petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post

SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post

The ultimate cat scratching post that inspires and encourages your cat's innate scratching and clawing urgesFeaturing fibrous and durable sisal covering that is perfect for conditioning nails and superior to carpet, which snaps nails and encourages scratching on carpeted surfaces in your homeWith a sturdy cat-scratcher base that eliminates wobbling
Average Customer Rating:
4.604 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(268 Reviews) 268
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 268 reviews
5 stars
209
4 stars
37
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 star
10
247 out of 268(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer Reviews for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Review 1 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ignored at first but he caught on and likes it-after nails trimmed.

PostedAugust 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Midwest
I have cat that I took in off the street he's had to learn many house manners.You can tell he spent alot of time fending for himself. He probably was using trees for scratching. Since he's come inside he has preferred doorways, walls and the side of our bed. Since our bed was the major target I set up the cat tree in front of it spiked it with catnip and let him upstairs. At first he ignored it and still used the bed. He did not seem to like the texture of the sisal. I demonstrated how to use it with my own hands many times and tried to get him interested. Not much interest. He would touch it occasionally with his paws seemed turned off and walk away. I was sure I'd have to return it. I am not sure but I think what changed is that I trimmed his nails. This may seem counter intuitive but even a cat with trimmed nails scratches things. This cat constantly kneads/makes biscuits on us so we need them trimmed to avoid being a pin cushion. I think his nails were get caught in the sisal pad and he did not like that. Since his nails are trimmmed I think he is trying to "resharpen them". He also likes the praise he gets every time we see him using it. I feel this will be habit that will lock in with him. He is the only vertical scratcher in the house. The rest of the cats are horizontal scratchers and ignore the post.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
20of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is the one!

PostedJanuary 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Great scratching post! I read many reviews and went to the store to see it before making the purchase on-line. It has a nice height and very steady. I have one female adult cat, she took to it right away. It saved my carpet.:) Btw, for the interior design conscious, because it is natural/neutral in color, it easily fits to your decor.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+30points
32of 34voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Use this - don't declaw!

PostedDecember 24, 2006
Customer Avatar
from St. Paul, MN
The quality and stability of this scratcher is the best I have ever seen. It is very tall so the cats can really stretch, and it doesn't wobble. Also, it's very attractive. Be sure to have several different kinds of scratchers for your cat to choose from, especially this one!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+30points
65of 100voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Don't declaw purchase a Smart Cat Ultima

PostedJanuary 12, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Randolph, NJ
I have two large Maine Coon cats that love to scratch. The one prefers large flat scratchers but the other preferred our bathroom doorway. He caused so much damage that my husband said we should have him declawed (which I am strongly against). I searched the internet and found the Smart Cat Ultimate Scratching Post. Romeo gets his full stretch while scratching and my bathroom doorway has been saved. Highly recommend this to anyone with cats large or small.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+30points
31of 32voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Defective - will return

PostedMay 22, 2015
Customer Avatar
from San Jose, CA
Bought this in-store. Found that the product was manufactured incorrectly such that the holes in the base did not line up with the holes in the post, so the two could not be attached to each other with the included bolts. The way the post is constructed, the bolts screw into nuts embedded in the bottom of the post, so simply drilling another hole to put the bolt into would not anchor it properly. Given the price of the scratching post (significantly higher in-store than online) I shouldn't have to try and drill another hole and attach it with a screw anyway.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best

PostedMay 21, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Knoxville, TN
Purchased one 5 years ago, simply the best. I have 3 cats that are inside/'outside. They were scratching the wool carpet, furniture, moldings. This stopped all of the destructive scratching. When the post became worn we flipped the post to get some more use. Worth every penny.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent quality.

PostedMay 11, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Portland, OR
The cat post seems to be of excellent quality and should last many years. We have a new rescue cat who is 5 years old. She was scratching our furniture right away, even though we had a cardboard scratching pad in the home. She started using the new post without coaching and while she may still scratch at the furniture at times, she is easily redirected towards her post. Great investment and wonderful exercise for her. We added a platform and she spends many hours on and around it each day.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Can't predict a cat's behavior

PostedMay 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
from NH
I only gave this one paw because our cat hasn't shown any interest in using this yet. As any cat owner knows, just because you want them to use something, doesn't mean they will. I don't think its the products fault, just personal preference of our cat. Its well made and sturdy. I can't recommend it only based on our cat, sorry.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Every cat should have one...

PostedMay 6, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Valley Forge Park, PA
Love this post. My cats love this post! This post is well made and tall enough for cats to stretch when scratching so has saved many of my pieces of furniture. It is shipped assembled, with only two screws [phillips head] to complete assembly. Easy peasy!!! I have three more of these posts, and they really last---but I couldn't resist a new addition so I got him his own post so there would be no hard feelings in the feline population.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!

PostedApril 28, 2015
Customer Avatar
from TN
My 'hefty' kitty of about 22lbs was destroying our walls. Because she is so large, she likes to reach up to scratch and none of the other scratching posts satisfied her... but the walls were perfect. As soon as I assembled this scratching post, she forgot all about the walls and is only scratching this now. She loves it! I will be purchasing another in the future.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Attractive, modern and well-made

PostedApril 17, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Pueblo, CO
Looks nice - like a piece of art or architecture in our living room. Sissel post is very well made, sturdy and built to last. Frodo is just getting accustomed to it - only had about a week.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Tall scratch post

PostedApril 16, 2015
Customer Avatar
from San Diego
I will be returning this. Screws on bottom will not lay flat on wood floor so rocks. My cat won't go near it. Waste of money. This product line has proven defective before.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Cannot Use as intended because.....

PostedApril 12, 2015
Customer Avatar
from South Carolina
I ordered this because my daughter had one for her two cats and they seemed to really use it . So I ordered one and it only has two screws to attach the base. Easy set up, right? Well it would have been except for the fact that the base screw holes did not align with the holes on the post. I had 4 people try to see if I was doing something wrong. Well, I was not doing anything wrong. It just was not made properly. I have only one screw holding it together and so far none of my 3 cats will use it. I was very disappointed that I got a non functional scratching post.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My cat loves it!

PostedApril 11, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Hawaii
My boy loves this scratching post. He puts his whole body into it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best scratching post ever...this is my second and all my cats use it

PostedMarch 27, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Queens, N.Y.
After many years trying scratching posts of all sizes and shapes from cardboard to carpeting......and watching my rugs and furniture as their preferred scratching posts.....I bought and tried this product 6 years ago.....it is sturdy...high enough and durable
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is a good buy.

PostedMarch 26, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Redgranite WI
My cats love this cat scratcher post. This is the second one I have boughten. First one lasted 2 years.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ultimate Scratching Post

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Beverly, MA
This is a fabulous product. A breeder friend has had hers for a couple of years with MANY cats using it. The cats/kittens can use it for stretching, claw working, and playing as they can climb it as well. It is attractive, sturdy and easily assembled. The base comes in two pieces on either side of the post in the packaging. The sissal is woven and securely attached to the post. This was also on sale at a great reduction! I was able to purchase this and the tunnel and a small toy for about $20.00 less than on other sites PLUS it qualified for free shipping. What a great deal!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Quality

PostedMarch 7, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Wynnewood, PA
I was really looking forward to receiving this scratcher for my cat however, when I opened the box I was extremely disappointed. The top part is completely smashed. I would return it if it was not such a hassle. I expected more from Petco.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post

PostedMarch 6, 2015
Customer Avatar
from texas
I was disappointed due to the fact that when putting in the dowel rods for the base the holes were not lined up and I had to drill them out more. Also when attaching the base with the screws the holes there were not aligned and had to drill them out more.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Scratch Post

PostedMarch 2, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Rolling Hills Estates, CA
If you need to get a scratch post, get this one and you may never ever need to replace it!
I've been thinking about getting this scratch post for a while as the one that I have is coming apart, but I have been hesitating as this one is quite pricey. I finally bought it and it's worth it. It's very, very study and the sisal does not come off easily.
One of my cats took to it 10 mins after it was put up. Since we've had this, whenever I hear my cats scratching in the living room and I go check on them, it would be the post that they're scratching on, and not the sofa.
I've seen a friend with a post like that. Somehow our cats naturally love 'em. Maybe it's because the post is big and sturdy, it's like having something awesome to scratch.
You won't be disappointed with this one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>