petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post

SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post

The ultimate cat scratching post that inspires and encourages your cat's innate scratching and clawing urgesFeaturing fibrous and durable sisal covering that is perfect for conditioning nails and superior to carpet, which snaps nails and encourages scratching on carpeted surfaces in your homeWith a sturdy cat-scratcher base that eliminates wobbling
Average Customer Rating:
4.664 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(220 Reviews) 220
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 220 reviews
5 stars
175
4 stars
30
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
5
206 out of 220(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer Reviews for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Review 1 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ignored at first but he caught on and likes it-after nails trimmed.

PostedAugust 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Milocat2
from Midwest
I have cat that I took in off the street he's had to learn many house manners.You can tell he spent alot of time fending for himself. He probably was using trees for scratching. Since he's come inside he has preferred doorways, walls and the side of our bed. Since our bed was the major target I set up the cat tree in front of it spiked it with catnip and let him upstairs. At first he ignored it and still used the bed. He did not seem to like the texture of the sisal. I demonstrated how to use it with my own hands many times and tried to get him interested. Not much interest. He would touch it occasionally with his paws seemed turned off and walk away. I was sure I'd have to return it. I am not sure but I think what changed is that I trimmed his nails. This may seem counter intuitive but even a cat with trimmed nails scratches things. This cat constantly kneads/makes biscuits on us so we need them trimmed to avoid being a pin cushion. I think his nails were get caught in the sisal pad and he did not like that. Since his nails are trimmmed I think he is trying to "resharpen them". He also likes the praise he gets every time we see him using it. I feel this will be habit that will lock in with him. He is the only vertical scratcher in the house. The rest of the cats are horizontal scratchers and ignore the post.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
11of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is the one!

PostedJanuary 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
nanyemc
Great scratching post! I read many reviews and went to the store to see it before making the purchase on-line. It has a nice height and very steady. I have one female adult cat, she took to it right away. It saved my carpet.:) Btw, for the interior design conscious, because it is natural/neutral in color, it easily fits to your decor.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+24points
24of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Use this - don't declaw!

PostedDecember 24, 2006
Customer Avatar
Ethan
from St. Paul, MN
The quality and stability of this scratcher is the best I have ever seen. It is very tall so the cats can really stretch, and it doesn't wobble. Also, it's very attractive. Be sure to have several different kinds of scratchers for your cat to choose from, especially this one!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+16points
45of 74voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Don't declaw purchase a Smart Cat Ultima

PostedJanuary 12, 2006
Customer Avatar
Romeo & Rocky's Mom
from Randolph, NJ
I have two large Maine Coon cats that love to scratch. The one prefers large flat scratchers but the other preferred our bathroom doorway. He caused so much damage that my husband said we should have him declawed (which I am strongly against). I searched the internet and found the Smart Cat Ultimate Scratching Post. Romeo gets his full stretch while scratching and my bathroom doorway has been saved. Highly recommend this to anyone with cats large or small.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+26points
27of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Perfect scratcher

PostedAugust 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
Slobotemar
from Port charlotte, Fl
Just the right height for our 3 cats! Sturdy and seems to be indestructible
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

5 Stars - get it!!

PostedAugust 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
PandP2
Trying to give this 5 stars and not going through. Cats love it and directions have made a huge difference in scratching behavior
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Saving my curtains, one scratch at a time.

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
ELMitchell
from NC
My kittens like to be long. Most scratching posts don't allow for that, this one does. My curtains appreciate the lack of love they are receiving. That's pretty much it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

There's a reason this product is named the "Ultimate Scratching Post!

PostedAugust 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
CertifiedCatLover
from Hutchinson, KS
My three cats absolutely go "bonkers" over their new SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post! Forget carpet-covered cat-scratching posts! They become "ratty-looking" after a while and -- worse yet -- they encourage cats to use our "people" carpeting and furniture. The sisal-mat-type covering on the SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post is far more durable and considerably neater than any carpeted scratching post. Don't be afraid of wasting money on this product; it is totally worth every cent!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Wishful
from Kenner, LA
This is a terrific post for us because our cats are quite large and heavy. They are able to stand up and give it their full power and it doesn't fall down. They like it a lot. It's not a wimpy little thing.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Scratching Post!

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Binderella
from MN
The cat loves it! He is a larger cat so when he stretches, this post is tall enough for a good stretch! Was a little more than I wanted to spend on a post, but it seems like it will hold up to his claws well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Well made.

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Chargerdash
from San Diego, CA
Pleased with product quality. Attached based with two screws in 2 minutes. Heavy enough to prevent tipping. Looks attractive. Unfortunately, our cat resists all efforts to get him to use it. He will now sit and watch as I scratch, so we'll keep trying.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

They all use it!

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mlinee2001
from PA
All of my 5 cats use the scratcher; it was easy to set up, and the base is sturdy. I am pleased with my purchase. I wish the top platform of the scratcher was sisal also, but the cats don't seem to care, they appear to enjoy sitting on the smooth surface..
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for stretching and scratching

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
BizzysMom
from Sheffield, AL
The size of this scratching post is the reason I bought it. It allows my large adult cats to stretch their full body length while scratching. The post is extremely sturdy. Because of the base, it cannot be easily turned over. It is a good investment.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kitties love this!

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
McMe
from Iowa City, IA
For our two active kitties, we have several scratching posts around the house, and this is the one they love the best. They both use it every day, and even with both of them climbing and/or scratching at the same time, it stays stable. It's taller than most posts, but doesn't wobble, even when they jump on top of it!
It's durable, too. I've had this for almost a year, and the sisal is still in good shape. I've only trimmed a few loose threads here and there, so it's holding up really well under all the abuse, er, constant use.
Looks nice, works great. Highly recommended!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Our cats love this post

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
MassKali
from Boston, MA
Having three cats, we've been through a few scratching posts over the years. I've never bought one that seems to be as loved by them as this one. It's very sturdy, so that even when they really go to town on it, it stays upright. It is also a nice height, allowing them to properly stretch out while scratching. I was surprised how elegant it ended up looking when it was put together, so I'm enjoying as well. Seeing how much our cats like it, my friend is getting one now as well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME product

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
ItsMeLaRue
from Hemet, CA
We've been looking for a smaller scratch post that will hold up to our cat's weight and strength. We had previously bought the PETCO large house scratching unit which he loves but it's so large that after we downsized we needed to put it in office. We saw this and gave it a try. He did not need any coaxing at all - after we put it together (super easy) he went right up to it and started to use it. Has been using it every day since and loves it! Thanks PETCO for a superb product - neighbors who see want one too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
sandipatter
from ME
Kitties took to it right away. Good size, height. Sturdy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kris123
from Virginia Beach, VA
This scratching post is everything I was looking for. I was worried that my cat wouldn't like it as much as he likes scratching my couch, bed post, carpet and doors, but he loves it! He uses it every single day and I don't have anymore furniture scratching issues with him. It is sturdy enough for his 16lbs and can handle him going crazy on it when I put catnip on it :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post

PostedJune 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
oboe2013
from Raleigh nc
This is the most amazing scratching post ever! Been using over a month so it's not just a new attraction for the cats. We have an "extra large" cat who loved using our other scratching posts, but would pull them to the floor with his weight. This post can handle his weight and doesn't fall apart like the carpeted ones do. He can strop and climb to his heart's content, and our much smaller cat loves it too. Well worth the money -much less interest in furniture upholstery now!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Purchase!

PostedJune 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
MCassandra
from Long Beach
I love this scratching Post. Not only does it look great, it's big enough and sturdy enough and my kitty loves it. I put treats at the top for him and he climbs up the post. I also dangle toys at the top so he chases up after those too. I've also seen him use it for streching and scratching, though because he is still little and wants to be wherever I am, he mainly uses it when I interact with him with the post. But I'm training him and he loves it! Also, at first I felt like it was too big for my room but now I think it fits perfectly. Definitely recommend this.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>