petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for ZuPreem AvianMaintenance FruitBlend Bird Diet for Small Birds

ZuPreem AvianMaintenance FruitBlend Bird Diet for Small Birds

Specially sized nuggets perfect for use as parrotlet or parakeet foodStimulating small bird food containing fresh ground fruit in every nugget21 vitamins and minerals -- no supplements requiredNaturally preserved with vitamins for freshnessRecommended by veterinarians and top breeders worldwide
Average Customer Rating:
4.158 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
15 out of 19(79%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for ZuPreem AvianMaintenance FruitBlend Bird Diet for Small Birds
Review 1 for ZuPreem AvianMaintenance FruitBlend Bird Diet for Small Birds
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This ZuPreem my Cockatiel loves it

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sunshinekid1957
from Providence,R.I.
I switched my cockatiel to pellet food and he loves this brand
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ZuPreem AvianMaintenance FruitBlend Bird Diet for Small Birds
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cockatiels like it too!

PostedAugust 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
RissaBird
from Lincoln, Ne
In my experience, cockatiels being switched over from a seed diet to a pelleted one do well with this food. The pellets themselves are bright in color and are about the same size and shape as millet seed.
I am currently feeding my cockatiels this size of pellets and they LOVE it. I tried the larger size that is actually made for cockatiels, but I found that my birds did not really eat it as well. There is less waste with the smaller pieces.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ZuPreem AvianMaintenance FruitBlend Bird Diet for Small Birds
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Overall Food

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rauzz
I like this food overall, it is a good pellet for the price. My Quaker is spoiled when it comes to diet. He does not flip for this food and does not eat much of it. But I have seen MANY other parrots that go nuts for this food. My boy has a flair for others because he has always had this, but I know many birds that see this food as a special yummy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ZuPreem AvianMaintenance FruitBlend Bird Diet for Small Birds
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Wont Eat

PostedJuly 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Birdloverrrrrr
from Cali
My parrotlet tries to eat this but it is way too hard in structure. And they are really tiny so when he tries to bite down on it, it falls out of his mouth onto the ground. So i have to crush it up into tiny particles and sprinkle it on his seeds. Time consuming, but i want to get my moneys worth!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ZuPreem AvianMaintenance FruitBlend Bird Diet for Small Birds
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Food

PostedFebruary 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mommyofabudgie
from Georgia
This actually pretty great food if you feed with seeds.Very balanced food and my Budgie loves it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ZuPreem AvianMaintenance FruitBlend Bird Diet for Small Birds
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pellets for Parakeets

PostedApril 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bibliolink
from AZ
I purchased these pellets for my parakeets and they absolutely love them! I would recommend other parakeet owners to try them out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ZuPreem AvianMaintenance FruitBlend Bird Diet for Small Birds
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

budgies will eat it

PostedOctober 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ivannie
Our budgies will eat this pelleted diet. They snubbed other types but they like this one.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ZuPreem AvianMaintenance FruitBlend Bird Diet for Small Birds
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good food

PostedOctober 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
birdowner
from Vann Nuys,Ca
Zupreem is one of the better extruded diets on the market. The fruitblend flavor tastes and smells good and the different colors will get your birds interest. The problem with seeds is that birds are selective eaters and usually dont eat all the seeds. Zupreem has balanced nutrition in every bite. Unfortunately my birds will not give up seeds entirely. I sprinkle Zupreem on top of their seeds. Zupreem is affordable and has mixtures for all birds. If you dont want to feed the fruitblend flavor they also have an unflavored blend as well!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for ZuPreem AvianMaintenance FruitBlend Bird Diet for Small Birds
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tasty treat

PostedJanuary 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
2budgies
from Cottonwood, AZ.
All my birdlies just love this fruit blend. I give it to them in between feedings of their other food. The tiels especially love it and my sweet Dickie Bird is always first at the food dish.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for ZuPreem AvianMaintenance FruitBlend Bird Diet for Small Birds
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not for Parakeets

PostedJuly 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
10animals
My parakeets will not eat this food; they rather eat newspaper. I think that the food is too hard and big for them to eat. I tried to crush it up but that was difficult because the pieces are so hard. Even after I crush this food up my parakeets were only willing to eat a little.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for ZuPreem AvianMaintenance FruitBlend Bird Diet for Small Birds
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for baby tiels!

PostedFebruary 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
beesta
from Ware, MA
I recently got a handfed baby tiel who was weaned onto Zupreem parakeet food. The cockatiel blend is still too big for him, but he LOVES the parakeet pellets! As soon as he hears me pick up the bag, he's waiting on my hand to be fed a handful!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for ZuPreem AvianMaintenance FruitBlend Bird Diet for Small Birds
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Adds Years to Their Lives!

PostedDecember 16, 2007
Customer Avatar
SpooSpa
from Tulsa, OK
Ever since I started using Zupreem Avian Maintenence, (I use a blend of the Natural & the Fruit) for ALL my birds: Parakeets, Quakers, Conure, Cockatiels, I have notice a healtier sheen to their plumage, and they are more lively. Before, when I used seeds, my 'keets average life expectancy was only about 3 years or less. Now since using it, I had one live for 5 years, and I have one whos still alive and he's going on 7 years!!! I love it! Before, when I used seeds many would die from "Sour crop" a crop disease where the seeds would rot in their crop (thats the top of the breast that looks full after eatiing). I use the parakeet, cockatiel and parrot/conure blends.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for ZuPreem AvianMaintenance FruitBlend Bird Diet for Small Birds
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good product

PostedNovember 24, 2007
Customer Avatar
ElizabethAnn
Excellent product! I used to have a big problem with my parakeets stealing the cockatiels' food, now they love their food so much and they don't bother trying to break into the tiel cage (at least not for the food). Personally recommended to me and much healthier than seeds. However, my picky parakeets, unless there is nothing else for them to eat, pick out what they like and leave the yellow and green pellets behind. Overall, this is a great, nutritious product and, though a little pricy, is definitely worth it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for ZuPreem AvianMaintenance FruitBlend Bird Diet for Small Birds
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

GOOD

PostedDecember 29, 2006
Customer Avatar
dude
from NY
My birds, Sunshine and Muraco, took a while to adapt to this food, but now they refuse seeds!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for ZuPreem AvianMaintenance FruitBlend Bird Diet for Small Birds
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

my bird would rather starve

PostedSeptember 27, 2006
Customer Avatar
review4reader
from Princeton, NJ
I bought this upon reading about it, hoping to expand my bird's diet.
He refused to eat it, even if nothing else was available.
Even if it might be good quality--it's useless if not consumed!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for ZuPreem AvianMaintenance FruitBlend Bird Diet for Small Birds
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Recommend

PostedJuly 1, 2006
Customer Avatar
Bird Crazy 12-year-old
from Steubenville, OH
I have never used ZuPreem but heard that it is very good. I myself use Kaytee for my little babies (budgies Petey and Sprite), but have heard the best about ZuPreem.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for ZuPreem AvianMaintenance FruitBlend Bird Diet for Small Birds
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

a new favorite

PostedMay 15, 2006
Customer Avatar
Katie
from Maine
I recently rescued two parakeets that had been on a strictly seed diet. I immediately went in search of pellets and found these. And now? They eat their seeds last. I'll definitely be buying many more bags of these.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for ZuPreem AvianMaintenance FruitBlend Bird Diet for Small Birds
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pellets for Birds

PostedFebruary 4, 2006
Customer Avatar
Mallori
from Sedalia, MO
I have seen a great improvement with my birds on pellets. From my parakeets up to my doves. The fruit flavoring makes it more accepting to the birds. My parakeets love it and so does my cockatiel and doves.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for ZuPreem AvianMaintenance FruitBlend Bird Diet for Small Birds
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My keets like it

PostedDecember 21, 2005
Customer Avatar
Sid and Ginger
from Kentucky
I used to feed my parakeets a seed diet, but they developed liver disease on it (beaks were overgrown, etc). My vet recommended a pellet diet and he recommended Zupreem. It took about a week for them to completely make the transition to an all pellet diet, but now they LOVE this stuff! Although sometimes they seem to have more fun playing with it and throwing it around. But they eat it and are looking and acting much healthier now.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.