petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post

SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post

The ultimate cat scratching post that inspires and encourages your cat's innate scratching and clawing urgesFeaturing fibrous and durable sisal covering that is perfect for conditioning nails and superior to carpet, which snaps nails and encourages scratching on carpeted surfaces in your homeWith a sturdy cat-scratcher base that eliminates wobbling
Average Customer Rating:
4.651 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(238 Reviews) 238
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 238 reviews
5 stars
187
4 stars
35
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
6
223 out of 238(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer Reviews for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Review 1 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ignored at first but he caught on and likes it-after nails trimmed.

PostedAugust 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Midwest
I have cat that I took in off the street he's had to learn many house manners.You can tell he spent alot of time fending for himself. He probably was using trees for scratching. Since he's come inside he has preferred doorways, walls and the side of our bed. Since our bed was the major target I set up the cat tree in front of it spiked it with catnip and let him upstairs. At first he ignored it and still used the bed. He did not seem to like the texture of the sisal. I demonstrated how to use it with my own hands many times and tried to get him interested. Not much interest. He would touch it occasionally with his paws seemed turned off and walk away. I was sure I'd have to return it. I am not sure but I think what changed is that I trimmed his nails. This may seem counter intuitive but even a cat with trimmed nails scratches things. This cat constantly kneads/makes biscuits on us so we need them trimmed to avoid being a pin cushion. I think his nails were get caught in the sisal pad and he did not like that. Since his nails are trimmmed I think he is trying to "resharpen them". He also likes the praise he gets every time we see him using it. I feel this will be habit that will lock in with him. He is the only vertical scratcher in the house. The rest of the cats are horizontal scratchers and ignore the post.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
14of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is the one!

PostedJanuary 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Great scratching post! I read many reviews and went to the store to see it before making the purchase on-line. It has a nice height and very steady. I have one female adult cat, she took to it right away. It saved my carpet.:) Btw, for the interior design conscious, because it is natural/neutral in color, it easily fits to your decor.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+23points
25of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Use this - don't declaw!

PostedDecember 24, 2006
Customer Avatar
from St. Paul, MN
The quality and stability of this scratcher is the best I have ever seen. It is very tall so the cats can really stretch, and it doesn't wobble. Also, it's very attractive. Be sure to have several different kinds of scratchers for your cat to choose from, especially this one!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+14points
48of 82voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Don't declaw purchase a Smart Cat Ultima

PostedJanuary 12, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Randolph, NJ
I have two large Maine Coon cats that love to scratch. The one prefers large flat scratchers but the other preferred our bathroom doorway. He caused so much damage that my husband said we should have him declawed (which I am strongly against). I searched the internet and found the Smart Cat Ultimate Scratching Post. Romeo gets his full stretch while scratching and my bathroom doorway has been saved. Highly recommend this to anyone with cats large or small.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+26points
27of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cats love it!

PostedDecember 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
I had one of these same scratch posts that, after 5 years, got so much wear it began to shed every time my cats used it. I bought two new ones because the price was so much less than the original site I was looking at, and still cheaper than my original purchase from a pet store 5 years ago. I put it next to my couch that one of my cats was scratching, but he quickly learned how much more satisfying it was to scratch the post!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cats love this.

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Oregon
I first saw one of these at the local humane society's meet and greet room. Almost every cat brought in there used it. It's tall and stable so the cats really like to use it. It also looks pretty nice compared to some other scratching posts. I bought one for my cats at home and they like using it while the short carpeted scratching post just sits there and is never used.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

my cats love it

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Great product, quick shipping. Very minimal assembly & very sturdy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very sturdy

PostedNovember 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Palouse, WA
This is a well made cat post. Unfortunately our cat only likes carpeted posts and would not touch this one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not as good as

PostedNovember 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from NY
I read the reviews, got one and it has been the worst quality scratching post on the market. It is not handmade or very high quality. Cheap junk. Rather get something I know is made in USA and will hold up better next time, like the round one I had before for years.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product thats attractive in my home.

PostedNovember 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Asheville
Great for my verticle scratch loving kitty who used to enjiy scratching the side of my leather chair but thus next to it and, the scratcher is way more fun so he thinks. He also likes to sit on top (don't have the connector platform yet) so he can pounce on his older sister. My 3 yrs old prefers the hirizontal scratcher but has bren increasingly enjoying this one as well. It looks nice in my condo that has blonde bamboo floors, and my kitties use it and love it! They didn't take to many others after loving the cardboard scratchers but I hated the mess.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Keeps cats off the furniture

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Hinsdale, IL
Put this product in the living room to keep my kitten away from the wicker ottoman and the coach. I flowed the instuctions to attract him to it and he has been using the post and staying away from the furniture ever since.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A great quality post

PostedNovember 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from CT
I've had mine for 2 to 3 years now. Two of my cats use this throughout the day and night. They stretch and scratch at the same time and love it. I have it behind the couch up against the wall by the window. It is a nice enough piece to keep in sight.
Only thing I notice now- after almost 3 years, keep in mind, is that the sisal is scratched through in a couple spots. Probably will just go buy some and wrap it around those spots!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

scratching post

PostedOctober 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Virginia
this post allows the cat to stretch out fully. gives a nice 'looking' height.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

wonderful!

PostedOctober 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Bethlehem, PA
I purchased this to (hopefully) train our cats to use this instead of an upholstered chair. Its been in place for about a week and so far, so good, they seem to like it! After putting it together I followed the suggestion on the bottom and sprayed it with catnip spray which quickly attracted their attention to the post. It is nice and tall and very sturdy. It was really easy to put together, although I couldn't figure it out right away, once I got the hang of it, it was easy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Highly recommended

PostedOctober 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Hamilton, NJ
My cat absolutely loves this scratching post. She is able to get a full stretch and she'll always run to it whenever she is being petted.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Working well

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Phoenix AZ
My cat was scratching the side of the bar and I have put the scratcher there and now she scratches that.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Post

PostedSeptember 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Rochester, NY
This is a nice, big post. Great for a multi cat household. It was simple to put together. Drawbacks--wrong kind of screws for the base. They aren't flat and so the post is a bit wobbly and the screws could scratch the floor. Also I strongly dislike the smell of formaldehyde and detected it on the post. This will fade with time, I'm sure. Overall though the priduct is excellent and most important, the cats love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One of Two cats LOVE it!

PostedSeptember 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from St Pete, FL
This is as sturdy as you need it to be. I was worried because I have a chubby cat who loves to scratch and it does not budge while she's using it. I have an older cat that prefers trees outdoors and I'm still trying to get him to use the post more. I think he will eventually.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very satisfied

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Missouri
Very good quality with excellent weight and center of gravity. Far superior to units sold in most stores.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

worth the cost

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from columbia, md
this thing is MASSIVE! it's about 3 feet high and wrapped with a WOVEN "cloth" like sissal material. my cat very much enjoyes climbing it! there is also a perch that you can purchase separately to go with it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>