petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mealworms

Mealworms

Live mealworms provide nutriotional diversity and support complete dietsAn ideal treat for reptiles, amphibiana, birds and some tropical fishNaturally high in protein and low in fatProvides increased levels of Vitamin A and Vitamin E with improved Omega-6:Omega-3 fatty acid ratioAvailable in quantities of 500, 1000 and 5000
Average Customer Rating:
4.393 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(122 Reviews) 122
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 122 reviews
5 stars
88
4 stars
15
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
9
109 out of 122(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 38 Answers
Customer Reviews for Mealworms
Review 1 for Mealworms
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Much too small, and too many required to buy

PostedJuly 19, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Omaha, NE
As I said, they are not remotely close to the size they should be, and actually used to be. The huge number forced to be purchased is a waste of money, since a number of them will die before used, and I do have a number of geckos with healthy appetites. Will buy elsewhere if possible.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Mealworms
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mealworms Excellent Condition

PostedJune 29, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Paducah, KY
My Bluebirds, Cardinals, and Mockingbirds love them!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Mealworms
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good buy

PostedMay 31, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Sacramento
Got these on sale but I think the regular price is good too. I got tired of buying those little tubs so I opted for buying mealyworms in bulk this time. They arrived quickly and in good shape, no dead ones that I could detect. Arrives in a cardboard vented box so you need to transfer to an alternate container (I have plastic tupperware type boxes). I keep them in the refrigerator though I think the shipping box says to keep them at 60 to 70 degrees, which may be more optimal. It's been several weeks now and I just grab some out of the box and they wriggle back to life quickly before they go to the lizard dining table. BTW, I have a leopard gecko, a tokay gecko and 7 blue belly lizards. My pet duck Wut also loves the worms!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Mealworms
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Petco is a reliable source for this product

PostedApril 28, 2015
Customer Avatar
from boise idaho
Our organization does wildlife rehabiliitation and we use mealworms for our birds and bats.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Mealworms
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedApril 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Florida
They all arrived alive and were the correct size. I would definitely buy them again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Mealworms
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Will never shop here again

PostedApril 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
from MI
I usually get meal worms for my leopard gecko at some place else, but they were closed so I came here. The mealworms were grey, sick, and they died within hours. Being a leopard gecko expert, I only want the best for my gecko. Feeding your reptile meal worms from here will make them stop eating.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Mealworms
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointment in Size

PostedMarch 19, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Jacksonville, NC
Shipping was outstanding but the size was a disappointment. Most were 1/2 or smaller and not the 3/4" to 1" as stated.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Mealworms
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

mealworms are bad for your pets

PostedMarch 16, 2015
Customer Avatar
from elgin, il
mealworms are bad for your pets because when you start feeding them mealworms they are not going to want to eat anything else EX: crickets, grass hoppers, or cockroaches
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Mealworms
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mealworm 3/4-1 inch size Repeat Service

PostedFebruary 27, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Orlando, FL
I have had repeat service for over a year now. Usually very happy but this shipment had very small mealworms much smaller than the 3/4 to 1 inch size mealworms. The cold weather delayed this shipment one week in order to garantee live delivery.. This I understand but small mealworms is not acceptable. I usually get full size mealworms but this shipment must be feed a few weeks to get large enough for my birds. Pets that eat mealworms are just as important as a dog or cat... WE all love our pets..
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Mealworms
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good purchase

PostedFebruary 26, 2015
Customer Avatar
from fl
the meal worms came in excellent condition. I was pleasantly surprised.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Mealworms
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Arrived Alive

PostedJanuary 1, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Oklahoma
Shipped out and arrived in about four days. All the meal worms except three were alive out of the 5,000 I ordered. Definitely recommend this to anyone with reptiles ^^
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Mealworms
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

lots of mealworms

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from altoona, pa
was shocked to see how many they were. didn't see no dead ones...would liked to seen them packaged better....it was gross getting them out...but a lively bunch....very easy to care for...I used oatmeal in a plastic container...
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Mealworms
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

They all came alive

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Laveen, AZ
Ordering through the mail I wasn't sure if they'd survive. All 5,000 were in great condition and my birds love them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Mealworms
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

QUICK SHIPPING AND EXCELLENT SHIPPING CONTAINER

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Tyler Co., WV
My Bantam Cochin Hens (11 of them) and the ROO, LOVE THESE!!
I been wanting to get mealworms here in the USA.. instead of the Dried out Foreign Imports.. This was perfect.
Quick Shipping, received the next day by UPS. My UPS Driver was even curious upon delivery of them, as they came in a very well packed container that has a screen on both sides. The Worms were very active..
Just do not make the mistake that I made... opening the box with your hens around... My Flock MUGGED ME to get the worms.. ha ha ha...
I can recommend this product...
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Mealworms
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product arrive in 2 days after placing the order. The worms arrived in great condition!! I was impressed with the speedy delivery!!

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Gunter, Tx
I was very impressed with the speedy delivery and great care taken of the healthy, plentiful mealworms I ordered. I had not ever ordered live food online before, and was very hesitant! However, I will definitely be ordering them again!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Mealworms
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Loved by fledgling

PostedAugust 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
from NY
4 Stars because a good amount were dead.
Besides that, fairly good. Keeps my fledgling healthy. No mold, no powerful smell, etc.
I did see some tiny white things moving though-lice? Hopefully nothing to worry about.
PS- If you're concerned which ones are alive, preheat your oven and stick them in there (leaving the door open-you're not cooking them) for about 10 seconds. They all come to life... I must be a cruel human being. For a good cause (a hungry fledgling that only eats very lively mealworms.)
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Mealworms
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

fresh mealworms

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from texas
im not disappointed with my orders, they come on time and the worms are alive and well. im on repeat order so i can watch for the delivery timely and my worms dont run out. i feed them to 40 finches i own.
they fly down to the dish expecting them everyday.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Mealworms
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

turtle hatchlings

PostedJune 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Fresno, Ca.
perfect food for newly hatched turtles. Some hatchlings are confused on eating. They automatically attack something that's alive and wiggles and gobble it down. Hence, getting nourishment into their little bodies.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Mealworms
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Live Mealworms

PostedJune 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Northwest Missouri
I spent a fortune driving to multiple Petcos trying to find enough containers of mealworms to feed the wild birds each week. Then signed up for repeat delivery through the website. For less than half what I was spending, I now receive double the amount of worms (5000 per shipment) in a carefully sealed, but ventilated, container, and now can keep the birds happy and healthy, too. If only the UPS driver would be a bit more careful on delivery....
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Mealworms
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Big,healthy 5000!

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Stillwater,OK
First time I ordered, I didn't know what to expect. I received a box the next day with so many mealworms, big & plump and wiggling around in a "box farm" I couldn't help but squeal for I didn't quite know what to do. I signed up for a repeat delivery.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>