petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zoo Med Hermit Soil

Zoo Med Hermit Soil

Compressed/expandable coconut fiber substrate for all hermit crab enclosuresIncreases humidity and allows for natural burrowingMix with Hermit Crab Sand or use alone
Average Customer Rating:
4.143 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 14(71%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Zoo Med Hermit Soil
Review 1 for Zoo Med Hermit Soil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sweet

PostedSeptember 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
hermieluver
from Torrance,California
I would reccomend this product because the hermies love to bury themselves in it.It also is really moist.Great price.My hermies,Princess,Uncle Sam,and Girl,love to play around in it.Great produt.It goes great in 10 gallon aquariums if you DON'T put water in it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Zoo Med Hermit Soil
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very nice

PostedJanuary 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shopper101
from New Jersey
To begin with, the brick absorbed water in seconds and i got a pile of soil. It kept the humidity going and my hermit crabs loved to burrow in it. You have to be careful it doesnt grow mold or something. A very nice product to use!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Zoo Med Hermit Soil
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Substrate

PostedApril 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
megamelfina
This is just like Eco Earth, but in a smaller amount. It does a great job keeping humidity up. I recommend buying the bigger Eco Earth bricks.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Zoo Med Hermit Soil
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Alright

PostedJanuary 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Anoop
from Long Island, NY
I bought this when I went to get more shells for my hermit crabs. Just recently I actually used it. To be totally honest, it wasn't worth the hassle for such a little amount. It would have also been better if it retained the humidity much more efficiently. Also, it does become discolored, and a mild odor is given off. I suggest you purchase the EcoEarth bricks for $5 each (8lters).
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Zoo Med Hermit Soil
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Awesome stuff but...

PostedApril 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Michipoo
from Dallas, Tx
The soil is awesome, but it's VERY compacted. It took me an hour to expand it, and then it didn't cover much surface area. It'd be fine if you only had a kritter keeper thing, but I have a much larger habitat, and this is way too time consuming to use.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Zoo Med Hermit Soil
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

good but messy

PostedJanuary 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
ivey
from Arizona
My crabs love this when molting,but it is very messy and you do need to keep a close eye to make sure no mold grows.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Zoo Med Hermit Soil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A MUST!

PostedSeptember 18, 2007
Customer Avatar
Calysto
Essential product for proper humidity and happy hermies! Even if you are reluctant about the possible mess or mold, at least give your digging hermies the pleasure of one corner of the tank filled with soil.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Zoo Med Hermit Soil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great

PostedJune 8, 2007
Customer Avatar
memel
t-rex expandable substrate is a great product when i use it ,it works tremdensouly and my hermit crabs love the stuff
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Zoo Med Hermit Soil
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedMay 19, 2007
Customer Avatar
Erika
from NY
good for molting crabs, also helps with humidity. if you do buy this make sure you get enough to cover the bottom of your tank at least 1 inch deeper then your biggest crabs shell.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Zoo Med Hermit Soil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent

PostedMay 1, 2007
Customer Avatar
wintosgirl
great mixed with sand, and adds more texture and moisture to the substrate. My Crabbies love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Zoo Med Hermit Soil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works nice...

PostedApril 7, 2007
Customer Avatar
Lauren91
from IL
This works perfectly inside a hermit crab environment. It's great to have a little variety inside your crabs home to keep him/her comfortable. This helps with the humidity and you crab will enjoy it. I definitely recommend even though it's just soil.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Zoo Med Hermit Soil
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Its alright

PostedFebruary 14, 2007
Customer Avatar
12345
from Bellevue, WA
its only soil. i divide the terrarium with one part sand and one part soil. it makes a huge mess. if its only with this kinda soil, its still ok.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Zoo Med Hermit Soil
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great to mix wih sand

PostedNovember 26, 2006
Customer Avatar
koolkat002
from New York, NY
I aaalways mix it with sand !!!! I find that it works better with it than without it !!!!!! I would give it a A+.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Zoo Med Hermit Soil
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty good to mix with sand

PostedOctober 6, 2006
Customer Avatar
hermies
from Colorado,Conifer
I got this its a good idea t mix w/sand because it supplys a little mositure! I give it a b+
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.