petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sani-Moat Ant Barriers

Sani-Moat Ant Barriers

Stop ants in their tracksSani-Moat Ant Barrier attaches to the base of your pet's food dish and creates a protective moat that ants can't crossWorks with all plastic, ceramic, and stainless steel dishes
Average Customer Rating:
4.467 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 15(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for Sani-Moat Ant Barriers
Review 1 for Sani-Moat Ant Barriers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best investment ever

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Waikapu, Maui
This is the answer and has worked 100% (as long as I make sure the moat is full) to control ants from getting into my two kitties food. I bought a rectangle plain white cooking dish and the moat was easy to attach. The base has stayed attached for over 5 years, even with rinsing out the dish. I would recommend this to anyone looking for an inexpensive practical solution to ants in your pets food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sani-Moat Ant Barriers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

dog food & money saver

PostedAugust 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Have been dealing with pesky little ants for months. So glad I have found this. So simple to use & also serves to raise the dog's bowl enough to allow for more comfortable eating.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sani-Moat Ant Barriers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ant barrier

PostedAugust 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles
Los Angeles has a problem with ants coming into the house every summer. With animals and their food, it's very difficult. The Sani-Moat Ant Barrier has so far been 100% effective in preventing ants from getting into my foster kittens' food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sani-Moat Ant Barriers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT PRODUCT THAT WORKS!

PostedNovember 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
from North Carolina
I have 3 indoor/outdoor cats and have actually used this product in the past - just needed more of them. These particular 'moat ant barriers' are very hard to find any where - even in the Petco store if it's not summer time. Luckily Petco on line still offered them during fall/winter. THEY WORK GREAT!!!! You just fill the bottom with a ring of dish detergent, twist the bowl back on and ready to go! NO ANTS have ever been in my pets food outdoors since using these! HIGHLY RECOMMEND!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sani-Moat Ant Barriers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works! Inside & Outside

PostedAugust 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Dallas, TX
I've been having a terrible time with tiny ants getting into the cats' bowls. My usual solution has been to put a smaller bowl inside a larger bowl filed with water, but ants still get in when the small bowl floats and touches the rim of the larger bowl. This product solves the problem by sticking the food bowl on top. Cons: can't choose the color and the moat is small and water evaporates quickly in the Texas summer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sani-Moat Ant Barriers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Keeps the ants out!

PostedAugust 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Yucaipa, CA
These do exactly what they were intended to: they keep the ants out of my dogs' food! They were simple to adhere to the bottom of my dogs' bowls and seem to be staying on well so far. The barriers are 2 parts so even though they are stuck to the bowls, you twist the bottom part off to refill the moat as needed. I use undiluted Dawn dish soap and check it once a week. If it is low or dried up, I simply add more and twist it back on. My dogs seem much happier to grace throughout the day, since there are no more ants in their food. Woohoo! I'm thinking about buying a few more for use inside the house as well, like under the fruit bowl.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sani-Moat Ant Barriers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far so good

PostedAugust 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
They seem to do the trick! Two things that I would change about it is that whatever liquid you put in the moat area, spills out and makes a mess. It needs deeper sides to keep the liquid contained. Also,
I think a better solution would also to have an adjustable bowl well that the bowl sits in rather than a peel and stick surface for the bowl. Once the stickiness is gone, than what? Other than those two things. It works! Just needs a little tweaking.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sani-Moat Ant Barriers
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Shocking, it works!

PostedJuly 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
from NY, NY
It does what it says it will do. The tips on the package are very helpful too. I put a drop of liquid soap and water and that's enough to discourage guests to my cat's meals. I don't have to worry about my cat taking a drink either since you can secure the dish to the top of the moat. However, unless you're getting a sale you might want to go DIY. My cat's glass water dish has short feet. I just rub a thin coat of petroleum jelly and create my own sani-moat, without the moat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sani-Moat Ant Barriers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Purrfect Purrformance!

PostedJune 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Chapel Hill, NC
I'm totally pleased with my Sani-Moat barriers that I'm using for both inside and outside kitties. Just fill the tray with water, or add a little dish soap, and it completely stops ants from invading their food. They are much happier with no ants, and have no trouble digging right in to their dinners, even though the dishes are sitting on the Sani-Moat. It doesn't deter them in the least.
There is an adhesive pad on top that you can expose to glue it onto a dish, or leave the pad covered so you can put a fresh dish out each time you feed, which is what I do.
It saves me $$ because I don't have to throw out infested leftovers.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sani-Moat Ant Barriers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic

PostedJune 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
from TN
I read the reviews before I purchased adn was a little doubtful that the Ant Barrier would keep ants out of the food.
However, I have been using these for about 2 weeks and they are wonderful. It is great knowing that my kittens can eat whenever they want and that there will no no ants in the food. I followed the suggestion of another reviewer and attached a bowl to that barrier that I could set the food bowl down into so that I can pop the bowls in the dishwasher when needed. Using a bowl larger than the food dish allows my kittens to spill their food but keeps it contained so it is easy to clean up and does not attract the ants.
I recommend this product to everyone whether they have an ant problem or not.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sani-Moat Ant Barriers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

IT WORKS

PostedMay 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
the scout ants never know the food is there. 100% effective even on the dish I placed outside for the strays. I used dish soap inside, liquid laundry outside. Every week I add a bit of water and stir it into the soap to keep it liquid and effective. I stuck the unit to the bottom of a stainless dish, then I place the ceramic dish with the food in that. This way I can still wash the dish. I am buying more to use under planters. Who knew ants liked thyme?
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sani-Moat Ant Barriers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Effective

PostedApril 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
This has been a good purchase - gave 4 paws, lacking only one paw for inconvenience when it comes to cleaning dishes. They adhere to center and are awkward, otherwise very effective in keeping ants out of dishes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sani-Moat Ant Barriers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Ant Barrier

PostedJuly 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
from California
I bought one of these in the store for our large dog dish and it works great! The ants get into our smaller bowls without the moat, but not in the big one! I'm going to be buying two more for the smaller bowls!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sani-Moat Ant Barriers
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Expecting larger

PostedAugust 18, 2007
Customer Avatar
I failed to read the size of the sani-moat, so I was a little surprised to see how small it is. About the size of a saucer. But think it will work. The ants are so bad this year, anything helps. The order process was very user friendly. Next time, I will read the size closer so I won't be expecting a different size.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sani-Moat Ant Barriers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great

PostedApril 13, 2007
Customer Avatar
from Salt Lake City, UT
We started getting ants in our pet bowls last year so that is when I bought 3 of these sani-moats. They worked perfectly. I filled the moat part with dishwashing soap and water. The ants can't get to the food. They drown in the moat. The ants stopped going to the pet bowls. I'll be buying another one for a family member.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.