petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post

SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post

The ultimate cat scratching post that inspires and encourages your cat's innate scratching and clawing urgesFeaturing fibrous and durable sisal covering that is perfect for conditioning nails and superior to carpet, which snaps nails and encourages scratching on carpeted surfaces in your homeWith a sturdy cat-scratcher base that eliminates wobbling
Average Customer Rating:
4.66 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(206 Reviews) 206
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 206 reviews
5 stars
165
4 stars
26
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
5
192 out of 206(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer Reviews for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Review 1 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ignored at first but he caught on and likes it-after nails trimmed.

PostedAugust 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Milocat2
from Midwest
I have cat that I took in off the street he's had to learn many house manners.You can tell he spent alot of time fending for himself. He probably was using trees for scratching. Since he's come inside he has preferred doorways, walls and the side of our bed. Since our bed was the major target I set up the cat tree in front of it spiked it with catnip and let him upstairs. At first he ignored it and still used the bed. He did not seem to like the texture of the sisal. I demonstrated how to use it with my own hands many times and tried to get him interested. Not much interest. He would touch it occasionally with his paws seemed turned off and walk away. I was sure I'd have to return it. I am not sure but I think what changed is that I trimmed his nails. This may seem counter intuitive but even a cat with trimmed nails scratches things. This cat constantly kneads/makes biscuits on us so we need them trimmed to avoid being a pin cushion. I think his nails were get caught in the sisal pad and he did not like that. Since his nails are trimmmed I think he is trying to "resharpen them". He also likes the praise he gets every time we see him using it. I feel this will be habit that will lock in with him. He is the only vertical scratcher in the house. The rest of the cats are horizontal scratchers and ignore the post.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
8of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is the one!

PostedJanuary 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
nanyemc
Great scratching post! I read many reviews and went to the store to see it before making the purchase on-line. It has a nice height and very steady. I have one female adult cat, she took to it right away. It saved my carpet.:) Btw, for the interior design conscious, because it is natural/neutral in color, it easily fits to your decor.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+21points
21of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Use this - don't declaw!

PostedDecember 24, 2006
Customer Avatar
Ethan
from St. Paul, MN
The quality and stability of this scratcher is the best I have ever seen. It is very tall so the cats can really stretch, and it doesn't wobble. Also, it's very attractive. Be sure to have several different kinds of scratchers for your cat to choose from, especially this one!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+11points
38of 65voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Don't declaw purchase a Smart Cat Ultima

PostedJanuary 12, 2006
Customer Avatar
Romeo & Rocky's Mom
from Randolph, NJ
I have two large Maine Coon cats that love to scratch. The one prefers large flat scratchers but the other preferred our bathroom doorway. He caused so much damage that my husband said we should have him declawed (which I am strongly against). I searched the internet and found the Smart Cat Ultimate Scratching Post. Romeo gets his full stretch while scratching and my bathroom doorway has been saved. Highly recommend this to anyone with cats large or small.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+24points
25of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post

PostedJune 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
oboe2013
from Raleigh nc
This is the most amazing scratching post ever! Been using over a month so it's not just a new attraction for the cats. We have an "extra large" cat who loved using our other scratching posts, but would pull them to the floor with his weight. This post can handle his weight and doesn't fall apart like the carpeted ones do. He can strop and climb to his heart's content, and our much smaller cat loves it too. Well worth the money -much less interest in furniture upholstery now!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Purchase!

PostedJune 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
MCassandra
from Long Beach
I love this scratching Post. Not only does it look great, it's big enough and sturdy enough and my kitty loves it. I put treats at the top for him and he climbs up the post. I also dangle toys at the top so he chases up after those too. I've also seen him use it for streching and scratching, though because he is still little and wants to be wherever I am, he mainly uses it when I interact with him with the post. But I'm training him and he loves it! Also, at first I felt like it was too big for my room but now I think it fits perfectly. Definitely recommend this.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Well-made

PostedJune 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
mlmc
from Casper, WY
Well-made and sturdy. However, my cat, who is 8 years old, is doing an incredible job of ignoring it. We have hung toys off of it, rubbed it with catnip, tried to show her how to use it, etc., etc., etc. It has been a waste of money for us.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gives a good stretch

PostedJune 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
googleish
from Arlington, VA
I love this post and recommend it to everyone including adopters at the rescue where I work. A bit pricey for its simplicity but it does what it's supposed to and it does it well. No frills. All my cats love it because they can get a good stretch and it must feel good because they are always scratching on them. I didn't buy the perch but my cats still jump up and sit on the top.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Nice

PostedJune 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Boopbeeboop
from Detroit, MI
The construction of this post is impressive. It is very solid and heavy. My cat has not been too into it, so I'm not sure how well it will stand up
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best scratching post EVER!

PostedJune 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
catnaper
from Spring TX
This is my third one! My cats took to it instantly and never looked at my furniture again. Whenever I am in the store and see people looking at scratchers I always tell them about this one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for scratching and climbing!

PostedMay 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Biscuitcat
from Pine Mountain, Georgia
Kitten loves this scratching post. He can climb right to the top We wish it had a sisal top so that he could sit on top for a while
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exchanged defective product for one that I'm satisfied with

PostedMay 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
MiggyFan
from Grand Rapids, MI
I received a defective product via mail. The screws and the base that needs to be put together were defective and unfinished. Luckily, I was able to exchange it at a local Petco store.
I really like how the post is high enough for my cats to get a good stretch. I was having problems with one of my cats using the furniture to scratch on but the new post seems to have solved it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Claw-Deep-into-it cats LOVE it!

PostedMay 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Wayyon
from Bay Area, CA
Two sizes of tough, dig-deep-into-it, clawing cats are very happy with this. Plus, it's great for the bigger to get a real stretch and solid enough not to tip over, all without taking up much space. Yay! Lasts mine over a year (the woven jute won't unravel like the rope-style does at the break when clawed through) with its 4 sides.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Smartcat Ultimate Scratching Post

PostedApril 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
3catowner
from Alpine, Ca
I was dubious as to the effectiveness of a scratching post but I was proved wrong. All three cats took to the scratching post in record time. Three large cats stretching out full length scratching to their delight thus saving my furniture including the backs of my upholstered chairs. The scratching post is sturdy, good looking and definitely meets the needs of my cats.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

PostedApril 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
smuck
from Florida
My cats took to it right away. It is sturdy and even attractive. It is tall enough so they can stretch and scratch. It is heavy and does not fall over. I would recommend this product to anyone. Love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedApril 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Dunny
from Vallejo, CA
I would recommend this thistle scratching post to any cat owner. It is very well built and sturdy. They last much longer than carpet scratching posts. The last one I purchased has lasted for several years. I tried a carpet post and my cats would not use it. They like the thistle ones better.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FABULOUS

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Petcat
from Orlando, FL
This is the best cat scratching post ever. It's tall enough that even my longest cat can stretch his full length while providing a wonderful place for trimming their nails.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great scratching post

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
vancouver06
from Minneapolis
Our cat LOVES this post. Plus, it looks great in the house and makes a nice addition to our home.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My cat loves it!!

PostedMarch 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
lpickel
from Dallas, TX
When I got this, I was shocked at how big and sturdy it was. I have a 4 month old kitten and he can fully stretch on this post. He will still be able to when he is full grown. It is well-made and attractive. Great product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great 'furniture' ... disinterested kitty

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
acdc6958
from Littleton, CO
I found the SmartCat "Ultimate Scratching Post" to be of superior quality and workmanship. It would be the best piece of cat furniture in which to invest, except for one small detail ... my kitty has yet to become even remotely interested in using it. I bought 2 so that I could diversify & thereby better manage his natural instincts, but sadly I've had to return the 2nd post as he wasn't utilizing the 1st post ... so it seemed kind of pointless to have 2 posts just sitting around taking up floor space unnecessarily. Otherwise, I really do like this product overall.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>