petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Sand in Yellow

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Zoo Med Hermit Crab Sand in Yellow

All natural calcium carbonate substrate provides a source of calcium necessary for the health of all hermit crabsNatural pigmentNo paint or dyes used in processing
Average Customer Rating:
3.333 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
3
8 out of 15(53%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Sand in Yellow
Review 1 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Sand in Yellow
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Too small of a bag for price

PostedAugust 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Reston, VA
Hermit crabs need deep, moist sand for burying themselves (temp regulation) and molting. You'd need at least 6" of sand for a small crab, so you'd need an awful lot of this sand! There's nothing special about this sand. Sand is sand is sand.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Sand in Yellow
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great product!

PostedJuly 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
from virginia
this sand is a little overpriced but is worth it because wen i got my hermit crabs at the beach i used the sand from the beach and it got soggy VERY easily. so wen i went to petco and bought this one it has been MUCH easier to clean and to take their waste out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-6points
0of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Sand in Yellow
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

OK

PostedApril 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
from New Jersey
It is simply...alright. It works fine like sand from the beach, but it's not price worthy. There is not a lot of sand and it's a bit overpriced. It's a product that I will not buy again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Sand in Yellow
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not enough.

PostedMay 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
from California, CA
This product is Perfect only if you buy MORE THAN ONE OR TWO for a 10 or more gallon tank.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Sand in Yellow
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

pretty good

PostedOctober 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Bolingbrook
This Sand is sandy. It works and I mixed it with my hermit crab soil to make it even better. MY hermies love to dig in it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Sand in Yellow
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Purchase

PostedSeptember 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
from GA
I had read to buy playground sand at a hardware store for my hermit crabs, so I did. It was awful !!! It had gotten wet & mildewed. It was so strong that it made my daughter's bedroom smell mildewed. That money & time was wasted. When I bought the "Hermit Crab Calci-Sand" it might have been a little more expensive but it was WELL worth it !!! It was in perfect condition when it arrived & the crabs seem to love it !!!! They've even started burrowing more !!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Sand in Yellow
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great sand

PostedApril 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
My hermie loves to dig in this sand and just loves hanging out in it. it seemed like my one crab has a "favorite hang out spot" in it it's a little pricey but overall i love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Sand in Yellow
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Crab Sand

PostedJanuary 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Our family (including our two hermit crabs) love this crab sand. They love digging in it and we love being able to change the colors from time to time. It is fun for my younger child who likes to smooth the sand before bed and then see all the new tracks in the morning.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Sand in Yellow
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

To Dusty!

PostedJanuary 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
from mo
~the first thing this sand did when i opened the bag was turn my hands blue!!! so unless you wan't colorfull hermits DO NOT BUY!!!!!!!!!!~
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Sand in Yellow
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

ok..but...

PostedJanuary 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
it was ok but very pricey for a bag. also it gets very smelly when wet. i just by sand from the hard whare store. about $3 for a huge bag. sorry but its not all that great.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Sand in Yellow
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for digging

PostedMay 20, 2007
Customer Avatar
from Arizona
Our 5 hermit crabs like to dig in this sand.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Sand in Yellow
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good for crab overall health

PostedFebruary 1, 2007
Customer Avatar
from Salt Lake City, UT
I add a bag or two of crab sand (calcium carbonate) on top of a primary substrate of regular sandbox sand when I clean out the crab tank (every six to eight weeks, since we have only a small pair of hermits). Crab sand gets incidentally eaten, and adds much needed calcium to the normal hermit crab diet. Crabs that have molted in the new environment have been redder in color and much healthier looking than before. Since I haven't changed much else about the habitat, I attribute the positive change to the addition of the crab sand.
Always remember -- hermit crabs have modified gills, and need a moist environment. Don't just keep them in a reptile tank with the cover off unless you live in a very humid, consistently warm environment -- they'll suffer and eventually die of suffocation. We've added a humidity and temperature gauge to the inside of the tank, and we keep the glass cover on the tank and a clean sponge in the water dish almost all the time to keep the humidity level where it should be (70% to 80% humidity and 70 to 80 degrees Fahrenheit is ideal). I also have a heating pad on a timer so that it creates a temperature gradient at night, when it can get a bit cooler.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Sand in Yellow
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not a good product

PostedJanuary 1, 2007
Customer Avatar
from Philidelphia PA
This product is horriable. This is the sand that i first got for my hermies but after a month or so, it got really smelly and nasty. When i tried to shovel out the mess that they made, it was really hard to do because it clumped.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Sand in Yellow
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

not good

PostedJuly 16, 2006
Customer Avatar
from miami fl
this sand is not good because of the color will stain hermit crabs shells if the shell is a cream white or light colored shell. it stained my hermit crabs shell and i hade to whait untill she molted and got a new shell to clean it
ps. DONT use soap or detergnts when washing h,c relatd stuff
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Zoo Med Hermit Crab Sand in Yellow
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sand not only for Crabs

PostedApril 21, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Broomfield, CO
This fine-grained sand comes in many designer colours, so it'll match just about anything. Has calcium which is good for your reptile's health, just don't allow over-compaction(eating too much will make them sick). Small reptiles such as small Arid(desert) lizards love this sand too. Overall; great and fun-coloured sand that works fine for desert lizards too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.