petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post

SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post

The ultimate cat scratching post that inspires and encourages your cat's innate scratching and clawing urgesFeaturing fibrous and durable sisal covering that is perfect for conditioning nails and superior to carpet, which snaps nails and encourages scratching on carpeted surfaces in your homeWith a sturdy cat-scratcher base that eliminates wobbling
Average Customer Rating:
4.67 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(230 Reviews) 230
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 230 reviews
5 stars
183
4 stars
32
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
5
216 out of 230(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer Reviews for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Review 1 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ignored at first but he caught on and likes it-after nails trimmed.

PostedAugust 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Midwest
I have cat that I took in off the street he's had to learn many house manners.You can tell he spent alot of time fending for himself. He probably was using trees for scratching. Since he's come inside he has preferred doorways, walls and the side of our bed. Since our bed was the major target I set up the cat tree in front of it spiked it with catnip and let him upstairs. At first he ignored it and still used the bed. He did not seem to like the texture of the sisal. I demonstrated how to use it with my own hands many times and tried to get him interested. Not much interest. He would touch it occasionally with his paws seemed turned off and walk away. I was sure I'd have to return it. I am not sure but I think what changed is that I trimmed his nails. This may seem counter intuitive but even a cat with trimmed nails scratches things. This cat constantly kneads/makes biscuits on us so we need them trimmed to avoid being a pin cushion. I think his nails were get caught in the sisal pad and he did not like that. Since his nails are trimmmed I think he is trying to "resharpen them". He also likes the praise he gets every time we see him using it. I feel this will be habit that will lock in with him. He is the only vertical scratcher in the house. The rest of the cats are horizontal scratchers and ignore the post.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
11of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is the one!

PostedJanuary 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Great scratching post! I read many reviews and went to the store to see it before making the purchase on-line. It has a nice height and very steady. I have one female adult cat, she took to it right away. It saved my carpet.:) Btw, for the interior design conscious, because it is natural/neutral in color, it easily fits to your decor.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+22points
24of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Use this - don't declaw!

PostedDecember 24, 2006
Customer Avatar
from St. Paul, MN
The quality and stability of this scratcher is the best I have ever seen. It is very tall so the cats can really stretch, and it doesn't wobble. Also, it's very attractive. Be sure to have several different kinds of scratchers for your cat to choose from, especially this one!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+18points
47of 76voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Don't declaw purchase a Smart Cat Ultima

PostedJanuary 12, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Randolph, NJ
I have two large Maine Coon cats that love to scratch. The one prefers large flat scratchers but the other preferred our bathroom doorway. He caused so much damage that my husband said we should have him declawed (which I am strongly against). I searched the internet and found the Smart Cat Ultimate Scratching Post. Romeo gets his full stretch while scratching and my bathroom doorway has been saved. Highly recommend this to anyone with cats large or small.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+26points
27of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

scratching post

PostedOctober 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Virginia
this post allows the cat to stretch out fully. gives a nice 'looking' height.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

wonderful!

PostedOctober 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Bethlehem, PA
I purchased this to (hopefully) train our cats to use this instead of an upholstered chair. Its been in place for about a week and so far, so good, they seem to like it! After putting it together I followed the suggestion on the bottom and sprayed it with catnip spray which quickly attracted their attention to the post. It is nice and tall and very sturdy. It was really easy to put together, although I couldn't figure it out right away, once I got the hang of it, it was easy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Highly recommended

PostedOctober 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Hamilton, NJ
My cat absolutely loves this scratching post. She is able to get a full stretch and she'll always run to it whenever she is being petted.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Working well

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Phoenix AZ
My cat was scratching the side of the bar and I have put the scratcher there and now she scratches that.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Post

PostedSeptember 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Rochester, NY
This is a nice, big post. Great for a multi cat household. It was simple to put together. Drawbacks--wrong kind of screws for the base. They aren't flat and so the post is a bit wobbly and the screws could scratch the floor. Also I strongly dislike the smell of formaldehyde and detected it on the post. This will fade with time, I'm sure. Overall though the priduct is excellent and most important, the cats love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One of Two cats LOVE it!

PostedSeptember 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from St Pete, FL
This is as sturdy as you need it to be. I was worried because I have a chubby cat who loves to scratch and it does not budge while she's using it. I have an older cat that prefers trees outdoors and I'm still trying to get him to use the post more. I think he will eventually.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very satisfied

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Missouri
Very good quality with excellent weight and center of gravity. Far superior to units sold in most stores.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

worth the cost

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from columbia, md
this thing is MASSIVE! it's about 3 feet high and wrapped with a WOVEN "cloth" like sissal material. my cat very much enjoyes climbing it! there is also a perch that you can purchase separately to go with it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

PostedSeptember 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Chicago IL
This is the fourth SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post I've bought for my three cats. The posts are extremely well made, very attractive, and a life-saver for upholstered furniture. The cats even enjoy sitting on top of the posts to watch the world go by.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Scratcher

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from CT
This scratcher is sturdy and covered in a sisal that stands up to my three cat's claws. It's tall and easily accomodates my long, slinky cat when she's stretched out to scratch. The cats use it and seem to enjoy it, and it's stopped their furniture clawing, which makes me happy. I wish they had a horizontal model for my horizontal scratching cats. I am thinking of purchasing several additional poles to place throughout the house. Shipping was fast and packing was easy to get opened yet secure.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Perfect scratcher

PostedAugust 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Port charlotte, Fl
Just the right height for our 3 cats! Sturdy and seems to be indestructible
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

5 Stars - get it!!

PostedAugust 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
Trying to give this 5 stars and not going through. Cats love it and directions have made a huge difference in scratching behavior
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Saving my curtains, one scratch at a time.

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from NC
My kittens like to be long. Most scratching posts don't allow for that, this one does. My curtains appreciate the lack of love they are receiving. That's pretty much it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

There's a reason this product is named the "Ultimate Scratching Post!

PostedAugust 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Hutchinson, KS
My three cats absolutely go "bonkers" over their new SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post! Forget carpet-covered cat-scratching posts! They become "ratty-looking" after a while and -- worse yet -- they encourage cats to use our "people" carpeting and furniture. The sisal-mat-type covering on the SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post is far more durable and considerably neater than any carpeted scratching post. Don't be afraid of wasting money on this product; it is totally worth every cent!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Kenner, LA
This is a terrific post for us because our cats are quite large and heavy. They are able to stand up and give it their full power and it doesn't fall down. They like it a lot. It's not a wimpy little thing.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Scratching Post!

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from MN
The cat loves it! He is a larger cat so when he stretches, this post is tall enough for a good stretch! Was a little more than I wanted to spend on a post, but it seems like it will hold up to his claws well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>