanks. It's also a bit awkward on the hood design because of the way the original filter was designed to fit in it. I wish the flap to open to feed your fish was a bit bigger, too.
All in all though, I love this tank.
But if you love your fish... don't cram a bunch of goldfish into this small tank like the picture suggests. Do your homework first. :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Marineland Eclipse Hex 5 Fully Integrated Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good tank

PostedAugust 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
PewPewPew
from New York, NY
I enjoy my 5 gallon hex. The filter is wonderful and easy to cycle with. It will require a baffle if you plant to put a betta in it. Not great for dividing, due to its height.
It has slightly awkward places for heaters and such. The hood is a little fickle at times.
All in all, a great tank.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Marineland Eclipse Hex 5 Fully Integrated Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Marineland Hex 5

PostedJuly 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
FishRfine
from Central, PA
An excellent tank when you don't have a lot of room. I would like to have a larger tank but live in a small apartment and the Marineland Hex 5 fits on a small stand in a corner perfectly. The lighting brings out the colors of the fish and decor wonderfully and the filtration system system is second to none. The bio wheel and an alge eater helps keep tank maintainence to a minimum. I love this tank and reccommend it to anyone looking for a small, easy to care for aquarium.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Marineland Eclipse Hex 5 Fully Integrated Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great aquarium

PostedJune 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
bettalover21543
from new jersey
My betta fish has plenty of room to move around. I thought this product came with some sort of heating apparatus, but it does not. If you are looking for a heating aquarium, this is not the one. Otherwise, it is an excellent home for any fish.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>