petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mealworms

Mealworms

Live mealworms provide nutriotional diversity and support complete dietsAn ideal treat for reptiles, amphibiana, birds and some tropical fishNaturally high in protein and low in fatProvides increased levels of Vitamin A and Vitamin E with improved Omega-6:Omega-3 fatty acid ratioAvailable in quantities of 500, 1000 and 5000
Average Customer Rating:
4.454 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(108 Reviews) 108
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 108 reviews
5 stars
79
4 stars
14
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
6
99 out of 108(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 32 Answers
Customer Reviews for Mealworms
Review 1 for Mealworms
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product arrive in 2 days after placing the order. The worms arrived in great condition!! I was impressed with the speedy delivery!!

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Wenmulli
from Gunter, Tx
I was very impressed with the speedy delivery and great care taken of the healthy, plentiful mealworms I ordered. I had not ever ordered live food online before, and was very hesitant! However, I will definitely be ordering them again!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Mealworms
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Loved by fledgling

PostedAugust 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
EmmyAndBirdy
from NY
4 Stars because a good amount were dead.
Besides that, fairly good. Keeps my fledgling healthy. No mold, no powerful smell, etc.
I did see some tiny white things moving though-lice? Hopefully nothing to worry about.
PS- If you're concerned which ones are alive, preheat your oven and stick them in there (leaving the door open-you're not cooking them) for about 10 seconds. They all come to life... I must be a cruel human being. For a good cause (a hungry fledgling that only eats very lively mealworms.)
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Mealworms
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

fresh mealworms

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
finchlover40
from texas
im not disappointed with my orders, they come on time and the worms are alive and well. im on repeat order so i can watch for the delivery timely and my worms dont run out. i feed them to 40 finches i own.
they fly down to the dish expecting them everyday.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Mealworms
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

turtle hatchlings

PostedJune 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
footlady
from Fresno, Ca.
perfect food for newly hatched turtles. Some hatchlings are confused on eating. They automatically attack something that's alive and wiggles and gobble it down. Hence, getting nourishment into their little bodies.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Mealworms
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Live Mealworms

PostedJune 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
CritterFeeder
from Northwest Missouri
I spent a fortune driving to multiple Petcos trying to find enough containers of mealworms to feed the wild birds each week. Then signed up for repeat delivery through the website. For less than half what I was spending, I now receive double the amount of worms (5000 per shipment) in a carefully sealed, but ventilated, container, and now can keep the birds happy and healthy, too. If only the UPS driver would be a bit more careful on delivery....
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Mealworms
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Big,healthy 5000!

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Gwinnysmom
from Stillwater,OK
First time I ordered, I didn't know what to expect. I received a box the next day with so many mealworms, big & plump and wiggling around in a "box farm" I couldn't help but squeal for I didn't quite know what to do. I signed up for a repeat delivery.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Mealworms
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

The worms were to small!!!

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
MikeT
from Shippenville, PA
The worms arrived alive and well, but I ordered "Superworms" and what I received was medium mealworms!!! NOT HAPPY
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
2of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Mealworms
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Dries up!

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
ReptilesIWant
from Downers Grove, IL
I put them in the fridge and they will die! I don't know why! In the cage though, my leo loves them!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Mealworms
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beardie loves them

PostedDecember 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Darque
from Erie, Pa
Our local store always seems to be out of the larger containers of mealworms (yes, they sell out that fast), so we decided to go ahead and order a larger container for our bearded dragon and just store them in our cool basement. The delivery was prompt, the worms were all good-sized and healthy, and our beardie and geckos go quite berzerk for them. We will likely keep ordering online and save going to the store for our cricket purchases.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Mealworms
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great deal, but the worms are smaller then advertised

PostedMay 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Slingshot
from Des Moines, IA
Order a size bigger then you really want, Ive ordered atleast 10 times, every time they have all been alive, but they are smaller then expected. They also frequently have tiny black bugs in them, no idea what they are, but they ae definatly not the beatle stage of the mealworms, There probably a 1/5 of the size. Also some small un-known black worms that turn into the tiny beatles. But You cant beat the price will buy from again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Mealworms
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Alive and well, all 5000 mealworms

PostedMay 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jackamo
from Buford, GA
That's how I received this shipment in two days.
I was very happy and my blue birds are even happier.
This was my second order through Petco. If everything goes as well as it has so far, there will be many more.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Mealworms
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bluebirds love them

PostedApril 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
momtimes4
from Columbia, MD
Mealworms arrived 36 hours after ordering. Arrived in excellent condition. Bluebirds love them!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Mealworms
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Birdwatcher2

PostedApril 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Birdwatcher2
from Jefferson, WI
I purchased 1000 1.5" mealworms. I was looking forward to the arrival of the bluebirds. When I opened the box they were all dead! I was very disappointed with my purchase. When I called to tell them the mealworms were dead; they told me I needed to buy them at a store so they would be alive! I told them I don't live anywhere near a store!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Mealworms
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

meal worms

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
jw54
from zillah, wa
Worms were quite a bit smaller than I thought they would be.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Mealworms
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great price, fast delivery, healthy mealworms

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bigworldcitizen
from Asheville, NC
I have tried MANY on-line sites and have had various levels of disappointment. Then I tried Petco. My worms arrived fast, very healthy, almost NO dead worms in an order of 5000. My wild birds LOVE them, and are begining to nest all around my house! Live mealworms allow you to develop relationships with INDIVIDUAL wild birds! Then, they bring their BABIES to the feeder once they fledge!
I've ordered many times from Petco with excellent results. Thanks for going above and beyond to make our birds healthier and VERY happy!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Mealworms
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

over and above

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
LoriCfromOh
from Gahanna Ohio
I am feeding blue birds and a few chicadees..The first order I received was all dead. Petco replaced them with not the 1000 that I ordered but with 5000 live healthy mealworms! Thanks so much Petco for your excellent customer service and low low prices. Will be ordering from you from now on!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Mealworms
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Petco made it right

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
LoriCfromOhio
from Gahanna Ohio
I left a negative review for Petco-maybe I should have been more patient. I received 5000 live meal worms today (ALL LIVING). Thank you Petco-you didnt have to go over and above like you did. I will continue using your website for pet purchases.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Mealworms
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

MEALWORM CONTAINER

PostedJanuary 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
mealwormfarmer
from Coon Rapids,MN
I ordered 5000 -1" mealworms. They were delivered in 2 days in good condition. Glad Petco carries live mealworms now. The shipping container looked nice, but the worms leaked all over the inside making quite a mess. It took a 1/2 hour to recover all the worms and clean up. I think you could come up with something better.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Mealworms
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wrong size and all dead

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
ZeroTolerant
from arizona
I had ordered a box of 1000 large mealworms. When I had finally received them I received a box of mini mealworms and they were all dead. It was my fist time ordering mealworms from petco and my last. Waiting on my refund now.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Mealworms
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stewart loves them

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Fidget143
from Florida
My Bearded Dragon loves these mealworms. They(mealworms) are thriving on sweet potato and getting bigger everyday. I would buy them again with out hesitation.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>