petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post

SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post

The ultimate cat scratching post that inspires and encourages your cat's innate scratching and clawing urgesFeaturing fibrous and durable sisal covering that is perfect for conditioning nails and superior to carpet, which snaps nails and encourages scratching on carpeted surfaces in your homeWith a sturdy cat-scratcher base that eliminates wobbling
Average Customer Rating:
4.664 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(253 Reviews) 253
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 253 reviews
5 stars
200
4 stars
37
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
6
238 out of 253(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer Reviews for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Review 1 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ignored at first but he caught on and likes it-after nails trimmed.

PostedAugust 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Midwest
I have cat that I took in off the street he's had to learn many house manners.You can tell he spent alot of time fending for himself. He probably was using trees for scratching. Since he's come inside he has preferred doorways, walls and the side of our bed. Since our bed was the major target I set up the cat tree in front of it spiked it with catnip and let him upstairs. At first he ignored it and still used the bed. He did not seem to like the texture of the sisal. I demonstrated how to use it with my own hands many times and tried to get him interested. Not much interest. He would touch it occasionally with his paws seemed turned off and walk away. I was sure I'd have to return it. I am not sure but I think what changed is that I trimmed his nails. This may seem counter intuitive but even a cat with trimmed nails scratches things. This cat constantly kneads/makes biscuits on us so we need them trimmed to avoid being a pin cushion. I think his nails were get caught in the sisal pad and he did not like that. Since his nails are trimmmed I think he is trying to "resharpen them". He also likes the praise he gets every time we see him using it. I feel this will be habit that will lock in with him. He is the only vertical scratcher in the house. The rest of the cats are horizontal scratchers and ignore the post.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
16of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is the one!

PostedJanuary 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Great scratching post! I read many reviews and went to the store to see it before making the purchase on-line. It has a nice height and very steady. I have one female adult cat, she took to it right away. It saved my carpet.:) Btw, for the interior design conscious, because it is natural/neutral in color, it easily fits to your decor.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+27points
29of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Use this - don't declaw!

PostedDecember 24, 2006
Customer Avatar
from St. Paul, MN
The quality and stability of this scratcher is the best I have ever seen. It is very tall so the cats can really stretch, and it doesn't wobble. Also, it's very attractive. Be sure to have several different kinds of scratchers for your cat to choose from, especially this one!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+21points
55of 89voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Don't declaw purchase a Smart Cat Ultima

PostedJanuary 12, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Randolph, NJ
I have two large Maine Coon cats that love to scratch. The one prefers large flat scratchers but the other preferred our bathroom doorway. He caused so much damage that my husband said we should have him declawed (which I am strongly against). I searched the internet and found the Smart Cat Ultimate Scratching Post. Romeo gets his full stretch while scratching and my bathroom doorway has been saved. Highly recommend this to anyone with cats large or small.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+27points
28of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Scratch Post

PostedMarch 2, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Rolling Hills Estates, CA
If you need to get a scratch post, get this one and you may never ever need to replace it!
I've been thinking about getting this scratch post for a while as the one that I have is coming apart, but I have been hesitating as this one is quite pricey. I finally bought it and it's worth it. It's very, very study and the sisal does not come off easily.
One of my cats took to it 10 mins after it was put up. Since we've had this, whenever I hear my cats scratching in the living room and I go check on them, it would be the post that they're scratching on, and not the sofa.
I've seen a friend with a post like that. Somehow our cats naturally love 'em. Maybe it's because the post is big and sturdy, it's like having something awesome to scratch.
You won't be disappointed with this one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Scratching Post

PostedFebruary 22, 2015
Customer Avatar
from scottsville, ky
Finally found a scratching post heavy enough not to pop up in cats face. One drawback, does tend to sway when setting upright. However when laying over is too heavy to pop up. Would recommend to anyone with larger cat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great scratching post!

PostedFebruary 12, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Kansas City, MO
This is a replacement I bought for a scratching post of the same type. My cats totally loved that one and used it for 2 or 3 years, until it was quite shredded. I'm expecting the same happy feline use and enjoyment from this new post!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tall Scratching Post

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Lees Summit, MO
Very nice sturdy scratching post. Tall so my big cat can stand and stretch on the post. Heavy post and strong base platform prevents easy tipping by the playing cats - each thinking it belongs to them! Good Purchase!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sturdy and Solid

PostedFebruary 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Williamsburg, VA
One cat likes it, the other cat won't use it. The smaller cat loves to claw his way up it to get to his Mouse-on-an-elastic-cord. Then he leaps off it with the mouse in his mouth. He hasn't managed to tip it yet! I don't have enough room for a large cat tower -- this takes up minimal space.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

cats took to it w/o any problems

PostedJanuary 28, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
I wish I bought this before my cats destroyed my leather sofa. The post is very good quality and the sisal is very tightly woven. I was worried my cats wouldn't like it because they avoided sisal in the past. But now it's their favorite post. They stretch on it all the time and try to climb it like a tree. It's one of the best things I ever bought for them!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellant

PostedJanuary 16, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Georgia
My cats started using it immediately. I have one large cat and this is great as he can stretch all out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

TALL! great cat post

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Manassas,va
My cat loooooves this post. she never scratches up my furniture and i owe it all to this post!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

THE BEST EVER!!!

PostedJanuary 11, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Albany, NY
I bought 3 different types of "scratchers" for my cat. Kept one not because he scratches on it but he likes to lay on it since there is a small area where there is catnip placed inside. I hesitated purchasing this scratching post because of the cost. Finally gave in. THIS IS THE BEST EVER purchase I've made. From day ONE my cat used this scratcher and does ever day several times a day. Now even hangs on to it and jumps around it to play. He stretches up to the full length of the scratcher and you can see his muscles working. And, from day ONE he has stopped scratching everything else in the house. YEAH!!!! You and your furry child will LOVE THE SMARTCAT ULTIMATE SCRATCHING POST!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Completely worth the price

PostedJanuary 1, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Washington, DC
My cats love this scratching post more than everything else I've given them to scratch. More than the cardboard scratchers, more than sisal rope, more than the carpet, more than the furniture. (Thankfully, on this last one!) I put it next to one of the pieces of furniture that was a constant victim of their claws, and they haven't touched the furniture since.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best scratching post out there!

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Denver, CO
This is a very well made scratching post. We've bought 2 for our kitties so far and one for my mom's cat. All three cats really like the post!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid quality

PostedDecember 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from NJ
Our kittens immediately took to the post. It is a great height which allows for them to really stretch on it and crawl up it. The simple design blends nicely into the room. The materials seem strong and solid.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedDecember 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from NewJersey
Highly recommended. The post is sturdy and doesn't wobble when Amigo is on it. Easy to assemble. Our cat went right to it and seems to like it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great item

PostedDecember 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Boston, MA
This is a great scratching post. We had one before and it had gotten a lot of use over a period of about two years. At that point, it started to "shed" bristly little bits on the floor. Since we have a small child in the house, we didn't want to have little pieces all over the floor every time the cat scratched the post. So, we just bought a new one and we are happy with it. The wooden (MDF?) parts are not the same shade as the old one - a little darker this time - which is fine for us. Just be aware that the picture looks lighter than some of the posts really are, if you are trying to match the shade with anything else. Looks good and the cat loves it. It is a great height for an adult cat and very sturdy. There is no chance that this post will fall over when scratched.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best scratching post!

PostedDecember 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Georgia
I found this item by an online search. I compared the features to others I've owned and read reviews on. It seemed a little pricy for a scratching post. Anyway, the reviews I read were very positive so I decided to get for my 2 cats. I took some advice from one of the reviewers and rubbed catnip on the sides. My cats LOVE it! It is very well made and is very easy to set up. It should last these two big cats a long time. It's tall enough so they really get a good stretch!! It looks nice and works well. I highly recommend it to other cat lovers.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cats love it!

PostedDecember 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
I had one of these same scratch posts that, after 5 years, got so much wear it began to shed every time my cats used it. I bought two new ones because the price was so much less than the original site I was looking at, and still cheaper than my original purchase from a pet store 5 years ago. I put it next to my couch that one of my cats was scratching, but he quickly learned how much more satisfying it was to scratch the post!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>