petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post

SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post

The ultimate cat scratching post that inspires and encourages your cat's innate scratching and clawing urgesFeaturing fibrous and durable sisal covering that is perfect for conditioning nails and superior to carpet, which snaps nails and encourages scratching on carpeted surfaces in your homeWith a sturdy cat-scratcher base that eliminates wobbling
Average Customer Rating:
4.61 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(277 Reviews) 277
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 277 reviews
5 stars
216
4 stars
39
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 star
10
256 out of 277(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 32 Answers
Customer Reviews for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Review 1 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ignored at first but he caught on and likes it-after nails trimmed.

PostedAugust 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Midwest
I have cat that I took in off the street he's had to learn many house manners.You can tell he spent alot of time fending for himself. He probably was using trees for scratching. Since he's come inside he has preferred doorways, walls and the side of our bed. Since our bed was the major target I set up the cat tree in front of it spiked it with catnip and let him upstairs. At first he ignored it and still used the bed. He did not seem to like the texture of the sisal. I demonstrated how to use it with my own hands many times and tried to get him interested. Not much interest. He would touch it occasionally with his paws seemed turned off and walk away. I was sure I'd have to return it. I am not sure but I think what changed is that I trimmed his nails. This may seem counter intuitive but even a cat with trimmed nails scratches things. This cat constantly kneads/makes biscuits on us so we need them trimmed to avoid being a pin cushion. I think his nails were get caught in the sisal pad and he did not like that. Since his nails are trimmmed I think he is trying to "resharpen them". He also likes the praise he gets every time we see him using it. I feel this will be habit that will lock in with him. He is the only vertical scratcher in the house. The rest of the cats are horizontal scratchers and ignore the post.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
21of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is the one!

PostedJanuary 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Great scratching post! I read many reviews and went to the store to see it before making the purchase on-line. It has a nice height and very steady. I have one female adult cat, she took to it right away. It saved my carpet.:) Btw, for the interior design conscious, because it is natural/neutral in color, it easily fits to your decor.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+31points
33of 35voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Use this - don't declaw!

PostedDecember 24, 2006
Customer Avatar
from St. Paul, MN
The quality and stability of this scratcher is the best I have ever seen. It is very tall so the cats can really stretch, and it doesn't wobble. Also, it's very attractive. Be sure to have several different kinds of scratchers for your cat to choose from, especially this one!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+30points
66of 102voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Don't declaw purchase a Smart Cat Ultima

PostedJanuary 12, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Randolph, NJ
I have two large Maine Coon cats that love to scratch. The one prefers large flat scratchers but the other preferred our bathroom doorway. He caused so much damage that my husband said we should have him declawed (which I am strongly against). I searched the internet and found the Smart Cat Ultimate Scratching Post. Romeo gets his full stretch while scratching and my bathroom doorway has been saved. Highly recommend this to anyone with cats large or small.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+30points
31of 32voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Quality Scratching Post

PostedJuly 27, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Colorado Springs, Colorado
My two cats were scratching at this post before I even took it out of the packaging, then they sat and watched me open it, scratching on it every chance they could get! It was very quick and easy to attach the base. Once put in place, both cats stretched out and scratched contently, no catnip or training necessary. I have other sisal scratching posts around the house that they don't use as they aren't tall enough for the cats to stretch out. This scratching post fits the bill, right height, material and sturdiness.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So Far So Good

PostedJuly 26, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Troy, NY
Post is sturdy and tall enough for my cat to get a good stretch.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great scratching post

PostedJuly 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Couve, Wa
From the moment it was unpacked, my cat was intrigued. I rubbed a bit of catnip on it and the rest is history. He is an active scratcher and this helps him scratch appropriately.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far, so good

PostedJuly 11, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Orlando, FL
Our two10 month old kittens took to it right away. I tied a piece of rope around the top of the scratching area and let it dangle down the side of the post. That added even more interest for them. The product seems sturdy overall.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Scratching post EVER

PostedJuly 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
from NY
I just bought my second Ultimate Scratching post. My cats LOVE this sucker. They use it constantly and fight over it, so I got a second to put downstairs. There is a perch you can buy for the top so they can sleep on top of it, and mine use that part all the time, too.
I am on a super fixed income and this was worth EVERY PENNY!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Indestructible

PostedJuly 4, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Clifton, NJ
Five cats. Five years. No shredding. It looks almost as good as new. If you have multiple cats, you need this.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Post

PostedJuly 3, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Ohio
My cats like this post. It stays upright while they scratch at it and it is nice looking. Light enough to be moved easily by the owner. but heavy enough to take on the best nail scratch session by the cat. It is very easy to assemble too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Truly the Ultimate

PostedJune 11, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Seattle, WA
My cat just loves this post. It's so tall he can actually stretch fully. Sometimes during "crazy cat runs" he actually climbs up it and almost like walks around it vertically. It's hilarious to see.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

wonderful

PostedMay 24, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Bronx, NY
I am glad i got this product it's long enough for my cats to stretch out and it looks like it will last long thats why I got two no more scratching furniture or my rugs. tried others but this seems to work best,
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Defective - will return

PostedMay 22, 2015
Customer Avatar
from San Jose, CA
Bought this in-store. Found that the product was manufactured incorrectly such that the holes in the base did not line up with the holes in the post, so the two could not be attached to each other with the included bolts. The way the post is constructed, the bolts screw into nuts embedded in the bottom of the post, so simply drilling another hole to put the bolt into would not anchor it properly. Given the price of the scratching post (significantly higher in-store than online) I shouldn't have to try and drill another hole and attach it with a screw anyway.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best

PostedMay 21, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Knoxville, TN
Purchased one 5 years ago, simply the best. I have 3 cats that are inside/'outside. They were scratching the wool carpet, furniture, moldings. This stopped all of the destructive scratching. When the post became worn we flipped the post to get some more use. Worth every penny.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent quality.

PostedMay 11, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Portland, OR
The cat post seems to be of excellent quality and should last many years. We have a new rescue cat who is 5 years old. She was scratching our furniture right away, even though we had a cardboard scratching pad in the home. She started using the new post without coaching and while she may still scratch at the furniture at times, she is easily redirected towards her post. Great investment and wonderful exercise for her. We added a platform and she spends many hours on and around it each day.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Can't predict a cat's behavior

PostedMay 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
from NH
I only gave this one paw because our cat hasn't shown any interest in using this yet. As any cat owner knows, just because you want them to use something, doesn't mean they will. I don't think its the products fault, just personal preference of our cat. Its well made and sturdy. I can't recommend it only based on our cat, sorry.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Every cat should have one...

PostedMay 6, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Valley Forge Park, PA
Love this post. My cats love this post! This post is well made and tall enough for cats to stretch when scratching so has saved many of my pieces of furniture. It is shipped assembled, with only two screws [phillips head] to complete assembly. Easy peasy!!! I have three more of these posts, and they really last---but I couldn't resist a new addition so I got him his own post so there would be no hard feelings in the feline population.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!

PostedApril 28, 2015
Customer Avatar
from TN
My 'hefty' kitty of about 22lbs was destroying our walls. Because she is so large, she likes to reach up to scratch and none of the other scratching posts satisfied her... but the walls were perfect. As soon as I assembled this scratching post, she forgot all about the walls and is only scratching this now. She loves it! I will be purchasing another in the future.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Attractive, modern and well-made

PostedApril 17, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Pueblo, CO
Looks nice - like a piece of art or architecture in our living room. Sissel post is very well made, sturdy and built to last. Frodo is just getting accustomed to it - only had about a week.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>