petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mealworms

Mealworms

Live mealworms provide nutriotional diversity and support complete dietsAn ideal treat for reptiles, amphibiana, birds and some tropical fishNaturally high in protein and low in fatProvides increased levels of Vitamin A and Vitamin E with improved Omega-6:Omega-3 fatty acid ratioAvailable in quantities of 500, 1000 and 5000
Average Customer Rating:
4.414 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(116 Reviews) 116
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 116 reviews
5 stars
84
4 stars
15
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
8
105 out of 116(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 35 Answers
Customer Reviews for Mealworms
Review 1 for Mealworms
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointment in Size

PostedMarch 19, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Jacksonville, NC
Shipping was outstanding but the size was a disappointment. Most were 1/2 or smaller and not the 3/4" to 1" as stated.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Mealworms
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

mealworms are bad for your pets

PostedMarch 16, 2015
Customer Avatar
from elgin, il
mealworms are bad for your pets because when you start feeding them mealworms they are not going to want to eat anything else EX: crickets, grass hoppers, or cockroaches
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Mealworms
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mealworm 3/4-1 inch size Repeat Service

PostedFebruary 27, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Orlando, FL
I have had repeat service for over a year now. Usually very happy but this shipment had very small mealworms much smaller than the 3/4 to 1 inch size mealworms. The cold weather delayed this shipment one week in order to garantee live delivery.. This I understand but small mealworms is not acceptable. I usually get full size mealworms but this shipment must be feed a few weeks to get large enough for my birds. Pets that eat mealworms are just as important as a dog or cat... WE all love our pets..
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Mealworms
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good purchase

PostedFebruary 26, 2015
Customer Avatar
from fl
the meal worms came in excellent condition. I was pleasantly surprised.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Mealworms
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Arrived Alive

PostedJanuary 1, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Oklahoma
Shipped out and arrived in about four days. All the meal worms except three were alive out of the 5,000 I ordered. Definitely recommend this to anyone with reptiles ^^
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Mealworms
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

lots of mealworms

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from altoona, pa
was shocked to see how many they were. didn't see no dead ones...would liked to seen them packaged better....it was gross getting them out...but a lively bunch....very easy to care for...I used oatmeal in a plastic container...
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Mealworms
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

They all came alive

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Laveen, AZ
Ordering through the mail I wasn't sure if they'd survive. All 5,000 were in great condition and my birds love them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Mealworms
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

QUICK SHIPPING AND EXCELLENT SHIPPING CONTAINER

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Tyler Co., WV
My Bantam Cochin Hens (11 of them) and the ROO, LOVE THESE!!
I been wanting to get mealworms here in the USA.. instead of the Dried out Foreign Imports.. This was perfect.
Quick Shipping, received the next day by UPS. My UPS Driver was even curious upon delivery of them, as they came in a very well packed container that has a screen on both sides. The Worms were very active..
Just do not make the mistake that I made... opening the box with your hens around... My Flock MUGGED ME to get the worms.. ha ha ha...
I can recommend this product...
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Mealworms
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product arrive in 2 days after placing the order. The worms arrived in great condition!! I was impressed with the speedy delivery!!

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Gunter, Tx
I was very impressed with the speedy delivery and great care taken of the healthy, plentiful mealworms I ordered. I had not ever ordered live food online before, and was very hesitant! However, I will definitely be ordering them again!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Mealworms
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Loved by fledgling

PostedAugust 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
from NY
4 Stars because a good amount were dead.
Besides that, fairly good. Keeps my fledgling healthy. No mold, no powerful smell, etc.
I did see some tiny white things moving though-lice? Hopefully nothing to worry about.
PS- If you're concerned which ones are alive, preheat your oven and stick them in there (leaving the door open-you're not cooking them) for about 10 seconds. They all come to life... I must be a cruel human being. For a good cause (a hungry fledgling that only eats very lively mealworms.)
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Mealworms
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

fresh mealworms

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from texas
im not disappointed with my orders, they come on time and the worms are alive and well. im on repeat order so i can watch for the delivery timely and my worms dont run out. i feed them to 40 finches i own.
they fly down to the dish expecting them everyday.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Mealworms
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

turtle hatchlings

PostedJune 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Fresno, Ca.
perfect food for newly hatched turtles. Some hatchlings are confused on eating. They automatically attack something that's alive and wiggles and gobble it down. Hence, getting nourishment into their little bodies.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Mealworms
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Live Mealworms

PostedJune 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Northwest Missouri
I spent a fortune driving to multiple Petcos trying to find enough containers of mealworms to feed the wild birds each week. Then signed up for repeat delivery through the website. For less than half what I was spending, I now receive double the amount of worms (5000 per shipment) in a carefully sealed, but ventilated, container, and now can keep the birds happy and healthy, too. If only the UPS driver would be a bit more careful on delivery....
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Mealworms
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Big,healthy 5000!

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Stillwater,OK
First time I ordered, I didn't know what to expect. I received a box the next day with so many mealworms, big & plump and wiggling around in a "box farm" I couldn't help but squeal for I didn't quite know what to do. I signed up for a repeat delivery.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Mealworms
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

The worms were to small!!!

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Shippenville, PA
The worms arrived alive and well, but I ordered "Superworms" and what I received was medium mealworms!!! NOT HAPPY
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
3of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Mealworms
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Dries up!

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Downers Grove, IL
I put them in the fridge and they will die! I don't know why! In the cage though, my leo loves them!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Mealworms
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beardie loves them

PostedDecember 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Erie, Pa
Our local store always seems to be out of the larger containers of mealworms (yes, they sell out that fast), so we decided to go ahead and order a larger container for our bearded dragon and just store them in our cool basement. The delivery was prompt, the worms were all good-sized and healthy, and our beardie and geckos go quite berzerk for them. We will likely keep ordering online and save going to the store for our cricket purchases.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Mealworms
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great deal, but the worms are smaller then advertised

PostedMay 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Des Moines, IA
Order a size bigger then you really want, Ive ordered atleast 10 times, every time they have all been alive, but they are smaller then expected. They also frequently have tiny black bugs in them, no idea what they are, but they ae definatly not the beatle stage of the mealworms, There probably a 1/5 of the size. Also some small un-known black worms that turn into the tiny beatles. But You cant beat the price will buy from again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Mealworms
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Alive and well, all 5000 mealworms

PostedMay 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Buford, GA
That's how I received this shipment in two days.
I was very happy and my blue birds are even happier.
This was my second order through Petco. If everything goes as well as it has so far, there will be many more.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Mealworms
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bluebirds love them

PostedApril 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Columbia, MD
Mealworms arrived 36 hours after ordering. Arrived in excellent condition. Bluebirds love them!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>