petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe Pawz Away Indoor Pet Barrier & Collar

PetSafe Pawz Away Indoor Pet Barrier & Collar

Barrier ranges from 2-12 ft.Collar gives a gentle reminder about off-limit areasWorks instantly, no training necessaryPortable cordless system for travelExtra receiver collars and transmitters can be added (sold separately)Model ZND-1200
Average Customer Rating:
3.857 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 42 reviews
5 stars
24
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
7
30 out of 42(71%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe Pawz Away Indoor Pet Barrier & Collar
Review 1 for PetSafe Pawz Away Indoor Pet Barrier & Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best buy ever!!

PostedMarch 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Exton, Pa
OMG--what a great purchase this was!!! We have had nothing but trouble with our feisty, energetic, rescue pup. She thinks she's one of the family, so was always at the table, under it, and on it, stealing food--including the kitchen counters. Now with this unit, she knows her boundaries. It has cut the stress her unstoppable behavior was causing our family (and puppy:) for months. I actually think she's glad she knows her boundaries. She was in trouble all the time. Now she is praised everyday for being such a "good girl".
We are so pleased with this purchase. It came quickly, and was on sale. The best $70 we've ever spent. THANK YOU!!!
PS at first, it didn't seem to be working, but the next day I just left the collar on for a couple hours and when she came over to the table, she left it very quickly with her head down. No yelping or anything, I was so relieved to see it isn't a terrible shock like some collars can be. Just enough to make her not like this strange new feeling.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Pawz Away Indoor Pet Barrier & Collar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not worth it, could not get it to work

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Germantown,TN
Could not get collar to work at all on my long haired cat, and you're supposed to remember to take this off 12 hours per day??? Could not get range adjusted correctly on the receiver. Returned it all. I tried this as an alternative to Invisible Fencing, but Invisible's System set up is much nicer and actually works, just costs more money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Pawz Away Indoor Pet Barrier & Collar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not meant for stubborn cats.

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Boston, MA
I purchased this in hopes of keeping my 12 pound short haired cat off of our kitchen counters. I tested the collar on my hand first to make sure it wouldn't be too painful and also to make sure it was working. It worked. When I put the collar on my cat, however, it had no effect whatsoever. I could hear the beeping, but he literally walked up to the disk that I had in the center of the kitchen floor and sniffed it. He was surprised the first time he felt the static, but each time after he walked right through it and up onto the counters.
Though the product didn't work for me, I will say that the return to the store was easy. I printed the receipt online, brought it to the store, and was refunded without any problems. Kudos to Petco for that one. Unfortunately, I would not recommend the collar.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Pawz Away Indoor Pet Barrier & Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Store dog

PostedMay 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Lawrence Ks
I own a retail business in downtown Lawrence Kansas and this product has been amazing! The first day I had my new puppy Max he tried to make a break for it! We were lucky to have a neighbor jogging down the street who grabbed him up. Ever since the collar has arrived Max has learned to stay back from the front door, but still greets customers!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Pawz Away Indoor Pet Barrier & Collar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

indoor pet barrier

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Colorado
The range on the product reads 12 feet. I'm lucky if the collar beeps at 2 feet.
The system worked the first day, then stopped working completely. I had put in new batteries, so I knew it wasn't that. I finally figured out it was the collar.
Fortunately the Petco nearby had a collar available. The system now works great except for the small radius range. It only took one beep for my dog to understand his new boundaries.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Pawz Away Indoor Pet Barrier & Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

KEEP OFF FURNITURE

PostedDecember 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Southampton, NY
We just bought new furniture since our old "stuff" got filthy from the dog. He won't even go near it! This device works BEAUTIFULLY! I would DEFINITELY recommend this product to EVERYONE if they would like to keep dogs away from a certain area of the house.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Pawz Away Indoor Pet Barrier & Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has been a HUGE success.

PostedJuly 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Oregon
We purchased two stations and one collar for our cat. He no longer even enters the kitchen or our bedroom. We placed the station on the countertop near the back of the kitchen. He tried coming in 3 or 4 times, started getting notice from the system and ran out. I have two rubberbands on the countertop, which he always would find before and played with and tore to pieces. The two rubberbands have now been laying safely on the countertop for 3 weeks. Would highly recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Pawz Away Indoor Pet Barrier & Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Didn't include the "C" batteries

PostedJanuary 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Riverside, CA
The box and online descriptions both indicate the package includes the batteries.
Alas, it is not so...so I need to go out and buy some...until then Binky continues to have free reign of the living room sofas.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-16points
1of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Pawz Away Indoor Pet Barrier & Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Magic. No more door charging.

PostedJanuary 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Chicago
Normally, when our doorbell rings, we get 200 lbs of chocolate labs rushing the foyer to see who is home. I set this up, and in less than 5 minutes, my labs will not enter the foyer when the bell rings or the door is opened After two sessions of static charges, we removed the collar and the unit. Now, several days later, neither will approach the front door. I think it's important if using to avoid "door charging" to use the collar in conjunction with ringing the door bell and using a verbal comand. That way, they affiliate the negative beeping and static to the door bell only, not the whole foyer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
11of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Pawz Away Indoor Pet Barrier & Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful product

PostedDecember 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Prairie City IA
Product works as described. I have a whole new dog that stays away from trash and other areas that I have placed the unit
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Pawz Away Indoor Pet Barrier & Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Didn't work at all

PostedFebruary 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
We bought this product to keep our beagle from eating our cat's food. The first couple of times our dog got close to our cats food wearing this collar, she backed off. After that I guess she just decided it was worth the shock to get at the food. We wanted to keep the dog from eating the food - not torture her when she ate it! Needless to say, we quit using it right away.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Pawz Away Indoor Pet Barrier & Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very happy with the product!!!

PostedFebruary 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
It delivers what it promises, plain and simple!! my Chi no longer uses my bedroom as his toilet since day one of using this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Pawz Away Indoor Pet Barrier & Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It works!

PostedFebruary 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
To all those with doubts: I have a 9 month old 130 lb male Great Dane and this works on him! I do have the barrier set to 12 feet (range states options of 2-12 ft). However it doesn't beep until about 6 feet away from the barrier. As long as the collar is placed with the PetSafe lable facing his chin, the sensor works. He has short fur so it does work better than those with longer fur. Just make sure you have it tight enough and it should work. We were having issues with Triton wanting to go up the wood stairs, but wouldn't come down because he'd slip. We decided to make the stairs unavailable to him. We placed the barrier on the bottom stair, and it stops him from coming within 6 feet of the barrier, on either entry way to the stairs. He learned within the first day that he doesn't want to go over there. I don't usually put the collar on him now unless I have to run upstairs. However, there was once where he went to quickly through the area and was able to evade getting shocked. Otherwise this has been an amazing purchase for our household, and would recommend it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe Pawz Away Indoor Pet Barrier & Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very good product

PostedDecember 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
This product worked just as it promised. I have been trying to keep my two dogs out of a certain room and one try with the collar on and they since have not ventured near the room. I wish I would have discovered this earlier! I strongly recommend it. P.S. i zapped myself on accident, and it was uncomfortable and is a good deterrant, but it was not terribly painful.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe Pawz Away Indoor Pet Barrier & Collar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product!

PostedOctober 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
from California
We had been using the plastic gates to keep our Maltese puppy out of certain areas. Then I came across this. She actually gets as far away from it as she can when she's in the area of it. However, one time she actually walked right through the barrier zone. She hasn't done that since and seems to be afraid of it, so I don't know how she got through that one time. She knows to stay away from that area just by having the collar on. The down side is since she's so small, the collar is a bit heavy for her. Otherwise, it works great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe Pawz Away Indoor Pet Barrier & Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked when nothing else did!

PostedSeptember 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Tucson, AZ
We have a 7 year old Beagle who has been getting up onto our kitchen counters while we are out to find any food we might have left out. In addition to being annoying and causing him to gain weight, he also injured his hip making the huge leap up and down. Even when we were careful to leave nothing out, he would still jump up to investigate.
This collar seems to have stopped the behavior after a single shock. He seems to understand that the kitchen is OK as long as the collar isn't on, but he definitely stays away when we put the collar on and leave. As an added bonus, he now stays away from the kitchen table even though the signal doesn't reach that far!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe Pawz Away Indoor Pet Barrier & Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great!

PostedSeptember 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
We put the collar on the dog, she ran over to where the transmitter was, got a shock, jumped and ran away, hasn't gone near the spot again, even when the collar is off!
Works really well, would reccommend this product. We'll probably order another transmitter and put it near the couch instead of the aluminum foil that is on it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe Pawz Away Indoor Pet Barrier & Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Did the job

PostedAugust 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
I was surprised how quickly the barrier collar kept my dogs out of 2 rooms. I only saw 1 dog get "shocked" and neither of them will go anywhere close to the rooms. I read that when you take off the shock collar replace it with a collar with a battery attached (for weight) so that they still think they have the original collar on.
Wish I had done this years ago.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe Pawz Away Indoor Pet Barrier & Collar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Product did not work on my pet

PostedJuly 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
This product worked just fine as far as the product its self, but had absolutely no effect on my pet. We put it by our back door with is the problem door and she stood right nex to it, while it was shocking her. She didnt care.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe Pawz Away Indoor Pet Barrier & Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works like a Charm

PostedJuly 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
I have a 4 month old beagle who does two things that needed to be corrected. He jumps on the outdoor couch and pulls all the cushions off to play with them and tear them up. Next, he plunges himself into our glass back door. At times we think he is going to break the glass. I purchased this pet barrier system along with an extra base. I put one under the outdoor couch and one by the back door. He now avoids this area. A couple of instances he has come into the zone but is only there a couple of seconds before he retreats. I was skeptical at first but I do highly recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>