petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post

SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post

The ultimate cat scratching post that inspires and encourages your cat's innate scratching and clawing urgesFeaturing fibrous and durable sisal covering that is perfect for conditioning nails and superior to carpet, which snaps nails and encourages scratching on carpeted surfaces in your homeWith a sturdy cat-scratcher base that eliminates wobbling
Average Customer Rating:
4.658 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(196 Reviews) 196
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 196 reviews
5 stars
156
4 stars
26
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
5
183 out of 196(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer Reviews for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Review 1 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ignored at first but he caught on and likes it-after nails trimmed.

PostedAugust 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Milocat2
from Midwest
I have cat that I took in off the street he's had to learn many house manners.You can tell he spent alot of time fending for himself. He probably was using trees for scratching. Since he's come inside he has preferred doorways, walls and the side of our bed. Since our bed was the major target I set up the cat tree in front of it spiked it with catnip and let him upstairs. At first he ignored it and still used the bed. He did not seem to like the texture of the sisal. I demonstrated how to use it with my own hands many times and tried to get him interested. Not much interest. He would touch it occasionally with his paws seemed turned off and walk away. I was sure I'd have to return it. I am not sure but I think what changed is that I trimmed his nails. This may seem counter intuitive but even a cat with trimmed nails scratches things. This cat constantly kneads/makes biscuits on us so we need them trimmed to avoid being a pin cushion. I think his nails were get caught in the sisal pad and he did not like that. Since his nails are trimmmed I think he is trying to "resharpen them". He also likes the praise he gets every time we see him using it. I feel this will be habit that will lock in with him. He is the only vertical scratcher in the house. The rest of the cats are horizontal scratchers and ignore the post.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
8of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is the one!

PostedJanuary 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
nanyemc
Great scratching post! I read many reviews and went to the store to see it before making the purchase on-line. It has a nice height and very steady. I have one female adult cat, she took to it right away. It saved my carpet.:) Btw, for the interior design conscious, because it is natural/neutral in color, it easily fits to your decor.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+21points
21of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Use this - don't declaw!

PostedDecember 24, 2006
Customer Avatar
Ethan
from St. Paul, MN
The quality and stability of this scratcher is the best I have ever seen. It is very tall so the cats can really stretch, and it doesn't wobble. Also, it's very attractive. Be sure to have several different kinds of scratchers for your cat to choose from, especially this one!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+13points
38of 63voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Don't declaw purchase a Smart Cat Ultima

PostedJanuary 12, 2006
Customer Avatar
Romeo & Rocky's Mom
from Randolph, NJ
I have two large Maine Coon cats that love to scratch. The one prefers large flat scratchers but the other preferred our bathroom doorway. He caused so much damage that my husband said we should have him declawed (which I am strongly against). I searched the internet and found the Smart Cat Ultimate Scratching Post. Romeo gets his full stretch while scratching and my bathroom doorway has been saved. Highly recommend this to anyone with cats large or small.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+24points
25of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

PostedApril 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
smuck
from Florida
My cats took to it right away. It is sturdy and even attractive. It is tall enough so they can stretch and scratch. It is heavy and does not fall over. I would recommend this product to anyone. Love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedApril 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Dunny
from Vallejo, CA
I would recommend this thistle scratching post to any cat owner. It is very well built and sturdy. They last much longer than carpet scratching posts. The last one I purchased has lasted for several years. I tried a carpet post and my cats would not use it. They like the thistle ones better.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FABULOUS

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Petcat
from Orlando, FL
This is the best cat scratching post ever. It's tall enough that even my longest cat can stretch his full length while providing a wonderful place for trimming their nails.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great scratching post

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
vancouver06
from Minneapolis
Our cat LOVES this post. Plus, it looks great in the house and makes a nice addition to our home.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My cat loves it!!

PostedMarch 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
lpickel
from Dallas, TX
When I got this, I was shocked at how big and sturdy it was. I have a 4 month old kitten and he can fully stretch on this post. He will still be able to when he is full grown. It is well-made and attractive. Great product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great 'furniture' ... disinterested kitty

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
acdc6958
from Littleton, CO
I found the SmartCat "Ultimate Scratching Post" to be of superior quality and workmanship. It would be the best piece of cat furniture in which to invest, except for one small detail ... my kitty has yet to become even remotely interested in using it. I bought 2 so that I could diversify & thereby better manage his natural instincts, but sadly I've had to return the 2nd post as he wasn't utilizing the 1st post ... so it seemed kind of pointless to have 2 posts just sitting around taking up floor space unnecessarily. Otherwise, I really do like this product overall.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My cats and I are delighted

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
pbear426
from long island, new york
I bought 2 scratching posts and put them near the furniture and the window and door trims that my cats were destroying.These scratching posts are wonderful. All 3 of my cats used them right away and have not touched my furniture or my door and window trims since. I will be ordering new furniture soon and now I will not worry about damage to my new furniture. The cats love them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best scratching post ever!

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
KeenieRae
from Duluth, MN
I have 4 cats in my home and they use 2 of these posts. My son and his wife recently adopted two kittens so I ordered one of the scratching posts for them. They report that the kittens took to using it very quickly and they just love it. The best thing is that the post is very heavy and sturdy so it doesn't move around when a cat is scratching on it so they will go back to it again and again. Mine have held up very well over time. And, they were on sale at a very reasonable price when I ordered the one for my son's kitties! It's all good!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My cats love this.

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Woofandmeow
from Westerville, OH
I have bought this scratching post several times: the posts are very durable but my cats love them and use them so much that they wear them out in a few months time. This post is tall enough for them to stand on their rear feet and stretch a bit while scratching; the sisal holds up well even under lots and lots of use; the post is sturdy and well-balanced so it doesn't tip over even when a big, muscular cat goes digs into it. My cats do not like any other post I've tried.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best scratching post available

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
kerrykitten
from philadelphia pa
because it is the tallest available. cats like to stretch as they scratch. also, the sisal is better than any rug-type fabric. all of my cats use them (I have 3 throughout the house). wish they made even taller ones, though.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic purchase

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
JJ2367
from Pa
My cat loves the Ultimate Cat Scratcher, she has two other 18" cat scratchers which were great while she was a kitten but now that she is a year old she needed something that was larger so that she could stretch and climb. It only took a few minutes for her to play getting to the top getting the toys that were placed there.
She uses the scratcher every day which is great for stretching and using her muscles not to mention keeping her claws in shape.
I would recommend this product to anyone who has a cat as it is a good way of keeping them entertained and healthy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very happy with this post

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
kittymommy62
from Oregon
This post arrived well packed and on time. Assembly of the base was very easy and quick. My kitten was getting to big (tall) for my original 18" post so I bought this one also. She took to it real quick and by placing it behind the tall couch, she now chooses this post over the couch to scratch on. She also loves the box it came in. :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Buy this !!

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Frankuman
from Ithaca,NY
OMG I read that a 30.5" cat scratch post was the best post to buy. So I did and let me tell you it was the BEST thing I could have done. No more cats clawing at everything. Once my cats started using this they scratch at nothing else. I recommend the Ultimate Scratching post to everyone that has any size cat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Scratching Post

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
rockethead26
from Indiana
This is the most used and most durable cat scratching post I've owned in 40 years of having cats. I keep two in the house for our 3 cats and just replaced one after a couple of years.
If your cat(s) tend to scratch either high or low on the post, you can take it apart and flip the post upside down to let them utilize the relatively unused part before tossing it.
I wish the manufacturer would sell just the post part without the MDF parts as it's a waste of resources to replace the base and top cap when they do not wear out. I have called the company twice on this over the last two years and they tell me it's a nice idea, but haven't decided to do so yet. I realize it would only save about $5 off the price of the post, but it's the point of the matter that counts. I hate adding unnecessary stuff to the landfills.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beats the claims

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Audsley
from Raleigh, NC
This is way better quality than what I expected. And, while I expected it to be tall, I didn't get out a tape and create a bonafide expectation - this is a great feature as our cat had taken to half lying down when he reached high on the old rope pole. Now he can stand up and go for it. Nicely built.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great piece of cat furniture

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
SisterTroutLily
from Northern Illinois
I bought this on sale and it appears to be a fantastic value. This is the most heavy duty cat scratch tree I've come across and the tallest. My husband had it assembled in minutes with one philips screwdriver. There was a little piece of wood left in one of the screw holes but that came out easily with a paperclip.
Our cats range in size from petite to large; two of them took to it immediately. One of our smaller females had a lovely scratch and stretch working her way up from the bottom to the top. :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>